Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 7/7 Bombings

• 07-07-2010 11:13am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Today marks the 5th aniversary of the 7/7 bombings in London. What were your thoughts and reactions to this when it happened? Do you think something like this is going to happen again any time soon?

For me it really hit home, as a friend of mine's Dad lost somebody he knew in the bombings. I think it actually frightened me a lot more than 911, being a lot closer to home. I can remember first hearing about it from a somebody I knew and thinking it was a joke, and then turning on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Didn't mean much to me to be honest.

Can hardly remember what happened and definitely didn't have the same awe factor as the NY bombings.

That said it was a shame and all but really the scale was not comparable.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Today marks the 5th aniversary of the 7/7 bombings in London. What were your thoughts and reactions to this when it happened? Do you think something like this is going to happen again any time soon?

For me it really hit home, as a friend of mine's Dad lost somebody he knew in the bombings. I think it actually frightened me a lot more than 911, being a lot closer to home. I can remember first hearing about it from a somebody I knew and thinking it was a joke, and then turning on the news.

You do know there were a lot of other terrorist activities a lot closer to home pre-911 right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I thought "Well at least the Americans won't be able to say this one happened on the 9th of November."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

You do know there were a lot of other terrorist activities a lot closer to home pre-911 right?

Of course.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My first reaction was probably panic, because my brother had moved to London only three days beforehand and was living right by Edgeware Road station. He was grand though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

The most depressing part was when the Bus inspector came along and fined them all because no one could find their tickets........those crafty terrorists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

7/7 was MI5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

You live on a bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Probably concern that it could mark the start of prolonged IRA type campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I remember this day well. I had broadband installed in my house for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I remember it as I was living in England at the time and 2 friends had just moved to London and I knew both were on the underground at the time it happened. I also recall not being able to get through to either of them for most of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

there was actually some scum-bags sitting on the back of the bus playing such crap music that the bus gained consiousness and killed itself.........with a pipebomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Brendog wrote: »
    there was actually some scum-bags sitting on the back of the bus playing such crap music that the bus gained consiousness and killed itself.........with a pipebomb

For the editor of The Daily Mail, you seem to have a lot of time on your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,122 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

digme wrote: »
    7/7 was MI5

Well I don't know about that, but I remember seeing a tv program where it was suggested that the bomb exploded from the undercarriage of the train based on forensics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

My first thoughts on the day as I arrived into Liverpool street station was 'Oh problems with the tube again!' because they were closing the underground doorways.

Then I saw all the police vans/cars and armed police rushing into the station and realised something was up.

My biggest concern when I realised there had been bombings was that our lot were at it again! I wasn't looking forward to the 'Paddy bashings' that would come from it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

For me it really hit home, as a friend of mine's Dad lost somebody he knew in the bombings.

A friends dad's friend? Does anybody else think that's a bit too far removed to "really hit home"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

B0X wrote: »
    A friends dad's friend? Does anybody else think that's a bit too far removed to "really hit home"?

No - not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I learned about a few places in London that I'd never heard of before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

It really hit me that 7/7 is not as catchy as 9/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    It really hit me that 7/7 is not as catchy as 9/11

but at least the Americans can get the date right, it's 11/9 fools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Americans are very good at that kind of thing, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I can remember telling a few "up the ra" d!ckheads that were rejoicing at the news to STFU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I was on the tube about 2 or 3 weeks after it happened. Shítting bricks! But it's impossible to get around London without the tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I was working in an internet cafe when i turned on the news and nobody really cared. They just went back to playing WOW and counterstrike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

dlofnep wrote: »
    I was on the tube about 2 or 3 weeks after it happened. Shítting bricks! But it's impossible to get around London without the tube.

i know what you are saying. i was on it a week afterwards. no choice as you say. invisible threats are hard to handle. it is called terrorism for good reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

I was in a car on the Way to Berlin to a U2 concert .

Concert rocked

( So did london i suppose )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I was jumping up and down with delight;)

No seriously was actually working in London when it happened was very scary even though I was miles away from it.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I nearly felt sorry for them until my whataboutery module sprung into action. Then I spent the morning haranguing people on the emergency helplines about the victims of Cromwell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

My first reaction was "Do we really have to call this the '7/7 Bombings' just cos the Yanks had '9/11'? Lame...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

1st

email and check everyone I knew was Ok

2nd Hope the Police did not over react :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

dara o'brien put it best. to paraphrase:

londoner 1: "**** man, they've just blown up 3 trains on the london underground and a bus"
    londoner 2: "**** man, that's f'uckin awful...but i guess if i walked to hammersmith road, taxi'd to the green line and then walked the rest of the way i could be home in time for my tea"

basically, what he was getting at was that - in no small part thanks to the irish - most people living there just took it as another inconvienience.

9/11 was worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,122 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

stovelid wrote: »
    I nearly felt sorry for them until my whataboutery module sprung into action. Then I spent the morning haranguing people on the emergency helplines about the victims of Cromwell.

No offense but why do you so often resort to those type of comments even though nobody is hinting towards holding any feelings of schadenfreude about the bombings? It's like you're battling some invisible man with an invisible chip on his shoulder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No offense r

None taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

A terrible tragedy and an attack on freedom on not just the people of the London but the rest of the civilised, democratic world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Pauleta wrote: »
    A terrible tragedy and an attack on freedom on not just the people of the London but the rest of the civilised, democratic world.

Steady remember this is London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Sad loss of life alright but it isnt nearly as bad as 9/11.

I think at the time my reaction was, pffft it isnt as bad as what happened in America.

Still sad none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

dara o'brien put it best. to paraphrase:

londoner 1: "**** man, they've just blown up 3 trains on the london underground and a bus"
    londoner 2: "**** man, that's f'uckin awful...but i guess if i walked to hammersmith road, taxi'd to the green line and then walked the rest of the way i could be home in time for my tea"

basically, what he was getting at was that - in no small part thanks to the irish - most people living there just took it as another inconvienience.

9/11 was worse

Try telling that to the families who lost somebody or the victims of life long injuries as a result of bombings

EVENFLOW

I remember I was wearing a blue jumper that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

5 years is a long time, we should be due another false flag attack by now. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I was in Irish college, so I didn't hear about it until the next day. I was shocked...but moved on I guess :/

To be honest, I reacted more to the attempted liquid bombings. We're still not allowed bring our own water on the feckin planes now thanks to that.

Jay P wrote: »
    I was in Irish college, so I didn't hear about it until the next day. I was shocked...but moved on I guess :/

To be honest, I reacted more to the attempted liquid bombings. We're still not allowed bring our own water on the feckin planes now thanks to that.
    Each new false flag attack ushers in more intrusive restrictions.

First it was 9/11 introduced the global microchipped passport and tighter security.

7/7 ushered in sofisticated CCTV across the London transport system and also pushed the promotion of electronic smart cards.

The so called liquid bombers banned us from bringing mineral water on board,

The so called Detroit bomber ushered in harmful backscatter XRay machines.

What will be next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

My mate (flatmate at the time) was worried sick because his girlfriend was over in London on a business trip when it happened.

You kind of forget about it after a while, but for the first few months I lived in London it was always in the back of my mind every time I got on a bus/tube

• It's always on my mind. I'm claustrophobic anyway, I've never liked the tiny trains and tunnels and when that happened it didn't do much to ease my mind. I still use the Tube but I do really hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I was lucky not to have been on the tube that morning, passing through Edgware road. Not for the first time in my life I woke up to a bunch of missed calls from people wondering if I was okay. At the time I was completely oblivious to what had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

First it was 9/11 introduced the global microchipped passport and tighter security.

7/7 ushered in sofisticated CCTV across the London transport system and also pushed the promotion of electronic smart cards.

What will be next?

Jim Corr unveiled as Taoiseach?

I was lucky not to have been on the tube that morning, passing through Edgware road. Not for the first time in my life I woke up to a bunch of missed calls from people wondering if I was okay. At the time I was completely oblivious to what had happened.
    I was stuck at Stratford and had to walk most of the way out to zone 4 as most of the busses were either packed or cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Try telling that to the families who lost somebody or the victims of life long injuries as a result of bombings

well he did use the joke as a regular part of his act in a weeks long run at the Apollo...in london....as well as all around the UK...

maybe they just have a sense of humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Jay P wrote: »

What will be next?

You can buy water or whatever drink you want after you pass through security and bring it on the plane. Yes, it is annoying having to buy these things after security (usually more expensive than usual) but it's certainly overly dramatic to say you can't bring water on a plane full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

well he did use the joke as a regular part of his act in a weeks long run at the Apollo...in london....as well as all around the UK...

maybe they just have a sense of humour?

This is true.

Also, There's alot less sensationalism and victim complex going on with Londoners (or indeed UK and Ireland in general). I remember an American saying how brave the people of london were for carrying on and going beck to work the day after. I am of the opinion people went back to work because it was their job and they had to.

While of course its sad for people who lost someone, the majorily of people in London and the UK were only effected by the travel disruption, and maybe a little bit of fear. 9/11 seemed like an excuse for a lot of Americans (politicians and ordinary citizens alike) to live vicariously through other people's grief*.

*and then use that grief to go and start wars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭bullpost

Hmmm - Now why am I reminded of the outpouring of collective grief over the death of Princess Di ?
    Trashbat wrote: »

While of course its sad for people who lost someone, the majorily of people in London and the UK were only effected by the travel disruption, and maybe a little bit of fear. 9/11 seemed like an excuse for a lot of Americans (politicians and ordinary citizens alike) to live vicariously through other people's grief.