Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should asylum seekers have any rights

• 05-07-2010 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭

should asylum seekers have any rights ?

Seriously - they try to come over here to "escape" from their own country ...then when the government tries to keep them here they kick up a fuss, Personally I think if they are not willing to make life easier for our pockets applications should be rejected ....and see if they prefer to go back "home".

seeking asylum in another country is not meant to be a holiday camp (no pun intended) ..... it is a tough procedure and many people have suffered a lot as a result of fleeing their "homes" - however, the least that you can do as an asylum seeker is to facilitate those trying to help you !!!

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/asylum-seekers-at-mosney-to-begin-hunger-strike-464237.html
    A group of asylum-seekers currently being housed at Mosney in Co Meath are planning to go on hunger strike today, after being told they are to be moved on.

Capacity at the centre is being cut from 800 to 650.

The 150 people were told they are to move just days ahead of the transfers next week.

They are accusing authorities of treating them inhumanely and are planning the hunger strike and a peaceful protest tomorrow.

Read more: http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/asylum-seekers-at-mosney-to-begin-hunger-strike-464237.html#ixzz0snRp5641

EDIT: Just to add .... they are organising a hunger strike .... so that means we save money on not feeding them....surely thats a win-win situation for the government and taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭shebango

It should be looked at on a case by case basis. There will always be people milking the system and people in genuine need. So to have across the board 'rights' for these people would be idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Clearly no, they shouldn't be afforded any rights. Cheeky buggers for taking money out of our pockets. They should make them work for their food and accomodation while they're here, may I suggest they plant some sort of crop in Mosney, perhaps cotton? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

PCPhoto wrote: »
    should assylum seekers have any rights ?

Seriously - they try to come over here to "escape" from their own country

They're not asylum seekers, most of them are economic migrants here for money.

If they were asylum seekers in fear of their lives, they'd be happy to go to their nearest safe country. Not to go from say Nigeria to Ireland in one jump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

No they should be hoarded onto a boat and sent on there merry way and leave my f'ing tax money alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

they should be taught how to spell asylum.

It's a fair bit of bollucks alright.. The only reason anyone from africa would here of ireland is because of our benefits being thrown at anyone and everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the should have the right to **** off back home and thats it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

your human rights are being ignored here because the state asked you to move from one place of accomodation to another while your application is being processed?

guess your gonna have to 'flee' ireland so and look for asylum elsewhere - jaysus sure we're practically engaged in ethnic cleansing.

yes, it's a f'uckin rich story alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The 150 were given very little notice that they would be moved on, they're not happy about it. It's single people, they are not breaking up families.

Anyone, it's a disgrace that it takes months (years?) for an applicant to get their case decided and they sit in Mosney or other locations until then, 19 euro or so a week and not allowed to work.
    And then if they appeal it takes even longer and we have the high court after that. And if they lose they might disappear and the Gardai may never track them down, it's difficult.

If the Garda National Immigration Bureau need more resources then give them what them need.
    If you got a speedy decision within a month or even a week then the extra resources given to the GNIB would pay for themselves.

And maybe allow one appeal, after that you pay the lawyers yourself.
    And barristers for the High Court certainly don't come cheap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Seeing as asylum seekers/immigrants/refugees are all human, too, then yes they should be afforded the same dignities and rights as everybody else.
    People come here from all over the world, for a whole plethora of reasons, and contrary to popular belief, it probably isn't to "sponge" off the dole. Asylum seekers (to the UK), are forbidden to work; an untterly non-sensical piece of legislation if ever there was one. These people could be making a valuable contribution to society.
    Also, lets not blow the problem out of proportion. I hate it when the gutter press complain that the country is "overrun" with asylum seekers. Yes, there has been a marked increase in people coming in to the country, but I dare say the likes of the Daily Mail and Express, et all are over-stating a tad.
    In short, give the poor sods a break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There are plenty of hard working immigrants willing to incorporate themselves into local communities given the chance.. the guys in Mosney are quite happy to live a ghetto life and rely 100% on the state to support them. They can fcuk off

orourkeda wrote: »

That clip is becoming like the Mary Harney posts, any excuse to include it on a thread

They are not allowed work so I don't see how they took our jobs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There are plenty of hard working immigrants willing to incorporate themselves into local communities given the chance.. the guys in Mosney are quite happy to live a ghetto life and rely 100% on the state to support them. They can fcuk off
    All the 150 that are being shifted at present are ALL single.

A number of them have been running money making rackets and in order to combat this also besides trying to save the state money, they are being shifted for darn good reason.

(And before anyone asks, YES, I have been in the camp a number of times since they turned into what it is today. I also have a family member working up there.)

Biggins wrote: »
    (And before anyone asks, YES, I have been in the camp a number of times since they turned into what it is today. I also have a family member working up there.)

whats it like? what are the conditions like etc?

i'm curious because i've variously been told it's anywhere between district 9 and a holiday camp, who should i believe?!

Seeing as asylum seekers/immigrants/refugees are all human, too, then yes they should be afforded the same dignities and rights as everybody else.
    People come here from all over the world, for a whole plethora of reasons, and contrary to popular belief, it probably isn't to "sponge" off the dole. Asylum seekers (to the UK), are forbidden to work; an untterly non-sensical piece of legislation if ever there was one. These people could be making a valuable contribution to society.
    Also, lets not blow the problem out of proportion. I hate it when the gutter press complain that the country is "overrun" with asylum seekers. Yes, there has been a marked increase in people coming in to the country, but I dare say the likes of the Daily Mail and Express, et all are over-stating a tad.
    In short, give the poor sods a break!

Out of pure ignorance, I disagree with everything you just said..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Of course they should have rights. They are housed and fed and not allowed to work until the asylum decision is made. This can take a very long time and that is not their fault.

So yes they should have rights. They should have the right to work while they are waiting for asylum therefore giving them more money and a bit more dignity and saving the taxpayer a whole bunch.

As for the people protesting at being moved from Mosney to other free accommodation... no sympathy at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

They are NOT ALLOWED TO WORK! You'll find the cause of your xenophobia is ignorance and the cure is to acquire some real knowledge of the assylum seekers other than what you've heard in the pub.

With our own huge experience of economic emigration, the older generations here in Ireland should have some empathy with what it means to have to leave home and get settled in a strange place, without then having to move on again and not of your own volition. There are so many people posting in PI about how isolated they feel and these are people who grew up in this country and culture. How much harder to be a foreigner trying to integrate. Celtic tiger cubs don't have a clue and you can beat me up on that one if you want.

I'm very sure that the asylum seekers in Mosney are very grateful for the fact that they are now in a country where they can protest without fear.

I am sure that a lot of them are supplementing their state income. They did here in KK back in the days when the first wave of asylum seekers and refugees came over. Who was wrong? Them, or the native Irish people availing for their services for €10 a day when the going rate would have been €150!!

Biggins, why is your family member not whistle blowing?

eightyfish wrote: »
    They should have the right to work while they are waiting for asylum therefore giving them more money and a bit more dignity and saving the taxpayer a whole bunch.

Are you taking the piss? It's cheaper to give them their pittence in Mosney than it is to pay dole to the person who's job they took.
    Fekin hell, think before you type.

They are NOT ALLOWED TO WORK! You'll find the cause of your xenophobia is ignorance and the cure is to acquire some real knowledge of the assylum seekers other than what you've heard in the pub.

So what if they can't work? They're threatening to go on bloody hunger strike because the State wants to improve their living conditions.. climb down off your high horse ffs.. they have no gratitude for what we as a nation put into trying to accommodate them, when they were placed in Mosney first they complained it was 'prison like' and now they refuse to leave! If it's xenophobic to criticize that then so be it

Also, lets not blow the problem out of proportion. I hate it when the gutter press complain that the country is "overrun" with asylum seekers.

I think you need to get a small shovel to dig your head out of the sand.

At least 50% of the people on my bus to work are non-nationals.
    I feel like the Irish are a minority group on my commute to work.
    We have to have "culture days" in work because there's so many nationalities working in our company.
    Irish families are being displaced from applying to local schools because the non-nationals are taking up all the places, especially the Africans who are starting to have large families like the Irish did in the 1970's.

There's no problem accepting all these people in the good times when resources are plentiful. But Ireland belongs to the Irish, we can't keep providing handouts when we've such a huge unemployment problem ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

What does it really matter to anyone here? How many Polish and eastern europeans are economical migrants in the country? The refugee/asylum seeker are a very small minority. Just because they are from outside the eurozone. There should be a relaxed Visa, applicable to any other country from outside the Eurozone like the Australians and Americans and Chinese have.

*thinks*

Yeah, I still think they should have a right to work. The way things stand, they are "taking money out of our pockets" and "quite happy to live a ghetto life and rely 100% on the state to support them", yet they have no choice in the matter.

I know there are few jobs out there at the moment, how about asking asylum seekers to do council work on the street, and paying them for it.

They come here and they cannot work. They are forced into a cycle of dependence and handouts. It's a psychological trap. Anyone who's been on the dole long term finds it very difficult to get back working. Starting them off in this country in this manor is problematic in the long term.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

whats it like? what are the conditions like etc?

i'm curious because i've variously been told it's anywhere between district 9 and a holiday camp, who should i believe?!
    The place is kept very clean. Their meals while not 5 star - are at least 3 star quality.
    The staff eats the same meals by the way.
    Their needs are catered for and that included the meals that have to be prepared regarding one's religion.

If they need something, they go up to main reception and ask for it (taxi, buggy, repairman, etc).
    There is a full time staff of electricians, plumbers, carpenters (there is that many repairs to be done because they keep breaking stuff, there is a permanent workshop now), etc.
    They do not have to pay for food, ESB, they get clothing vouchers and other vouchers for other items to their own special needs.
    They get travel costs as well. A number of Drogheda taxi firms are taking the runs from the camp and are vouched for by the state.

It MOST CERTAINLY is NOT filthy. The place is cleaner than a lot of any town main streets or estates.

Are you taking the piss? It's cheaper to give them their pittence in Mosney than it is to pay dole to the person who's job they took.

Actually it isn't-
    The average cost for accommodation of asylum seekers in direct provision is €213.78 to each person a week.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0703/1224273904657.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I think they should be given the right to work at the very least. How can anyone make a better life for themselves and their family living on €19 a week and no access to education and work?

I met a lot of asylum seekers working as prostitutes through my volunteer work with rhuama.Very intelligent women forced to sell their bodies because they were denied work permits so could only work illegaly.
    Anyone begrudging human beings their full right to life,work and dignity are the ones fu*cking up this country imo.

*thinks*

Yeah, I still think they should have a right to work. The way things stand, they are "taking money out of our pockets" and "quite happy to live a ghetto life and rely 100% on the state to support them", yet they have no choice in the matter.

I know there are few jobs out there at the moment, how about asking asylum seekers to do council work on the street, and paying them for it.

They come here and they cannot work. They are forced into a cycle of dependence and handouts. It's a psychological trap. Anyone who's been on the dole long term finds it very difficult to get back working. Starting them off in this country in this manor is problematic in the long term.

Great point!!

When we look at it its only a couple of Thousand people at the end of the day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Hang em all and throw away the key

Take that liberal do gooders.

rovert wrote: »
    Hang em all and throw away the key

Hang them all... then throw away the key?

Goes to show the level of stupidity that overcomes people when they are angry and miserable and turn into bigots

I was joking, Im making fun of the "he is clearly guilty" mentality of some AHers.

I guess other posters are as dense in other ways too.

I was joking

Yeah so was I, in terms of taking the piss out of your post. Sorry if that wasn't clear. I think we need a "sarcastic" font.

*thinks*

Dear God.. You come out with worse Bs when you think about it.
    I don't really care, they shouldn't be here. Why can't Africa as a continent look after it's own like we do in Europe?

Yeah so was I, in terms of taking the piss out of your post. Sorry if that wasn't clear. I think we need a "sarcastic" font.

Fair enough I guess dermothickey lived up to his name.

Ill use the sarcasm tag next time lest we have anymore confusion. :pac:
    Why can't Africa as a continent look after it's own like we do in Europe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

panda100 wrote: »
    I think they should be given the right to work at the very least. How can anyone make a better life for themselves and their family living on €19 a week and no access to education and work?

I met a lot of asylum seekers working as prostitutes through my volunteer work with rhuama.Very intelligent women forced to sell their bodies because they were denied work permits so could only work illegaly.
    Anyone begrudging human beings their full right to life,work and dignity are the ones fu*cking up this country imo.

I am sorry ,but you go on the game its your decision if not forced into it by been trafficked.I know plenty of girls who live on little or nothing a week and they aren't on the game.
    Having free food and living not to mention clothes etc.. does not force you into prostitution and free money.
    I have known girls like this cry me a river story.

Personally i think calling for a hunger strike for been moved out of there and into the community,is if anything suspicious only and not inhumane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

It's a fair bit of bollucks alright.. The only reason anyone from africa would here of ireland is because of our benefits being thrown at anyone and everyone.

Anyone and everyone provided you're not self employed and Irish you mean.

this idea that they should be allowed work is pure unadulterated nonsense. they're ASYLUM SEEKERS! they have no right to be here as yet. they are well looked after (look at biggins description of mosney) and dont want for anything.

yeah, let them work, then the whole f'uckin world knows we've opened our doors to everybody to just arrive and hey presto, you're treated like a full citizen.

jesus people, cop on. we're a sovereign country, not a very large drop in centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

They should have the right,

THE RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT!

I don't really care, they shouldn't be here.

Ah, so that's what you really think.

450,000 people unemployed and you want to accept more people into the country :rolleyes:

Not everyone is stupid, angry and miserable who comments against immigration.

I'm educated and have a good job.
    I'm looking at the situation from a calm intellectual unemotional point of view.

When you start bringing emotions into it, you're the one who loses your objectivity.

Andrew33 wrote: »
    Anyone and everyone provided you're not self employed and Irish you mean.

You don't have to be Irish to get benefits.. This very thread is about asylum seekers being housed, fed and clothed.

Fair enough I guess dermothickey lived up to his name.

Ill use the sarcasm tag next time lest we have anymore confusion. :pac:

I was agreeing with how you pointed out the post previous to that. You've managed to confuse yourselves

Ah, so that's what you really think.

so?

But in answer to question of original OP,yes any genuine asylum seeker should be entitled to work and not claim for free.And the mind boggles at why they are even in mosney as long as they are :confused:
    They should have been checked out and either found refugees or not.

I was agreeing with how you pointed out the post previous to that. You've managed to confuse yourselves

Sure dude

Ireland has a naturalization process.
    You get a job, you have skills and wait to be processed, it takes a number of years and then you are welcome as an Irish citizen.
    The main example I know is Dr. Constantin Gurdgiev who works at Trinity college, he is constantly on TV and writing newspaper articles. He is from Moscow.
    Before my time but I heard in the 1980's there were rich people able to buy Irish passports ;)

I can understand Ireland taking in people from conflicts like the former Yugoslavia. Many atrocities happened there, Irish troops served there so we have a connection and it's Europe after all.

If you are in Africa, how much information do you realy have on a small wind swept island on the edge of Europe?
    Why choose Ireland I'm wondering? English speaking a suppose may be a factor, is that it?

Yeah Im sure

caseyann wrote: »
    But in answer to question of original OP,yes any genuine asylum seeker should be entitled to work and not claim for free.And the mind boggles at why they are even in mosney as long as they are :confused:
    They should have been checked out and either found refugees or not.

are you (and others on here) seriously suggesting that anyone who turns up here without a visa should be allowed work?

c'mon people, does nobody else see a fundamental flaw with this line of thinking?

yeah, let them work, then the whole f'uckin world knows we've opened our doors to everybody to just arrive and hey presto, you're treated like a full citizen.

Okay, so "Come to Ireland and you get free accommodation and food" is less appealing than "Come to Ireland and you will have to work in order to pay for your accommodation and food."

How, exactly?