Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intervene in a domestic.

• 03-07-2010 1:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here intervened in a domestic?

I was walking through dublin city tonight and i seen this chap screaming the face off this women. They were across the road so i stopped to make sure the chap wasnt going to hit her or anything. To make a long story short after his outburst they got on like a house on fire, so i jumped into a taxi.

The reason i am posting this is because it got me thinking, would i have intervened?

The last time this happened to me i was around 16, sitting on a bench at the intersection of griffth ave. and the swords road with a group of friends male and female. So a taxi pulls up just past the bus stop at home farm fc, and this big chap and women get out of a taxi. Straight away the chap starts punching the face off the women, the taxi drives off like nothing happened.

Anyone who knows the area knows we are about 20feet from a gardai station, so a split second decision later my friend and i start running towards the couple. In the mean time the girls run in to get the garda station. So 30secs later me and my friend get to the couple and give the chap a kick because he was still on top of the women on the floor so he goes flying (He was hammered)

The gardai arrive 1min after us, and start giving the chap a kicking. The women springs to his defense. Starts saying leave him leave him its between me and him. Cue he gets arrested walked back to the station with the women all along saying that he did nothing wrong.

So basically that is a long winded story, just trying to see if people would get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

The reason i am posting this is because it got me thinking, would i have intervened?

Eh the answer is no.

No you didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

tl;dr

The thing about intervening in domestics is that they both turn on you. No matter who the victim is they'l turn it round on you. Just like little tornado's of frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

What was the b!tch doing outside the kitchen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Eh the answer is no.

No you didn't.

I didnt need to, he screamed at her. Ten seconds later they are best of friends.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    tl;dr

What does that mean?

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    What does that mean?

Too long didn't read.

Ah thanks for clearing that up for me, the thread is basically would you get involved in a fight between a couple?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I would phone the police, if someone was being physically harmed. I'd do that under any circumstances. But, if its' just a couple having a tiff; then I would leave them be. Couples can row viciously, and not strike one another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'd like to think I would. And probably would it I were with a group. But I've read about too many people stabbed or kicked to death after intervening. I'd call the cops and let them know about it. Although maybe in the heat of the moment I'd grow a pair and rush over. Hard to tell really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

well obviously if i knew the couple, yes.

don't think i would otherwise, i'd go get help... or video it for youtube loike. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

So basically that is a long winded story

Well you're not wrong about that anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

have done and never again (well depending on circumstances i suppose)
    was about 19 and i see these 2 arguing
    fella gives the girl a punch sends her flying
    so i go over a give him a punch (I'm far from being a hard man trust me) and grab his neck from behind holding one of his arms.
    Next thing i know she is behind me tearing the face off me.
    F*CK THAT!!!
    Tripped him up and ran

Well you're not wrong about that anyways.

I do try and be honest to my readers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Rule No.37 in the Star Belgrade Rulebook; Never interfere in a boy/ girl fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

pajodublin wrote: »
    have done and never again (well depending on circumstances i suppose)
    was about 19 and i see these 2 arguing
    fella gives the girl a punch sends her flying
    so i go over a give him a punch (I'm far from being a hard man trust me) and grab his neck from behind holding one of his arms.
    Next thing i know she is behind me tearing the face off me.
    F*CK THAT!!!
    Tripped him up and ran

Similar experience.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

What happened to you sounds like John and Mary that run the shop in Craggy Island. They were both a bit embarrassed that someone saw it so they suddenly put on their best behaviour happy face. They were probably strangling each other as soon as you got back in the taxi.

I was outside a club one night where a domestic broke out. It then escalted as one of my mates intervened... and I mean really escalated.. the girls & lads from both sets of friends all starting laying into each other.

I obeyed Rule No 38; "Never get involved in a fight unless you have to" & just stood back & watched, with equal levels of amusement & bemusement.

After a few minutes, I felt a dig in my back & obeyed Rule No 39; "If someone hits you, deck them, so they won't hit you again". So I swung around, fist at full force and, THWACK... hit a right hook to the chin of.... a bird. Floored her.

I had broken Rule No 25; "Never hit a woman", but in my defense, how was I to know.

The story is true, but slightly embelished by the rules references as I've just been watching Zombieland.

I was outside a club one night where a domestic broke out. It then escalted as one of my mates intervened... and I mean really escalated.. the girls & lads from both sets of friends all starting laying into each other.

I obeyed Rule No 38; "Never get involved in a fight unless you have to" & just stood back & watched, with equal levels of amusement & bemusement.

After a few minutes, I felt a dig in my back & obeyed Rule No 39; "If someone hits you, deck them, so they won't hit you again". So I swung around, fist at full force and, THWACK... hit a right hook to the chin of.... a bird. Floored her.

I had broken Rule No 25; "Never hit a woman", but in my defense, how was I to know.

The story is true, but slightly embelished by the rules references as I've just been watching Zombieland.

jesus.. i laughed..

was she a big bertie? what happened then? did you leg it or help her up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Your Job

jesus.. i laughed..

was she a big bertie? what happened then? did you leg it or help her up?

Nah - she was normal size... even a bit on the petite side. I tried to help her up, but she - & her friend who ran over to pick her up - were screaming at me about "How could you hit a girl?" etc.

Then I walked off. :p

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

El Weirdo wrote: »
    tl;dr

You should try and acquire an attention span somewhere. Life doesn't consist of only 160 characters.

Nah - she was normal size... even a bit on the petite side. I tried to help her up, but she - & her friend who ran over to pick her up - were screaming at me about "How could you hit a girl?" etc.

Then I walked off. :p

you're a battered wifes dream. sure, you'd knock the sh!t outta them, but you'd try to help them up afterwards :pac:

I'm a gentleman. I'd also make them a cup of tea & tell them that it wasn't all their fault. Mostly, but not all. ;)

oh a few white lies to keep them sweet :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

this always happens when im around for some reason though tbh... you'd be surprised not only by:

1) the amoutn of Wannabe hardy men that try it on with women...

2) how many one punch knock-outs ive handed these cowards

3) how many phone numbers and sexual offers ive received as of no 2).

ahh, lifes sweet when it wants to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭LeifErikson

Pdfile wrote: »
    this always happens when im around for some reason though tbh... you'd be surprised not only by:

1) the amoutn of Wannabe hardy men that try it on with women...

2) how many one punch knock-outs ive handed these cowards

3) how many phone numbers and sexual offers ive received as of no 2).

ahh, lifes sweet when it wants to be
    Rofl

It seems a very mixed response, from helping to not helping we even had starbelgrade hit a women. How lucky are you that I didn't see that :D.

I think from now on firstly I'll call the gardai and try not get involved if I don't have to. Too many stories of it back firing.

Has anyone other stories or situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I would just call the Gardai if it got physical on either part but if they are just having a screaming match then no I wouldn't. Our neighbours are always at it, shouting at each other outside the house for all the world to see, gets a bit irritating after a while

akamossy wrote: »
    I would just call the Gardai if it got physical on either part but if they are just having a screaming match then no I wouldn't. Our neighbours are always at it, shouting at each other outside the house for all the world to see, gets a bit irritating after a while

I always wondered, why people choose to make their private business public knowledge. Also why do women/men stay in abusive relationships?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I always wondered, why people choose to make their private business public knowledge. Also why do women/men stay in abusive relationships?

They only got married recently too and just had a baby, I was only saying to my mother yesterday why in gods name did they get married because they are literally fighting all the time and over the stupidest things because you can hear every word they are screaming. They'd wanna realise that they are living in a small estate and we don't want to hear them scream and roar at each other every minute of the day.

Seems to be more on her part though, he does tend to walk away or drive away first.

akamossy wrote: »
    They only got married recently too and just had a baby, I was only saying to my mother yesterday why in gods name did they get married because they are literally fighting all the time and over the stupidest things because you can hear every word they are screaming. They'd wanna realise that they are living in a small estate and we don't want to hear them scream and roar at each other every minute of the day.

Seems to be more on her part though, he does tend to walk away or drive away first.

The sad thing is it's only going to get worse. I feel sorry for kids they are stuck in familes like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Brother working in Fire Brigade, called out to a disturbance in Tallaght a few years ago, lady had been stabbed by husband / partner, not badly, needed treatment, cops hadn't arrived before them. Partner goes for him when they get in house, he knocks him out (still had a knife !).
    'Lady' who had been stabbed jumps on him, says 'leave him the f--- alone !', ends up having to knock her out too and cart them both off after police arrived.

They sued him !!

Hard to intervene sometimes i guess, but any dude who hits a woman deserves what he gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

i guess if your going to intervene you better be ready to knock the ****e out of both of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Was having a few drinks in the local one Paddys night and there was a couple dancing in the middle of the pub, and this pub you just dont do dancing, she was the size of a small house and he the size of a jockey. They were slow setting and he had his head nestled between her boobs, boobs you would need a round bale lifter to fondle. They were eating each other in the pub. Afterwards outside the chipper the pair of them were having it out and she knocked him out cold with a box, he ended up in A&E ,but they have since married and have four kids so no I never get involved

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If I thought there was a life in critical danger, yes.

If its a personal thing and they are just letting of spend up frustration/steam/etc, its none of my business definitely till injuries start occurring anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I have intervened in a good few over the years with mixed reactions. If you where to ask me now I would say I would do my best to avoid it because of the hassle. However, generally when I see something like that if a woman is being assualted I would find in impossible not to intervene, even with the knowledge that it may turn to sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

For me it would depend on the social class of those involved and whether there was booze involved. From the posts above I think the best thing to do would be to knock out the woman and then rationally explain your reasons to to guy. Then kick him in the nuts and run away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Wouldn't intervene in a million years. I'd call the guards and leave it to them.
    Used to think I might intervene but ever since a man got stabbed and killed on Sandymount Strand a few years back in daylight when he attempted to break up a domestic I've decided to stay well clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

If it was a couple it could be really tricky. You never know what's going on behind the whole thing. So I'd probably wait a few seconds to assess the situation and once I had decided who was the more likely to win I would join that side. :)

What?