Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Back To My Best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Weds 13th July, rest day, wrecked from the night before, i gotta stop running so late.

Thurs 14th July, 6 mls easy enough in 49'22 (8'14) around the locality and finished up in the heath. Tried out the new Asics DS trainers, needed something like these halfway between racers and normal runners for tempo's etc and i'll run in them on Saturday. Hit the 1,000 miles at the end. Nice feeling to hit it as early as Bastille Day, 2 months earlier than last year :)

Fri 15th July, 5 mls lunchtime in the Heath in 40'27 (8'06), felt pretty good. Glad i took that rest day on Wednesday now. Any idea's of racing tomorrow are gone thanks to the bet i have with Meno, which is why i did it in the first place tbh. Depending on the weekend it'll be about a 45 ml week which isnt great at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Personally I think you should forget about the bet. I'm sure meno would be willing to change the parameters to allow you run 30 minutes instead of 32. Why not head off at 30 minute pace, should be more than doable up to 4 miles and if you loose time then so what? at least you tried. The first year I ran Dublin (3.02) I ran 29.30 on that exact same course. So that could be a bench mark!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Fri 15th July, 5 mls lunchtime in the Heath in 40'27 (8'06), felt pretty good. Glad i took that rest day on Wednesday now. Any idea's of racing tomorrow are gone thanks to the bet i have with Meno, which is why i did it in the first place tbh. Depending on the weekend it'll be about a 45 ml week which isnt great at this stage.
    Yep its getting clsoe now, if you think about it 11 weeks to go, 2 week taper, that leaves 9 weeks. If your doing 3 weeks hard 1 week easy then your down to 7 weeks training. If you do a prep race week or long pmp thats 6 week training . So berlin is really only 6 weeks away, maybe that will help you get the miles done. ;) 1 or 2 lazy week and it could be only 4 weeks.

shels4ever wrote: »
    Yep its getting clsoe now, if you think about it 11 weeks to go, 2 week taper, that leaves 9 weeks. If your doing 3 weeks hard 1 week easy then your down to 7 weeks training. If you do a prep race week or long pmp thats 6 week training . So berlin is really only 6 weeks away, maybe that will help you get the miles done. ;) 1 or 2 lazy week and it could be only 4 weeks.

$hite and you said my countdown was freaking you out :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Personally I think you should forget about the bet. I'm sure meno would be willing to change the parameters to allow you run 30 minutes instead of 32. Why not head off at 30 minute pace, should be more than doable up to 4 miles and if you loose time then so what? at least you tried. The first year I ran Dublin (3.02) I ran 29.30 on that exact same course. So that could be a bench mark!

I should i know yeah and i'd probably break 30 if i went for it flat out but I don't fancy it this time round, i never seem to run well in the Pheno. I'll find a flat one over here instead. Meno would make me pay half as a get out clause again.

Christ when you say it like that :eek: My run in the Reading half in March gives me sub 3 with Mcmillan so its only a matter of maintaining form until Berlin ;)

Sat 16th July, 5 miler Phoenix Park.

Didnt do much more than 600m warm up for this as I had cycled down from DCU. Lined up beside Chinguetti halfway in the first pen and headed off at my planned tempo pace (around 6'20-6'25). It was slow and congested the first 800m but i got up to speed after a mile and tipped along at this speed. It wasnt easy but then again tempo runs aren't supposed to be. Saw metamorphosis not too far ahead of me after 2 mls and reckoned i could go past him but my pace was limited by the bet I had with Meno (me to run 31'55 and himself to run 33'55). Plenty of runners i ran with in Donore and Dunshaughlin were within touching distance of me too but they can wait for another day. Started to feel easy enough up the S bends and the Kyber was fine. Ral3 passed me up the kyber, only for me to pass him again as my pace dropped below the bet pace. However he passed me again the last 100yards as i coasted in to stop the garmin in 31'55 (c'est magnifique), howver the chip time bizarrely shows 32'11. Ok i started the watch a second or 2 late but no more. Obviously i could have gone faster but by how much. Jill Hodgins (who was 3 seconds ahead of me in DS but 20 secs behind me in Donore ran 30'00, so it would have been a close run thing if i had been attempting the sub 30. No regrets i didn't race it though. I won the bet alright but its all a little dodgy with the chip times :)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/100077316

Quite disappointed overall with the race and I will be avoiding it in the future if it takes this route. Chesterfield was fine and always gave the race series a "big race feel" like a big city marathon, but Saturday was nothing like it, reminded me of the Simon 5 last year. Flights are already booked for the 10 mile, and i'm entered so it would be a shame to waste the money, a 10 mile MP run over there will be perfect training for me anyway. Saturday was the 6th race I have flown home for in 6 months, a shocking statistic!

Sun 17th July, Met up with Meno, Chinguetti, Aimman and Jcsmum to run the Frank Duffy 10 mile route. A little bit hungover but nothing major. I've really turned into a lightweight since i started training properly. Ah well its a tradeoff i'm happy enough with. Anyway a little over 10 mls in 1'35'09 (9'13). Enjoyable run, lucky to avoid the worst of the rain. The 10 mile course is ok, not pb potential though, if you have a pb worthy of the name that is.

Weekly Review, 45 mile and 6 runs. Ok week, considering i had to take a rest day Weds due to exhaustion. Nice to hit the 1k on Thursday and nail the tempo Saturday.

Yearly Mileage, 1022 miles.

Mon 18th July, 6.5 mls in the driving rain, usual Monday evening run down to Regents and back. Despite being soaked i did 8 x 100m strides after in the heath but skipped the core this week.

Berlin watch
    , right it's 69 days to Berlin now (and 4 weeks to Newark on Trent) so its getting towards the sink or swim territory. Mileage is gonna have to be consistent and the training needs to be planned better. I'm going well at the moment clearly but as I read in my running diary a year or 2 ago "even if you are on the right road, you get run over if you just sit there".

Christ that was a long post :)

. The 10 mile course is ok, not pb potential though, if you have a pb worthy of the name that is.

Would you like to put a bet on that ;)

Well i'll bet on pretty much any boardsie's race performance as long as they have a training log. I'm a degenerate :p

You're on. Note to self only log 4 days per week from now on.

If your 10 mile pb is under 56 mins you have yourself a bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Whats your plan for the 10? I have a PB for this one anyway since the last time i did 10 was the frank duffy 2 years ago.

You did 69 for that wasnt it? Pretty soft stuff, you should be well under 65 there, maybe 64. A tenner says you dont beat my 10 mile pb though (63'19) :p

I'm doing the 10 as a MP run, so 68 mins or thereabouts. I have my target half 6 days beforehand (sub 1'24 or bust) so there's no point racing the 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

You did 69 for that wasnt it? Pretty soft stuff, you should be well under 65 there, maybe 64. A tenner says you dont beat my 10 mile pb though (63'19) :p

I'm doing the 10 as a MP run, so 68 mins or thereabouts. I have my target half 6 days beforehand (sub 1'24 or bust) so there's no point racing the 10.

Yeah - 69, im going for sub 65, il be happy with that, the ten miler isnt one high on my priorities list to kill off, the half in September is for sure though. I wont be getting 63'19 though! You're surely on for sub 1'24 with a good streak of training.

You will be just as much of a lightweight with the drink as me by then:D

I'll take a bit of that action too ;) I only have 1 leg and I think i'll run a pb.

Without the injury, i'd give you 34'00 for 5 miles, mcmillaned for 10 gives you 71:25. Throw in improvement between now and then and sub 71 is the bet, take it or leave it. I said i'd bet on any boardsies performance, not on whether they get a pb!

I said a 10 mile pb worthy of the name and most people on here own soft 10 pb's compared to their other race times ;)

If your 10 mile pb is under 56 mins you have yourself a bet!

56.09. That course is a whore so I take it you will give me the benefit of the 9 seconds!

Judging by your Frank Duffy 10 run last year, you'll set a pb this year. We'll say sub 55:50, sub 56 would have to be odds on with me, €10/€20? Non runner no bet. Anymore and its too serious.

hmm not going as well as last year but I'll put a tenner on myself.

Without the injury, i'd give you 34'00 for 5 miles, mcmillaned for 10 gives you 71:25. Throw in improvement between now and then and sub 71 is the bet, take it or leave it. I said i'd bet on any boardsies performance, not on whether they get a pb!

I said a 10 mile pb worthy of the name and most people on here own soft 10 pb's compared to their other race times ;)
    71 :eek: Had wrote down 74 as a target at the start of my training meet me half way and you maybe on. Should get a market going on betfair ;)

hmm not going as well as last year but I'll put a tenner on myself.

Sound yeah, you're on. 55:49 or better.

71 :eek: Had wrote down 74 as a target at the start of my training meet me half way and you maybe on. Should get a market going on betfair ;)

Shels and his coach may be heading for a showdown :mad:

72:10 is all i'll go to. Chip time will be the determinant, dodgy chips no excuse with me :p Tenner for you too?

If the coach allows it then maybe ;) Will see what I'm told today but the physio and what pace i'm allowed run by the gaffer :)

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Give me a time for the half!

Lads this is getting ridiculous! 1:33:45 for you mr. improver!

You could make a fortune :)

Tues July 19th, headed over to Finsbury Park for the club session. Ran down and back (just to boost the weekly mileage a bit tbh) which is almost 3 mls. Session was 1600m, 2 mins rest, then 7 x 600m starting every 2:50, 2 mins rest then 1600m, a brutal session and it turned out to be just that.

Time were; 5'43 for the 1600m then 2'00, 2'02, 2'06, 2'07, 2'07, 1'57, 2'05 then 6'01 for the last 1600m (which i extended by 9m to make it a mile). Jumped from the A group into the B group after 4 600's, this extended the rest between reps as they were starting every 3:10. I didnt think i could sustain any meaningful pace for the full session if i hadnt done this. 10 mls total inc run up and back, good session. Drizzle throughout, another sh!t summer we're having, seeing your own breath in July just aint right :rolleyes:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/100366617

Got invited to a wedding at work today, wouldnt you know it September 24th, how convenient inconvenient for me!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You might be better off going to the wedding; a room full drunk, single, desperate women who think they're going to be left on the shelf or meno running past you at 21 miles as you crash and burn...

Room full of happy couples don't you mean.

The only way Meno will be passing me in Berlin is in an ambulance after he blows up and does his Christy Brown falling out of a whelchair impression :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Could you imagine the ribbing you would get from Meno if it did happen:p

Would you like an additional incentive on your own performance in Berlin for the sub 3 or would that put too much pressure on you to perform on race day:)