Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Junior Dean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 robertdowling

dan719 wrote: »
    It's not particularly easy to get called in front of the JD you know. As in, instead of one the assistants. Most antics in college are ignored completely by security.

Have a read of this...http://www.zoominfo.com/Search/ReferencesView.aspx?PersonID=931064004

Also the quote about being one of the coldest people came from a fellow member of staff not a student....!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 jennedy

He is one of the coldest individuals you'll ever meet. He's Stokes x 10! Its not just the fact he's too miserable to pay for a flat himself or that he thinks he's gonna be a future Provost like Stokes deludes herself, he's one of these law and order Ulstermen. His style of tactic is to make out you are a criminal and not just some student who pissed off some lecturer so I'd be very wary of him. Why do you think he taught the criminology module in TCD this year. Imagine Stokes with brains and this is Trimble....not to be messed with. You'll be praying for Stokes to come back

Stokes doesn't think she's going to be Provost, I also don't believe she even wants to. Junior dean is a crappy crappy job, it's very hard and there are absolutely no thanks involved. Would you ever want to be in charge of disciplining 10,000 plastered, drugged up, pissed off, sex crazed students?

I know a girl who had Stokes as a lecturere and project supervisor and from her description she sounds like a very reasonable woman in an impossible job. And I hardly think you can imply she is brainless, she does have a PhD, do you? I just think she gets a lot more flack than she deserves.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭just-joe

dan719 wrote: »
    Most antics in college are ignored completely by security.

Ha! Is it just me or is that completely untrue... Security take issue with absolutely anything and everything?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

just-joe wrote: »
    Ha! Is it just me or is that completely untrue... Security take issue with absolutely anything and everything?!

Oh they'll take it up with you at the time alright, but rarely is anything ever followed up on. They tend to just tell you to get off campus ASAP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

90% of the time they're dealing with obnoxious students completely lacking in self awareness and a distinctly middle class entitlement complex. The other 10% of the time they're powertripping Dubs taking out their inate angst against snotty middle class college students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭gulf

Denerick wrote: »
    90% of the time they're dealing with obnoxious students completely lacking in self awareness and a distinctly middle class entitlement complex. The other 10% of the time they're powertripping Dubs taking out their inate angst against snotty middle class college students.

Lol. The college porters are on better pay, pension and terms and conditions than most post-docs.

You're right though, they see how the middle classes behave. Doubt it bothers them much and they just snigger to themselves at the hilarity of some gimp from Lucan crapping himself at the prospects of being rusticated by the JD. I'd say they have good banter in the front gate lodge. Saw the lads over at Lincoln gate watching the England match on the telly. Any time I've ever spoken to them, they're always very professional. They have the power to bend the rules for you and they will if you have gone to the effort of developing a reciprocal relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

gulf wrote: »
    some gimp from Lucan crapping himself at the prospects of being rusticated by the JD

The only gimp from Lucan I know on-campus is on very good terms with security. Ain't that right, gimpy? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

To be honest, the staff in College with the exception of a few cretins in the records office* and the library** are pretty sound. Especially security, you'd have to do something really bad to piss them off and they're generally quite friendly. Not like the SS they have over in Belfield...:rolleyes:

*Slow, inefficient, treat you with discontent, generally people who've worked in that office for too long and are now biding their time to collect their big fat pensions.;)

**I'm annoyed by the fact that when you go to collect a reserved book, you have to write the call number out regardless, they wont even click the screen to check for you. I take exception to this really, especially when it's a long bloody queue.

El Siglo wrote: »
    Especially security, you'd have to do something really bad to piss them off and they're generally quite friendly.

Something really bad? Try these:

Sitting on a bench quietly playing guitar, harming no one. They tell me to move on and start mouthing off, radio-ing people etc until I move.

A friend of mine was standing in the middle of the road leading up to the sports centre, a van rushes up, and pushes past our group. No beeping of the horn or a siren or any indication of a rush. He moved out of the way when he realised they wanted to go by. One of them comes back down and starts to swear and shout at my friend for being in the way, "taking his name for the junior dean" and being in general very unfriendly. For standing in the middle of the road? Ridiculous.

Myself and a friend, on the way out, walk in to the security desk at front arch to sign people in. Chattin away but not drunk or loud. Mate has a bottle of wine, completely full, still corked and in a plastic bag.
    Security guard: "Oy, what do you think you're doing with that in here?!"
    Mate: "With what in here?"
    Security Guard: "With that! In my office! You wouldn't walk into anyone else's office with that, would ya? Wouldn't walk into the junior dean's office would ya, eh!? Now put that outside and come back in with some respect."

Inside his office? Completely unprovoked and over the top, and being generally not nice.

These are some of the reasons why I really dislike the security in Trinity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Have you ever considered the possibility that the security in Trinity just don't like you?

Sitting on a bench quietly playing guitar, harming no one. They tell me to move on and start mouthing off, radio-ing people etc until I move.

A friend of mine was standing in the middle of the road leading up to the sports centre, a van rushes up, and pushes past our group. No beeping of the horn or a siren or any indication of a rush. He moved out of the way when he realised they wanted to go by. One of them comes back down and starts to swear and shout at my friend for being in the way, "taking his name for the junior dean" and being in general very unfriendly. For standing in the middle of the road? Ridiculous.

Myself and a friend, on the way out, walk in to the security desk at front arch to sign people in. Chattin away but not drunk or loud. Mate has a bottle of wine, completely full, still corked and in a plastic bag.
    Security guard: "Oy, what do you think you're doing with that in here?!"
    Mate: "With what in here?"
    Security Guard: "With that! In my office! You wouldn't walk into anyone else's office with that, would ya? Wouldn't walk into the junior dean's office would ya, eh!? Now put that outside and come back in with some respect."

Inside his office? Completely unprovoked and over the top, and being generally not nice.

Well, here's how I would defend the security regarding your assertions...:pac:

Denerick wrote: »
    Have you ever considered the possibility that the security in Trinity just don't like you?

Erm, yeah.. and then I ask myself, why do they not like me when they have never met me and don't know me in any way?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

The only gimp from Lucan I know on-campus is on very good terms with security. Ain't that right, gimpy? :pac:
    Thanks for that... I can't even fault your accuracy in the name calling, since I'm currently in a sling.

Security are usually quite affable once you show them a modicum of respect. In saying that I've still been referred onto JD assistants three times, and in one case fined (quite unfairly I might add).

The assistants and Junior Dean take it in rotation I believe, i.e. it depends what night you were referred on by security as to who you end up seeing. Or so I was led to believe chatting to Ms. Stokes one evening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

I would draw your attention to the college rule that pedestrians have right of way in all areas of college. Unless it was an absolute emergency or your friend was deliberately obstructing their behaviour was out of line. On the other hand i would not encourage anyone to behave like an ass even if it is withing the rules.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

Erm, yeah.. and then I ask myself, why do they not like me when they have never met me and don't know me in any way?

Many people elected or appointed to offices in Trinity say the same. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭rjt

ISAW wrote: »
    I would draw your attention to the college rule that pedestrians have right of way in all areas of college. Unless it was an absolute emergency or your friend was deliberately obstructing their behaviour was out of line. On the other hand i would not encourage anyone to behave like an ass even if it is withing the rules.

Not saying this in defence of the security guards in question, more as an explanation - that's an emergency entrance/exit for ambulances and fire engines. I was helping a friend of mine move out of goldsmith a few months ago, and his mam parked there (and was told by security that she could). I had brought some stuff down and was waiting for her to open the car, and a security guy came over and started giving out to me for parking there. He explained that it was an emergency exit etc.

To explain, it turned out a girl had fainted in the sports hall. My mate wasn't trying to obrstruct them, just happened to be standing in the middle of the road, as were a few more of us but they kinda singled him out.

So they rushed up to the sports centre door and ended up just gettin in the way for when the ambulance came, going back down to where the lloyd is. The girl didn't even use the ambulance as far as I know, and they still had to come back down and give out. Oh well, gone from Trinity now so this is the last I'll have to suffer of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭not even wrong

Garda impersonator convicted on firearms, child porn charges
    He explained that he wanted people to think better of him and thought they would look up to him more as a garda than in his real job at the time as security man on Trinity College campus.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

That's messed up, especially the child porn bit.

However, as Walter's go, he isn't a patch on this pathetic fool... The awards he gives himself are hilarious!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

Is that article fo real? Ridiculous.

I wonder whether someone will look at this thread and be like "woah the new junior dean got arrested for impersonating guards and child porn?!!?!?"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

That was what I first thought. Fantastic first impression of him right!?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

There's a photo of him here. Was he reasonably high up in security? I was dragged into the security hut near the theatre one evening, and someone who certainly looked a lot like him seemed in charge. Just like the story, he made it out that I had just committed a serious breach of College rules and was in severe trouble. (Nothing happened.)

Hmmmm, I think I recognise him anyways? Absolute craziness... I wonder whether the other security guards new about his antics?