Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you expect to see in the big smoke (Dublin) and other major cities in Ireland.

• 18-06-2010 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Just to even things up between the country folk and city slikers what things do you expect to see in the big smoke and other major cities in Ireland ? Scumbags, traffic jams, quality hookers, bus queues, ATM machine queues, lost country people, pipe laying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

public transport :pac:

*in before someone says Dublin forum*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Fights
    Beggars
    Blocks and blocks of apartments
    Too many people all in the one place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Civilization.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

smog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Scumbags, traffic jams, quality hookers, bus queues, ATM machine queues, lost country people, pipe laying

In order:

Yes.
    Absolutely.
    Ireland?? - never!
    In the cities that actually have busses, yes.
    Harsh - never noticed them when I was in Ireland.
    People get lost when in unfamiliar surroundings - live with it.
    No idea.

Also:
    Confused alcoholics.
    Mooning.
    Vomit spewed everywhere.
    Wispas.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Loadsa culchies in lookin for da Christmas presents for the littl'uns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

A list of the bad things:

Traffic jams
    Closed roads
    Scumbags
    Smog
    Drunk people falling all over the place
    20 stone women in tracksuits
    Methadone clinics
    Heroin addicts ( not many of them in rural Ireland)
    Big issue
    Beggers
    Buses coming half an hour late in groups of 4 :mad:
    More scumbags
    Graffiti
    Temple bar ( ties in with no.5)
    People sleeping rough
    the entire city shutting down due to 2cm of snow
    the government and dail

and loads more i cant think of right now . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

litter and buckfast bottles.

everywhere.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

public transport that doesnt work very well :pac:
    FYP :D
    DubMedic wrote: »
    Civilization.
    [pretentious twat]Well one would expect that as the word stems from the word for cities *sniff*[/pretentious twat]:D
    Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Drugs
    You're kidding right? :eek:;):D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Just to even things up between the country folk and city slikers what things do you expect to see in the big smoke and other major cities in Ireland ? Scumbags, traffic jams, quality hookers, bus queues, ATM machine queues, lost country people, pipe laying

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

Buses.
    Shops and shops everywhere.
    Maybe trams?
    etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Taxi's and the charming people that drive them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Traffic lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

junkies

Forgot one:

Bus lanes in the worst places, preventing any traffic other than buses and those ignorant taxi drivers from actually getting anywhere.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Pedestrian crossings that speak to you.

Newsagents that do not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

bloody pavements after a shooting/stabbing nite before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 DaveHeno92

Quality hookers? :eek: I think you must be misinformed. If there are indeed any hookers in Irish cities I'd guess they're not exactly quality. No high class escorts here I'm afraid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

Intelligence.

(Waheeeeeeeeey!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Getting the daily "bitch about Ireland" thread out early I see.

DaveHeno92 wrote: »
    Quality hookers? :eek: I think you must be misinformed. If there are indeed any hookers in Irish cities I'd guess they're not exactly quality. No high class escorts here I'm afraid!

If they were quality ones they wouldnt be on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

If they were quality ones they wouldnt be on the streets.
    Obviously a man who knows what he's talking about. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

people in the supermarket buying ready made meals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Dr. No

burned out cars, bareback horse riding, fights outside abbra kebabra, pissed nurses and guards in coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A list of the bad things:

Traffic jams
    Closed roads
    Scumbags
    Smog
    Drunk people falling all over the place
    20 stone women in tracksuits
    Methadone clinics
    Heroin addicts ( not many of them in rural Ireland)
    Big issue
    Beggers
    Buses coming half an hour late in groups of 4 :mad:
    More scumbags
    Graffiti
    Temple bar ( ties in with no.5)
    People sleeping rough
    the entire city shutting down due to 2cm of snow
    the government and dail

and loads more i cant think of right now . . .

I take it alcohol, cars, public transport, homelessness, hard drugs, obesity, unemployment, vandalism, democracy, roads and snow havent arrived in rural Ireland yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

Sirens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Dr. No wrote: »
    burned out cars, bareback horse riding, fights outside abbra kebabra, pissed nurses and guards in coppers

all gardai and health care professionals in rural ireland are teetotal I take and would never dream of going to the culchie equivalent of coppers

orourkeda wrote: »
    I take it alcohol, cars, public transport, homelessness, hard drugs, obesity, democracy, roads and snow havent arrived in rural Ireland yet

Alcohol:Yes. People falling all over the streets because of it?Generally, no ( mainly because the streets aren't out in the country :P)

Cars: yes, traffic jams: not unless theres a tractor or a bad accident.

Public ransport: NO

Homelessness: Homeless people tend to stay in cities.

Hard Drugs: In towns yes, out in the country no.

Obesity: If there is a macdonalds nearby!!!

Democracy: yes, but the government dont spend any time out in the country.

Roads: Poor ones.

Snow: When an inch of snow falls in the country, it isnt mentioned in the news or the traffic reports and the whole place doesnt come to a standstill. In the city it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I take it alcohol, cars, public transport, homelessness, hard drugs, obesity, democracy, roads and snow havent arrived in rural Ireland yet

Not all together with the one person anyway. And i forgot the Zoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

infrastructure

all gardai and health care professionals in rural ireland are teetotal I take and would never dream of going to the culchie equivalent of coppers

Coppers is one of a kind, there is no culchie equivalent!!!

*thats not how i'm supposed to spell equivalent is it??

Yep,it is:D

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Yep,it is:D

It looks wrong for some reason . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

no hard drugs down the country alrite :phttp://www.9and10news.com/Category/Story/?id=227576&cID=1

on topic
    american fast food restaurants
    university students

It looks wrong for some reason . . .

It does, doesn't it!? i had to check it again myself before i answered. It must just be one of them words that never look right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Dr. No

Coppers is one of a kind, there is no culchie equivalent!!!

i agree. had many a good night/ early morning there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

DaveHeno92 wrote: »

We will beg to differ on that one so. They might not radiate quality from the outside, but from within .

Who honestly picks a hooker based on her personality???

Seriously, like, wtf???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

jordan.. wrote: »
    infrastructure

to be fair, the infrastructure of a city is no better than the country. with the amount of one-way lanes and narrow pokey windy streets, it takes ages to get anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

They might not radiate quality from the outside, but from within .

They radiate something from within, alright..I doubt it's quality, though.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Drugs
    Sure theres drugs everywhere:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

The culchie equivlent of coppers is in Glenfarne co leitrim the ballroom of romance:D:D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Useless traffic lights

Old bikes / traffic cones / shopping trolleys (and maybe a corpse) on the Liffey

People risking their own life swimming in the canals

Lots of dog sh1te, but no dogs to be seen :confused:

Road signs to the M50 / country :D

Stags and hens

Molly Malone statue used to be in Dub, now it can't be seen under layers and layers of tourists :rolleyes:

What other major cities in Ireland? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

bluewolf wrote: »
    What other major cities in Ireland? :pac:

Limerick, Derry, Cork, Belfast, Galway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Cyclists wearing silly helmets

Chelsea tractors doing the school run

Knackers in Celtic jerseys

D4 types in rugger jerseys, who pronounce Leinster as "Lunstur"

Crips

People who don't know how to drive on icy roads

Ugh Boots

An extra 50% mark up on all goods & services (also known as the "Dublin Tax")

Traffic jams

People driving under the speed limit

Public transport

Batta buuuuugaaas

Junkies

People over 16 who don't have a driving license

People over 30 who still don't have a driving license

Small shops that actually charge for plastic bags

No change out of a fiver for a pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

Scumbags that live on frozen food from lidl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid