Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Songs that make you look at life differently

• 16-06-2010 10:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Lana80

Sunscreen song by baz Luhrman,full of gems.What's yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Dream Theater - Learning To Live
    There was no time for pain
    No energy for anger
    The sightlessness of hatred slips away
    Walking through winter streets alone
    He stops and take a breath
    With confidence and self-control

I look at the world and see no understanding
    I'm waiting to find some sense of strength
    I'm begging you from the bottom of my heart to show me understanding

I need to live life
    Like some people never will
    So find me kindness
    Find me beauty
    Find me truth
    When temptation brings me to my knees
    And I lay here drained of strength
    Show me kindness
    Show me beauty
    Show me truth

The way your heart sounds
    makes all the difference
    It's what decides if you'll endure
    the pain that we all feel
    The way your heart beats
    makes all the difference
    In learning to live
    Here before me is my soul
    I'm learning to live
    I won't give up
    Till I've no more to give

Listening to the city
    Whispering its violence
    I set out watching from above
    The 90s bring new questions
    New solutions to be found
    I fell in love to be let down

Once again we dance in the crowd
    At times a step away
    From a common fear that's all
    spread out
    It won't listen to what you say
    Once you're touched you stand
    alone
    To face the bitter fight
    Once I reached for love
    And now I reach for life

Another chance to lift my life
    Free the sensation in my heart
    To ride the wings of dreams into changing horizons
    It brings inner peace within my mind,
    As I'm lifted from where I've spilt my life
    I hear an innocent voice
    I hear kindness, beauty and truth

The way your heart sounds
    makes all the difference
    It's what decides if you'll endure
    the pain that we all feel
    The way your heart beats
    makes all the difference
    In learning to live
    Spread before you is your soul
    So forever hold the dreams
    within our hearts
    Through nature's inflexible
    grace
    I'm learning to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Till It Shines (Bob Seger)

Take away my inhibitions
    Take away my solitude
    Fire me up with your resistance
    Put me in the mood
    Storm the walls around this prison
    Leave the inmates
    Free the guards
    Deal me up another future
    From some brand new deck of cards
    Take the chip off of my shoulder
    Smooth out all the lines
    Take me out among the rustling pines
    Till it shines

Like an echo down a canyon

Never coming back as clear
    Lately I just judge the distance
    Not the words I hear
    I've been too long on these islands
    I've been far too long alone
    I've been too long without summer
    In this winter home
    Still if we can make the effort
    If we take the time
    Maybe we can leave this much behind
    Till it shines

See the rich man lost and lonely

Watch him as he dines
    Sitting there just testing all the wines
    Till it shines

Something about hope for a better future etc. Doing my best not to consider future too much, but this song sets me back every time! :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

Bon Iver - Bloodbank

Well I met you at the blood bank
    We were looking at the bags
    Wondering if any of the colors
    Matched any of the names we knew on the tags

You said see look it that's yours
    Stacked on top with your brothers
    See how they resemble one anothers?
    Even in their plastic little covers

And I said I know it well

That secret that you know
    That you don't know how to tell
    it f--ks with your honor
    And it teases your head
    But you know that its good girl
    Cause its running you with red.

Then the snow started falling
    We were stuck out in your car
    You were rubbing both my hands
    Chewing on a candy bar
    you said ain't this just like the present
    To be showing up like this
    There's a moon waning crescent
    we started to kiss

And I said I know it well

That secret that we know
    That we don't know how to tell
    I'm in love with your honor
    I'm in love with your cheeks
    what's that noise up the stairs baby
    Is that Christmas morning creak

And I know it well (8x)

A song about being stuck with someone you love alone in the snow - really makes you appreciate finding that someone special

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Pearl Jam
    "I'm Open"

a man lies in his bed in a room with no door
    he waits hoping for a presence, something, anything to enter
    after spending half his life searching, he still felt as blank
    as the ceiling at which he's staring
    he's alive, but feels absolutely nothing
    so, is he?
    when he was six he believed that the moon overhead followed him
    by nine he had deciphered the illusion, trading magic for fact
    no tradebacks...
    so this is what it's like to be an adult
    if he only knew now what he knew then...
    i'm open
    i'm open
    come in
    come in
    come in
    come in
    i'm open
    i'm open
    come in
    come in
    come in
    come in
    lying sideways atop crumpled sheets and no covers
    he decides to dream...
    dream up a new self for himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Funnily enough, i was listening to this before I saw this thread! :D Alot of music changes my perspective on things, this is just one of ALOT of songs really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Metallica - Motorbreath

"Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing on what life's about. You only live once so take hold of the chance, don't end up like others, same song and dance"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

This Is Your Life - Switchfoot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Another Pearl Jam one. I love this one.

"Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In A Small Town"

i seem to recognize your face
    haunting, familiar, yet i can't seem to place it
    cannot find the candle of thought to light your name
    lifetimes are catching up with me
    all these changes taking place, i wish i'd seen the place
    but no one's ever taken me
    hearts and thoughts they fade, fade away...
    i swear i recognize your breath
    memories like fingerprints are slowly raising
    me, you wouldn't recall, for i'm not my former
    it's hard when, you're stuck upon the shelf
    i changed by not changing at all, small town predicts my fate
    perhaps that's what no one wants to see
    i just want to scream...hello...
    my god its been so long, never dreamed you'd return
    but now here you are, and here i am
    hearts and thoughts they fade...away...
    hearts and thoughts they fade...

Here's the meaning behind the lyrics http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elderly_Woman_Behind_the_Counter_in_a_Small_Town#Lyrics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

Don't know if this changes my life, but it is rare to have a song match my own mind so strongly.

Only Exception, by Paramore
    When I was younger
    I saw my daddy cry
    And curse at the wind
    He broke his own heart
    And I watched
    As he tried to reassemble it

And my momma swore that
    She would never let herself forget
    And that was the day that I promised
    I'd never sing of love
    If it does not exist

But darling,
    You, are, the only exception

Maybe I know, somewhere
    Deep in my soul
    That love never lasts
    And we've got to find other ways
    To make it alone
    Keep a straight face

And I've always lived like this
    Keeping a comfortable, distance
    And up until now
    I had sworn to myself that I'm
    Content with loneliness
    Because none of it was ever worth the risk

Well, You, are, the only exception

I've got a tight grip on reality
    But I can't
    Let go of what's in front of me here
    I know you're leaving
    In the morning, when you wake up
    Leave me with some kind of proof it's not a dream

You, are, the only exception

And I'm on my way to believing
    Oh, And I'm on my way to believing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Any song that makes you think about the harder choices that we make in relationships through the years to get to where we are today. There are three that come to mind. I'll list the lyrics to all three as they can be long when telling a story. I'll post them in three consecutive threads.

This is the song that I usually end us singing after a long night on the sauce

Taxi by Harry Chapin

It was raining hard in 'Frisco
    I needed one more fare to make my night
    A lady up ahead waved to flag me down
    She got in at the light

Oh, where you going to, my lady blue
    It's a shame you ruined your gown in the rain
    She just looked out the window and said
    "Sixteen Parkside Lane"

Something about her was familiar
    I could swear I'd seen her face before
    But she said, "I'm sure you're mistaken"
    And she didn't say anything more

It took a while, but she looked in the mirror
    Then she glanced at the license for my name
    A smile seemed to come to her slowly
    It was a sad smile, just the same

And she said, "How are you Harry"
    I said, "How are you Sue
    Through the too many miles and the too little smiles
    I still remember you"

It was somewhere in a fairy tale
    I used to take her home in my car
    We learned about love in the back of a Dodge
    The lesson hadn't gone too far

You see, she was gonna be an actress
    And I was gonna learn to fly
    She took off to find the footlights
    And I took off to find the sky

Oh, I've got something inside me
    To drive a princess blind
    There's a wild man, wizard, he's hiding in me
    Illuminating my mind
    Oh, I've got something inside me
    Not what my life's about
    'Cause I've been letting my outside tide me
    Over 'til my time runs out

Baby's so high that she's skying
    Yes she's flying, afraid to fall
    I'll tell you why baby's crying
    'Cause she's dying, aren't we all

There was not much more for us to talk about
    Whatever we had once was gone
    So I turned my cab into the driveway
    Past the gate and the fine trimmed lawns

And she said, we must get together
    But I knew it'd never be arranged
    And she handed me twenty dollars for a two fifty fare
    She said, "Harry, keep the change"

Well another man might have been angry
    And another man might have been hurt
    But another man never would have let her go
    I stashed the bill in my shirt

And she walked away in silence
    It's strange, how you never know
    But we'd both gotten what we'd asked for
    Such a long, long time ago

You see, she was gonna be an actress
    And I was gonna learn to fly
    She took off to find the footlights
    And I took off for the sky

And here, she's acting happy
    Inside her handsome home
    And me, I'm flying in my taxi
    Taking tips, and getting stoned
    I go flying so high, when I'm stoned

Unanswered Prayers by Garth Brooks

Just the other night a hometown football game
    My wife and I ran into my old high school flame
    And as I introduced them the past came back to me
    And I couldn't help but think of the way things used to be

She was the one that I'd wanted for all times
    And each night I'd spend prayin' that God would make her mine
    And if he'd only grant me this wish I wished back then
    I'd never ask for anything again

CHORUS:
    Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
    Remember when you're talkin' to the man upstairs
    That just because he doesn't answer doesn't mean he don't care
    Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

She wasn't quite the angel that I remembered in my dreams
    And I could tell that time had changed me
    Inn her eyes too it seemed
    We tried to talk about the old days
    There wasn't much we could recall
    I guess the Lord knows what he's doin' after all

And as she walked away and I looked at my wife
    And then and there I thanked the good Lord
    For the gifts in my life

CHORUS

Some of God's greatest gifts are all too often unanswered...
    Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

Beeswing by Richard Thompson

I was nineteen when I came to town
    They called in the Summer of Love
    They were burning babies, burning flags
    The Hawks against the Doves

I took a job in the steamie
    Down on Cauldrum Street
    I fell in love with a laundry girl
    Was working next to me

CHORUS
    She was a rare thing
    Fine as a beeswing
    So fine a breath of wind might blow her away
    She was a lost child
    She was running wild, she said
    As long as there's no price on love, I'll stay
    And you wouldn't want me any other way

Brown hair zig-zag round her face
    And a look of half-surprise
    Like a fox caught in the headlights
    There was an animal in her eyes

She said, young man, O can't you see
    I'm not the factory kind
    If you don't take me out of here
    I'll surely lose my mind

CHORUS

We busked around the market towns
    And picked fruit down in Kent
    And we could tinker lamps and pots
    And knives wherever we went

And I said that we might settle down
    Get a few acres dug
    Fire burning in the hearth
    And babies on the rug

She said O man, you foolish man
    It surely sounds like hell
    You might be lord of half the world
    You'll not own me as well

CHORUS

We was camping down the Gower one time
    The work was pretty good
    She thought we shouldn't wait for frost
    And I thought maybe we should

We were drinking more in those days
    And tempers reached a pitch
    Like a fool I let her run
    With the rambling itch

Last I hear she's sleeping out
    Back on Derby beat
    White Horse in her hip pocket
    And a wolfhound at her feet

And they say she even married once
    A man named Romany Brown
    But even a Gypsy caravan
    Was too much settling down

And they say her flower is faded now
    Hard weather and hard booze
    But maybe that's just hte price you pay
    For the chains you refuse

She was a rare thing
    Fine as a beeswing
    And I miss her more than ever words could say
    If I could just taste
    All of her wildness now
    If I could hold her in my arms today
    Then I wouldn't want her any other way

HERO By: Superchick

No one sits with him, he doesn’t fit in,
    But we feel like we do when we make fun of him,
    'Cause you want to belong, do you go along?
    'Cause his pain is the price paid for you to belong
    It’s not like you hate him or want him to die,
    But maybe he goes home and thinks suicide,
    Or he comes back to school with a gun at his side,
    Any kindness from you might have saved his life...

TAG: Heroes are made when you make a choice...
    CHORUS:
    You could be a hero,
    Heroes do what’s right,
    You could be a hero,
    You might save a life,
    You could be a hero, you could join the fight,
    For what’s right, for what’s right, for what’s right...

No one talks to her, she feels so alone,
    She’s in too much pain to survive on her own,
    The hurt she can’t handle overflows to a knife,
    She writes on her arm, wants to give up her life,
    Each day she goes on is a day that shes brave,
    Fighting the lie that giving up is the way,
    Each moment of courage her own life she saves,
    When she throws the pills out, a hero is made...

TAG/CHORUS

No one talks to him about how he lives,
    He thinks that the choices he makes are just his,
    Doesn’t know he’s a leader with the way he behaves,
    And others will follow the choices he’s made,
    He lives on the edge, he’s old enough to decide,
    His brother who wants to be him is just nine,
    He can do what he wants because it’s his right,
    The choices he makes change a nine-year-old's life...

TAG/CHORUS

Little Mikey-Dee was the one in class
    Who everyday got brutally harassed
    This went on for years
    Till he decided that never again would he shed another tear
    So he walked through the door
    And grabbed the .44 out of his father's dresser drawer
    He said 'I can't take life no more'
    And like that a life can be lost
    But this ain't even about that
    All of us just sat back and watched it happen
    Thinking its not our responsibility
    To solve a problem that isn't even about me
    This is our problem.
    This is just one of the daily scenarios
    In which we choose to close our eyes
    Instead of doing the right thing
    If we make a choice and be the voice
    For those who won't speak up for themselves
    How many lives would be saved, changed, rearranged?
    Now it's our time to pick a side.
    So don't keep walking by not wanting to intervene,
    Cause you just want to exist and never be seen.
    So lets wake up, change the world
    Our time is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

A friend posted this up on Facebook the other day and it brought a tear to my eye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

HUrt _nine inch nails ,prefer the cash version.

I hurt myself today
    to see if I still feel
    I focus on the pain
    the only thing that's real
    the needle tears a hole
    the old familiar sting
    try to kill it all away
    but I remember everything
    what have I become?
    my sweetest friend
    everyone I know
    goes away in the end
    and you could have it all
    my empire of dirt

I will let you down
    I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of thorns
    upon my liar's chair
    full of broken thoughts
    I cannot repair
    beneath the stains of time
    the feelings disappear
    you are someone else
    I am still right here

what have I become?
    my sweetest friend
    everyone I know
    goes away in the end
    and you could have it all
    my empire of dirt

I will let you down
    I will make you hurt

if I could start again
    a million miles away
    I would keep myself
    I would find a way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

The Avett Brothers - The Ballad Of Love And Hate

Basically about two completely different people - love and hate.
    The end is lovely, hate basically forfeits. Such a sweet song. :)

Love writes a letter and sends it to Hate:
    "My vacation,s ending, I'm coming home late
    The weather was fine and the ocean was great
    And I can't wait to see you again"

Hate reads the letter and throws it away
    "No one here cares if you go or you stay
    I barely even noticed that you were away
    I'll see you or I won't, whatever"

Love sings a song as she sails through the sky
    The water looks bluer through her pretty eyes
    And everyone knows it whenever she flies
    And also when she comes down

Hate keeps his head up and walks through the street
    Every stranger and drifter he greets
    And shakes hands with every loner he meets
    With a serious look on his face

Love arrives safely with suitcase in toe
    Carrying with her the good things we know
    A reason to live and a reason to grow
    To trust, to hold, to care

Hate sits alone on the hood of his car
    Without much regard to the moon or the stars
    Lazily killing the last of a jar
    Of the strongest stuff you can drink

Love takes a taxi, a young man drives
    As soon he sees her hope fills his eyes
    But tears follow after at the end of the ride
    Because he might never see her again

Hate gets home lucky to still be alive
    He screams over the sidewalk and into the drive
    The clock in the kitchen says two-fifty-five
    And the clock in the kitchen is slow

Love has been waiting patient and kind
    Just wanting a phone call or some kind of sign
    That the one that she cares for who's out of his mind
    Will make it back safe to her arms

Hate stumbles forward and leans in the door
    Weary head hung down, eyes to the floor
    He says, "Love, I'm sorry," and she says, "What for?
    I'm yours and that's it, whatever
    I should not have been gone for so long
    I'm yours and that's it, forever
    Your mine and that's it, forever"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭cealabeala

Love this thread :)

The Sunscreen song is brilliant, also love Bon Iver and Brighteyes, I was going to say First Day of My Life too.

I really like the lyrics to Ellie Gouldings Guns and Horses...

Also Stornoways I Saw You Blink...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

This was one of the first songs to make me realise my ex wasn't coming back, and I needed to say a last goodbye.
    This is our last goodbye
    I hate to feel the love between us die.
    But it's over
    Just hear this and then I'll go:
    You gave me more to live for,
    More than you'll ever know.

Well, this is our last embrace,
    Must I dream and always see your face?
    Why can't we overcome this wall?
    Baby, maybe it's just because I didn't know you at all.

Kiss me, please kiss me,
    But kiss me out of desire, babe, and not consolation.
    Oh, you know it makes me so angry 'cause I know that in time
    I'll only make you cry, this is our last goodbye.

Did you say, "No, this can't happen to me"?
    And did you rush to the phone to call?
    Was there a voice unkind in the back of your mind saying,
    "Maybe, you didn't know him at all,
    you didn't know him at all,
    oh, you didn't know"?

Well, the bells out in the church tower chime,
    Burning clues into this heart of mine.
    Thinking so hard on her soft eyes, and the memories
    Offer signs that it's over, it's over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭mariaf24

The Spice Girls - Wannabe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

This song was always just a song to me!
    Until I found out I was going to be a Dad, then it all just clicked into actual meaningfulness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

This song always reminds me thats its the simplest things in life that mean the most.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭mollymascara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭I_am_LOST

Colin Hay - Waiting for my real life to begin

Any minute now my ship is coming in
    I'll keep checking the horizon
    And I'll stand on the bow
    And feel the waves come crashing
    Come crashing down, down, down on me

And you said,"Be still, my love
    Open up your heart
    Let the light shine in"
    Don't you understand?
    I already have a plan
    I'm waiting for my real life to begin

When I awoke today suddenly nothing happened
    But in my dreams I slew the dragon
    And down this beaten path
    And up this cobbled lane
    I'm walking in my own footsteps once again

And you say,"Just be here now
    Forget about the past
    Your mask is wearing thin"
    Let me throw one more dice
    I know that I can win

Any minute now my ship is coming in
    I'll keep checking the horizon
    And I'll check my machine
    There's sure to be that call
    It's gonna happen soon, soon, oh so very soon
    It's just that times are lean

And you say,"Be still, my love
    Open up your heart
    Let the light shine in"
    Don't you understand?
    I already have a plan

Hey heyeyeyeyey
    Hey yeeeeeee
    Hey heyeyeyeyey
    Eeh eeh eeh eeh eh

On a clear day
    I can see, see a very long way

On a clear day
    I can see, see a very long way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Ramette

joni mitchell Both Sides Now (am showing my age!!!)

especially like the 'love actually' version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Love this waltz version of a truly beautiful song.

We said we'd walk together baby come what may
    That come the twilight should we lose our way
    If as we're walkin a hand should slip free
    I'll wait for you
    And should I fall behind
    Wait for me

We swore we'd travel darlin' side by side
    We'd help each other stay in stride
    But each lover's steps fall so differently
    But I'll wait for you
    And if I should fall behind
    Wait for me

Now everyone dreams of a love lasting and true
    But you and I know what this world can do
    So let's make our steps clear that the other may see
    And I'll wait for you
    If I should fall behind
    Wait for me

Now there's a beautiful river in the valley ahead
    There 'neath the oak's bough soon we will be wed
    Should we lose each other in the shadow of the evening trees
    I'll wait for you
    And should I fall behind
    Wait for me
    Darlin' I'll wait for you
    Should I fall behind
    Wait for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭EnglishPollop

Dolorous wrote: »
    A friend posted this up on Facebook the other day and it brought a tear to my eye!

This just made me cry! What a lovely little song...
    Is going up on my FB page now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

+1 Suncreen song... I've listened to it too many times and I still love it and it still speaks to me.

Love this... Philip Glass, The Hours. It sends shivers up my spine...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3FniHgiyaTY

As does his 'Knee 2'.

edit ; tried figuring out how to put in a video, but to no avail, sorry.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I_am_LOST wrote: »
    Colin Hay - Waiting for my real life to begin

I was actually going to post that too :).

Some of you might know it from Scrubs:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Reminds me of a friend of mine. He was forever putting the beach boys on the student bar jukebox.

People always would say "Geez Mark, the beach boys? Isn't that a bit cheesy?"

He would always smile and say nicely. "It is always sunny when you listen to the beach boys."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭roashter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smoggy11

Ah there have been so many!

I think songs will speak to you at different times depending on your mood. A few that always move me are:

Gabriel and the Vagabond - Foy Vance

Indescriminate act of kindness - Foy Vance
    (I'm not religious at all, but these songs always move me!)

Dance me to the end of love - Madeline Peyroux (Jeff Buckley is just a bit too depressing:p)

Kissing you- Des'ree

Also a lot of classical pieces, requiem for a dream, adagio in d-minor, the soundtrack for the shawshank redemption...

It just depends on mood really.

Oh, also a song by paul simon, you can call me al. One line in particular, "he looks around, around, he sees angels in the architecture, spinning in infinity he says, amen and hallelujah" That gives me shivers even typing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

the most played tune on my ipod is none other than:

fuct if i know, i just think its a wicked good tune!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

cealabeala wrote: »
    Also Stornoways I Saw You Blink...

Stornoway are my new favourite band. They are fantastic! I can't get enough of listening to their album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

This came from a soundtrack Nikki Sixx did for his book, "The Heroin Diaries." Sends shivers down my spine everytime.

Also, Weak and Powerless by APC changed my life

Tomorrow-Sixx:am

Where ya gonna be tomorrow?
    How ya gonna face the sorrow?
    Where ya gonna be when you die?
    'Cause nothing's gonna last forever
    And things they change like the weather
    They're gone in the blink of an eye

Just look at yourself, can you see where you are?
    Look at yourself, now you can't hide the scars
    Just look at yourself 'cause there's nowhere to go
    And you know

Tomorrow
    You're gonna have to live with the things you say
    Tomorrow
    You'll have to cross bridges that you burned today
    Tomorrow...
    And everything you do, it's coming back for you
    You'll never outrun what waits for you
    Tomorrow.

And are you terrified by sadness
    And have you given into madness
    You're running out of places to hide
    'Cause everybody's got a reason
    To justify how they're feelin'
    Maybe you should open your eyes

Just look at yourself, do you like what you see?
    Look at yourself, is this how it should be?
    Just look at yourself, 'cause there's nowhere to go
    And you'll know

Tomorrow
    Tomorrow
    Tomorrow...
    Tomorrow.

Are you waiting for the reason to change?
    Are you waiting for the end, has it came?
    Nothing's gonna stand in your way...

Just look at yourself, do you like what you see?
    Look at yourself, is this how it should be?

Tomorrow
    Tomorrow
    Tomorrow...
    Tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

pearl jam - rearview mirror

I took a drive today
    Time to emancipate
    I guess it was the beatings made me wise
    But I'm not about to give thanks, or apologize
    I couldn't breathe, holdin' me down
    Hand on my face, pushed to the ground
    Enmity gaged, united by fear
    Forced to endure what I could not forgive...

I seem to look away
    Wounds in the mirror waved
    It wasn't my surface most defiled
    Head at your feet, fool to your crown
    Fist on my plate, swallowed it down
    Enmity gaged, united by fear
    Tried to endure what I could not forgive

Saw things
    Clearer
    Once you, were in my... rearviewmirror...

I gather speed from you ****ing with me
    Once and for all I'm far away
    I hardly believe, finally the shades...are raised...hey...

Saw things so much clearer
    Once you, once you...
    Rearviewmirror

Saw things so much clearer
    Once you...oh yeah...

the frames - what happens - when the heart just stops

So what happens when the heart just stops
    Stops caring for anyone
    The hollow in your chest dries up
    And you stop believing

So what happens when the heart gives up
    But the body goes on living
    The blood crawls to a slow and stops
    And flows away

Well we got no-one to meet
    No love we would beseech
    We only have ourselves to blame for everything
    The was no answer in the dust
    And I'm missing you so much
    And now you're sleeping
    And I'm leaving

Empty-handed waiting
    Time it will subside and we'll agree
    It was a given
    Well there was no standard we could set
    And the world it does regret
    To have to leave you in this state of bereavement

You see I'm feeling everything
    Nothing gets by

There is a hollow in my chest
    The time I won't forget
    There is no comfort in the eyes
    They put us always to the test
    I can't prepare myself for that
    But I work it out in time
    There is a love that flows between us
    Ever-changing everyday
    I worked myself up to a crawl
    But I'm not fearing it at all
    We have no reason left to stay
    And that's why we're leaving
    And there was no answer in the dust
    And the one I feared to trust
    There is a lie that drags us
    Beating and pulling into disappointment

I'm disappointed

It's so late, till you're gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭THEZAPPA

Alice in chains...love this song!

This song means so much to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 disposedof

For me, yea going through bad breakup at 30 :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAfRW_RMK4M
    In flames - Come Clarity

love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭alanajane

YouTube - Johnny Cash - For The Good Times.wmv

Originally a Kris Kristofferen song but there is something in JC voice that just touches the heart, my relationship was on the point of breakup when we both heard this song, it made us stop and think and to give it another go.

Below is my 'happy song' always puts me in a good mood.

:)YouTube - Israel Kamakawiwo'Ole 'IZ' 'Somewhere Over The Rainbow'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

Real Gone Kid - Deacon Blue
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHTI31XuQxk

Dont you forget about me - Simple Minds
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAdaQhitdKg

Just go happy classic tunes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Mr Yellow

Sorry to depress you all but these are deep, too deep even...

This second one wont post like the first, def worth a listen though
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jSSVJwGek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Frank Sinatra's "You make me feel so young"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVWJashcBKg&feature=related

When I first heard it I was 13 and going through the usual teenage angst. I remember thinking that all was suddenly right with the world:). Even now it still has that magic and makes my heart sing.

"you make me feel there are songs to be sung, bells to be rung".......... :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Calico Skies by Paul McCartney. For so many reasons I won't bore you with. But yeah, heart warmer and spirit lifter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

Red Army Blue by The Waterboys is a little respected or talked about song and I don't know why. The first half of the twentieth centuary had so much needless bloodshed, millions upon millions dying and this song goes illustrates that you do not betray your ideals, but your ideals betray you.

And for me, and this may sound a little cynical but you often have to be, you can do your little your part for a cause but it will never be exactly what you want it to be.

In short, be conscientous, but at the end of the day just try to enjoy your own little life and your own piece of turf because the greater ideal can let you down.

If you have never heard this song please listen

When I left my home and my family
    my mother said to me
    "Son, it's not how many Germans you kill that counts
    It's how many people you set free!"

So I packed my bags
    brushed my cap
    Walked out into the world
    seventeen years old
    Never kissed a girl

Took the train to Voronezh
    that was as far as it would go