Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Government expel Israeli diplomat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Thats Anti-semitist! :P :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I'd say the Isreali's are truly gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/europe/10319210.stm

Martin better watch his back :pac:

Considering it was over the Israelis assassinating one of 'their enemies' perhaps he should watch his back. Probably wouldnt be a good idea for Martin to become an aid worker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Words can simply not describe.... how little I care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

About time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

This reminds me of all those stories about scumbag criminals who get suspended sentences due to pleading a rough childhood then go to brag about their light sentence to their little cronies.

It's too little and it's very late imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's like kicking a dog two days after it sh1t on your carpet.

Not that I would do either of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's like kicking a dog two days after it sh1t on your carpet.

Not that I would do either of those.

I should certainly hope you wouldn't sh1t on my carpet!

I usually only get invited to a place once, for some reason:(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

He could get a free lift on the next flotilla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It's quick decisions like these that make our Government the envy of countries around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

About time.

"About time" - says Moshi Ben David (or whatever his name is) "I thought out of this kip I'd never get".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I usually only get invited to a place once, for some reason:(.

awww...
    [hug]
    [sniff]
    [grabs collar]
    OUT OUT OUT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

That'll learn them.

The diplomat had probably booked his annual holiday, and Martin took the opportunity of announcing an "expulsion". The diplomat will be back in a month's time, and no-one will be any the wiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Good riddance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

About time. Should up it now and start a boycott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

"About time" - says Moshi Ben David (or whatever his name is) "I thought out of this kip I'd never get".

I find it hard to understand how you can be so blasé about something which affects Irish national security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I find it hard to understand how you can be so blasé about something which affects Irish national security.

Because he's an "ardent Israeli supporter" (his own words).

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66075408&postcount=82

He won't even call the murder a murder - it's "The Dubai elimination" :rolleyes:

The chap would say white is black if Israel termed it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 IBTL

Unfortunately they won't pay a blind bit of notice

Cop on.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

He won't even call the murder a murder - it's "The Dubai elimination" :rolleyes:

The chap would say white is black if Israel termed it that way.
    Cop on.

Folks lets try and discuss the topic at hand without the personal stuff. Please report any posts which you find offensive for us to review. Better than shouting down each other on thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

disappointing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

SV wrote: »
    disappointing tbh.

What were you expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Serously irish have security? what are the gaurda gonna do? Point there finger? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

dr gonzo wrote: »
    What were you expecting?

Oh I was expecting it alright but it doesn't make it any less disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Because he's an "ardent Israeli supporter" (his own words).

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66075408&postcount=82

That's some good detective work there Frankie... :cool::P

This incident would almost make you proud of Ireland, except I'm more suspicious that they are only doing it to appease European relations, claim some respect for out passport & not out of any moral reasoning, but that's only a suspicion & could be wrong...

Still, it's great that Europe doesn't allow Israel to get away with pulling their U.S. backed shenanigans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

SV wrote: »
    disappointing tbh.

How/why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

I wonder if it had been the US suspected of the assassination, would he have expelled one of their diplomats...... i seriously doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

FunnyStuff wrote: »
    I wonder if it had been the US suspected of the assassination, would he have expelled one of their diplomats...... i seriously doubt it.

The people would have gone crazy, look at how people reacted to Shannon being used for refuelling as they bombed Iraq.

Didn't politicians allow it...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Some people would have gone crazy, but largely of a group of people that the Government is pretty used to ignoring at this stage. I certainly doubt anyone would be expelled.

Anyway, I doubt it'll do much good. As for being blase about Irish national security, I don't see how this action is going to enhance it in any way.

Nevore wrote: »

Anyway, I doubt it'll do much good.

It'll do feck all I bet.

I'd love to see what position this Israeli diplomat held, most likely it was someone at the bottom of the ladder. Probably a services officer (messenger) or someone of equally unimportance to the Israeli's or us.

And besides', get rid of their embassador too - infact why do we need ANY foreign embassy staff at all?.

Is it not a bit outdated to have embassies all over the world, and no doubt at huge expense too. I doubt there's a thing of importance an embassy does which can not be done over electronic mean's from their home country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

It'll do feck all I bet.

I'd love to see what position this Israeli diplomat held, most likely it was someone at the bottom of the ladder. Probably a services officer (messenger) or someone of equally unimportance to the Israeli's or us.
    Yeah, but all the spies and assassins would be down as someone low ranking, all sneaky like, right? :pac:
    And besides', get rid of their embassador too - infact why do we need ANY foreign embassy staff at all?.

Is it not a bit outdated to have embassies all over the world, and no doubt at huge expense too. I doubt there's a thing of importance an embassy does which can not be done over electronic mean's from their home country.
    Nah, I like him. He's an occassional customer of mine! And as for the need for ambassadors, well, there are times, probably like this one in particular, where a face to face can do a lot more to alleviate tensions than a Skype phonecall or a faxed message could do.
    We probably don't need one in any of the EU countries or the US though, but maybe keep consular staff in country to help disaster prone Irish tourists abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

It'll do feck all I bet.

they look after their citizens who may be living or working in the country,the british embassy is the busiest in the republic

Nevore wrote: »
    We probably don't need one in any of the EU countries or the US though, but maybe keep consular staff in country to help disaster prone Irish tourists abroad.

A consular would probably suffice for a country like Israel, with whom we don't have any great trading links. I don't think we even have direct flights to Israel (I know I've never been able to find one).

If I recall correctly we were one of the last countries in the world to recognize Israel as a state.

In fact when I was in Lebanon from 1988-1989, whenever there was a serious incident involving Irish troops we summoned their embassy staff in London to our embassy there (London) or our consulate in Cyprus paid a visit to Tel Aviv.

Even this explusion, if you scratch the surface, is just political window dressing. Minister Martin even said it himself more or less when he said that the offical being expelled had nothing to do with the assasination of the terrorist or the forgery of passports.

Minister Martin - the mouse that roared :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Just the one expelled - wimps! They should have expelled one for every Irish passport that was used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

If only sinn fein were in government he could have been knee-capped instead - much more effective.

FunnyStuff wrote: »
    i doubt it too,remember the republic has a long history of anti-semitism,so expelling a jewish diplomat is no big deal

getz wrote: »
    i doubt it too,remember the republic has a long history of anti-semitism,so expelling a jewish diplomat is no big deal

The expulsion has nothing to do with anti-semitism :confused:

His expulsion was perfectly valid, and carried out for the same reasons the British expelled a diplomat over the water.

Either show some evidence to back up your assertion re the expulsion, or keep it to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Pure bull**** and lame attempt at deflection.

israel's govt has a more significant history of anti-Irish sentiment than vice versa. Jewish groups have gone after the hunt family and even branded Mary Robinson an anti-semite etc etc

Nodin wrote: »
    His expulsion was perfectly valid, and carried out for the same reasons the British expelled a diplomat over the water.

Either show some evidence to back up your assertion re the expulsion, or keep it to yourself.
    as far as i see it ,it was two security officers who worked in the embassy that got the irish passports

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Like what, for example? The De Valera thing/the Limerick pogrom doesn't mean the republic has a long history of anti semitism.

As said, this wasn't an anti Semitic move anyway - Zionist zealots just resort to saying that sh1t to justify Israel's barbarism.

Dudess wrote: »
    Like what, for example? The De Valera thing/the Limerick pogrom doesn't mean the republic has a long history of anti semitism.

I think Mr Getz is referring to the weekly pogroms and mass-murder in Killinaskully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Utter garbage. The diplomat who is expelled is a representative of a state, not a religion. Whenever somebody cries 'anti-semitism' whenever somebody criticises Israel, or one of it's representatives, his or her argument is automatically devoid of any credibility. Learn the difference between a state and a religion.

I wouldn't think thats correct at all, at least not in present times.

I think the diplomat was expelled because we had to be seen to be doing something, and God forbid we cut trade links or some kind of government boycott of Israeli produce because that would probably hurt us more than them.

So, we went for the soft option & sent some idiot back home to sunshine & hummus. I'm sure the person in question isn't too cut up over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Sykk wrote: »
    Words can simply not describe.... how little I care.

Then why bother posting at all? Guess what, as little as you may care, the world cares even less that you don't care. Now go away.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Utter garbage. The diplomat who is expelled is a representative of a state, not a religion. Whenever somebody cries 'anti-semitism' whenever somebody criticises Israel, or one of it's representatives, his or her argument is automatically devoid of any credibility. Learn the difference between a state and a religion.

You can't say a word against Israel now without the old 'anti-semitic' thing coming up. But in a way, that's one country where religion and state are inextricably intertwined, since Israel only really exists as a state at all because apparently god promised that land to the jews, and why zionists are so hardcore in their belief that that state and that land belongs to them and them only (and hence justifies bulldozing the Palestinians off it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

aidan24326 wrote: »
    You can't say a word against Israel now without the old 'anti-semitic' thing coming up. But in a way, that's one country where religion and state are inextricably intertwined, since Israel only really exists as a state at all because apparently god promised that land to the jews
    Agreed, but it's still not anti Semitic to object to Israel's excessive force.

I really feel for Israelis who are also disgusted by their government's actions, as well as having to live under the Hamas threat.

as far as i see it ,it was two security officers who worked in the embassy that got the irish passports

"as far as you see it" counts for sweet fuck all in this instance.

You were asked for something to back up your implication that the expulsion was in some way linked to anti-semitism. Your crystal ball work doesn't even do that much. The opposite, if anything.