Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most uncomfortable car you've driven?

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

1998 Opel Corsa. Hire car from Dublin Airport.

It felt like there was no physical connection between the controls and the car.

I actually stopped and opened the bonnet and checked that it was a 4 cylinder.

Horrid, rubber controls (steering, clutch, brake).

I quite liked the looks but it was a heck of a let down.

G.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I drove my MkII Escort RS2000 over the w/e - went Limerick - Dublin, and Liverpool - Leicester and back (but via Belfast).

Car was faultless throughout, but the poor driver was pretty cream crackered :D

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Renault senic
    nissan tiida
    and worst of all Opel Aguila that thing felt like it was going to land on the door handles when cornering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

My mums old Mini was really uncomfortable. It was like a go cart.

95 Toyota Celica, horrible and my aul' fella's Suzuki Liana,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

draffodx wrote: »
    Whats the one car you'd hate to have to drive for an hour?

My first car - a 1974 Mazda 323 1.4 GLE
    It was past 20 years old when I got it.
    Great around town, but if the journey was longer than an hour, it would wreck my back and my legs (and that was when I was a young fella).

I used to sit sideways in the seat to try and ease the discomfort.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

04 Merc C Class - Classic Spec. Sure it soaked up the bumps, but it handled like a cruise liner. I've never had so much bodyroll in anything. Cornering with any gusto was ridiculous and uncomfortable - thrown all around the seat. Then you hit the brakes, and the front pogos up and down. Enough to make you vomit. Stupid pensioner car!

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

97 seat somethig....made me physical travel sick after a 10 min drive :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Ah sure that because you back was wrecked from putting so much stuff into the enormous boot :)

Hehe, I actually went to Sligo to pick up a PS3 and TV in it, it was the old lump of a PS3 too. :D

The TDI is great but me jaysus back was wrecked after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

a 2007 kia rio or something whatever there called, i do believe they use rubber as shocks:eek: it was like a lowerd piece of ****e civic only it handled like a giraffe on roller skates:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

a lexus is200

it was on big wheels and lowered and all, and i jsut found it horrible. the seats were horrible cloth ones, so even though you felt relatively comfortable first sitting in, after an hour, id be sweating terribly, my back would be killing me, and id be very stiff getting out.

haven't experienced that since my punto days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

squod wrote: »
    03 corolla

+100000000000000

Any sort of a corolla. When god invented celery it was the blandest most boring thing in the world. He was amazed when man improved on that and made the corolla which was more boring and bland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

R.O.R wrote: »
    It's a toss up between a Peugeot 407, a Nissan Primera (last shape) or a Renault Laguna.

All 3 have a seating position which feels like you are "on" the car rather than in the car. Unfortunately the 159 is bordering on that too,which spoils it for me completley.

No are a patch on the 2004 or 2005 Sprinters that I took home earlier this year, but as vans they don't count.

The Primera gets my vote. The seat attempts to be adjustable every which way but there are so many adjustable boards in it is just feels like sitting on a collection of hard planks. Trying all the adjustments every which way nothing felt anyway comfortable, the one place my back needed support there wasn't, and about 10 minutes in it was enough to bring on severe back pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Alfa 156 as a passenger. You could feel every single imperfection in the road. Couldn't been a wishbone gone as it was a test drive from a slightly dodgy dealer.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

About a week after i lowered my civic coupe a few years ago i realised i'd turned a fairly comfortable car into a back braking pain in the hole of a car that i was glad to get out of at the end of each journey.:(

Yeah it was a better ride in the corners but by christ did everything else suffer. Any sort of bump, lump, manhole cover, anything at all made the car shake like a sh!tting dog. Never again.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

My first car was an 1.2 litre Opel Corsa ( 1992 )

The steering wheel was about an inch or two off-centre.
    If you sat perfectly straight, the steering wheel was an inch or two to the left of where it should be. On long drives, it would give a bit of muscle pain in my back.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭HAMMERCURRENT

78 mini, feel evey bump, headlights were like candles and because it was so low, every other car on the road blinded me with their lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I drove my MkII Escort RS2000 over the w/e - went Limerick - Dublin, and Liverpool - Leicester and back (but via Belfast).

Car was faultless throughout, but the poor driver was pretty cream crackered :D

You see, I've been spoiled by my Mk2 Escort Ghia. Light steering, comfy seats and all the usual Ghia comfort. A RS on standard 6" wheels, ordinary tyres and standard RS seats is a reasonable place, but driving one on 7" sticky rubber was uncomfortable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Land Rover Defender. Don't get me wrong, it was great having it during the winter, but it's the most awful thing to drive. Hill starts are a nightmare unless you like pressing your head against a steering wheel to reach the handbrake.

+1 for the Defender, drove a mid 80's one for a week, complete dog of a thing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

ianobrien wrote: »
    You see, I've been spoiled by my Mk2 Escort Ghia. Light steering, comfy seats and all the usual Ghia comfort. A RS on standard 6" wheels, ordinary tyres and standard RS seats is a reasonable place, but driving one on 7" sticky rubber was uncomfortable.

I have 13 x 6" 4 spoke alloys and a standard tractable 2.0 pinto. Steering is heavy in town but fine out of it.

It was the noise that got me in the end - mostly motorway driving. A lot of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

My Ford Puma!!

Even with 15" wheels you can feel every single bump and uneveness in the road surface in it. The suspension is fairly stiff as well. Going over a speed bump at anything faster than 5kmph will shatter your spine. The back seats are the worst place to be on the planet. Though since I bought a couple of cushions, the unlucky passenger sitting in the back doesn't complain as much.

And all of that makes me love my car. It makes for an uncomfortable but yet very responsive drive. The amount of feel from the chassis and steering wheel is incredible! Its a very fun driving experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Johnny Zimbabwe

00 Ford Fiesta... Awful

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

2006 Opel Vectra. I dont know how the Gardai who have to drive those cars can cope.

And an old Mini (1998) Suspension was like 4 steel bars. It was lowered so you can imagine how hard the shocks needed to be. May have been uncomfortable but it was a fun drive!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 65,147 ✭✭✭✭unkel

squod wrote: »
    03 corolla

I had a brand spanking new one as a rental car for a fortnight on my holidays back then and it was the worst car I've ever driven. And I've been driving for nearly 25 years now and I've driven many cars :)

Bland, cheap, unresponsive, dreadful, plastic. Hateful. And I'm no snob, I've been delighted driving 10 year old base Renault 5s around for weeks. I've owned a Nissan Micra and it was a grand cheap A-B vehicle. Those Corollas are complete and utter crap though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

The last primera for sure. Had one as a rental. Unsupportive seats and horrible suspension

02 onwards Hyundai Coupe beats them all. About as comfortable as sitting on an empty flowerpot. As relaxing as a bath of caustic soda.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

02 onwards Hyundai Coupe beats them all. About as comfortable as sitting on an empty flowerpot. As relaxing as a bath of caustic soda.

Is there even suspension in them :p

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

hellboy99 wrote: »

Is there even suspension in them :p

They come with suspension but it falls out after about 300 miles :D

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Had a 08 astra rental for a few days the seats were awful, hard back soft side bolsters just couldn't get comfortable. Couldn't wait to give it back.
    Shame nice looking car ruined by a couple of seats.

Are all new Opels the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭mondeo

First generation Merc A class, my mothers old car. Use to feel dodgy on corners and the driving position I could not fix it for the life of me.

03 Ford Fiesta, felt like I was sitting up against a wall, could not wait to get out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

5 pages and my car hasn't been mentioned yet! :D

Anyway, the last model Toyota Avensis gets my vote. The lower back section of the front seats stuck out too much and left the driver sitting with an arched back. Not a nice place to be for more than 10 minutes