Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serial killer Ireland?

• 05-06-2010 8:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭

I am always very baffled by this.
    The amount of women who disappeared in Ireland and never seen again.
    There is 6 high profile ones that we all know about.What about the others?

* Patricia Furlong (20s), raped and murdered in July 1982, in Glencullen

Antoinette Smith, from Clondalkin, Co Dublin, raped and strangled in the Dublin Mountains in July 1987

Deirdre Mulcahy (19), raped and strangled in September 1989, in Midleton, Co Cork

Patricia Doherty (30s), murdered and buried in a peat bog in Kilakee in December 1991

Annie McCarrick disappeared in March 1993. McCarrick was from Long Island and had moved to Ireland only a couple of months before she went missing, last seen heading towards a location in the hills in Wicklow.

Michelle McCormick

Missing since 9 July 1993 from Owenahincha Holiday Park Cork

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=29

Eva Brennan

Missing since 25 July 1993 from Terenure Dublin
    http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=9

Imelda Keenan

Missing since 3 January 1994 From Waterford City

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=26

Jo Jo Dullard

Missing since 9th November 1995

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=19

Fiona Pender

Missing From Tullamore Co Offaly since 22 Aug 1996
    http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=37

Eileen Costello O'Shaughnessy, the 48-year-old Galway taxi-driver who was found bludgeoned to death in a country laneway outside Galway city on December 1, 1997.

Sophie Toscan du Plantier fell in love with the remote countryside in Schull, west Cork, and bought a holiday home there. The 38year-old's life ended in tragedy when she was discovered battered to death on 23 December 1996.

Ciara Breen

Missing since 13 Feb 1997

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=8

Fiona Sinnott

Missing From Bridgetown Co Wexford since 9 February 1998

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=46

Kate Madigan .....Kilkenny Was reported missing 14th May 1998

Deirdre jacob Missing From Newbridge Co Kildare since 28 July 1998

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=25

RAONAID MURRAY

Raonaid Murray was 17 when she was stabbed to death after a night out on 4 September 1999. She left her friends at around 11.30pm and walked in the direction of her home in Glenageary.

Diana Schmeisch (German) Cork.Went missing New Years eve,1999

Julie Hunter , Lisburn,Ulster, Went missing 16th March 2000

Sandra Collins

Missing from Mayo since 4 Dec 2000

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=13

17 yr old Catherine Dwyer went missing on the 17th September 2001 in Clondalkin , Dublin ; report in the Irish News 6th Nov 2001.

Jennifer Watson went missing Wexford September 2001

Bettina Poeschel, German journalist , went missing since 25th September 2001
    Found murdered near Donore Drogheda County Louth Oct 2001.

Charlene Hickey of Darndale Dublin , a heroin addict , went missing on Febuary 10th 2002.

Lynette McKeown, a 19-year-old heroin addict who was working as a street prostitute in Arbour Hill to pay for drugs. She disappeared in August 2004. A week later her naked body was found in a ditch off the N81 in the shadow of the mountains.

Lisa Dorrian

From Ballyhalbert since 28th Feb 2005

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=160

35-year-old Ms Meg Walsh, who is originally from the Mallow area of Co Cork, disappeared on 1 October 2006. Her body was found in the River Suir in Waterford City two weeks later( Husband accused but acquitted

Marioara Rostas :The 18-year-old has not been seen she disappeared while begging at Lombard Street in the city centre in January 2008.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flaregon

Weres the link between all the cases ?
    hard to say it a Serial killer when it could be 6 different killers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Flaregon wrote: »
    Weres the link between all the cases ?
    hard to say it a Serial killer when it could be 6 different killers.

I dont know which is worse>one lunatic since 1989 or 10 lunatics for them all :(
    If we leave out the 1989 one as there is none for a long time after unless he was in prison or out of the country for the space inbetween.

The links are all young women age range looks eye colour and never seen again.

They disappeared year after year then stopped in 1998 and didnt happen again until 2000 one more then stopped again in 2005 when latest of the young age group i found to be Lisa Dorrin,and has stopped again.That we know of.
    Could there be a serial killer going back as far as 1989?

Can anyone else find any missing women of the age group missing that i havent found to add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

The locations though are very scattered aren't they?

Unless it's some weirdo that goes travelling the country on a killing spree..just scared myself there.:pac:

storm2811 wrote: »
    The locations though are very scattered aren't they?

Unless it's some weirdo that goes travelling the country on a killing spree..just scared myself there.:pac:

Do you think someone who is murdering cares where he goes lol

Haha you scared me to now lol

I had a very close call few years ago with someone in city center.
    He was pretending to be a Garda.Luckyily i had cop on.When he realised i wasnt going anywhere with him.He started cursing me and calling me names.
    Few weeks later he was on crime line for raping a girl in stoney batter, and had robbed a car pretending to be a garda.It was the same night i was in town it happened.
    Thought me a valuable lesson,scared **** out of me.

but if you look two in some years then none,and not a single solitary clue.

caseyann wrote: »

He was pretending to be a Garda.Luckyily i had cop on.When he realised i wasnt going anywhere with him.He started cursing me and calling me names.
    Few weeks later he was on crime line for raping a girl in stoney batter, and had robbed a car pretending to be a garda.It was the same night i was in town it happened.

Wow:eek: That would've scared the crap outta me!

Were the victims killed in the same way?Any routines like?

Ohh this is like being on <insert crime/homocide show here>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭dezzyd

I am always very baffled by this.
    The amount of women who disappeared in Ireland and never seen again.
    There is 6 high profile ones that we all know about.What about the others?

Michelle McCormick

Missing since 9 July 1993 from Owenahincha Holiday Park Cork

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=29

Eva Brennan

Missing since 25 July 1993 from Terenure Dublin
    http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=9

Imelda Keenan

Missing since 3 January 1994 From Waterford City

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=26

Jo Jo Dullard

Missing since 9th November 1995

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=19

Fiona Pender

Missing From Tullamore Co Offaly since 22 Aug 1996
    http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=37

Ciara Breen

Missing since 13 Feb 1997

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=8

Fiona Sinnott

Missing From Bridgetown Co Wexford since 9 February 1998

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=46

Deirdre jacob Missing From Newbridge Co Kildare since 28 July 1998

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=25

Sandra Collins

Missing from Mayo since 4 Dec 2000

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=13

Lisa Dorrian

From Ballyhalbert since 28th Feb 2005

http://www.missing.ws/_missingpersons/missingPerson.asp?id=160
    You should read the book "frozen blood" - most of the women you mentioned are in it and they do allude to a suspect for some of them, he is currently in jail for rape and attempted murder!

dezzyd wrote: »
    You should read the book "frozen blood" - most of the women you mentioned are in it and they do allude to a suspect for some of them, he is currently in jail for rape and attempted murder!

I'll try get it,never really thought much about this before,but how could not find them at all?Not a scrap of evidence like.:(

And if the suspect is in jail and the last link you posted was from 2005..maybe theres a connection there?
    Depends how long hes been in though..

It's a man by the name of Larry Murphy and according to the book they can connect him to at least four locations where women went missing, eg - he was doing work in the town where Deirdre Jacob lived when she dissappeared.

Murphy stalked his prey for a month before kidnapping her in Carlow. He broke her nose and gagged her before bundling her into the boot of his Fiat Punto. He drove 13km to Beaconstown, where he had hunting rights, undressed her and raped her.

Sounds seriously skecthy alright,he definately knew what he was doing like,very planned and everything.:/

Jailed in 2000 though I think.

storm2811 wrote: »
    Sounds seriously skecthy alright,he definately knew what he was doing like,very planned and everything.:/

He would have murdered her only two men out hunting disturbed him - thats how he was caught. There was a filled in quarry around the area he lived that people have doubts about, I don't know if it has ever been searched. Correct me if I am wrong!

I heard about him i have another link you might be interested in.

I never heard about this one,but they had 2 men in 1999 they suspected.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/1999/jul/14/northernireland.ireland

new woman missing hopefully very much ok.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0523/doneganh.html

and one woman dead.
    http://www.kinsaletimes.com/tag/elzbieta-ewa-konik/

I heard about him i have another link you might be interested in.

I never heard about this one,but they had 2 men in 1999 they suspected.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/1999/jul/14/northernireland.ireland

new woman missing hopefully very much ok.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0523/doneganh.html

and one woman dead.
    http://www.kinsaletimes.com/tag/elzbieta-ewa-konik/

Very interesting, I had not known about the woman in kinsale. how come there is no current focus on all of these women? If this was the UK, Sky news would be all over it! Someone out there has to know something. People don't just vanish out of thin air. :confused: A lot of young women, no answers!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

I know of a young ish guy maybe early twenties was with his mates outside whelans(about 4-6 months ago i think) i think it was.He was approached by two guys one of them said he was an undercover cop and started trying to go through his pockets and asked for id and stuff.
    Anyway after they saw they werent making more progress they bottled him cutting his neck pretty badly from what i saw when he told me about it.

So if anyone is approached by any man claiming to be a cop who isnt wearing a full on garda uniform shoes hat and all i would advise them to either take many steps back nearer a large group or inside a public building or else start fighting hard and ask questions when he is in the abulance and safely dealt with.
    If a real undercover cop stops you he will have to identify himself and should not have a problem allowing you to see his ID with photograph included...before his hands come in contact with you in any way at all.

Personally for my own health i would probably go mental (and take out eyes, throat, groin, face in that order :D ) on any man/men that implied he was allowed to touch me and search me without identifying his right to do so.Id rather risk going to a cell even being assaulted for a while than being assaulted myself without notice and possibly dying prematurely.

With regards the serial killer its quite likely but finding proof is going to be hard if it is the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

He would have murdered her only two men out hunting disturbed him - thats how he was caught. There was a filled in quarry around the area he lived that people have doubts about, I don't know if it has ever been searched. Correct me if I am wrong!

the quarry is too dangerous to search i think!!

Think you are right there, shame coz it may give answers!

also i question whether the one person is responsible for them all!! i do understand there is a common link between the girls in Leinster, but who is to say that he got caught and the other people just let him take the rap for it.

god is anyone else thinking that the person responsible might be reading this.....

ahhhhhhh..... SPOOKED!!!

god is anyone else thinking that the person responsible might be reading this.....

ahhhhhhh..... SPOOKED!!!

Nooooo:eek:

also i question whether the one person is responsible for them all!! i do understand there is a common link between the girls in Leinster, but who is to say that he got caught and the other people just let him take the rap for it.

ahhhhhhh..... SPOOKED!!!

Eh..yep...that did cross my mind! now I'm spooked :eek: your right about girls in Leinster. Why isn't this subject a current affair?? We only hear about it every four years or so. Did anyone mention Annie McCormack, the american who went missing in Dub/Wicklow? Her parents went through hell trying to find her (as did all the missing girls family's) As a daughter and sister I could not imagine what they go through. Too many missing women!

Here is another one for yous,some one else named who was linked to Annie mccarrick.

http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=2059587&page=2

Here is another one for yous,some one else named who was linked to Annie mccarrick.

http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=2059587&page=2

oh apologies! got the surname wrong - thanks for link tho

• Registered Users Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

He is getting out any day now

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Smokin_Aces

That quarry is in Loais is it? A place called The Swan? I think I swam in it if that's the place. Although my mother told me that it was supposed to be drained out for other clues of a case regarding the Wolfman (Not sure if thats Murphy or someone else) but it never materialized.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

It's a man by the name of Larry Murphy and according to the book they can connect him to at least four locations where women went missing, eg - he was doing work in the town where Deirdre Jacob lived when she dissappeared.

where is this Larry Murphy from, i have never heard this before

goat2 wrote: »

I cant say for sure but definitely midlands..

goat2 wrote: »

omg!! read it, its really creepy.

all these girls went missing, and then he kidnapped a girl in carlow. I think he put glue in the keyhole of her car door and when she couldnt open it he offered to 'help her'. Bundled her into the boot, raped her in the mountains and she watched him dig her grave. Hunters heard her screaming and held him at gunpoint til he was arrested. That was the end of the string of missing women in Leinster in the 90's.

But yeah he is due to be released soon isnt he!!

AHHHHHHHHHH.... I'M SO SPOOKED!!

That quarry is in Loais is it? A place called The Swan? I think I swam in it if that's the place. Although my mother told me that it was supposed to be drained out for other clues of a case regarding the Wolfman (Not sure if thats Murphy or someone else) but it never materialized.

Wolfman?:eek:
    I'm sure he's not a literal wolfman,haha,but how did he get the name?

Baltinglass, WICKLOW!! MARRIED WITH TWO CHILDREN

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/larry-murphy-1460202.html

Have you ever looked up the garda website and looked through the missing peoples section.

there are soooooo many missing for years that you would never have ever heard about. How do they expect to find them with so little awareness about them. I only randomly found that missing persons section!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

my GF had a similar experience.... except it was a stolen Taxi ..... she got freaked during the journey and jumped out the window at the lights (doors were locked) ..... she was a boyfriends place ...ordered a taxi .... taxi pulled up ... she gets in and heads towards home, 5 mins later ...another taxi turned up to pick her up !!! ....her BF at the time was suspicious ..... anyways the taxi guy was rambling on about dublin mountains, smoking etc ....during the journey .... she bails out the window at the lights and runs to another car for help.

turns out the taxi was stolen and the guy was off his head. (she got told by gardai)

Have you ever looked up the garda website and looked through the missing peoples section.

there are soooooo many missing for years that you would never have ever heard about. How do they expect to find them with so little awareness about them. I only randomly found that missing persons section!

This is so scary... we NEED AWARENESS!!