Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indo Front Page: 'Rugby schools tackled over body-building supplements'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

This is actually a very different kettle of fish to the last article which we had.

This one raises some interesting points.
    But obviously there is a stupid and ignorant link being made between performance enhancing drugs and food supplements.

I might do a letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

ISC chairman Ossie Kilkenny said: "I was in a house and saw a letter from a school asking for a cheque for €280 for supplements when the child in question was standing there flexing his muscles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Love this bit
    Only three Irish athletes -- one each in motorsport, motorcycling and a League of Ireland (soccer) player -- failed drugs tests last year, but all were for recreational drugs rather than for performance enhancement.

Irish athletes don't cheat, they just get off their faces :)

Leaving supplement use aside for a minute, our teenagers are years behind our American, Australian and New Zealand counterparts in physical development.
    Something simple like a rope climb, whilst a normal part of a physical education programme in the US, would be very difficult to our lads.
    I'd argue that supplement use is unnecessary for teenagers but at least give them a fighting chance with some decent PE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Zamboni wrote: »
    Love this bit

Irish athletes don't cheat, they just get off their faces :)

Leaving supplement use aside for a minute, our teenagers are years behind our American, Australian and New Zealand counterparts in physical development.
    Something simple like a rope climb, whilst a normal part of a physical education programme in the US, would be very difficult to our lads.
    I'd argue that supplement use is unnecessary for teenagers but at least give them a fighting chance with some decent PE.

Jaysus, dunno what kinda school you went to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Maybe there's something good in that article but I stopped reading after the first two paragraphs.
    If someone was drinking 3-4 litres of milk or having 8-10 eggs a day instead would that be OK? Since they're "safe"? ****ing hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Same article was in the examiner as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

squod wrote: »
    Jaysus, dunno what kinda school you went to.

One where they don't have a rope, like many others I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,696 ✭✭✭Danger781

To be honest I've never seen or heard of this being done where I live. I know quite a few lads on rugby teams and while they may be pretty big, it's all natural. At least with the guys I know it is. :eek:

Then again, we don't attend a rugby school..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

is it that eejit from UCC again??

Although this article mentions performance enhancing drugs more then previous ones, I think the the fact that some rugby schools advise the use of protein supplements without giving any real advice when it comes to improving the diets of there pupils is a far greater problem. IMO a good diet is far more advantageous when it comes to field sports.

I know of one school in particular that advised all its rugby players to have at least one protein shake a day. When a few changes to their diet would have achieved similar, maybe even better results.

cc87 wrote: »
    Although this article mentions performance enhancing drugs more then previous ones, I think the the fact that some rugby schools advise the use of protein supplements without giving any real advice when it comes to improving the diets of there pupils is a far greater problem. IMO a good diet is far more advantageous when it comes to field sports.

I know of one school in particular that advised all its rugby players to have at least one protein shake a day. When a few changes to their diet would have achieved similar, maybe even better results.

Am.... it is a change in their diet?

He means changing to a proper healthy diet that is focused on protein intake, rather than taking supplements.

What confuses me is that there seems to be an implication that it is new to be pushing kids to get real-ass big to entertain their Daddies during "THE CUP" while their Mummies all preen for each other in a vain attempt to repeat how things were when they were young, is a new thing.

Danger781 wrote: »
    He means changing to a proper healthy diet that is focused on protein intake, rather than taking supplements.

he's talking about taking a ****ing protein supplement.

It's not unhealthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

you will find much of the vitriol over this is directed towards creatine and the other stuff often included in training supplements

its bit silly for 16-18 year olds being encouraged to take this stuff

you will find much of the vitriol over this is directed towards creatine and the other stuff often included in training supplements

Other Stuff?? BCAAs, Glutamine, Fish Oil??

All which are naturally occuring and none of which are illegal/banned substances.

Why?

To be honest I think this is a non thread to anybody who has actually coached teenagers.
    Supplements should be used (as always) either as a convenience or as a means to an end.
    They are not there to turn kids into 'gladiators'.
    Real food will have the same, if not better consequences than a variety of supplements for a growing teenager.

I don't know too much about kids in secondary school these days but my PE was effectively a teacher chucking a soccer/rugby/gaelic ball into a crowd of 40 students while he went off for a fag and a coffee after making us do 4 laps of the pitch.

Teenagers in schools are missing out on a whole variety of strength exercises that are taken as a given in other countries. I've coached 14 year old kiwis that would dwarf 18 year old Irish kids. Show me a kid in Junior Cert year who can perform 30 pull ups and I will be genuinely surprised (Unless Barry trained them of course).

I see skinny kids every day sucking supplements in a variety of different schools to no avail.
    The problem is not supplement abuse, it is the lack of physical education to assist youngsters develop natural competitive physiques.

Blaming supplements is just an easy journalistic spiel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

To be honest I've never seen or heard of this being done where I live. I know quite a few lads on rugby teams and while they may be pretty big, it's all natural. At least with the guys I know it is. :eek:

Then again, we don't attend a rugby school..
    As opposed to people who take supplements?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

I have been a PE teacher and rugby coach for the last 14 years. I have never nor will never recommend a supplement to a teenager. Diet advice is always given, protein in diet can be improved, good fats, good carbs, less junk, proper hydratio, plenty of fresh, fruit and vegetables, and plenty of sleep. For senior students and more and more these days juniors students, avoiding alcohol and cigarettes is far more important than any supplementation when it comes to sports performance.
    I don't know too much about kids in secondary school these days but my PE was effectively a teacher chucking a soccer/rugby/gaelic ball into a crowd of 40 students while he went off for a fag and a coffee after making us do 4 laps of the pitch.

Im sorry that was your experience in PE, but that is not the case in the majority of schools. My students get to train Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and MMA, do gymnastics, dance, health related PE using treadmills and rowers etc at the local gym, and a variety of ball games including, tennis,softball,cricket,rugby,football, gaelic, hurling, american football, hockey, badminton, volleyball. The get to rockclimb, orienteer, hill walk, kayak, and use trampolines. PE in 2010 is not throwing a ball to a group of 40 students and if it is, I guarantee the teacher is not a PE specialist.
    Teenagers in schools are missing out on a whole variety of strength exercises that are taken as a given in other countries. I've coached 14 year old kiwis that would dwarf 18 year old Irish kids. Show me a kid in Junior Cert year who can perform 30 pull ups and I will be genuinely surprised (Unless Barry trained them of course).

I see skinny kids every day sucking supplements in a variety of different schools to no avail.
    The problem is not supplement abuse, it is the lack of physical education to assist youngsters develop natural competitive physiques.

I have second year kids who can bust out 30 pull ups, they train crossfit style workouts, they can snatch, clean and jerk, use kettlebells, gymnastic rings, sledgehammers, flip tyres, deadlift, bench, squat, you name it they can do it.

I spend 2 hours every day after school, the entire school year (and believe it or not as a public sector worker, during my holidays too) coaching and training kids in rugby and gym usage and I know plenty of PE teachers doing the same. 14 year old kiwis might just be genetically predisposed to being larger than their irish counterparts, Im sure the vast majority of dutch students are taller at the same age etc etc

We live in a country that thrives on using and abusing alcohol and junk food for any and every occasion, its passed on to our kids, if not by parents, by peers and peers parents. To get "locked" is the goal of many of the teenagers of this country, not to improve their lifting technique on c&J or perform a muscle up. That isnt the fault of PE teachers and coaches, its parents and society in general.

Here is a photo of a crossfit games style competition I ran for 14 - 18 year olds at the end of this year.

http://crossfit.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/sportday.jpg

PE is not the problem (there are cases of lousy PE teachers like in any job) Irish society is the problem. Obesity is on the rise, PE teachers arent feeding your kids, and advice is exactly that words unless acted upon.

Its not.
    They are certain compounds isolated from the food source, to allow increased intake. This is actually common practice, there is a huge industry built around this concept. But its usually referred to as "health food".

The problem arises when people put a picture of a man in a thong or a rugby player on the cover/ads and imply that it promotes muscle growth. This sets alarm bells in the heads of the ignorant. Who equate taking anything to assist muscle growth to drug abuse. Protein which (along with creatine) is the issue we are talking about, is something that can be gotten from a large amount of food, but not as easily.

I reckon growing muscles in your mid to late teens is pretty much natural.
    The "muppet from UCC" as L put it, is implying that developing muscle is dangerous for athletes later in life, I would suggest that poor training or poor player management would be more likely. There are plenty of examples of sportsmen who came to the top flight very young and lead a career filled with injury.

I'd like to hear the opinion of someone a bit more knowledgeable on this, but I would be more concerned about kids getting big muscles through poorly performed isolation exercises and suffering from tendon joint issues as a result. As opposed to being properly trained, developing joint integrity alongside strength and mass and being properly rehabbed from Injury. (That last bit being my biggest worry.)

The usual applies: I Don't know much bout anything, open to contradiction yadda blah blah.....

@ David Jones

I am honestly delighted to hear what you do but there is no way you are in the majority of PE teachers in this country.
    Keep up the good work :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dazd_N_Confusd

I have been a PE teacher and rugby coach for the last 14 years. I have never nor will never recommend a supplement to a teenager. Diet advice is always given, protein in diet can be improved, good fats, good carbs, less junk, proper hydratio, plenty of fresh, fruit and vegetables, and plenty of sleep. For senior students and more and more these days juniors students, avoiding alcohol and cigarettes is far more important than any supplementation when it comes to sports performance.

Im sorry that was your experience in PE, but that is not the case in the majority of schools. My students get to train Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and MMA, do gymnastics, dance, health related PE using treadmills and rowers etc at the local gym, and a variety of ball games including, tennis,softball,cricket,rugby,football, gaelic, hurling, american football, hockey, badminton, volleyball. The get to rockclimb, orienteer, hill walk, kayak, and use trampolines. PE in 2010 is not throwing a ball to a group of 40 students and if it is, I guarantee the teacher is not a PE specialist.

I have second year kids who can bust out 30 pull ups, they train crossfit style workouts, they can snatch, clean and jerk, use kettlebells, gymnastic rings, sledgehammers, flip tyres, deadlift, bench, squat, you name it they can do it.

I spend 2 hours every day the entire school year (and believe it or not as a public sector worker, during my holidays too) coaching and training kids in rugby and gym usage and I know plenty of PE teachers doing the same. 14 year old kiwis might just be genetically predisposed to being larger than their irish counterparts, Im sure the vast majority of dutch students are taller at the same age etc etc

We live in a country that thrives on using and abusing alcohol and junk food for any and every occasion, its passed on to our kids, if not by parents, by peers and peers parents. To get "locked" is the goal of many of the teenagers of this country, not to improve their lifting technique on c&J or perform a muscle up. That isnt the fault of PE teachers and coaches, its parents and society in general.

Here is a photo of a crossfit games style competition I ran for 14 - 18 year olds at the end of this year.

PE is not the problem (there are cases of lousy PE teachers like in any job) Irish society is the problem. Obesity is on the rise, PE teachers arent feeding your kids, and advice is exactly that words unless acted upon.
    I really wish you were around when I was in school, rather then the teachers who made fun of fat people because they done crap in the Bleep test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

i wrote them a letter on friday morning, probably not as well worded as it could have been but the intention was there;
    Dear Editor,

I was reading the above article and wondering what relevance recreational drugs, performance enhancing drugs and Irish Athletes failing drug tests has to the topic. I was also compelled to comment on some of the points put across;

The reality of the situation is these supplements are all derived from food sources, dairy and soy products in most cases (protein powders) and for a mass building supplement (used to “bulk up” as it was so eloquently put in the article) there is usually carbohydrate in the form of ground oats or sugar. There is also Creatine which is produced by the human body and also found in Red Meats.

I realise the article is quoting a “leading sports scientist”, but I would like to highlight some very important FACTS.

All the above supplements contain nutrients that could be found in whole foods, red and white meats for protein, red meats for creatine and carbohydratess in vegetables, fruit, rolled oats etc. Unfortunately in 2010, it is these healthy foods that cost the most in your local supermarket while kids can buy sweets, crisps and fizzy drinks for less than their bus fare.

Supplementing their diet with these products (and that’s what it is, supplementing a healthy diet, not replacing meals) is a cheap and practical alternative to eating large ‘meat and two veg’ type dinners throughout the day.

In order to “bulk up” an individual needs to consume surplus calories to their maintenance level, essentially eat more calories then they are burning in a day. While supplements are obviously not required for this, I stress that they are a much more economical and practical alternative.

I quote from the article; "You can see tribunals about this in 20 years' time," he warned, saying the practice was not exclusive to school rugby, but that was the guiltiest party.

The only side effect from any of these products I have ever heard or read about is a low level of water retention from creatine, how that is hazardous I do not know. I am also baffled as to what relevance this would ever have in a tribunal

The parents of these kids will more than likely be supplementing their diet as we speak with fish oil tablets, multivitamins etc. The level of hypocrisy is laughable. What, I ask, is the difference (apart from the obvious one) of supplementing your diet with omega 3 fatty acids(fish oils), and supplementing your diet with Amino Acids (protein)?

I for one would be far more inclined to let my teenager sip on a protein shake after a training session then let him eat pizza and chips and sit in front of the television every week.

Regards,

Chris Leddy

he's talking about taking a ****ing protein supplement.

It's not unhealthy.

I never said protein shakes were unhealthy :confused: I said the same results can be achieved from eating a healthy diet.
    SugarHigh wrote: »
    As opposed to people who take supplements?:confused:

Yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Yup

There you have it folks, if you take protein shakes your muscle isn't "natural". Why is it always the most ignorant who like to give their ill informed 2c into this topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

In practical terms it wouldn't though. The school knows the parents make the meals for a whole family. Get them to drink a shake they'll still eat the meals. Ask them to change their diet they prob won't be arsed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I never said protein shakes were unhealthy :confused: I said the same results can be achieved from eating a healthy diet.

If protein shakes aren't unhealthy, then including them in your diet does not affect the 'healthiness' of the overall diet negatively or positively. Ergo they are a part of a healthy diet.
    In practical terms it wouldn't though. The school knows the parents make the meals for a whole family. Get them to drink a shake they'll still eat the meals. Ask them to change their diet they prob won't be arsed

This, a thousand times this. Protein shakes are probably the cheapest and easiest way of adding anywhere between 20 and 100g of protein to a persons diet without impacting their ability to eat the rest of their meals. Its just simple, that's why 'teh kidz' are having them.

I cannot see how anyone could encourage teenagers to take supplements. its setting them up for bad habits all through life - ie taking short cuts

surely they should be educated about proper nutrition and training habits - eating, sleeping, hydration etc

along with proper training methods

I cannot see how anyone could encourage teenagers to take supplements. its setting them up for bad habits all through life - ie taking short cuts

They aren't a short cut.
    You clearly don't have any proper knowledge on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

You know they're not a short cut D'Oracle, unfortunately there's a sizeable percentage of teenagers who view them as a shortcut to getting bigger/stronger. There's a fair view who don't understand that strength training to develop a good base to work off in adult years coupled with eating good clean food will do more for them than popping shakes as a meal replacement 2-3 times a day. These lads take such a short term view of why they're lifting and eating/supplementing so much.

I've no problem with lads using the likes of proteins, glucosamine, glutamine etc as long as they understand that it's there to help you when you're at a loss to get the required nutrients from whole foods. There is a mentality that exists where lads think downing shakes is the same as eating a full meal, we need to find a way of dispelling that mentality...

They are not a shortcut, they are an practical and economical means of consuming excess protein/calories.

Any argument that states otherwise is just dim.

And I can safely assure you that no teenager with the aim of bulking up is drinking shakes INSTEAD of meals. No way no how.

You know they're not a short cut D'Oracle, unfortunately there's a sizeable percentage of teenagers who view them as a shortcut to getting bigger/stronger. There's a fair view who don't understand that strength training to develop a good base to work off in adult years coupled with eating good clean food will do more for them than popping shakes as a meal replacement 2-3 times a day. These lads take such a short term view of why they're lifting and eating/supplementing so much.

I've no problem with lads using the likes of proteins, glucosamine, glutamine etc as long as they understand that it's there to help you when you're at a loss to get the required nutrients from whole foods. There is a mentality that exists where lads think downing shakes is the same as eating a full meal, we need to find a way of dispelling that mentality...

exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

There is a mentality that exists where lads think downing shakes is the same as eating a full meal, we need to find a way of dispelling that mentality...

i think downing a shake is a full meal

downing 4 a day however is not a balanced diet and the mentality that needs to be instilled into everyone(not just atheletes) is that a balanced diet is one of the most important things for your health and virtually every goal you have being healthy and eating properly will help you accomplish it

PeakOutput wrote: »
    i think downing a shake is a full meal

downing 4 a day however is not a balanced diet and the mentality that needs to be instilled into everyone(not just atheletes) is that a balanced diet is one of the most important things for your health and virtually every goal you have being healthy and eating properly will help you accomplish it

With the statement I made I should have said "There is a mentality that exists where lads think downing shakes 2-3 times a day is the same as eating a full meal". Agree with what you have said.

Chris89 wrote: »
    And I can safely assure you that no teenager with the aim of bulking up is drinking shakes INSTEAD of meals. No way no how.

I have to disagree with you there. I know ill-informed 20-25 year olds who even do this.
    They are not a shortcut, they are an practical and economical means of consuming excess protein/calories.

Any argument that states otherwise is just dim.

I can't argue that they're a practical means of consuming excess protein/calories but when lads need to get another meal in and they've got half an hour to make food if they want it but they choose to just knock back another shake that's a short cut in my opinion.

Whole foods are expensive, you cannot argue, CANNOT argue, that supplements are not a more economical way of consuming excess calories.

Your post above, seems to only take issue with the actial time saved, so a short cut in the extreme literal sense, actually cutting short the time taken to consume the calories.
    In that case, getting my mum to make all my meals is a short cut, making all my meals in one go and freezing them is a short cut, eating out at restaraunts is a short cut.
    I have to disagree with you there. I know ill-informed 20-25 year olds who even do this.
    Irrelevant.

You are hugely misinformed on the topic.

Whole foods are expensive, you cannot argue, CANNOT argue, that supplements are not a more economical way of consuming excess calories.

Your post above, seems to only take issue with the actial time saved, so a short cut in the extreme literal sense, actually cutting short the time taken to consume the calories.
    In that case, getting my mum to make all my meals is a short cut, making all my meals in one go and freezing them is a short cut, eating out at restaraunts is a short cut.

Irrelevant.

You are hugely misinformed on the topic.

Misinformed? I won't even bother responding to that.

The only issue I have with lads at a young age taking supplements is that it sets so many up with bad habits regarding nutrition in later stages of life. If you fail to see the point that I was attempting to make from my posts there's no point in attempting to discuss this.

I never said that they weren't economical. Read my posts again and tell me where I said that please.

The only times I'll bother to take shakes is if I'm bulking and I literally can't eat any more food. Downing a shake then is a great way to get excess calories in.

If you want to get big and like food eat food, it tastes a hell of a lot better than shakes. If after eating all that you can get a shake in if you feel that you need more calories. Is that hard to understand? I'll concede that a person may not be able to afford to bulk on a whole food diet, in the case of a teenager at a fee paying rugby school I'm pretty sure that's not too much of a concern for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭noddy78779

I dont really post much on this forum but cmon this article is completely taking the p***.
    Im 16 and I weigh 100kg. Fair enough I could probably do with losing a stone(im a prop:D:D) but giving out to teens taking shakes or creatine or whatever is just wrong. Why is it that just because we are taking these we should be given out to? Surely it would have the same impact on an adult. Its because of articles like this that people are ignorant when it comes to taking supplements, by likening them to steroids and such. They couldnt be further from the truth.

PE in my school and most other schools is sh1t. We are pretty much thrown into a yard with a ball and told to play soccer or rounders. I hate it cuz its boring and not at all related to health, fitness, nutrition etc which is what physical education is meant to be. I would love for the PE in my school to be as described by a previous poster(crossfit style) but thats not gonna happen unless schools get funding and you are actually graded on your performance in PE as they do in the states.

I play for a school that would be considered a "rugby" school and very few guys on the team would be on supplements. The only reason we(8 out of 22) take them is cuz its much easier than eating a steak or a chicken breast every few hours and its more economical. We dont take them as a quick fix and think its the supplements that are gonna get us bigger. Its hard work in the gym on a regular basis day in day out thats gonna achieve our results along with a little help from the supplements. After all its those main meals you eat that is going to give you the most benefit.
    We are not bred to become "gladiators" only better rugby players. The coaches dont give a sh1t whether we are/are not on supplements as long as we turn up to train and represent our school/ourselves to the best of our abilities.

RANT OVER!!!!:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

I remember my PE days(2 years back), watching the fellas on the school football team pass to each other in a match of soccering!

Misinformed? I won't even bother responding to that.

The only issue I have with lads at a young age taking supplements is that it sets so many up with bad habits regarding nutrition in later stages of life. If you fail to see the point that I was attempting to make from my posts there's no point in attempting to discuss this.

I never said that they weren't economical. Read my posts again and tell me where I said that please.

The only times I'll bother to take shakes is if I'm bulking and I literally can't eat any more food. Downing a shake then is a great way to get excess calories in.

If you want to get big and like food eat food, it tastes a hell of a lot better than shakes. If after eating all that you can get a shake in if you feel that you need more calories. Is that hard to understand? I'll concede that a person may not be able to afford to bulk on a whole food diet, in the case of a teenager at a fee paying rugby school I'm pretty sure that's not too much of a concern for them.

Fair enough, good post.

The reality is, kids in school will have most if not all of their meals made by their parent/s. As was mentioned in before, meals are cooked for the family, not for the kids dietary requirements on the back of their training regime.

Obviously whole foods are better, no arguing with that. I personally only have one or two shakes a day, one with breakfast (I can rarely stomach meat at that hour of the morning) and one directly after training.

If people are replacing meals, or not eating enough meals due to their supplement consumption, then that is a problem with the individual, not with supplementation in general.

Also, a nice meal replacement shake will fit nicely in a schoolbag, while a 3 course meal may not.

noddy78779 wrote: »
    I dont really post much on this forum but cmon this article is completely taking the p***.
    Im 16 and I weigh 100kg. Fair enough I could probably do with losing a stone(im a prop:D:D) but giving out to teens taking shakes or creatine or whatever is just wrong. Why is it that just because we are taking these we should be given out to? Surely it would have the same impact on an adult. Its because of articles like this that people are ignorant when it comes to taking supplements, by likening them to steroids and such. They couldnt be further from the truth.

PE in my school and most other schools is sh1t. We are pretty much thrown into a yard with a ball and told to play soccer or rounders. I hate it cuz its boring and not at all related to health, fitness, nutrition etc which is what physical education is meant to be. I would love for the PE in my school to be as described by a previous poster(crossfit style) but thats not gonna happen unless schools get funding and you are actually graded on your performance in PE as they do in the states.

I play for a school that would be considered a "rugby" school and very few guys on the team would be on supplements. The only reason we(8 out of 22) take them is cuz its much easier than eating a steak or a chicken breast every few hours and its more economical. We dont take them as a quick fix and think its the supplements that are gonna get us bigger. Its hard work in the gym on a regular basis day in day out thats gonna achieve our results along with a little help from the supplements. After all its those main meals you eat that is going to give you the most benefit.
    We are not bred to become "gladiators" only better rugby players. The coaches dont give a sh1t whether we are/are not on supplements as long as we turn up to train and represent our school/ourselves to the best of our abilities.

RANT OVER!!!!:pac::pac::pac::pac:

the author of the piece never said he was against teenagers having to bulk up etc

just that doing it by use of supplements and putting them under pressure to do it is sending out the wrong message to them. its setting up bad habits for ANYONE to think that the magic formula in the shaker will solve all your needs. when we all (most of us) know the value of good diet and resting.

there is a huge debate going on about this in the US with regards to American Football at high school level. where kids are under huge pressure from their coaches to add weight and muscle

Edit: sometimes people need to be protected from their own naivety... there was an awful lot of stuff I didn't know about at 16
    2nd Edit: schools rugby should not be run on a knockout basis but ensuring players get meaningful games and a chance to improve their skills and performances over course of a number of games.

the author of the piece never said he was against teenagers having to bulk up etc

First up, the author isn't a he.

Secondly, there was a very clear emphasis against teenagers bulking up.
    The whole "Gladiatorial" bit was basically that.

Just to clear one or 2 things up about an earlier post i made........
    I commented that i would prefer to see dietary changes made rather than supplements added to an existing diet. By this i meant that i would prefer to see advice given on what whole foods to eat rather than simply having a shake to add protein to ones diet. I have no issue with the shake itself but simply i think whole foods are a better way of getting nutrients in rather than a poor diet with shakes added in.

Having said that i can understand that many teenagers have little say over what food mommy cooks them but i still dont think this should mean that the players should not be educated on how to improve their diet where possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

You inferred they were unhealthy by that very statement.
    I commented that i would prefer to see dietary changes made rather than supplements added to an existing diet. By this i meant that i would prefer to see advice given on what whole foods to eat rather than simply having a shake to add protein to ones diet.
    Many will supplement their diets with other foods, like regular supermarket milk (not a wholefood), or tins of tuna (not a wholefood), or drink fruit juice for energy before a match (again not a wholefood).

To me the phrases "to supplement" is meaning something you would not ordinarily be eating in your daily diet if you were not doing athletic training. This would include people eating 10 chicken fillets, they are supplementing their ordinary diet with them. Some people will force down processed tuna for protein, is this OK? They might never have eaten it before in their life, just like many would not have eaten whey before. Is this tuna a supplement by the same logic?

Many would not bat an eyelid at people eating more processed dairy products such as cheese, milk or cottage cheese to supplement their diet with more protein. It seems really strange that people single out one particular dairy product -whey. Whey is part of my daily diet, I would eat it if I was not weight training, just like I am fond of cheese & milk. I mix whey in pancakes and porridge oats, it is nice and creamy. It is also in lots of foodstuffs these days, like biscuits, cakes & icecream.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    First up, the author isn't a he.

Secondly, there was a very clear emphasis against teenagers bulking up.
    The whole "Gladiatorial" bit was basically that.

indeed. i was tired when i typed that last night, so got my genders confused ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

I spend 2 hours every day after school, the entire school year (and believe it or not as a public sector worker, during my holidays too) coaching and training kids in rugby and gym usage and I know plenty of PE teachers doing the same. 14 year old kiwis might just be genetically predisposed to being larger than their irish counterparts, Im sure the vast majority of dutch students are taller at the same age etc etc

you are definitely in the minority regards PE teachers.

would have loved to have that for our PE, fair play to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

I think its all about education. Teaching kids the right way to eat and supplement their diet. Unfortunately since it doesnt happen in schools unless you do the research yourself you will be left in the dark and just buy the shakes with the belief you will end up huge with just the shakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ferike1 wrote: »
    I think its all about education. Teaching kids the right way to eat and supplement their diet. Unfortunately since it doesnt happen in schools unless you do the research yourself you will be left in the dark and just buy the shakes with the belief you will end up huge with just the shakes.

You're right, everyone could do with proper education, starting with a few posters in this thread :-)

My father still thinks protein shakes killed Cormac McAnallen (rip), so I've to hide the tubs in my room!