Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight a paedophile hides in my village

• 02-06-2010 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Was watching the 'Crimes Against Children' episode of Prime Time Investigates there on Monday night, at the end of the program they scrolled a list of places where they detected IP addresses of people who were downloading images of child porn. Up pops my village, not even a quiet little town in the wesht of ireland is safe from these deviants.

Scary thing is it could be anyone, was out there last Saturday night, for all I know I could've been unknowingly talking to the perp in question! What to do? I fear our local law enforcement with their limited microsoft word skills just aren't up to the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Grab your pitchfork and go on a witch hunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

splendid idea, there hasn't been a good lynchmob in yonks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Paedos - they're all over the place! Well... they're not really, but scaremongering's enjoyable.

Was watching the 'Crimes Against Children' episode of Prime Time Investigates there on Monday night, at the end of the program they scrolled a list of places where they detected IP addresses of people who were downloading images of child porn. Up pops my village, not even a quiet little town in the wesht of ireland is safe from these deviants.

Scary thing is it could be anyone, was out there last Saturday night, for all I know I could've been unknowingly talking to the perp in question! What to do? I fear our local law enforcement with their limited microsoft word skills just aren't up to the job

I don't think you have a thing to be worried about tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Put a "Free Child porn" sign outside your house and see if he shows up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Chewbacca.

[HTML]What to do?[/HTML]

Turn yourself in

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Dudess wrote: »
    Paedos - they're all over the place! Well... they're not really, but scaremongering's enjoyable.
    I wouldn't have called the OP's post as scaremongery.... however, I would call yours rather juvenile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Grab your pitchfork and go on a witch hunt

Just make sure you don't do this!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

The only rational thing to do...burn your village to the ground...that'll learn the .pdf file

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

ChewChew wrote: »
    I wouldn't have called the OP's post as scaremongery.... however, I would call yours rather juvenile.

:rolleyes: This is A.H. ffs, relax;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭The Shtig

Jayzus there must be some amount made in the weekly collections at your local church for the priests to be affording computers.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

galwayrush wrote: »
    :rolleyes: This is A.H. ffs, relax;)
    You are shítting me?? A.H? :eek:..... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

That's nothing; you should see some of the hot teen sluts who are in my village right now according to the ads on my computer. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Look on the bright side at least he slows down when he drives past the local creche !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

just make sure they aren't disguised as a school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The spirit of the opening post is lost you, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Neither are you TBH, if they had any proof that someone was downloading CP then that person would be arrested.

More likely thing is that they know who visited 4chan or somesuch and are calling them paedophiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

And what exactly would you say to the local law enforcement? "Ehh I saw this thing on tv..."? If the makers of that episode could prove that these IP addresses were detected downloading child porn, then I don't see any reason why they would not have told the police already.

Obviously downloading child porn is wrong, but there's a HUGE difference between that and actually going out and sexually abusing children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Out of interest, how do you know they didn't just pick a complete list of places at random and scroll that, instead? Would be so much easier...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭The Shtig

PeteEd wrote: »
    just make sure they aren't disguised as a school

Since when have children started liking school? Surely a sweet shop would've worked better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

'In the village,
    the west of Ireland village
    the Paedo sleeps tonight.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Instances of children being snared by random paedophile predators are greatly, greatly exaggerated. I'm personally aware of... no such instance. I am aware however of a media campaign to cause the public to believe it's constantly going on though, and it's bought into so eagerly that men have to tread that bit more carefully now in terms of how they interact with children.

TBH OP, Have you tried your local priest? Just saying...he is the mostly likely person.

Mark200 wrote: »
    And what exactly would you say to the local law enforcement? "Ehh I saw this thing on tv..."? If the makers of that episode could prove that these IP addresses were detected downloading child porn, then I don't see any reason why they would not have told the police already.

Obviously downloading child porn is wrong, but there's a HUGE difference between that and actually going out and sexually abusing children.

prime time gave the IP addresses to the guards already but there hasn't been any arrests made yet, plenty of time for the suspects to use file scrubbers on their hard disks. hopefully they won't get the dates on the warrants wrong this time.

You needn't have actually abused a child to be a paedophile, so says the great google

prime time gave the IP addresses to the guards already but there hasn't been any arrests made yet, plenty of time for the suspects to use file scrubbers on their hard disks. hopefully they won't get the dates on the warrants wrong this time.

You needn't have actually abused a child to be a paedophile, so says the great google

Also, you needn't look at any indecent images of children, it's just means that you "like" children, unfortunately, this now means that any man who likes children is automatically presumed to "like" children.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Out of interest, how do you know they didn't just pick a complete list of places at random and scroll that, instead? Would be so much easier...

i don't

TBH OP, Have you tried your local priest? Just saying...he is the mostly likely person.

what exactly do you mean by "tried"?

Also, you needn't look at any indecent images of children, it's just means that you "like" children, unfortunately, this now means that any man who likes children is automatically presumed to "like" children.

..and if you say you hate children, you're the worst bastard in the world....ye can't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

i don't

QED then. Suggest you take a more cautious view over what The Powers That Be tell you. Somtimes, as Dudess pointed out, the truth gets lost in the persuit of a story.

I'll willing to bet there will be no warrants at all on this one, let alonebv arrests.

(Come to think of it, is an IP address enough to get a search warrant...?)

Nodin wrote: »
    ..and if you say you hate children, you're the worst bastard in the world....ye can't win.

Oh, I actually really dislike the little runts, they are actually not good for anything TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Oh, I actually really dislike the little runts, they are actually not good for anything TBH.

Not true.

They are good for emptying your wallet.........for two decades or more.

QED then. Suggest you take a more cautious view over what The Powers That Be tell you. Somtimes, as Dudess pointed out, the truth gets lost in the persuit of a story.

I'll willing to bet there will be no warrants at all on this one, let alonebv arrests.

(Come to think of it, is an IP address enough to get a search warrant...?)

Hmmm, maybe some TV guy in dublin wants to start a 'Who Shot JR'-type mystery in the little village?

Of course we should take all these things with a pinch of salt but why would they display the town name if it there was no reason to? seems a bit too random

Hmmm, maybe some TV guy in dublin wants to start a 'Who Shot JR'-type mystery in the little village?

Of course we should take all these things with a pinch of salt but why would they display the town name if it there was no reason to? seems a bit too random

You could make a game of it, like Cluedo....call it 'Parish Paedo'.

Was it 'O'Halloran (the one that never married)' in the Cowshed with....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

yea, seen that to..

i was going to make a thread about it but to be honest i was too pissed off by humanity.

Ive been well known for the distasteful jokes on this subject matter, but to be frank about it its my personal way of dealing with a topic that really really boils my blood, if i dwell on it and think about these fcuking bastards that target and actively seek to molest children i will drive myself insaine, i tend to think about things too much, but ive often, like last monday night, find myself in a rage when i have to think about these bastards... for me its easier to just know how i feel about it, but joke about it rather than deal with it - mightnt make sence to alot of people, but it works for me...

Dudess, claims this is scare mongering, i wish it was, sadly there are more victims of sexual assault in this country than most of us will ever realise, to cut a long story short i, at one point was socialising with some people, 2 of the 3 people excluding myself that were there were sexually assaulted, one as a teenager, the other sickeningly by their own grandfather when they were very very young.. NEITHER of the cases which were totally separate cases, ever lead to as much as an arrest or a conviction, because of the "Hush Hush sweep it under the carpet and it'll go away Irish Menatlity" - i suppose there are alot of factors invilved in sexual assault and going through the courts so i cant pretend to know how someone would feel, and their reasons for not wanting to go to court.

The bottom line is, i as a anon poster posted a thread about a pedophile that wanted to rent an apartment from me almost a year ago, i got into a real ****fit when i realise what he was after i took the deposit, the point im making is everyone i have ever talked to about this topic seems to know a pedo - ie one that was convicted or known to have assaulted someone - yet these are only the ones that have been caught, can you imagine the amount of them that are there that are on the internet pulling the ball off themself at images of 4 year olds getting raped? These cnuts are everywhere.

If one every lays a hand on our kid, or my niece i'll do 12 years without any hesitation, call me a neanderthal if you wish, i'll sleep better at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Scary thing is it could be anyone, was out there last Saturday night,

I'd not be too worried about this for a couple of reasons.

*Someone can travel to different areas to get different IP addresses on mobile gear.

*Someone might have borrowed an none secured WiFi and used that to download to his mobile computer.

So whilst a download happened in your village, the perp may not be from there, or living there.

*Anyone can download anything at anytime, either accidentally or from a hijacked PC ~ the owner may not even know the material is on his/her computer.

*The only way to catch them is through their credit card subscriptions

It appears you haven't. You've been sparked and probably won't sleep tonight.

Anyway, why not make it up? Who's going to complain or sue? Why didn't publish the actual IP addresses? As I said, it's be much easier just to pick a few small places at random and run with it.

The media uses fear to control and you sould like you're being controlled quiet easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

gbee wrote: »
    I'd not be too worried about this for a couple of reasons.

*Someone can travel to different areas to get different IP addresses on mobile gear.

*Someone might have borrowed an none secured WiFi and used that to download to his mobile computer.

So whilst a download happened in your village, the perp may not be from there, or living there.

*Anyone can download anything at anytime, either accidentally or from a hijacked PC ~ the owner may not even know the material is on his/her computer.

*The only way to catch them is through their credit card subscriptions

all true, but still worth having a look at the hard disk IMO, there's ways of telling if someone has had their connection or computer hijacked. plus they may have other types of material in the house

So the cops should be allowed to look at my computer should my IP address show up on one of those sites through whatever means, even just once?

TBH, I like my civil liberties.

Would you feel the same way if the IP was coming from your home and your PC was taken for forensic examination as well as everyone else's at that location?

It appears you haven't. You've been sparked and probably won't sleep tonight.

Perhaps i shouldn't even try to sleep? What if it turned out to be Freddie Krueger and I got raped/slaughtered?
    Anyway, why not make it up? Who's going to complain or sue? Why didn't publish the actual IP addresses? As I said, it's be much easier just to pick a few small places at random and run with it.
    But why include it if it wasn't true? it's perfectly plausible they found an IP address there. They could easily have put their point across without mentioning the name of the place.
    The media uses fear to control and you sould like you're being controlled quiet easily.
    Of course! I haven't been wearing my tin-foil hat these past few days. Now I can put it on and free myself from the control of those lizard men in the RTE studios!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Would you feel the same way if the IP was coming from your home and your PC was taken for forensic examination as well as everyone else's at that location?

If a serious crime was committed inside you're home, would it not be unreasonable for the Gardai to search it?

This type of crime is on a very serious level. If the cost of getting one of these animals before a judge is an invasion of your property, I feel it is a price that most would pay.

But why include it if it wasn't true? it's perfectly plausible they found an IP address there. They could easily have put their point across without mentioning the name of the place.

Sensationalism, scaremongering, laziness... take your pick. Not the first time it's happened. If it's "perfectly plausable" where were you so schocked when you starte the thread?
    Of course! I haven't been wearing my tin-foil hat these past few days. Now I can put it on and free myself from the control of those lizard men in the RTE studios!

Or you could just, I don't know... enjoy your life?
    ColeTrain wrote: »
    If a serious crime was committed inside you're home, would it not be unreasonable for the Gardai to search it?

This type of crime is on a very serious level. If the cost of getting one of these animals before a judge is an invasion of your property, I feel it is a price that most would pay.

Doesn't answer the question. If you were self emplyed and had your entire business on the PC in question, would you be willing to have 1) be able to do NO business for a few weeks, and 2) be under just as much scrutiny as everyone else in the house? Especially if people know you're under investigation.

So the cops should be allowed to look at my computer should my IP address show up on one of those sites through whatever means, even just once?

TBH, I like my civil liberties.

fair enough, but i'm sure you would like people who download images of child porn to be punished as well. an IP address showing up once is flimsy at best but if there is reasonable suspicion that someone is looking at these images (be it repeated peer-to-peer connections or whatnot) then i think a search warrant is fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

fair enough, but i'm sure you would like people who download images of child porn to be punished as well. an IP address showing up once is flimsy at best but if there is reasonable suspicion that someone is looking at these images (be it repeated peer-to-peer connections or whatnot) then i think a search warrant is fair

Gardaí will be pretty confident of the likelihood of finding illegal images before they swoop in and seize hard drives. They have neither the resources or the will to go after thousands upon thousands of I.P. addresses. They will likely focus on the most active addresses, the ones that betray repeated attempts to share/download images.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

How did they get the IP addresses?

And aren't most IP addresses dynamic from the ISP? e.g. you might get a different one when your router is turned on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

And aren't most IP addresses dynamic from the ISP? e.g. you might get a different one when your router is turned on.

When you use bittorrent to download anything, music, movies, etc, then you see a list of everyone who you are downloading from, and who is downloading from you. All the IP addresses.

Anyone can simply plug the IP address into readily available websites and find out roughly where their ISP's nearest router is.

So as an individual you can easily narrow down any IP address to a location in say a 30km radius.
    After that, you'd need a court order for the ISP to release the information.

Sensationalism, scaremongering, laziness... take your pick. Not the first time it's happened. If it's "perfectly plausable" where were you so schocked when you starte the thread?

The way Prime Time presented that program wasn't 'sensationalist' or an attempt to scaremonger. They simply investigated and reported their findings. Like the bit where they posed as a teenage girl and strangers started having lewd conversations with her. Shocking stuff but it does happen. Are you saying otherwise? Don't be naive, it's not the media at fault here.

It's perfectly plausible because they have to live somewhere. I was just shocked it was my village. Like you might be if you discovered your neighbour or friend was involved in something similar.
    Doesn't answer the question. If you were self emplyed and had your entire business on the PC in question, would you be willing to have 1) be able to do NO business for a few weeks, and 2) be under just as much scrutiny as everyone else in the house? Especially if people know you're under investigation.

Perhaps they should leave Anglo's computers alone and let them get on with their business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

I'm not too sure on the first question - I think some servers (if not all) are capable of logging IPs which access that server, and if so it's plausible that the fuzz can get at that data/set up their own logging system. Open to correction here.

The 2nd question, I'm almost certain that if a gardai was to give the ISP the IP address and the date and time of the data requests that were under scrutiny, they'd be able to find out who was allocated that address at that time. Again, open to correction.