Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ignorance of some people

• 24-05-2010 4:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

I was having an argument with my father the other day about the war in Afghanistan. The only thing he had to say was "How would you like it if the fúcking yanks landed over here with tanks and machine guns." "Leave the poor farmers alone."

Then you've got the good oul' Lisbon treaty. I remember arguing with people voting yes as I asked them if they had any idea what it meant or what impact it would have on the country.. One guy in particular said to me "If we don't sign it, this country will hit another dark age."

There's so many things I could list. But what I'm saying is, a lot of people feel so strongly about something they know nothing about. It's everywhere.

/Discuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Your father seems sound.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Aaa... ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

That's because people are stoopid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Just because someone has a different opinion than you doesn't make them ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

your da is my new hero. Leave the farmers alone. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Pity the Yanks wouldn't come over and sort out the farmers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Sykk wrote: »
    I was having an argument with my father the other day about the war in Afghanistan. The only thing he had to say was "How would you like it if the fúcking yanks landed over here with tanks and machine guns." "Leave the poor farmers alone."

Then you've got the good oul' Lisbon treaty. I remember arguing with people voting yes as I asked them if they had any idea what it meant or what impact it would have on the country.. One guy in particular said to me "If we don't sign it, this country will hit another dark age."

There's so many things I could list. But what I'm saying is, a lot of people feel so strongly about something they know nothing about. It's everywhere.

/Discuss

Tell your 'da' they're all opium farmers! That'll set him straight!

Seriously though, just because your dad disagrees with the yanks landin themselves over there without having a grasp on what it's actually about doesn't make him stupid, maybe ignorant though. But why not explain it to him rather than calling him ignorant. Or do you actually agree with the yanks??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Smart Bug wrote: »
    That's because people are stoopid.

Yep.

If proof was needed

http://kpswa.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/jhr2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

scareydoll wrote: »
    Just because someone has a different opinion than you doesn't make them ignorant.
    Well...

If someone made comments like that about the Afghanistan war then they definitley do not understand the reasons for the war. That's ignorance, not having a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Well...

If someone made comments like that about the Afghanistan war then they definitley do not understand the reasons for the war. That's ignorance, not having a different opinion.

We all know about the war in Afghanistan. Who are the casualties? Every day people, thats who. Maybe that's what he meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Well...

so tell us, what are the reasons for the war, in your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

sherdydan wrote: »
    Oil.

Oh, we're not meant to say that are we?

brummytom wrote: »
    Oil.

no brummy i agree with you!!! i just think it sounds like some people around believe that the U.S really went hunting for an old man in some caves on dialysis.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I remember when I had just finished the first semester of first year in UCD and I got a call from my mother, whom was pretty angry with me over a wrong bus time or something equally petty. I, being the burgeoning academic that I was at the time told her to stop being "belligerent", with which she responded with; "I'm not ignorant", I said; "I didn't say ignorant, I said belligerent!". Then promptly hung up the phone.

Found out over that Christmas that she had rang my sister to find out what "belligerent" meant, she wasn't too impressed.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

what are you trying to suggest about Afghanistan? you agree that its ok for NATO to be there and your DAD disagrees

On the whole I'd agree with your Dad, you think he's ignorant because he has a different opinion, maybe you are ignorant of the facts/real issues? what part of NATO being there do you think is right? a puppet Govt, killing innocent people and explaining it away as collateral damage? Maybe what the Taleban had as a Govt was no better in ways that we wouldn't agree with but who are we to impose our values?

El Siglo wrote: »
    I remember when I had just finished the first semester of first year in UCD and I got a call from my mother, whom was pretty angry with me over a wrong bus time or something equally petty. I, being the burgeoning academic that I was at the time told her to stop being "belligerent", with which she responded with; "I'm not ignorant", I said; "I didn't say ignorant, I said belligerent!". Then promptly hung up the phone.

Found out over that Christmas that she had rang my sister to find out what "belligerent" meant, she wasn't too impressed.:pac:

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Oil.

I'm pretty sure there's no Oil in Afganistan.

sherdydan wrote: »
    To rid it of the Taliban who were supporting a terrorist organisation and were oppressing and harming their own people?

Check the thread in Cool Vids and Pics "Photos that shook the world" and you'll see exactly why the Taliban were removed from power.

Merch wrote: »
    ?

A story about ignorance, and also it was my 1,740th post I didn't want it to be "Pics or GTFO"!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

They voted 'Yes' because of all those new jobs that will be created :rolleyes:

We all know about the war in Afghanistan. Who are the casualties? Every day people, thats who. Maybe that's what he meant.
    The casualties are people but that is war after all, it's not nice and it would have been better to not have to result to war but I doubt the Taliban would step down by any peaceful means. Would you rather the UN let the Taliban keep control of Afghanistan?

To rid it of the Taliban who were supporting a terrorist organisation and were oppressing and harming their own people?

Check the thread in Cool Vids and Pics "Photos that shook the world" and you'll see exactly why the Taliban were removed from power.

bollix, the population of afghanistan didnt particularly care, if they did they would have put up there own resistance, and there would be a hell of a lot more support for coalition troops then there is.

Yeh because Karzai and the Northern Alliance lads are sound out and don't rape, rob and murder their own people...

Nolanger wrote: »
    They voted 'Yes' because of all those new jobs that will be created :rolleyes:

the no side were so right too!! The minimum wage is gonna drop to 2 euro an hour thanks to lisbon having been signed in/.... :rolleyes:

Pyr0 wrote: »
    I didn't say there was any oil in Afghanistan.

There are both large oil and gas reserves directly north of Afghanistan.
    In 1998, Dick Cheney, now US vice-president but then chief executive of a major oil services company, remarked: "I cannot think of a time when we have had a region emerge as suddenly to become as strategically significant as the Caspian." But the oil and gas there is worthless until it is moved. The only route which makes both political and economic sense is through Afghanistan.
    (http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2001/oct/23/afghanistan.terrorism11)

They also stated such a project would be impossible until there was a single leader in charge of the country.

And Bush had massive stakes in Oil companies. Now I'm not one to speculate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Interesting article here

Pyr0 wrote: »

Well, there may not be but there is around the Caspian sea, this was at one point touted as a reason for the US to control Afghanistan as a route that avoids Russia, Iran etc from what i read the oil/gas predicted to be in the Caspian didn't materialise, but who knows if this is true or not

Hmmm, your Dad is ignorant?? you reckon? . The Taleban/Taliban were actually supported at one point by the US, they refused to hand over Bin Laden who was a guest, probably because they would lose face in the Muslim world (possibly), the US must have known this so it could have been a pretext to invade. So who was this terrorist organisation?? Al Quada? that name was coined by the US, Many Governments can be accused of oppressing and harming their own people??
    I have to, need to ask really what age are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

The only thing he had to say was "How would you like it if the fúcking yanks landed over here with tanks and machine guns." "Leave the poor farmers alone."

Perfectly valid view.

The casualties are people but that is war after all, it's not nice and it would have been better to not have to result to war but I doubt the Taliban would step down by any peaceful means. Would you rather the UN let the Taliban keep control of Afghanistan?

I'm interested to hear your reply? what or who an acceptable casualty?
    Interesting article here

Interesting

Hmmm, your Dad is ignorant?? you reckon The Taleban/Taliban were actually supported at one point by the US, they refused to hand over Bin Laden who was a guest, probably because they would lose face in the Muslim world (possibly), the US must have known this so it could have been a pretext to invade. So who was this terrorist organisation?? Al Quada? that name was coined by the US, Many Governments can be accused of oppressing and harming their own people??
    I have to, need to ask really what age are you?
    What difference does it make? I made my point and that's all that matters.

Anyway, I never said anything about my Dad. This isn't my thread anyway. The mujhadeen were supported by the US to fight against the soviets, they did not support them for no reason. They refused to hand him over because they would lose face AND i'm fairly sure they were in full support of what he did. I have no idea where you heard that the US coined the name Al Qaeda but Osama Bin Laden himself was asked the origin of the name and as far as I remember it had something to do with a training camp early in the organisations beginnings. Many governments can be accused of oppressing their people, these governments must be removed from power to protect their people. What is wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

But not knowing why you have that opinion does.

I'm interested to hear your reply? what or who an acceptable casualty?

I never said anything about casualties being acceptable so please don't put words into my mouth. It would have been far better if they could have overthrown the Taliban without any casualties but unfortunately I doubt it would have been possible.

What difference does it make? I made my point and that's all that matters.

Anyway, I never said anything about my Dad. This isn't my thread anyway. The mujhadeen were supported by the US to fight against the soviets, they did not support them for no reason. They refused to hand him over because they would lose face AND i'm fairly sure they were in full support of what he did. I have no idea where you heard that the US coined the name Al Qaeda but Osama Bin Laden himself was asked the origin of the name and as far as I remember it had something to do with a training camp early in the organisations beginnings. Many governments can be accused of oppressing their people, these governments must be removed from power to protect their people. What is wrong with that?

Sorry my mistake re being your thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The main reason was that they wouldn't let anyone watch the telly, and the US networks were a bit pissed off that they couldn't sell any programmes to them.

I never said anything about casualties being acceptable so please don't put words into my mouth. It would have been far better if they could have overthrown the Taliban without any casualties but unfortunately I doubt it would have been possible.

But this bit confuses me, seems like you are saying it's acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Oil.

This. Drives. Me. Crazy.

America needs oil. It buys oil from other places. When there's a protracted war in a country that produces oil then the price of oil tends to go up due to supply problems. It's not about oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

This annoyes me big time too op:mad:. Some people spread an awful lot of garbage without knowing what they're talking about. The most recent one in my workplace was the swine flu jab..a girl was mouthing some serious amout of crap, she admitted to me she hadn't read up on the subject at all but was scaremongering and brainwashing workmates from getting their kids done, some of whom were asthmatic...

Then the Lisbon Treaty...more sh*te across the canteen table from people who were literally making stuff up making it sound dramatic then when I questioned each person on where they go their facts from they said stuff like 'I didn't read up on it and I don't know the details but I'd betcha that's what will happen':rolleyes:

People are entitled to have an opinion but people should know what they're talking about before they start trying to convince others to change their views.

I have no idea where you heard that the US coined the name Al Qaeda but Osama Bin Laden himself was asked the origin of the name and as far as I remember it had something to do with a training camp early in the organisations beginnings. Many governments can be accused of oppressing their people, these governments must be removed from power to protect their people. What is wrong with that?

Hmm, you make it sound like you were standing beside him when he was asked? where did you hear that?
    The first use of al-Qaida in western media was in 1996 in an American newspaper report which identified it as another name of the Islamic Salvation Foundation, one of Bin Laden's jihadi charities. The term only came into general usage after the group's bombing of the US embassies in East Africa in 1998, when the FBI and CIA fingered it as an umbrella organisation for various projects of Bin Laden and his associates - many of which grew out of ideas originally hatched by Abdullah Azzam, who'd been killed by a car-bomb in Peshawar in 1989. from
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2002/aug/24/alqaida.sciencefictionfantasyandhorror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The main reason was that they wouldn't let anyone watch the telly, and the US networks were a bit pissed off that they couldn't sell any programmes to them.

Ah yes, the notorious Telly Ban.

banquo wrote: »
    This. Drives. Me. Crazy.

America needs oil. It buys oil from other places. When there's a protracted war in a country that produces oil then the price of oil tends to go up due to supply problems. It's not about oil.

You make it sound like that doesnt suit the people who control the oil business??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Tell your 'da' they're all opium farmers! That'll set him straight!

It's reassuring that the Brits are now fighting against the opium farmers in Afghanistan rather than fighting for them as they were against China.

Who says there's no such thing as progress....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Well then why did the US fight alongside the Taliban against Russia then?

And there are far more countries with far worse civil rights atrocities, why don't the US go in there? Why chose Afghanistan?

But this bit confuses me, seems like you are saying it's acceptable
    Well i'm not. Casualties are inevitable in war. If there was any other way then it should have been taken but unfortunately I doubt the Taliban would have been overthrown any other way.

Hmm, you make it sound like you were standing beside him when he was asked? where did you hear that?
    The first use of al-Qaida in western media was in 1996 in an American newspaper report which identified it as another name of the Islamic Salvation Foundation, one of Bin Laden's jihadi charities. The term only came into general usage after the group's bombing of the US embassies in East Africa in 1998, when the FBI and CIA fingered it as an umbrella organisation for various projects of Bin Laden and his associates - many of which grew out of ideas originally hatched by Abdullah Azzam, who'd been killed by a car-bomb in Peshawar in 1989. from
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2002/aug/24/alqaida.sciencefictionfantasyandhorror
    I heard it on the news a few years back around the time of 9/11. In a tape released by Osama bin laden.

Well then why did the US fight alongside the Taliban against Russia then?

And there are far more countries with far worse civil rights atrocities, why don't the US go in there? Why chose Afghanistan?
    It was near the end of the cold war. Do I really need to tell you why America were assisting enemies of the soviet union?

There are countries with civil rights atrocities but as for why they chose Afghanistan i'd say it has to do with the fact that they were housing and supporting the group that cost their country billions if not trillions in money and claimed the lives of 3000 innocent people.

Well i'm not. Casualties are inevitable in war. If there was any other way then it should have been taken but unfortunately I doubt the Taliban would have been overthrown any other way.

Ok, thats your opinion, I'm not having a go at you but personally I think theat the Taleban were probably no worse than the puppets whoare in there now, at the very least their strict religious values makes me think they would be less corrupt, but just because we dissagree with their values? does that make it right to overthrow them? The war which has lasted nearly ten years has achieved what? deaths of US/Nato soldiers who probably mostly didnt want to even be there, poor innocent civilians who had no choice??
    I see no reason why it was essential to overthrow them? seems like it was either for revenge or oil to me, would I rather some poor innocent farmer (even if it is opium, not his fault there isnt a market for pomegranates) gets killed, makes me wonder why people can listen to the bile of the Hawks from the US, what is it with that bloodlust? I hope they never discover oil here in quantity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Theres a war in Afghanistan you say??

I heard it on the news a few years back around the time of 9/11. In a tape released by Osama bin laden.

It was near the end of the cold war. Do I really need to tell you why America were assisting enemies of the soviet union?

There are countries with civil rights atrocities but as for why they chose Afghanistan i'd say it has to do with the fact that they were housing and supporting the group that cost their country billions if not trillions in money and claimed the lives of 3000 innocent people.

Heard it on the news, must be true then, I was more certain it was coined by the US, some dept as opposed to a news agency (which I just found by a quick google)
    You think it was revenge for 9-11, I think it was an excuse for a war, what has killing thousands more achieved? they were wrong to go into Afghanistan and certainly Iraq, there was more to this behind the scenes, people were war mongering for years, perhaps it was the hubris of post end of the Red monster? greed? but surely revenge for costing them thousands of lives and money were not the reasons? its sickening if it was but there is more to it

banquo wrote: »
    This. Drives. Me. Crazy.

The war wasn't in a country that had oil. It was in a country, as I said, needed for an oil pipeline. To install the pipeline, the government stated the country needed a single party governing. Or maybe a foreign occupation. Led by the leader of one of the world's biggest oil consumers. With millions of dollars invested in oil...

The war wouldn't have hindered oil supplies in any way.

The war wasn't in a country that had oil. It was in a country, as I said, needed for an oil pipeline. To install the pipeline, the government stated the country needed a single party governing. Or maybe a foreign occupation. Led by the leader of one of the world's biggest oil consumers. With millions of dollars invested in oil...

The war wouldn't have hindered oil supplies in any way.

I agree with the first bit as certainly being a possibility, but I guess they never considered people would be running around with rpg's in the middle of no-where, as I recal Rove and Cheney just thought people would fall in line after they rolled in, regardless if their neighbours/family/friends were killed in the process

/Discuss

1.Your Da is right
    2.I agree