Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a lack of responsibility in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭royston_vasey

DrumSteve wrote: »
    tbf the people arent behind FF and they still have the power to enact policy and deny by-elections.

We democratically elected Fianna Fail as a party into government, you can argue about the Taoiseach but not the party elected.

As a previous poster commented we get what we deserve, we have seen Michael Lowry involved in corruption yet he still gets elected, we will see O'Donoghue get elected in the next election. Unless we, as an electorate, change our parish pump mentality we will always end up with politicians who are myopic and the continuum of inept and ineffectual government will prevail.

We have nobody in this country who can challenge the status quo as you need access to substantial funds and an established political network- at either local or regional level - to effectively stand any chance of election.

The really worrying aspect for me is that we have no leadership at present and when I look at the possible alternatives I'm not inspired by either of them. Both of them are popularists in their rhethoric but when it comes down to it they have no substance or effective policies, we have seen Enda Kenny embarassed on numerous occassions and I recall an edition of the Frontline where Pat Kenny destroyed Eamon Gilmore's policy statements.

I think we do need some form of credible democratic socialist party but unfortunately I cannot see this becoming a reality in the near future.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

ScumLord wrote: »
    They're employees, we're stuck with them for now we should be on their backs getting them to do what needs to be done rather than being on their backs telling them how bad they've been, it's non-constructive just telling them they're crap instead of finding out what you actually need (locally) and getting them to do that.

As far as I can see the general public haven't a clue what they want, how can your employee know what way to act when they can't really get any clear message of what they should be doing from their employer.

It was general public feeling the John O'donoghue should have stepped down... what he did was morally wrong but technically within the rules. he was then given a soapbox in the dail to blame everyone but himself.

granted FF havent got a precise clear message from the public... but thats the beauty of a democracy in that everyone gets there opinion on how the place should be run. IMO certain banks cant be allowed to fail but if i said that to the goverment it'd be up to them to make the decision and take responsibility for it. however with the current crowd i would be named and shamed and all the fault for it would lay at my feet. I firmly believe that this goverment will do anything to abdicate responsibility for its actions.

(thats not to say the other crowd are better)

when you couple that with the disjointed sentences the courts are handing out, i believe the people just feel no connection with what their actions entail and what they lead to i.e. the murder of those 2 polish lads in drimnagh. The girls were never charged due to their age but imo they were well aware of their actions and should have received some form of punishment.

responsibility seems to be a foreign concept here.

As a side note, i would say on a personal level i have always tried to take responsibility for my actions. at the end of the day you can lie to everyone else but you cant lie to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭BehindTheScenes

prinz wrote: »
    Speak for yourself there chief. You sound like the sort of chap who even if the gardaí did catch you doing something would whine about why they weren't catching someone else etc.

Me whine, no, have never been a whiner as such. I have a great relationship with An GS whenever something comes my way I take a badge number and name and give my uncle a call. The man has not failed to sort out a situation yet with one of his subrodinates on my behalf.

Some will hate me for that but it's great when it can be resolved by a telephone call.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Me whine, no, have never been a whiner as such. I have a great relationship with An GS whenever something comes my way I take a badge number and name and give my uncle a call. The man has not failed to sort out a situation yet with one of his subrodinates on my behalf..

I find the above laughable at best. I've never met a garda yet who would 'sort a situation' out for a colleague/superior. Must be in Donegal or somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't know whether the abdication of personal responsibility is an Irish thing, but then again look at insurance premiums here.
    On a daily basis I encounter quite shocking levels of spoonfeeding requirements. Now to be fair, I think it's only human to require/request some bit of spoonfeeding, but certain people take the absolute piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

storm2811 wrote: »
    A fella I know got stabbed Saturday night,he's in hospital now,everyone in the town knows full well who did it,he's been fighting with him for ages and has done stuff like this before too many times,all that happened was that he wasn't allowed to leave his estate.

Hopefully now he'll get what he deserves before he goes around attacking people again.:mad:
    Do you plan on testifying against him?

Not that that would make much difference as his distraught mother would say that he'd "always" been a "good" "boy" up to now. Suspended sentence and free to cut your throat.

Dudess wrote: »
    I don't know whether the abdication of personal responsibility is an Irish thing, but then again look at insurance premiums here..

Part of the reason for that was the whole compo-culture which emerged here, second only to the US IIRC. People getting compensated for their own stupidity quite frequently."it's not my job to watch where I'm walking...;)

I find the above laughable at best. I've never met a garda yet who would 'sort a situation' out for a colleague/superior. Must be in Donegal or somewhere.

Really, you aren't friends with or related to any Gardai then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It's basically just that the people in these positions are complete cowards.
    If they can get away with doing that sort of thing and then plead ignorance and get away with it...
    They are obviously going to do it.
    It's just the system we have.

Would you expect Brian Cowen to ever stand up and say that he was wrong?
    I'd say Obama would. I would think FDR would have.
    It's all to do with what type of men/women they are.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Would you expect Brian Cowen to ever stand up and say that he was wrong?
    I'd say Obama would. I would think FDR would have.
    It's all to do with what type of men/women they are.

I don't like Biffo or the gang but at the end of the day Obama is no different to him.

Obama is a politician, no more, no less. Two incidents where I have heard nothing from him, firstly his aunt not being deported when she should have been, secondly drilling for oil so he could run through his health care reforms.

As well, he is on the same road as Cowen. The U.S.A. will be more in more debt than at any time in its' history. I have heard him say plenty about the Bush administration and their mistakes (of which their is plenty). Very little about his own.

Really, you aren't friends with or related to any Gardai then.

Actually I am both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

goose2005 wrote: »
    Do you plan on testifying against him?

Not that that would make much difference as his distraught mother would say that he'd "always" been a "good" "boy" up to now. Suspended sentence and free to cut your throat.

They got him there a few hours ago,tried to do a runner up to the north:pac:

No idea what's happening now,but I'm sure he'll deny everything or call it "self defense":mad:

Actually I am both.

Interesting, I have a friend and uncle based in Dublin and it has never been a problem to get anything 'taken care of.'