Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster sponsored by steroid maker shock!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Rugby players in using legal supplement shocker. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

omg. What a load of nonsense. :rolleyes:

edit: Hahaha. People are using glutamine to "bulk up" these days. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

That is ****ing woeful journalism, is it libelous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Surely they are opening themselves to massive amounts of litigation by using the word steroid frequently? Putting quotation marks around the word doesn't make it any less libel. I am sure Colin Coyle would take offense if I wrote an article about him being a 'murderer' for his abuse of the truth.

I also love "Use of supplements is so common that there is said to be a black market for such products in rugby-playing schools." Why would there be a black-market if one can walk in to any nutrition shop and buy it over the counter? Totally sensationalist line to make the supplement seem illegal and dangerous. Can't say my school ever had students selling it on in school. Colin would want to check his sources.

On a side note I am surprised it isn't Tony Ward writing the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

What a desperately short sighted article. Completely ignores the fact that creatine is being accepted as a treatment for post-cardiac op patients, never mind causing the disease in the first place. It's best people stay graciously silent on this issue without letting this thread degenerate into a barrage of anger. We wouldn't want to be accused of roid rage now would we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

That is ****ing woeful journalism, is it libelous?

I would say its poor journalism, its likely not libelous though. They havn't came out and said Brian O'Driscoll takes steroids, but they have implied tht he's up to no good.

Its a retarded article either way you look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I wonder if its coincidence that the Sunday Times don't have email addresses on their website any more.

Someone should really write a letter with a short out line of what a steroid is and what a protein is.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I wonder if its coincidence that the Sunday Times don't have email addresses on their website any more.

Someone should really write a letter with a short out line of what a steroid is and what a protein is.

I was thinking this very thing.

i was wondering, as ON were/are an american company would they have been selling prohormones or other newly FDA banned supps and that's where mr. journo is getting his "steroid maker" crap from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

it is probably liablous towards the company but probably not towards the irfu

it is the worst piece of journalism iv seen in a very very long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Girlfriend saw my creatine today. She was shocked at first but seemed to accept my explanation. She mentioned how girls always used to refer to big rugby players as "on creatine"...*gasp*

Sangre wrote: »
    Girlfriend saw my creatine today. She was shocked at first but seemed to accept my explanation. She mentioned how girls always used to refer to big rugby players as "on creatine"...*gasp*

Sure some eejit made a steroid comment to myself and one a my friends walking down the street the other day... people havn't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Sure some eejit made a steroid comment to myself and one a my friends walking down the street the other day... people havn't a clue.
    On a couple of occasions I have gotten steroid comments while....wait for it....playing golf :eek::rolleyes: I weighed ~12 stone at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

That is truly disgusting. An insult to the dedicated sportsment at Leinster and Ulster. I hope they take some legal action.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Creatine is banned by the french rugby union?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Hanley wrote: »

Chabal took their supply

I'm not sure why I'm thinking this but I think France in general is a bit antsy about what you can buy off prescription.

Could be flat wrong and probably am cos I have no idea why I would know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Christ that's bloody awful journalism, and I say that as a trained journo!!

There is a lot of that out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭colly10

Just wondering about this piece -
    Creatine, a protein derived from milk

I never heard creatine being referred to as a protein, I assume it's not?

Yes and not only by rugby but all other sports in France as far as I know. And has been for some time. Certainly doesn't help it's already sketchy reputation and that's a great shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I think Colin Coyle is the person who wrote this article? Well Colin Coyle is a "paedophile". See that, putting it in inverted commas means that I don't have to stand over what I said. Even better, if Colin Coyle isn't a "paedophile", why has he been within 10 metres of children in the last week? I'm not saying he has sex with children, I'm just asking questions!

colly10 wrote: »
    I never heard creatine being referred to as a protein, I assume it's not?

That, it would seem is also false.

So he refers to it as a protein and a steroid.
    So basically he has described it as two completely different things and it is neither.

That, it would seem is also false.

So he refers to it as a protein and a steroid.
    So basically he has described it as two completely different things and it is neither.

I think most, if not all steroids fall under the umbrella of proteins, as do hormones. Creatine is an acid (not sure if it's an amino acid) which is a precursor for proteins. I'm open to correction on all of this naturally. :pac:

I think that you are largely right, I'm not sure what a precursor is, but my understanding is that amino acids are used in making proteins which are used for various bits of the body. But this doesn't mean that all amino acids are used to make protein.

I'm not convinced that steroids are proteins. Some hormones are proteins but not all. However I ain't no bio-organic chemist.

And this is way off topic. The dude is wrong, because Creatine is not a steroid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Use of supplements is so common that there is said to be a black market for such products in rugby-playing schools.
    Since when is Argos considered the black market?

I think that you are largely right, I'm not sure what a precursor is, but my understanding is that amino acids are used in making proteins which are used for various bits of the body. But this doesn't mean that all amino acids are used to make protein.

I'm not convinced that steroids are proteins. Some hormones are proteins but not all. However I ain't no bio-organic chemist.

And this is way off topic. The dude is wrong, because Creatine is not a steroid.

Yeah a quick glance suggests that hormones (all steroids are hormones right? :pac:) interact with proteins. I'm sure g'em could give us a nice flowchart of what's what :pac: but the most important thing is that like you said, Creatine is not a steroid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Think they've banned red bull too in France?

Looking to France for health advice is like looking to Harold Shipman for a business plan for a nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Creatine is 'banned' in France so by very loose association etc. it is banned by the French RFU.

It has been banned in France for years now.

Hideous article but are we surprised at this stage?

Milk derived protein - should be cheaper to buy then!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

unreal headline, couldn't believe it when i was reading it today, had to read it a fes times to see where the facts on steriods were ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Amino acids make up proteins by being linked in long chains (a few thousand or million) in various combinations. he refers to creatine at one point as being a protein and at another point as being an amino acid, and another point as being a steroid. it can't be both a protein and an amino acid, and in fact it is neither. it's a nitrogenous acid. nothing like an amino acid, much less a protein, and completely off the scale to compare it to a steroid. that's second year college biochem info, that can even be gotten off wikipedia for christ's sake. whoever wrote that article is an absolute handicap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

I think whats worse than the journalism is the fact that so many people will read it and take it as the truth.

Joe Duffy will be fairly busy tomorrow!!

cc87 wrote: »
    I think whats worse than the journalism is the fact that so many people will read it and take it as the truth.

Joe Duffy will be fairly busy tomorrow!!

I thought the headshops were bad Joe! But now the Rugby lads are promoting drugs Joe! Oh help us Joe!

I just wish creatine was in any way close to being as good as they make it out to be!

I can see Ireland pushing to ban creatine which IMO would be yet another nail in the irish supplement coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

The Guvnor wrote: »
    I just wish creatine was in any way close to being as good as they make it out to be!

I have to say, every time I've taken creatine it's worked like a charm for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

amacachi wrote: »
    I think most, if not all steroids fall under the umbrella of proteins, as do hormones. Creatine is an acid (not sure if it's an amino acid) which is a precursor for proteins. I'm open to correction on all of this naturally. :pac:

:p There's loads of different types of steroids, but here we're mostly referring to the anabolic steroids - substances that mimic testosterone and dihydrotestosterone. They aren't proteins, they're sterols which would be classified under the lipid umbrella. Not all hormones are steroids and not all steroids are hormones.

I won't even comment on the article, I have enough stress in my life atm...

g'em wrote: »
    :p There's loads of different types of steroids, but here we're mostly referring to the anabolic steroids - substances that mimic testosterone and dihydrotestosterone. They aren't proteins, they're sterols which would be classified under the lipid umbrella. Not all hormones are steroids and not all steroids are hormones.

I won't even comment on the article, I have enough stress in my life atm...

Sterols? I've heard that word before, doesn't Benecol have some? ****in hell, that's a huge amount of people taking steroids without knowing about it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Sterols? I've heard that word before, doesn't Benecol have some? ****in hell, that's a huge amount of people taking steroids without knowing about it. :(

Benecol has phytosterols (think thats the right spelling?) in it, which are ones derived from plants rather than biological sources. All them products which market themselves as cholesterol reducing usually contain phytosterols

cc87 wrote: »
    Benecol has phytosterols (think thats the right spelling?) in it, which are ones derived from plants rather than biological sources. All them products which market themselves as cholesterol reducing usually contain phytosterols

It's either Benecol or Flora definitely mention in the ads that they contain "Plant sterols". Surely they're not talking rubbish? :pac: Are plants not biological sources? :S

So you guys are saying that all I need to get HUUGE is a load of Flora?

Sick, dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

That "journalist" is a retard. It amazes me how news and journalism is simply for the sake of evoking a reaction these days. Why the hell can we not have at least one media channel which promotes, you know, actual news, happenings and facts?

It did for me as well but it was very far from the wonder supplement magic bullet they make it out to be.:)
    I have to say, every time I've taken creatine it's worked like a charm for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

I thought the headshops were bad Joe! But now the Rugby lads are promoting drugs Joe! Oh help us Joe!
    Won't somebody please think of the children! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Frank McGivney

creatine eythl ester is the business, tastes like battery acid but makes u strong. Isnt creatine just some natural thing that is present in red meat , so is a natural substance and if taken right it def improves performance and much better and healthier option to all the other ridiculas supplements that are for sale. Optimuim Nutirition is one of the most highly regarded supplement companies and what ever gombeen that wrote that article should be arrested for been a gob****e (under the gob****e act of 1845)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Thats what it is I guess, they still have people talking about headshops so need some new lethal drug to save our kids from, as parents discuss it down the pub over a rake of pints.:rolleyes:

Legal highs, legal steroids, ban em' all...

I can see the headlines, "cannabis plantation found in barn in a farm, more worrying was they were also found growing special creatine cows in the fields, the cows are much more potent than the ones we had in the 60's Joe, fellas are drinking 2-3L of their milk a day too, addicted they are, we have reputable sources saying they are injecting the milk Joe"

Its a known fact, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Its a known fact, Joe.

im a parent joe and *insert unthought out irrelevant drivel that they feel is the word of god himself because they managed to **** and get pregnant and spit out a kid*

To misquote the great Stephen Colbert; "It's been proven, one assumes, that Creatine is harmful."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭weeman2

Pure sensationalist rubbish from an ignorant, ill informed and nieve journalist whay a load of rubbish