Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clothes that make you cringe

• 20-05-2010 7:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭

When out and about, does anyone else check out what people around you are wearing? .... And then say how in the name of god did they look at themselves and think that looked good. Now I know everyone has different tastes and some people wouldn't like what I wear but this is where I get to say what I don't like on people :D

Ok first of all, I hate uggs on girls (sorry girls) but they are just rotten and I don't care how comfortable they are.
    Maxi dresses on a night out. Come on girls, us lads want to see a bit of leg :D
    Those lads t-shirts that say "if found return to the pub", cop onto yourselves!

But most of all, most of all... I hate seeing people wearing a nice top, a nice pair of jeans, and then you look at their feet they're wearing poxy scruffy jogging runners! Why oh why? And don't get me started on an office outfit with a skirt and tights and then jogging runners. Come on, the walk to the bus stop can't be that sore on your feet in your shoes :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

Uggs are so manky they should be illegal. College girsl etc are only under the impression they're cool because they've gotten so used to seeing everyone else wearing them about the place and the impression of hideousness has worn off. They couldn't be more unflattering, unoriginal or imature looking. I don't think I'll ever look at someone wearing uggs and not instantly think oh christ!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I'm also not fond of these patterned leggings I've started to notice about the place. People are going to wake up in a few years with serious regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I agree that in a while we'll be gagging when we see patterned stockings/tights but at the moment I'm still enjoying most of them (though not all). Over in the B&C forum we've been talking about screen printing your own pattern onto stockings. Now THAT sounds like fun.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

OldGoat wrote: »
    Over in the B&C forum we've been talking about screen printing your own pattern onto stockings. Now THAT sounds like fun.

Oh sweet christ :eek: To actually wear like??

My sis-in-law has been trying to get me into lace! I just dont like it, Im entitled to my opinion but I did it last night just for her and hated it!!

I cant imagine wearing leggings with my own pattern :eek:

Just think of the giggles. I could have goats running up and down the seam of your stockings. ;)

Warning: many things that sound "fun" are not good ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 hunnybee

Spotted on way to work this morn, Girl wearing leggings that were quite thin in fabric and you could see the cheeks of her ass- omg:eek:you kinda need to wear a longish tee shirt with these leggings and always use a full length mirror before you leave the house...also agree with the uggs, ugh

Appologies for dragging the thread off topic.
    Meanwhile, back in the bad taste department...jeans around yer thighs rather then around your ass. The low slung, crotch between the knees, see my tighty whiteys look.
    saggy.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Tracksuit bottoms, with a pair of shoes. And even worse shoes with high heels. Disgraceful :eek:

The very worst leggings I've seen (which is saying a lot) are the ones that have denim print on them to make them look like jeans, even with little back pokcets. They also tend to look on the transparent side. I mean even girls who are a size 6 look like they have big wobbly untoned butts in them! Does anyone know what I mean? Like these only with more detail:

gojane+denim+print+legging+$13.99.gif

Leggins just need to go away god dammit! THey were argueably the very worst thing from the 80s even considering perms and shouldpads I am still in shock that they're back!

I'm not very keen on patterned tights at all as I'm not sure I have the thighs for em ;) but I am so into coloured tights with shoes in colours that really complinent them. Today I'm sporting forest green tights with red 1920s style t-bars and it feels soooo good! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 fluffo

It really pains me to see girls wearing uggs and shorts.
    Surely it's warm enough to go without uggs?!
    Or surely it's too cold for shorts?!

OldGoat wrote: »
    Meanwhile, back in the bad taste department...jeans around yer thighs rather then around your ass. The low slung, crotch between the knees, see my tighty whiteys look.
    +1,000,000,000,000,000! Every single spanner I see undressed like this - I have a compulsion to kick in the rear.

I also hate the blond big/back brushed hair(?). I don't know what you call it, but it appears to be a uniform for teens. To be seen with ugg boots around dundrum shopping centre. (I'm a little hesitant slating this on younger teens as they don't know any better - but older teens aren't exempt)

PaddyBomb wrote: »
    Ok first of all, I hate uggs on girls (sorry girls) but they are just rotten and I don't care how comfortable they are.
    Sapsorrow wrote: »
    Uggs are so manky they should be illegal. ...
    Zulu wrote: »
    I'm also not fond of these patterned leggings I've started to notice about the place. People are going to wake up in a few years with serious regret.
    hunnybee wrote: »
    Spotted on way to work this morn, Girl wearing leggings that were quite thin in fabric and you could see the cheeks of her ass- omg:eek:you kinda need to wear a longish tee shirt with these leggings and always use a full length mirror before you leave the house...also agree with the uggs, ugh
    fluffo wrote: »
    It really pains me to see girls wearing uggs and shorts.
    Surely it's warm enough to go without uggs?!
    Or surely it's too cold for shorts?!
    I also hate the blond big/back brushed hair(?). I don't know what you call it, but it appears to be a uniform for teens. To be seen with ugg boots around dundrum shopping centre. (I'm a little hesitant slating this on younger teens as they don't know any better - but older teens aren't exempt)

Wow look at that pattern go! Anyone else here go to college and have to put up with 70000 odd girls wearing exactly this everyday?

Woah now I just spotted this! I have to say from personal experience that anytime I've worn a full length dress out I have gotten loads of male attention! I think the opposite that men really appreciate the bit of class that goes with a full length dress. There's enough women out there every saturaday night with dresses bet up their *ahem* to put it nicely bums. A girl not trying to advertise her wares must be refreshing everynow and then!? :confused: This is coming from someone who only wears dresses and of all sorts too so I have a good point of reference as far as the male gaze and dresses goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

sapsorrow - there are always trends in college - it was henri lloyd jackets, hockey bags and dubes when I was there. The uniform changes every so often, but there's always a pattern.

Personally - stonewashed denim and uggs (not for how they look, but for how they sound!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Geez PaddyBomb, how dare we not take into consideration which bits of us a man would like to look at when choosing our outfits :rolleyes: I must be doing it wrong by wearing what I like and what suits me.

One of my pet peeves is jeggings, and it's getting even more annoying now that they're becoming popular because a lot of the (small number of) shops I can buy clothes from are replacing skinny/straightleg jeans with jeggings. They are truly awful, far far too clingy round the nether regions IMO. I had to explain what they were to my boyf the other day and all of a sudden he was like "there's a pair! And she's wearing the same thing! And that one! OMG they're EVERYWHERE!!!" :D

Have to agree with Sapsparrow about the UCD "uniform" -- Uggs (ratty, stained, disgusting Uggs); black tights/badly applied fake tan; cutoff denim skirt; massive oversized hoody ( A&F, natch); designer bag crammed with laptop, books, notepads, folders; hair like they've been dragged through a hedge backwards; and make-up like they're just in drag.

It's horrendous. What happened to being embarrassed to turn up places wearing the same outfit as someone else?

At the risk of sounding really dim can someone enlighten me as to what jeggings are? :o Are they the things I was talking about leggins with jean print on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Ruthie_

shellyboo wrote: »
    Have to agree with Sapsparrow about the UCD "uniform" -- Uggs (ratty, stained, disgusting Uggs); black tights/badly applied fake tan; cutoff denim skirt; massive oversized hoody ( A&F, natch); designer bag crammed with laptop, books, notepads, folders; hair like they've been dragged through a hedge backwards; and make-up like they're just in drag.

It's horrendous. What happened to being embarrassed to turn up places wearing the same outfit as someone else?

Oh my god! That would seriously annoy me non stop! I hate the birds nest hair, like WTF are they thinking?!

I just cant stand tracksuits being worn any other time apart from if your exercising. Also the velour tracksuits in illuminous blue, pink, any colour!! They are just wrong. What is wrong with these people??? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Ruthie_

At the risk of sounding really dim can someone enlighten me as to what jeggings are? :o Are they the things I was talking about leggins with jean print on them?

Yep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

At the risk of sounding really dim can someone enlighten me as to what jeggings are? redface.gif Are they the things I was talking about leggins with jean print on them?

I think you meant actual legging material with patterns stitched on dod you? The ones you were talking about are different, maybe they're a type of jegging but the ones I wear are like leggings that are made of jeans material, they're just really like skinny jeans, I love them, all the skinny jeans I've tried have a baggy arse and aren't tight enough on the bottom of my legs, I look ridiculous

I think you meant actual legging material with patterns stitched on dod you?
    bad news, they meant jeggings (jean-leggings). They look ridiculous. :o

...that said - don't take offense, if you like them & feel comfortable in them to hell with what anyone else thinks. I have some classic clangers that I love & I KNOW they're god damn awful! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

bad news, they meant jeggings (jean-leggings). They look ridiculous. :o

...that said - don't take offense, if you like them & feel comfortable in them to hell with what anyone else thinks. I have some classic clangers that I love & I KNOW they're god damn awful! :)

Ah I wouldn't take offence, thankfully I dress for myself and what I like ;)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Ill fitted clothes are terrible. Why would anyone wear something that is so tight/short that rolls hang out / show boney bits / display stretch marks etc? :confused:

mood wrote: »
    show boney bits :confused:

What do you mean by that bit exactly? :D

Regarding stretch marks I have a good mate who had twins very young at it totalled her physically and it would be a total pain in the arse for her to try and cover up all her marks all the time in the sunny weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 lalalovely

And don't get me started on an office outfit with a skirt and tights and then jogging runners. Come on, the walk to the bus stop can't be that sore on your feet in your shoes :confused:

You obviously have never had to walk 20/30 minutes to work in heels - they take alot out of you, especially in the morning when you are tired and in a rush. AND you've got a bag and a coat on which makes you hotter and you sweat and by the time you get to work in your lovely outfit and heels you are a disaster.
    Who cares what you look like getting to work, as long as you look good there.
    I wear runners to work and have 4/5 pairs of heels in my bottom desk drawer. Best idea ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

no man should ever wear skinny jeans. Its wrong. Very very wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭nicola09

First, I hate leggings, jeggings, treggings or any other trouser substitute that it worn without a top long enough to cover the ass! LEGGINGS ARE NOT PANTS! I don't want to see peoples underwear or cellulite in great detail thanks! It amazes me that people can make such an effort with hair, make-up, footwear, accessories and then forget to wear trousers!

I don't know if any of you have ever been to a modified car show but the attire of many girls there never fails to make me cringe! They seem to feel the need to shed all their clothes in the name of "modelling", it's really weird! :eek: They wear crop tops, skirts like you wear to a teenage disco when you are 14 and LEG WARMERS. I kid you not.

In defence of Ugg boots, I wore mine all winter and while they may not be remotely fashion forward or flattering, when you have to be out to get a bus at half seven and it's freezing they are a great comfort, especially when you don't really care what you look like going to lectures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

What do you mean by that bit exactly? :D

Regarding stretch marks I have a good mate who had twins very young at it totalled her physically and it would be a total pain in the arse for her to try and cover up all her marks all the time in the sunny weather.

I have seen girls wear really low cut jeans and there hip bones are visible over the top. Not a good look!

Ok if the stretch marks are on arms they would be hard to hide in summer but why would anyone flaunt stretch marks in the tummy/hip/bust area? I'm not talking about how people dress when on sun holidays but in the normal Irish weather.

nicola09 wrote: »
    In defence of Ugg boots, I wore mine all winter and while they may not be remotely fashion forward or flattering, when you have to be out to get a bus at half seven and it's freezing they are a great comfort, especially when you don't really care what you look like going to lectures!

Ah now in fairness I have a rake of boots that are cosy and comfy and totally waterproof (which I don't think uggs are) so thats not much of an excuse really :p
    Also most girls who wear uggs look far from not giving a sh*t about their appearances.

Not really fashion related but I hate chicks who wear too much perfume, you should only be able to smell someones scent when you hug them and not when they're walking 10 metres ahead of you in gale force winds rotten!

If we're going down that road: Fake tan.

FFS why do poeple think orange & dirty looking is better than white?
    The mind boggles. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

lalalovely wrote: »
    You obviously have never had to walk 20/30 minutes to work in heels - they take alot out of you, especially in the morning when you are tired and in a rush. AND you've got a bag and a coat on which makes you hotter and you sweat and by the time you get to work in your lovely outfit and heels you are a disaster.
    Who cares what you look like getting to work, as long as you look good there.
    I wear runners to work and have 4/5 pairs of heels in my bottom desk drawer. Best idea ever.

Why not wear a pair of comfortable flat shoes though?

"Who cares what you look like getting to work?"... Eh the 500 people you walk by in the morning on the street or see on the bus or see in the shop... At least the 20 people you work with see you looking good ;)

Why not wear a pair of comfortable flat shoes though?

"Who cares what you look like getting to work?"... Eh the 500 people you walk by in the morning on the street or see on the bus or see in the shop... At least the 20 people you work with see you looking good ;)

You know nothing of our kind Paddybomb :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

Good thread, Must say I detest uggs they completely destroy any nicely put
    together outfit. Fake tan should be banned without any doubt. I think appropriate
    footwear is essential for any outfit, There is no way wearing old runners with
    a skirt/dress is ever right, There are some lovely fashionable pumps instead.
    Also jeggings Don't get me started on those.............SO WRONG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭slowmoe

No offense but most girls don't get dressed for a night out then look in the mirror and say oh what if some random guy wants to sleaze on me?am i showing enough flesh? If a girl likes you enough you'll probably get to the flesh eventually but it would take longer with the ah sure i came out to see some flesh, get them off will ya?!?

And don't get me started on an office outfit with a skirt and tights and then jogging runners. Come on, the walk to the bus stop can't be that sore on your feet in your shoes :confused:

I wear stilettos a lot and they need to be re heeled a lot! If i walked back and forth to the bus in them i would probably only get a week before i'd need to get them re heeled again if even. At a cost of about 12 euro per pair and being without them for 2-3 days and the small bit of comfort to my feet, i prefer the runners or flats when i'm not with anybody i want to impress.

Maybe you should walk the twenty mins to the bus and the twenty mins back and let us know how it wasn't that sore on your feet?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

LEGGINGS AS PANTS. whhyyyy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

If we're going down that road: Fake tan.

FFS why do poeple think orange & dirty looking is better than white?
    The mind boggles. :confused:

And who says looking white is better?

I'm amazed at the level of consensus regarding leggings/jeggins etc and uggs it's good to know!

I love the pale look, so classically feminine you only have to look at old artwork to see that. It's only since the 60s or 70s it became fashionalbe. I fully embrace being white as a dyed red head it's a great look esp with green eyes to boot. I have to go to great lengths to preserve it as I actually tan so easily.

old hippy wrote: »

Being pale may not be as nice or nicer than being tanned in all cases obviously but theres a big difference between the glow of skin that is genuinely tanned and the grubby streaky orange muck that everyones smears all over themselves. Not to mention the plethora of chemicals in it that are really bad for your skin and are gonna make your skin age more badly.

old hippy wrote: »
    Than dirty looking & orange? I do.

But each to their own, if you prefer the Oompa-Lumpa-with-dirty-elbows-hands-and-feet look thats cool. You're in luck, as there's a lot of that going around. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I was actually in a gay bar once and this guy was trying to hit on my mate. He had the jeans around the arse thing going on but didn't realise he had a GIANT skid mark up the back of his white boxers! SO SO SO GROSS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

I'm amazed at the level of consensus regarding leggings/jeggins etc and uggs it's good to know!

I love the pale look, so classically feminine you only have to look at old artwork to see that. It's only since the 60s or 70s it became fashionalbe. I fully embrace being white as a dyed red head it's a great look esp with green eyes to boot. I have to go to great lengths to preserve it as I actually tan so easily.
    I agree with that, I'm naturally pale skinned and don't tan easily, I've never
    used fake tan as I think it looks awful at all times, I don't understand when friends
    say they can't wear dresses etc because they are pale, Surely as a nation who
    are naturally pale we should embrace it instead of trying to be something we are
    not and I think pale can look great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I'll add my agreement to the already overwhelming NO for fake tan, jeggings and Uggs. Especially the Uggs.

I also agree with Sapsorrow on the excess perfume.:)

My pet hate in the fashion department is girls who buy their clothes a size too small. It doesn't make you look slimmer to overhang a waistband, quite the opposite.

My pet hate in the grooming department is (I don't think this is going to be a popular choice) overly straightened hair. I think it looks completely unnatural and too contrived. I think a natural, bouncy, healthy, head of hair is far more appealing.

I also detest fake nails of the talon variety. Claws are for cats.

zoegh wrote: »
    I was actually in a gay bar once and this guy was trying to hit on my mate. He had the jeans around the arse thing going on but didn't realise he had a GIANT skid mark up the back of his white boxers! SO SO SO GROSS.

That is one classy anectode say you save that one for special ocassions like family get togethers and work do's ya?

Giselle wrote: »
    My pet hate in the grooming department is (I don't think this is going to be a popular choice) overly straightened hair. I think it looks completely unnatural and too contrived. I think a natural, bouncy, healthy, head of hair is far more appealing.

Ooh I totally forgot about my detest for artificially straightended hair or 'the rachel' it's so generic. Anytime one of the girls comes to class without their hair straightened I'm like wow your hair looks great all volumous and feminine compared to usual. I also really don't get the blonde obsession I'm naturally blonde and I can't figure out why everyone wants it it's not nearly as much fun to play around with colour wise as other shades, on that note I think the bad bleach jobs young girls are prone to get looks awful too. Oh oh and overly plucked eyebrows so that you look really startled.

eyebrows1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

harem pants- never a good look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I forgot to mention tracksuits. Unless you are exercising, don't wear tracksuits. They barely rate above pyjamas in my estimation.

Tracksuits of the velour variety, with logo's/slogans across the bum...never in the history of clothing has an abomination of that magnitude been replicated.

bills wrote: »
    harem pants- never a good look

Hmmm.. assuming we're talking about the same thing I'm very much inclined to disagree with this one. I was at a festival last summer with lots of french, Italian and other foreign performers, gymnasts, dancers etc and loads of them were wearing these and they looked amazing! I was completely obsessed with them for a while, they would have been wearing them in quite a rustic kind of a way though not MC hammer style or anything. I have seen some really horrible ones around too though that said I think the cut and flare and overall style is what determines whether they're pulloffable in the end.

Giselle wrote: »
    Tracksuits of the velour variety, with logo's/slogans across the bum...never in the history of clothing has an abomination of that magnitude been replicated.

Lol I'm suprised we forgot about these for so long! Ones that say juicy on them and it's like what exactly is juicy and then you realise you prob don't want to know :D I saw a toddler wearing ones that said sexy on them before with diamontes so so soooo wrong.

Oh I know one, what about those sweat pants (the really soft baggy grey ones) tucked into uggs, as if either item wasn't bad enough on it's own!

On that note PJ's worn during the day is disgraceful I don't care is skanky crabby pants Hilton or whoever does it, I was in my local post office the last day in the village (which only has a post office, church and 1 pub thats all!) at half three in the afternoon and some manky cow came in with her kids wearing pjs, slippers and her hair all over the place! It's such a bad example for her children and it shoes no respect for people in the community like the elderly who would be offended by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

dunno if its just ladies clothes yer all talkin' bout here...

But can someone explain the whole mullet look, with jeans that are either elasicated at the ankles, or tucked into their white socks...seems to be the new scanger thing for younger lads...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Dinkie

Jumpsuits/playsuits - I know these are trendy right now, but I hate them. I think they suit very few people.