Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

xmusic r such as pain ....

• 17-05-2010 4:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

hahaha lol wat a way to do biz.....
    i started with tryin to spend €200 on a cajon that took 2weeks for them to tell me the cant get it...so i buy 1 for 250 and they give a free bag with it ;)happy days...u will have it at your door on monday sir !!!so i take the day off work witch i dont get paid for and now that same cajon+bag just cost me €400.....:rolleyes:still no cajon.......
    thanks guys
    you rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

I have generally had a good experience in there but last week I was a little disappointed. I went in on a Friday, around lunch time, and was probably the only punter in the place. Was looking for a balanced TRS lead and could only find guitar cables. Went upstairs to the pro audio section where the dude working there was on the phone and didn't acknowledge my presence. Went back downstairs and asked at the counter and I was directed to the basement. Went down there and the only guy around was fiddling with a mixing desk. I said hello as I passed him and he didn't even look up at me or respond. I walked around the room for a few minutes under the assumption that he may not have heard me (the room was dead silent) but was never acknowledged. I went home and ordered them online.....

This is obviously only my experience, and as I said, generally I find the service quite good and the lads know their stuff but they should maybe try and sell the stuff a little...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭PaulieBoy

Agreed! There is not a salesperson in the place, sure there is staff, but they have no skills as salespeople.
    It's pretty much like the don't care if you buy or not, and they don't go out of their way to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 smurf32

ball ox wrote: »
    I have generally had a good experience in there but last week I was a little disappointed. I went in on a Friday, around lunch time, and was probably the only punter in the place. Was looking for a balanced TRS lead and could only find guitar cables. Went upstairs to the pro audio section where the dude working there was on the phone and didn't acknowledge my presence. Went back downstairs and asked at the counter and I was directed to the basement. Went down there and the only guy around was fiddling with a mixing desk. I said hello as I passed him and he didn't even look up at me or respond. I walked around the room for a few minutes under the assumption that he may not have heard me (the room was dead silent) but was never acknowledged. I went home and ordered them online.....

This is obviously only my experience, and as I said, generally I find the service quite good and the lads know their stuff but they should maybe try and sell the stuff a little...

thats the first and last time i deal with them ....
    i dont have that type of cash to piss away on nothing!!!!!its a joke
    now if it comes tomorow ill not b here lol sure what can i do.....
    hahaha it is quite funny the way they do things but not to funny when u add up how much its just cost ya in the long run.......
    €400 for a pp meinl cajon now thats a deal of a life time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

PaulieBoy wrote: »
    Agreed! There is not a salesperson in the place, sure there is staff, but they have no skills as salespeople.
    It's pretty much like the don't care if you buy or not, and they don't go out of their way to help.

Yep, there is no way you should let a customer enter your shop, especially when it is more or less completely empty, and let them leave without engaging with them on some level, even just to say "hello" or "can I help you".
    You get some contrast in the US where sales are often commission based.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Hate going to the place. Been treated like an inconvenience in there repeatedly. My business has now gone else where

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

i've been waiting two whole weeks for my gear to arrive, and nobody's answering the bloody phone! after this, never ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

In XMusic's defence, I have had no bad experiences with them.

I do agree that they have a staff problem - there's a few young lads employed there who only seem interested in jamming to tunes in both the guitar and drum centres.

I only deal with Ro in the drum dept, and I've never had an issue. I tried dealing with one skidmark in there one day and I ended up leaving and going back to get someone more senior.

I suppose every place will have good and bad experiences - I rarely had a good experience in MM for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Last time I was in there was towards the end of October 2008, looking at Mexican Telecasters. I wanted a sunburst one, of which they had none, but they said they'd email me when they came in. Still waiting.... :rolleyes:

I emailed Steve O'Brien (head of the guitar department) last month asking about Seymour Duncan Jazzmaster pickups. He said he'd email me when the next Duncan delivery came in, around mid-May. So I guess mid May is around about right now, but obviously Steve couldn't estimate that accurately. I wonder if this will be another of the same types of experiences? I'll leave it till after my exams to get in touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

More importantly; what's a cajon?
    Pardon my ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Paolo_M wrote: »
    More importantly; what's a cajon?
    Pardon my ignorance.

The power of typing the word cajon into google provides:

http://www.cajon-drum.com/prositeindex.cfm?userid=cajon%20drum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭funkydunkey

i emailed the guitar dept, twice, months ago when i first heard about the Marshall Class 5, to see would they be getting any in - heard nothing. Was out there another day enquiring about a few different stompboxes, got more info from other customers than from the staff. i am in the market for a nice acoustic and wont turn my back on the place yet though. still, if i had to choose between being ignored and the american/commission/in-your-face method id take the irish/halfassed/relaxed method every time.

i think what sets aside any good music shop is the staff not being "salesmen" but just chatting to you in a relaxed and friendly way. we all like music after all! lets hope they get their sh-t together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

i emailed the guitar dept, twice, months ago when i first heard about the Marshall Class 5, to see would they be getting any in - heard nothing. Was out there another day enquiring about a few different stompboxes, got more info from other customers than from the staff. i am in the market for a nice acoustic and wont turn my back on the place yet though. still, if i had to choose between being ignored and the american/commission/in-your-face method id take the irish/halfassed/relaxed method every time.

i think what sets aside any good music shop is the staff not being "salesmen" but just chatting to you in a relaxed and friendly way. we all like music after all! lets hope they get their sh-t together.

People have been hoping that X Music would "get their sh-t together" since they opened two odd years ago. So far, no change. I think their attitude is too well ingrained to change easily, made worse by people who are prepared to endorse this attitude by going there.

You can still be a salesman and be friendly, helpful, and courteous. It's not rocket science. As for the USA method, while it's not always as you describe, even if it was, I'd prefer it over the half baked, couldn't care less ("relaxed" as you describe it) Irish method. At least with the former, you are making an educated purchase, which will almost surely be cheaper, even including the commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

I have purchased guitars, pedals, mics, cables, samplers, stands and a cajon in Xmusic, and not once have I had an issue. I had to wait at the counter once.

I think the best attitude is to not expect much. Work it out for yourself. If it's not in stock, then don't believe ANY shop telling you when they will have it. Pay a deposit if you must, and pay and collect when the product arrives. The only person you can trust in the retail world is yourself, so shop wisely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

Keyzer wrote: »
    The power of typing the word cajon into google provides:

http://www.cajon-drum.com/prositeindex.cfm?userid=cajon%20drum

The power of google provides a short wiki article about what appears to be a box played like a drum, a pass through a mountain range in the states and links to a few sites selling cajons. That is why I asked here.

The site you have posted is useful and thank you, but it does not appear on the first two pages of a google search for cajon.

Quattroste wrote: »
    I think the best attitude is to not expect much. Work it out for yourself. If it's not in stock, then don't believe ANY shop telling you when they will have it.

Dont expect too much ? If I am going in with the idea of parting with up to 2000 grand for a guitar, I think I am entitled to expect alot.

If a shop tells you they will order it, and it does not come in within the time they estimate, then a phone call to the customer advising him of this, is not only good customer service, it is just common sense. As I said earlier, it is not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Have you dealt with american retailers face to face? Where when?

I am calling shennanigans on this post. That in your face sales technique is not found in specialised shops like guitar shops. Hell even in clothes shops it's not in your face. You watch too much telly Funkd. Read a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

Rigsby wrote: »
    Dont expect too much ? If I am going in with the idea of parting with up to 2000 grand for a guitar, I think I am entitled to expect alot.

If a shop tells you they will order it, and it does not come in within the time they estimate, then a phone call to the customer advising him of this, is not only good customer service, it is just common sense. As I said earlier, it is not rocket science.

Do you know how many things need to get ordered for people, not just in music, but say ex. cars?? the customer needs to ring up as they are the one that remembers first. after this first call is made, subsequent replies im sure will be made by the retailer outlining exactly what is going on.

If your in your own line of work, and forget something for someone, a simple courteous reminder will not do any damage in the slightest.

after this first call is made, subsequent replies im sure will be made by the retailer outlining exactly what is going on.

I would n't hold my breath on that ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Do you know how , not just in music, but say ex. cars?? the customer needs to ring up as they are the one that remembers first. after this first call is made, subsequent replies im sure will be made by the retailer outlining exactly what is going on.

If your in your own line of work, and forget something for someone, a simple courteous reminder will not do any damage in the slightest.

Please tell me you don't work in a shop? Did you ever conisder that these 'many things need to get ordered for people' is the central part of your duty as a retailer. If you can't do this in business then your business won't be long open. It is your absolute duty to ensure the customer is looked after to the nth degree.

It is why retailers have email, websites, phones etc. to ensure their customers are treated as a PRIORITY. It displays a terrible business acumen to tell someone you will call and you don't call. It is in any sphere of life plain rude. You don't need to be Steve Vai to pick up a phone and dial a number!

All the customer needs to do is pay for the product or service. It should not cost him time or money to ensure some half-a-brain has actually done what he is paid to do.

Jesus, if this is an actual example of what shop assistants think their job is then someone on here who needs a change of career should open a shop, train their assistants properly and I can guarantee you you would close most if not all the other shops in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Do you know how many things need to get ordered for people, not just in music, but say ex. cars?? the customer needs to ring up as they are the one that remembers first. after this first call is made, subsequent replies im sure will be made by the retailer outlining exactly what is going on.

No... customer goes elsewhere to someone who does want their business..
    (if you can't be bothered to make a sale, then I don't want to have to deal with you when I have a problem)

I seriously hope you don't work in retail.. because that exact attitude is precisely why people would rather shop with foreign retailers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

If I am going in with the idea of parting with up to 2000 grand for a guitar, I think I am entitled to expect alot.

:eek: That'd be some guitar!

judas101 wrote: »
    :eek: That'd be some guitar!

I did say UP to 2000 euro !!

That safely covers anything from 200 on. :p

I did say UP to 2000 euro !!

That safely covers anything from 200 on. :p

I think it was the 2000 grand as in 2,000,000 ;)

Welease wrote: »
    that exact attitude is precisely why people would rather shop with foreign retailers.

Exactly... could 'nt agree more !!

Welease wrote: »
    I think it was the 2000 grand as in 2,000,000 ;)

Yeah you are right, I see my mistake now :o

That would be some guitar alright !!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Futureadvocate

ball ox wrote: »
    Went upstairs to the pro audio section where the dude working there was on the phone and didn't acknowledge my presence.

I think i know the guy you are talking about.He's an absolute f ucking amateur.They really need to kick his arse out of the place.

The guys in the guitar department are cool.Particularly the guys who worked in Musician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Bod1

I left a guitar in with them several weeks ago for a set up, after two weeks of ringing they said it was being done. I was told that a full set was done and charged 40 quid. The guitar hadn't been touched, same strings and in exactly the same condition.

Never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭BSOM

I know a fair few of the lads in there and I can honestly say i have the utmost respect for them.

In terms of customer sevice, i know from my own place that I always try and acknoledge everyone who comes in. Sometimes im on the phone or dealing with someone (Im normally the only one in the shop as the others work in the lessons or in the office) sometimes I dont get to say hi to the person coming in and i honestly feel terrible because I dont want to come across as rude.

Im not making excuses for the guys but sometimes we make mistakes as retailers. For arguments sake say 5% of the people who come into me arent happy with whats been done (im not saying its 5% just making a point) so that 5% works out as say 10 people. Well when your X and dealing with 1000 people then the unhappy section is then 50 people so it might look like more people are upset with them when its all just down to the numbers of people they deal with.

Just putting it out there, im not defending them or saying they are bad just playing Devils Advocate.

Also re: Stock arriving in. Sometimes Ive been left waiting 2 months for a guitar after being told it would be there in a week. In that case i lent the customer another guitar from the shop and waited till the new one arrived.

J

You're entitled to expect whatever you want.

My point was that I don't expect much, and I personally ensure that I have all angles covered so I am not let down by someone else. There is a big difference between what should happen and what generally does happen.

I agree that a phone call is common sense and if I ran that business I would ensure that this did happen. I don't expect it, and if or when it does happen, my buying experience is improved.

You're entitled to expect whatever you want.

My point was that I don't expect much, and I personally ensure that I have all angles covered so I am not let down by someone else. There is a big difference between what should happen and what generally does happen.

I agree that a phone call is common sense and if I ran that business I would ensure that this did happen. I don't expect it, and if or when it does happen, my buying experience is improved.

I can see your point, but dont entirely agree. My point is, not only should we expect a lot if we are spending our hard earned money, we should down right demand it. It is precisely this attitude of people being too easy going and accepting inferior service, that gives the likes of X Music no reason to change their attitude.

You are right, there is a difference between what should and does happen. I'm sure if people voted with their wallets and boycotted inferior service shops, things would improve.

Very true Rigsby. I don't like it, and when dealing with any seller of anything I demand respect and a good service. However if I want something badly and have no other option then I have to accept the status quo!

Always plan for something going wrong! That way, if it does you're covered and if it doesn't, bonus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Quattroste i think your attitude will serve you well in life as you will not suffer stress!

The staff i suspect are on a low salary and there because they are muso's and it suits them regarding discount and getting to play with all the new gear etc.
    So as our friend above says we cannot expect much.

Maybe if the owners incentivised the staff, basic plus commission, they would be more attentive and interested in cultivating a profitable customer base for themselves as well as the store!

Until that happens go to your local store, the likes of blanchmusic or k'nb in my case! The wife bought me a gibson explorer there for my birthday ( a special birthday), she had been into a well known store in dublin inquiring and walked out having been ignored for 5 mins by staff chatting to staff. She liked the staff in maynooth and got the guitar CHEAPER there than the store in dublin.(major gibson stockist AHEM!)

Also frequent the likes of guitarfix and jimis in ballymount, allsorts of stock there to interest you and an iindividual you can talk to.

Small business is personal and worth the little extra if any in my opinion.

Quattroste i think your attitude will serve you well in life as you will not suffer stress!

The staff i suspect are on a low salary and there because they are muso's and it suits them regarding discount and getting to play with all the new gear etc.
    So as our friend above says we cannot expect much.

Maybe if the owners incentivised the staff, basic plus commission, they would be more attentive and interested in cultivating a profitable customer base for themselves as well as the store!

Until that happens go to your local store, the likes of blanchmusic or k'nb in my case! The wife bought me a gibson explorer there for my birthday ( a special birthday), she had been into a well known store in dublin inquiring and walked out having been ignored for 5 mins by staff chatting to staff. She liked the staff in maynooth and got the guitar CHEAPER there than the store in dublin.(major gibson stockist AHEM!)

Also frequent the likes of guitarfix and jimis in ballymount, allsorts of stock there to interest you and an iindividual you can talk to.

Small business is personal and worth the little extra if any in my opinion.

+1 for K'nb in Maynooth.. Used them several times.. Nice staff and have always given a discount no matter what you purchase (without asking)..

However if I want something badly and have no other option then I have to accept the status quo!

The point is you do have an option...shop online. Might not be the best if you want to "try before you buy", but generally, I find it's less hassle, not to mention less money to do so. :)

Slavetothegrind : I agree with you about supporting small business, if they are providing a good service. Only trouble with them is the choice is always very narrow. Maybe it's not their fault, but the fact remains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

terrible shop terrible staff never have anything in stock.shame cos it had great potential when it opened.superstore my arse

no time for them.one staff member in particular there has an awful attitude problem i think a few ppl have mentioned this already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I've had two totally different experiences with xmusic personally, the first time I went there I wanted to get an overdrive pedal and one of the staff, a youngish lad grabbed a few based on what I said I wanted, asked what I played and got a similar guitar and hooked everything up to an amp and demoed each pedal for me, then left me to try them out. I was in a room by myself as well, one seperate from the rest of the shop which was nice(except for two lads who came in for a couple of minutes looking at amps) He couldn't have been nicer and really knew his stuff. I went away with a €180 pedal after intending to spend around €100 and I remain glad I did (Blackstar HT Dual)

The next time I visited, a few months later, I had a few hundred to spend on a guitar and it took about 20 minutes to get someone to tell me a few prices and the person I talked to knew next to nothing about guitars, yet didn't bother calling over someone who did, just made ahlf arsed attempts to answer. The shop was close to empty, only 3 or 4 other people there, loads of staff, all busy doing nothing. I was happily trying out a few guitars when they decided to show somone a mixing board and ginormous sperkers. Fair enough I suppose, but they could have let me know they'd be at it for over an hour and would totally drown out any attempt I made to hear what I was doing, bit rude really when the seperate rooms were taken already. I was the only other person in that part of the shop, and wouldn't have minded if they said they'd be so loud and asked me to head to a different area. I guess I was spending less and deserved less attention though. By the time I got a price on what I wanted to buy. I was pretty annoyed so I left it. Picked up the same guitar on adverts for less than half the price... while in their shop on their internet. :D

So yeah... I guess it's the luck of the draw, or else the place has gone downhill. I miss good old musician, and xmusic now own their shop in the city centre which still isn't open. Probably my favourite ever music shop :(

I will say in their favour that after their website was hacked I emailed them pretty angrily that all the information on my girlfriends computer was lost after a billion or so viruses infected it, and they offered me a fairly massive discount on an amp I was going to buy (didn't in the end though because I was broke) I thought that was pretty good of them, they could have just claimed there was nothing they could do, and it would have probably been true as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

I visited the shop once briefly since it opened and was impressed by the overall setup but again the customer service was poor and i sent the guy in the guitar department several emails enquiring about anew top of the range amp i was looking at buying.
    I didnt get enough information on the product and when they were getting them in stock in the end so i went to a uk retailer who looked after me very well and it still worked out cheaper even after shipping costs.i ended up spending 4500€ on gear which xmusic would of got if their CS was better.

The point is you do have an option...shop online. Might not be the best if you want to "try before you buy", but generally, I find it's less hassle, not to mention less money to do so. :)

I do Rigsby. I bought 3 guitars from Japan and a guitar and amp from the States. I also use online prices to bargain the lads in Xmusic down. :)

Fair play to you ;)

I have bought two basses and an amp on line, plus numerous accessories. You generally cant beat it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭dermo909

I live in waterford and have been into xmusic twice since it opened. I followed the thread at the time(before it opened) and was quite excited about the prospect of a guitar superstore in Ireland. After it opened up I ventured to dublin and called in for a look-see. Apart from some very nice amps and acoustic guitars there was very little happening in there electric guitar wise. Being a superstore, I expected a good broad section of fender, gibson, ibanez, prs etc but the selection was really bad. I put that down to the store being just open a month or so and presumed they were waiting for deliveries.

Fastforward 18 months and the next time I go there(few weeks ago) the situation has'nt really changed much at all. Their selection of fender and ibanez guitars had gone up but their gibson selection seemed fairly stagnant and had'nt changed since my first visit. Being a prs fanatic, I was waiting for them to start stocking them(seeing as musician had them) but not one prs to be seen. Not even the SE line which retails for well under a grand.

On my first visit the acoustic room was nicely stocked with lowden, martin, takemine and collings guitars but second time around the overall price-range of the guitars had come down by at least a half. Cheaper acoustics are the norm now. Kinda goes against their vision at the start, which I presume was to stock the very best in Ireland.

Amp-wise their selection is pretty good and if I was to buy an amp I'd definitely head there. I'd bring my own guitar though!

On the subject of the website.... A couple of months ago I was ordering a bunch of strings and cables for the band(250 quid worth) so I checked out the xmusic site. What a disaster! Everytime I put something into the basket and navigated away to select another product to add, the basket magically emptied itself. Frustrated, I went to thomann and ordered the stuff there. Faster, easier, cheaper as they say.

I'm really dissapointed with xmusic, they have'nt really fulfilled their objective at all. I would'nt be surprised if they closed to be honest. Nobody seems to be happy with the service they provide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Again I had two contrastin experiences. The first was when I was shopping for a particular Ibanez that I wanted. The website said they had them in stock, however upon going there to try it out I was told they didnt actually have them in stock. So I enquired about ordering one, I was told they were waiting on a big Ibanez order to come in on about six weeks to check back then. They couldnt even tell me if the particular model I wanted was part of the order.

So six weeks later I phoned back up, no sign of the order, it was delayed by about four weeks, and told to check back then. Four weeks later I phone back (despite leaving my number on SEVERAL occasions, I never once got a call back. The order still wasnt in, and was told to give it another four weeks. I explained how much of a joke this was, that I was waiting for an order to arrive for 14 weeks, and it may not even contain the guitar I wanted :mad:

I gave up hope, went onto ebay and got the exact guitar I wanted and saved a bundle in the process too! Lesson learned there I guess. If xmusic dont have it in stock, go elsewhere, because it aint coming in.

The second situation was me after another guitar. I had an older guitar which I was selling, so decided to bring it with me incase they took trades. I was dealt with by a chap called Conor I think, tall chap with dark hair. He set me up with the guitar I was looking at, amp plead plec all within a minute or two. Told me to jam away and give him a shout when done. So after 15 mins or so I went back over to him and told him about my other guitar and asked about a trade. He said they generally dont, but took a look anyway. He mulled it over for a few mins and decided he would take it - then proceeded to give me a VERY reasonable price. However, I had fifty euro short of the price he gave me (genuinely) and he waived the 50 for me, making it a very special deal for me. Upon paying, he told me to head over ang grab two packs of whatever strings I wanted :) He was an absolute gent, and an time I go there in the future I will wait until he is free if he is around.

So it really is a case of who you get up there, but dont hold your breath for incoming stock. I often get the impression they are winding down to a gradual close.

In terms of incoming stock, I know that it can be very hard to get a correct time for it. The guys out at there work very hard to make sure they get the best price for the end customer so sometimes it means acruing a large order and getting a better discount. Unfortunatly its just the way that this industry works, the like of Thomann/Musicstore etc have been doing this business for year and years so they are able to forcast what they are going to need and sell.

X are still in their early days, they have changed the Irish Music Sales industry. I started my shop (school before that) around the time X was opening up and i had to look at my prices and I know shops in the city centre like Dublin Guitar Centre are working hard to make sure they can compete with X so its working out well for the customer. Bear with them lads, they'll get there.

BSOM wrote: »
    In terms of incoming stock, I know that it can be very hard to get a correct time for it. The guys out at there work very hard to make sure they get the best price for the end customer so sometimes it means acruing a large order and getting a better discount. Unfortunatly its just the way that this industry works, the like of Thomann/Musicstore etc have been doing this business for year and years so they are able to forcast what they are going to need and sell.

X are still in their early days, they have changed the Irish Music Sales industry. I started my shop (school before that) around the time X was opening up and i had to look at my prices and I know shops in the city centre like Dublin Guitar Centre are working hard to make sure they can compete with X so its working out well for the customer. Bear with them lads, they'll get there.

With all due respect, it wouldnt have taken much work for someone to check what was on the Ibanez order for me & at least advise if it was worth waiting or not. They will only get there if the customer service gets overhauled. If they can find a balance between unhelpful & too pushy, then it would be a great place to shop.

EnterNow wrote: »
    With all due respect, it wouldnt have taken much work for someone to check what was on the Ibanez order for me & at least advise if it was worth waiting or not. They will only get there if the customer service gets overhauled. If they can find a balance between unhelpful & too pushy, then it would be a great place to shop.

True, thats a fair point. I purposly havent said anything about customer service becuase i have had no experience with them in that respect. I know that it can be difficult when the computer system says its in and its not (it happens to me with suppliers sometimes). They will get it right, i have full belief in them ( I know that seems silly seeing as they are competitors). Id rather see the money going to an Irish store than another.

J

Bear with them lads, they'll get there.

That line has been trotted out since it opened almost two years ago. If they cant get their act together in that time, then I would not hold out much hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

EnterNow wrote: »
    I often get the impression they are winding down to a gradual close.

thats the impression i get they apparently let some staff go.when ya go there your usually the only one there.sometimes a handfull of ppl there but thats about it.they reduced their opening hours too.and they really never have anything in stock its always "on back order" and nobody knows when it will be back in stock...
    well stick it x music!!i'd rather give my money to an irish company but they dont deserve it so my money goes to ze germans.at least i can always get the mid-high end stuff off thomann/musicstore and i dont have to deal wit some sneering bollix who hates his job.

thats the impression i get they apparently let some staff go.when ya go there your usually the only one there.sometimes a handfull of ppl there but thats about it.they reduced their opening hours too.and they really never have anything in stock its always "on back order" and nobody knows when it will be back in stock...
    well stick it x music!!i'd rather give my money to an irish company but they dont deserve it so my money goes to ze germans.at least i can always get the mid-high end stuff off thomann/musicstore and i dont have to deal wit some sneering bollix who hates his job.

The back order issue isnt nessicarly to do with them, you have to remember that all companies have cut back on production and staffing across all industries since the recession kicked in. This in turn means less being produced and shipped.

While suppliers might be less productive as of late, this is going on far too long for it to be simply that. Dwindling stock levels, staff cutbacks, reduced opening hours...it really sounds like a company in the spiral of doom. The rent must be collossal on that place, I dont know how they have stayed open even this long...

Part of it is down to bad luck (opening a music superstore just before a worldwide recession), part of it is having to deal with online retailers, but xmusic in my eyes are overlooking the one thing that could have possibly turned the situation around for them...real flesh & blood customers who walk in the door. Common courtesy, manners and the ability to phone someone back - the simplest of all staff requirements, have been sorely neglected. This obv excludes that chap Connor whom I dealt with, he knew how to make a potential customer happy enough to deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭dermo909

I believe the one part of their business that they have neglected is the online aspect. Oven though I was in the store just twice, items I have seem in there were not available online. There was a prs custom hanging in the amp room the first time I was there and it was'nt online. Everything in the store should be available online without exception.

I mentioned in an earlier thread that I was going to order strings and such from them online but I forgot to mention that nearly 9/10 things I wanted to place in my basket were on back order. Having real-time stock levels and availability on the site would be a huge help. Its very frustrating to be adding things that are'nt in stock and not be told how long I'd have to wait. Thomann do it so why cant xmusic do it?!

I really hope someone at xmusic is reading this thread and see's what people are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭funkydunkey

Have you dealt with american retailers face to face? Where when?

I am calling shennanigans on this post. That in your face sales technique is not found in specialised shops like guitar shops. Hell even in clothes shops it's not in your face. You watch too much telly Funkd. Read a book.

At the risk of being drawn into an argument with a complete clown.... I dont have a TV, and would consider myself to be fairly well-read but thanks for the insightful advice, you must be a life coach or something! As for the "when and where?" i've been to america over 15 times over the last ten years and have bought a number of guitars, amps and other equipment there. I offered my opinion, you on the other hand seem to be offering your FACTS.
    I think all of the major chains tend to be overly intrusive, local suppliers tend to be more relaxed about dealing with you. We have more of the latter here in Ireland, which can lead to customers being left to their own devices. Personally, if I like a guitar/amp etc enough I will make it my business to learn about it myself, and wont let an over/under-active salesman stop me enjoying it.