Advertisement
Private Profiles - an update on how they will be changing here
We've partnered up with Nixers.com to offer a space where you can talk directly to Peter from Nixers.com and get an exclusive Boards.ie discount code for a free job listing. If you are recruiting or know anyone else who is please check out the forum here.

Arcade & Retro Repairs & Mods, all new recipe, with no added MSG...

1878890929396

Comments

  • Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭ sugarman


    Steve X2 wrote: »
    Saturn PSU swap.

    Nice tidy solution, I might order one for both the Saturn and Dreamcast instead of bothering to do a recap on the stock. Did you get charged customs on top of that, yeah?


  • Registered Users Posts: 8,602 ✭✭✭ Steve X2


    sugarman wrote: »
    Nice tidy solution, I might order one for both the Saturn and Dreamcast instead of bothering to do a recap on the stock. Did you get charged customs on top of that, yeah?

    No customs or fees no. It had the full customs declaration form filled in as well.
    Guess I got lucky.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    Just read you can get VGA direct out of a PS1 (phat) linky. Might be a better/cheaper solution to those who already have a VGA->HDMI method than the PS1Digital board.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Seen that yesterday, its not really VGA though. Its RGB at 15KHz with separate sync signals, not really much of a step up from the stock RGB (SCART) output.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    More of an interest to our US friends so


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    KeRbDoG wrote: »
    More of an interest to our US friends so

    Yep, with their inferior TVs :)


  • Registered Users Posts: 31,744 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    Some of those yanks are gas over on the CRTGaming subreddit - they'll go on and on about how 'composite is good enough' and how RGB is 'elitist' because they all seem to think that the only way of getting that type of signal is via a PVM.

    I love pointing out to them that even our ****test of **** TVs have it by default :pac:


  • Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 33,896 CMod ✭✭✭✭ CiDeRmAn


    Oh, it's reminiscent of those on the Mame cab building FB page.
    They seem to be of the belief that anyone questioning the wisdom of building a cab with a control panel fit for landing F/A-18s and a flat panel display with Bubble Bobble stretched over 16:9 is some sort of elitist and should STFU and stop bringing the bad vibes...
    Honestly, it's why I don't post there any more.
    I made the mistake of saying I didn't like a massive control panel filled to bursting with illuminated buttons...
    That was enough to make me some sort of elitist asshat.


  • Registered Users Posts: 31,744 ✭✭✭✭ o1s1n


    I find that a really frustrating element of a lot of online discussion now that has moved away from tradition type forums.

    I think a lot of folks have gotten used to an echo chamber type of environment and you just aren't allowed a contrary view. It's incredibly boring.

    Long may this forum last so I can continue to disagree with you lunatics :D


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭ Colonel Panic


    o1s1n wrote: »
    Some of those yanks are gas over on the CRTGaming subreddit - they'll go on and on about how 'composite is good enough' and how RGB is 'elitist' because they all seem to think that the only way of getting that type of signal is via a PVM.

    I love pointing out to them that even our ****test of **** TVs have it by default :pac:

    The funniest is watching them call SCART “SHART”. I mean wtf?

    Even the Retrotink creator does it. I had to mute him and a load of his associates on Twitter recently.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Well better than having him try the full version :)

    Syndicat des Constructeurs d'Appareils Radiorécepteurs et Téléviseurs


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    o1s1n wrote: »
    Some of those yanks are gas over on the CRTGaming subreddit - they'll go on and on about how 'composite is good enough' and how RGB is 'elitist' because they all seem to think that the only way of getting that type of signal is via a PVM.

    I love pointing out to them that even our ****test of **** TVs have it by default :pac:
    Just point them towards this, might blow their minds :D RGB, cheap?! (on crappy non-SCART US CRTs)


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Done a bit of work on my Mister setup, its been lying in the drawer used for ages. Got it mainly for computer emulation, the consoles are handy bonus but its a pain to take out and be setting up everytime I wanted to use not to mention the case was crap - all the mister case are crap/ugly from what I can see.

    I did try a couple of 3d printed computer cases as well, but they also looked hmm crappy 3d printed as well, then came across this project which was perfect for my needs. He's created a bunch of 3d printed parts that fit perfectly and provide mountings for all the new hardware so its completely reversible should I want to stick the original A600 board back in.

    I used the open source qmk firmware instead of buying a keyrah though as I already that the right microcontroller, not as pretty but a lot cheaper :)

    Still needs a bit or work, case needs a bit of retrobrighting and I'll probably add a VGA/RGB and audio outputs as well for use with CRT's.

    Really surprised with the improvement in the ao486 core, its now perfect for early 90's DOS games.

    50973123192_a496619508_z.jpg

    50973018141_55f0fa9a7a_z.jpg

    50973123242_ea9c29a524_z.jpg

    50972327998_ec04c16422_z.jpg


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    Done a bit of work on my Mister setup, its been lying in the drawer used for ages. Got it mainly for computer emulation, the consoles are handy bonus but its a pain to take out and be setting up everytime I wanted to use not to mention the case was crap - all the mister case are crap/ugly from what I can see.

    I did try a couple of 3d printed computer cases as well, but they also looked hmm crappy 3d printed as well, then came across this project which was perfect for my needs. He's created a bunch of 3d printed parts that fit perfectly and provide mountings for all the new hardware so its completely reversible should I want to stick the original A600 board back in.

    I used the open source qmk firmware instead of buying a keyrah though as I already that the right microcontroller, not as pretty but a lot cheaper :)

    Still needs a bit or work, case needs a bit of retrobrighting and I'll probably add a VGA/RGB and audio outputs as well for use with CRT's.

    Really surprised with the improvement in the ao486 core, its now perfect for early 90's DOS games.
    Looks great...but the 4th image is sacrilegious :D


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Looks great...but the 4th image is sacrilegious :D

    Bit of trolling there alright :D:D


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭ Gradius


    IMG-20210223-161212-9.jpg

    I'm looking to connect a Sega model 2b filter board up to a joypad (like the connection in the picture), or even better to have a connection that uses a Saturn joypad.

    Would anybody here have the parts to whip that together? I have a suitcase of bison dollars ready to exchange :)


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Another mod done, new LCD for my Game Gear to replace the original broken screen.
    Now, this is a mod I really didn't want to have to do as I'm not a fan of these screen upgrades unless the console is actually going to be used regularly as you do lose a huge amount of originally with this upgrade I think.

    Not prettiest of work but functional..

    50975825988_42b58eb3dc_z.jpg

    50975825873_3953b3b17b_z.jpg

    New glass screen lens arrived cracked so still using the original dirty/scratched original one for now.


  • Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭ Jimbobjoeyman


    IPS screen and a rechargeable battery added to my old GBA along with a new case to replace the old one that was in rough shape.

    Significantly enhances the experience not having to hold it at awkward angles looking for light.

    15K1hJ.jpg

    CV5XDr.jpg


    must figure out a more permanent mounting for the charging board one of these days.


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭ Inviere


    Very nice, I'm thinking of going through my handhelds and doing various mods to them to bring them up to speed. Where did you buy the parts for this mod?


  • Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭ Tchoin


    Hello folks, would you know if there's any local reliable mod/repair service around?

    I have a few things in need of repair which I don't dare tinker around myself...


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭ Jimbobjoeyman


    Inviere wrote: »
    Very nice, I'm thinking of going through my handhelds and doing various mods to them to bring them up to speed. Where did you buy the parts for this mod?

    I just picked the parts up on ebay.
    At this point they're all fairly generic.

    I'd recommend getting a case with your screen though as you'll have to modify the old case the fit the new panel whereas if you buy the case its already pre-cut perfectly for you.
    Will spare you a significant headache.

    You can buy premade batteries they are drop in replacements for the AA's but I couldn't bring myself to pay that much as they're fairly expensive for what they are. If you're comfortable soldering you can build it yourself for a tenth of the price.


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭ Inviere


    I just picked the parts up on ebay.
    At this point they're all fairly generic.

    I'd recommend getting a case with your screen though as you'll have to modify the old case the fit the new panel whereas if you buy the case its already pre-cut perfectly for you.
    Will spare you a significant headache.

    You can buy premade batteries they are drop in replacements for the AA's but I couldn't bring myself to pay that much as they're fairly expensive for what they are. If you're comfortable soldering you can build it yourself for a tenth of the price.

    Super, thanks for the info :)


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭ The Last Bandit


    Another consoles ODE'd , Xstation installed in a Playstation. Straightforward to install, the quick-solder-board really does speed up and simplify the process.
    Just need to get a working sdcard extension now as the one I have is wrecked :(

    51049250281_c17222cb0b_z.jpg

    51049250196_873f789879_z.jpg


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭ Colonel Panic


    A few problematic address lines were to blame. Everything seems to be okay for now... I'm so happy, I love this toploader!

    Almost fixed...
    550040.jpeg

    Fixed!!
    550039.jpg
    I RGB modded this toploader NES in Sept and in Dec, it started showing corrupted visuals when I first turned it on, but that went away if I left it powered on for a bit and reset.

    Then it plain stopped working at all so I figured I'd recap it.

    Recapped and my original test game, Snake Rattle N Roll, wouldn't boot, but a few other Famicom and NES games would show something like the pic below.

    I'm thinking of checking all PPU address/data pins first, as it looks like it's looking up wrong palettes and tile info but this is super vexing as it was fine for months and I played the crap out of it. It quickly became my favourite console and looking at eBay prices, I got a bargain buying it from this forum!

    (Excuse the widescreen, it's that stupid 5V on the mode pin that Retro Gaming Cables to. It needs to be 12V for 4:3 for why bother?)

    542090.jpeg


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭ Colonel Panic


    I killed my first console in a long time. I was modding a SNES 101 I got cheapish on eBay to sell on and had to dash out of the room to get something.

    When I came back, I picked up the board and felt a zap. Games no longer loading.

    All I'd done otherwise was tap RGB from vias, and that all looks okay but will need to inspect further.

    So annoyed at myself for being careless, I feel less guilty buying more junk consoles when I can offset the cost a bit.

    This one's on the backlog shelf for a long time now.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭ KeRbDoG


    SNES consoles have a fuse which tend to go pop before anything get fried in the console, worth checking before you shelf it
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uAHJ-sOoFsA


  • Registered Users Posts: 5 Piattos22


    Anybody here that does work for an Original Famicom (AV modded)? Just got one off adverts, but apparently the guy that did the mod for it never accounted for the expansion audio, none of the expansion audio works.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭ Colonel Panic


    In my latest calamity, I'm faced with a Saturn that won't boot games. It wouldn't boot games from it's original CD ROM, even after trying to boost the power a bit, it wouldn't boot games from eddhorse's kindly donated CD ROM (sorry ed :(), and it won't boot from a Fenrir.

    I DM'd the Fenrir creator on Twitter and he was helpful enough, suggesting that while it'll play audio CDs, data is a different set of pins so he told me what I could check in terms of traces.

    Opened the Saturn to find an epoxy mess. I guess I'll trace the wires but le shrug. I bought it from a place in the UK around 2005, and from 2010 to 2020 it sat in my parent's attic along with loads of other retro treasures. This is the only system that's failed on me.

    553449.JPG

    It's a big ask, but does anyone in the Dublin vicinity have a VA0 Saturn that uses a 20 pin ribbon cable who would at least verify the Fenrir works so I can decide about throwing the Saturn in the bin and getting a nice grey Japanese one?


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,649 ✭✭✭ eddhorse


    That's a shame, unless you can find out more about that mod from online images.
    Maybe from finding out the names of the pins they are using.

    I do have a white japanese saturn but its not 20 pin. has a power supply issue i need to sort.

    EDIT : That sortof looks like a switchless region free mod, probably a chip on the underside of the board.
    ?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.consolesunleashed.com%2Fsites%2Fall%2Ffiles%2Fstyles%2Fbody%2Fpublic%2Fimages%2Fguides%2Fsega-saturn-va13-switchless-region-mod-install-guide%2Fsega-saturn-va13-switchless-region-mod-solder-map.jpg%3Fitok%3DvHQ5V9SB&f=1&nofb=1


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭ Colonel Panic


    The wires are for a 50/60Hz and region switch. They do work as expected, so I'm gonna try and work around it for now and trace what the Fenrir creator suggested.

    What a nightmare, I want to play Radiant Silvergun!!


Advertisement