Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

legal age for buying condoms?

• 16-05-2010 1:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

Right so last night , fairly pissed ,with two friends, we go to the local 24 hour garage, and we were mucking around and after getting rake loads of food we thought it would be funny to buy condoms and blow them up and wear them as hats (we're so mature!!!) and the guy in the garage was like, no, you're too young. WELL, not only am I 18, but since when is there a legal age for buying condoms???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

since when is there a legal age for buying condoms???

Since tools started to blow them up and wear them as hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Vending machine ftw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

there isnt a legal age - he probably just said it 'cos he could tell you were upto no good !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

You were obviously acting the boll*x in his shop and he just wanted to tell ye to politely F off.

Or else he fancied one of your mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

That's pretty irresponsible of the person working in the shop. Would they rather teenage pregnancies?

bluto63 wrote: »
    That's pretty irresponsible of the person working in the shop. Would they rather teenage pregnancies?

Obviously took a look at them and thought "yeah right"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

There used to be a legal age; from 1985 to 1992 (I think) you had to be over 18 and could only buy them from a chemist. In 1992 the law was liberalised so now anyone can buy them and any shop can stock them if they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Cook!eMonster

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Vending machine ftw :)

it was five am :(
    segaBOY wrote: »
    You were obviously acting the boll*x in his shop and he just wanted to tell ye to politely F off.

Or else he fancied one of your mates.

we were OUTSIDE the shop, the doors were locked

and thats what i thought. maybe ill report it so the jokes on him haha

Obviously took a look at them and thought "yeah right"

haha i beg to differ

Says the man with the condom on his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

Right so last night , fairly pissed ,with two friends, we go to the local 24 hour garage, and we were mucking around and after getting rake loads of food we thought it would be funny to buy condoms and blow them up and wear them as hats (we're so mature!!!) and the guy in the garage was like, no, you're too young. WELL, not only am I 18, but since when is there a legal age for buying condoms???

If you can't see why he didn't want to serve you then God help us all :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

we thought it would be funny to buy condoms and blow them up and wear them as hats

You acted like dickheads tbh.

Says the man with the condom on his head.

1. Why automatically assume I'm a man?
    2. We didnt have condoms on our heads, which is the reason I started the thread lol

You acted like dickheads tbh.

Last time I heard that pun I laughed so hard I fell off my dinosaur :)

I laughed so hard I fell off my dinosaur :)

Stepbrothers much?
    Brennan: (Sarcastically) That's cute. I remember when I had my first beer.Dale: (Sarcastically laughs) That's so funny the last time I heard that, I laughed so hard I fell off my dinosaur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

There is no age. Condoms can be bought by anybody, anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Well if you were a female, you wouldn't be going into Tesco all pissed, you'd be at home on the phone to your girly friends crying about some bloke.

1. Why automatically assume I'm a man?
    2. We didnt have condoms on our heads, which is the reason I started the thread lol

Last time I heard that pun I laughed so hard I fell off my dinosaur :)

Honestly I think yourman at the Garage acted like an eejit and should have sold them to you.

But if you come on here complaining about not being sold condoms to put on your head don't expect much sympathy.

I understand the principle (could have got preggnant etc.) but to be fair the whole idea was a bit stupid really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

This guy wanted to ruin your life OP...

Fecking eejit. Everyone knows you sell them the condoms after you've poked holes in them.

Fart wrote: »
    Well if you were a female, you wouldn't be going into Tesco all pissed, you'd be at home on the phone to your girly friends crying about some bloke.

i am a girl actually

and it was a garage

i am a girl actually

and it was a garage

And you wanted to put them on your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Don't see why he wouldn't have sold them to you.
    He should be happy of the customers! :pac:

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Don't see why he wouldn't have sold them to you.
    He should be happy of the customers! :pac:

I'd say he was just sick of a load of young wans with high pitched voices annoying the fcuk out of him at 5 in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

As a night time worker in a petrol station I wouldn't say he gives a sh1t
    and thats what i thought. maybe ill report it so the jokes on him haha

Report it to who? Durex?

I'd say he was just sick of a load of young wans with high pitched voices annoying the fcuk out of him at 5 in the morning.

Yeah I understand that but wouldn't it make more sense to sell them the condoms and get rid of them? :confused:

Instead of getting a load of abuse/hassle for not selling something like that(not saying you did OP) I'd sell it to shut them up :D

i am a girl actually

and it was a garage

Wouldn't it wreck your hair?

Yeah I understand that but wouldn't it make more sense to sell them the condoms and get rid of them? :confused:

Instead of getting a load of abuse/hassle for not selling something like that(not saying you did OP) I'd sell it to shut them up :D

I'd sell it to them too. It is irresponsible of him not to and there is no legal age.

And fair point about getting rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

i am a girl actually

and it was a garage

Actually you are not a girl and I have proof:
    eating a yorkie being on boards. ie what im doing now.

See you were eating a yorkie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

i am a girl actually

I dont think I have ever seen/heard off a girl wanting to put a condom over her head before...
    It is actually a quite dangerous thing to do, if you dont do it properly..(I've never done it, But a friend did it once and nearly passed out when he got his breathing wrong..)

Obviously, you don't buy too many packs of condoms either...Beacuse the price is crazy..

LoanShark wrote: »
    I dont think I have ever seen/heard off a girl wanting to put a condom over her head before...
    It is actually a quite dangerous thing to do, if you dont do it properly..(I've never done it, But a friend did it once and nearly passed out when he got his breathing wrong..)

Obviously, you don't buy too many packs of condoms either...Beacuse the price is crazy..

Think she meant on top of her head/hair not fully over her entire head where she wouldn't be able to breathe....! :eek:

When you are pissed drunk money flies out the window sure don't ya know that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Think she meant on top of her head/hair not fully over her entire head where she wouldn't be able to breathe....! :eek:

When you are pissed drunk money flies out the window sure don't ya know that :pac:

Yeah I know she wasn't going to cover her full face, But she did say she was going to blow them up..But to blow them up effectively you have to cover your nose and inflate them...

Yeah.I know about being drunk and money flying....Still They're dear little feckers...

Yeah I know she wasn't going to cover her full face, But she did say she was going to blow them up..But to blow them up effectively you have to cover your nose and inflate them...

Yeah.I know about being drunk and money flying....Still They're dear little feckers...

Ha! I didn't know to blow them up effectively you had to do that :p Holy Mary!

Head to the local college and get them for freeeeee ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

whatever happened to the customer is always right even when wrong?

And you wanted to put them on your head.

yes, yes i did

my voice isnt that high pitched haha
    k_mac wrote: »

Report it to who? Durex?

report it to the garage haha
    Actually you are not a girl and I have proof:

See you were eating a yorkie.

im just a rebel, they really are for girls :)

Ha! I didn't know to blow them up effectively you had to do that :p Holy Mary!

Head to the local college and get them for freeeeee ;)

Or just use an empty Tayto packet. Much less hassle.

that would hurt

amiable wrote: »
    whatever happened to the customer is always right even when wrong?

Turns out they are always wrong.

that would hurt

And it'd be salty.

attractive :*

Glad you think so.

What age did you say you were again?? *munches on a cheese and onion*

No one mentioned "Johnny" onion rings yet so?

Glad you think so.

What age did you say you were again?? *munches on a cheese and onion*

haha old enough ;)
    mikom wrote: »
    No one mentioned "Johnny" onion rings yet so?

would ya believe when i asked for onion rings last night he handed me these...i was like no, the OTHER ones

haha old enough ;)

Old enough to party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭keepkeyyellow

I think the legal age to buy condoms corresponds to the age of consent, so 17 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

Not as dear as kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I think the legal age to buy condoms corresponds to the age of consent, so 17 :)

I disagree, i don't think it would have to correspond

amiable wrote: »
    I disagree, i don't think it would have to correspond

You're right, you can buy them at any age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

Just tested it out there, sent my 12 year old cousin with apparently no shame into the shop to see if she'd get served condoms.

Apparently not. Shop assistant told her no!

Think i saw a program on Channel 4 or BBC about sex in the UK and how they were trying to lower the legal age to 12... If my cousin was planning on having sex, [She'd better not, *shakes fist], she doesn't really have any options.

And before you start, asking parents are not an issue in all fairness. Put yourself in a 12 year old shoes.

fend wrote: »
    Just tested it out there, sent my 12 year old cousin with apparently no shame into the shop to see if she'd get served condoms.

Apparently not. Shop assistant told her no!

Think i saw a program on Channel 4 or BBC about sex in the UK and how they were trying to lower the legal age to 12... If my cousin was planning on having sex, [She'd better not, *shakes fist], she doesn't really have any options.

And before you start, asking parents are not an issue in all fairness. Put yourself in a 12 year old shoes.

Encouraging your 12 year old to buy condoms and thus think about having sex?

I like your style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Ah come on guys cut the OP a bit of slack,

I have to put condoms on my head and blow them up before they fit on my other head, it's not all fun and games :pac: