Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adams: Government has to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

anymore wrote: »
    Adams and the IRA were negotiating with Margret Thatcher !
    The only value Adams ever had in the talks was his membership of the Council.
    It doesnt matter how long SF people deny it, we know the truth, the whole world knows the truth, well some of it.
    Are you saying Brendan Hughes was not telling the truth ?

Yes they were, The I.R.A had been looking for a cessation for a long time, what started out as a civil rights movement became what it did. Of course a proper agreement is what was looked for, for a very long time. This finally came to fruition thanks to everyone involved.

As for Brendan Hughes I cant comment on the man as I'm not sure of his intentions, but to imply Mr Adams was in the army council, raises a lot of eyebrows.

Many things have been spoken in the past about Gerry Adams and his political and idealogical beliefs, born in to that society and becoming a spokesperson for the movement will always raise eyebrows.

Let it be said here and now I abhor violence in all it's forms I'm just very happy there is peace in Northern Ireland. Majority of the people have turned away from the past and are seeking new beginnings. This is to be commended as Northern Ireland was often looked upon as an area of the world that would never have peace. It does now and for that we should look at the leaders there and admire the fact that All of them have renounced violence. From the fiery Paisley to majority of the ex-paramilitaries.

This is what a lot of people seem to forget when they talk about the North. They point fingers, call blame on others for things that happened in the past. It's lives we are dealing with here. People like Nelson Mandela who also was involved in a similar campaign against the powers to be are who they are for whatever reasons they are. Now when people think of Mr Mandela they automatically think of a hero. In Ireland the fire is still there in some people mostly southerners who arent or havent been as effected byh the North, who haven't lived there, yet continue to put down people because it makes them feel morally superior. So be it, but please remember there is a peace agreement on, and to the OP of course Adams has a right to comment on the failings of Cowen, as it effects everyone on this Island.

• Registered Users Posts: 791 ✭✭✭eoinbn

No-one ever said he didn't have Contact. There are ways of getting messages through to the right people with the right know how.:cool: What we do know is that the army council played out a long game and decided the time was ripe for negotiations which is what they were looking for since the 70's. When Major decided to sit down and chat he did, and what came from all this is a peace agreement and a brighter future for all. This is what is important. We all know the history of Northern Ireland and let's be glad that there is now finally a power-sharing executive. Let's just see how the new british administration team will deal with the new arrangements, considering Cameron's sneaky dealings with the UUP backfired.

Cheers. You have now shot your argument to pieces. If Adams was capable of getting messages to the right people and the they were able to get a message to him then he was capable of been a senior member.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I'm on fan of SF, in fact I'd have almost as much contempt for them as I have for FF but I've rarely read as much childish, immature & unfounded clap trap as I've just read on this thread. I see no reason why Adams isn't entitled to his opinion on matters. Whether people then choose to listen to him, ignore him or agree/disagree is up to each individual

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Gerry Adams is an idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Exile 1798

anymore wrote: »
    He is a foreign politician, just like Cameron. They both take the Queens' Shilling. Of course Cameroon isnt wealthy enough to afford a holiday home in Donegal like our 'Socialist ' Mr Adams.

Oh please. Gerry Adams was born into the poorest ghetto in Ireland, or the UK for that matter.

David Cameron's dad had money, his grandfather had money, his wife's family had money, his sons have money, their wives families have money.

Cameron attended Eton, the yearly fees for which are greater then the average salary. It has been estimated that he and his wife have a fortune £20 - £30m. He could afford not just a piddling holiday home but a large estate in Donegal or anywhere he wanted.

You've said something so monumentally stupid that you've actually destroyed whatever point it is you were trying to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Whether Gerry Adams is an idiot, a terrorist or a foreign politician is completely irrelevant.

The OP's question was whether a call for the government to go and that Brian Cowens actions or lack thereof in the economic crisis has left the country leaderless was harsh.

I can honestly say I completely agree with Gerry Adams on this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

I'm on fan of SF, in fact I'd have almost as much contempt for them as I have for FF but I've rarely read as much childish, immature & unfounded clap trap as I've just read on this thread. I see no reason why Adams isn't entitled to his opinion on matters. Whether people then choose to listen to him, ignore him or agree/disagree is up to each individual

Agreed.

The anti-SF brigade are actually far worse than SF themselves.

The whole country is trying to move forward yet you insist on living in the past. Which is funny because that is what many of them accused the IRA of during the troubles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Gerry Adams has said the Government of this country has to go. Speaking in Dublin today Mr Adams criticised the Taoiseach Brian Cowen and his handling of the current economic crisis. Mr Adams said the Irish people have been left "leaderless".

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/adams-government-has-to-go-457800.html

Thats a bit harsh isnt it. :p

Sorry, but I can't take the opinions of someone who refuses to acknowledge the legitimacy of the government seriously. I also can't accept the views of someone who won't condemn the killing of a Garda or the supporting of men that were "birdwatching" in Columbia.

It would be more in his line to go and represent his constituents in parliament, rather than coming out with statements about us. This is a Sinn Fein desperate attempt to become relevant in the republic. They can go jump. Terrorists.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

He is elected as an MP and is the leader of a party represented in the Dail. He is more than entitled to have an opinion on the government of the day.

There is a hugely infantile trend on this site to dismiss statements and acts on the basis of childish insults about the person rather than the substance of the statement itself.
    well said. Sinn Fein have a bigger 5 of vote than the poxy greens so of course they should make comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It would be more in his line to go and represent his constituents in parliament

No it wouldn't. He doesn't have a mandate to do so - and 5 seats of a nationalist party, in a 600 seat Unionist parliament isn't something that will benefit his constituents. Devolving power however, will - where he does actually represent his constituents.
    This is a Sinn Fein desperate attempt to become relevant in the republic.

Or, it's the leader of the party purely expressing his opinion on the situation - like many other political leaders have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

dlofnep wrote: »
    No it wouldn't. He doesn't have a mandate to do so - and 5 seats of a nationalist party, in a 600 seat Unionist parliament isn't something that will benefit his constituents. Devolving power however, will - where he does actually represent his constituents.

Or, it's the leader of the party purely expressing his opinion on the situation - like many other political leaders have.

Is he representing the interests of people who didn't vote for him. Will Gildernew represent the views of the 20,000 people that didn't vote for her?

Even if I give you that (which I don't), this is a man who considers the real government to be the one that got its legitimacy from 1919. They speak of the Republic as the 26 counties and the Irish government as "the Dublin Government". So its hardly surprising he wants Cowen to resign, he thinks he is the real "true" leader of the government (in-exile).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Gerry Adams should made Minister for Child Protection, he really helped his niece when she needed it:rolleyes:

A great Point

If Adams is such a smart man who can solve all the problems down south, why did he not tell his brother to lay of his own daughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Winty wrote: »
    If Adams is such a smart man who can solve all the problems down south, why did he not tell his brother to lay of his own daughter.

Eh, he did - and reported it to the RUC.

How dare a terrorist like adams have an opinion, and as for that terrorist Nelson Mandella having opinions on world peace. It's shameful. Now I'm off to spit on the graves of pearse, Wolfe Tone, Collins etc.... for having helped form this State. A lot of posters here might get sore necks as they are constantly looking backwards. Move on lads, democracy in Ireland actually allows leaders of opposition parties to make comment.

A great Point

A great point? So who have you helped lately?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Lets look past the fact that Adams is completly unelected in the Republic and usually comes across as a bit of a fool. The fact is he is 100% right in what he said here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

A great point? So who have you helped lately?

He has helped irish Society by refusing to allow people like Adams pontificate as if he was as white as the driven snow !
    How of much of irish Taxpayers money has been squandered trying to protect this society from Republican robberies and black mail schemes ?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Wheres me brown envelope?
    In the same place the IRA have buried the bodies of the disappeared...

Or maybe ask SF. You know, the party whose member picked up two of the McCabes killers, and drove them home?
    I will listen to people from the SDLP or the Ulster Unionist Party before I want some terrorist telling the Irish how to run the state.
    The UUP had as many "gangsters" as SF in the past. The only difference was that some of those in the UUP were paid by state.
    Exile 1798 wrote: »
    That's a bit rich. Surely Adams, being a "terrorist" is uniquely qualified to comment on affairs of the Irish Sate, created after a bloody campaign of "terrorism."
    Adams lost all credibility when the bit about the 40% corporate tax for all foreign businesses came up. At a time when we needed the business that sort of crap was not needed. Now, that sort of crap would kneecap the country...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,978 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

joolsveer wrote: »
    I think Adams has to go. As an unelected person who resides outside the state he has no right to make demands about our government.

That would mean I cannot call for the Irish Government to go either?

Wonderful logic by the way

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

A great Point

Don't also forget his superb knowledge of economics he put is such a superb performance in the 2007 leaders debate:rolleyes:, he has such a brilliant knowledge of southern politics that he proved in that debate in 2007:rolleyes:

Why didn't he shoot his brother, wops I forgot Gerry Adams was never a member of the IRA:rolleyes:

I actually like Sinn Fein but that economic policies are completely off the wall and as long as Adams remains leader then they will be stagnant in the South.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭darrenon

You make a strong case as to why FF should go.
    Yes we do need a new leadership to try and get Ireland back on track but I dont want Mr Adams telling how thing should be done. I will listen to people from the SDLP or the Ulster Unionist Party before I want some terrorist telling the Irish how to run the state.

their all terrorist,s just to different extremes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A great (....)daughter.

I believe you've missed
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65910840&postcount=44
    I await your reply with interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mcmickey

lugha wrote: »
    For the same reason David Cameron or any other MP should. It is discourteous for a politician with a mandate in one state to be commenting on the internal political affairs of another state. Sinn Fein have plenty of public representatives in the republic if they feel inclined to share their economic wisdom with us.
    That's a surprising comment for a Donegalfella ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

lugha wrote: »
    If only Gerry would save his opinions for the parliament to which he has been elected :rolleyes:
    He'd have to take his seat first.
    So no-one outside cabinet is entitled to an opinion?

Thanks for clearing that up
    Nope...only people that voted are entitled to an opinion. Gerry doesn't have a vote here, so he should go bugger off.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,978 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

ninty9er wrote: »
    Nope...only people that voted are entitled to an opinion. Gerry doesn't have a vote here, so he should go bugger off.

You are not entitled to an opinion unless you can prove you voted :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

You are not entitled to an opinion unless you can prove you voted :pac:

that's what a marked register is for;)

Nodin wrote: »
    I believe you've missed
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65910840&postcount=44
    I await your reply with interest.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article518611.ece

A 2 second google search pulls up IRA plc turns from terror into biggest crime gang in Europe

Simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article518611.ece

A 2 second google search pulls up IRA plc turns from terror into biggest crime gang in Europe

Simple

Ahem......
    Winty wrote:
    They could not in the eyes of the yanks be seen dealing with terrorists so the Ulster Bank was allowed to be done over so the boys could go and live in Spain.

So I asked
    What "boys" went to live in Spain and where is your source for that claim?

Nodin wrote: »
    Ahem......So I asked

You being a Shinner nothing I write will do

Try Google for all the answers you need

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article714366.ece

the_syco wrote: »
    You know, the party whose member picked up two of the McCabes killers, and drove them home?

Nodin and Dfolnep

Why do you support people who allowed the Murder in cold blood of a Garda just doing his job?