Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Custom .223 Re-Barrel

• 12-05-2010 12:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭

Folks
    I'm going to re-barrel my .223 Remington 700 VSSF II.

Question what is the best twist weight to go with?

I still want to shoot Foxes and long range bunnies and I would like to stay with 55grain Hornady moly ammo.
    But if you Target guys can educate a hunter like me by all means.

Do any of the Target community cross purpose on varminting lines?
    I was looking at 24 inch barrel maybe a kreiger 1/14 twist to stabilize the 55grain more.

Will this set up work? Or are my twist rates off?

thanks
    TB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Hi Tackleberry, a 1/9 twist would let you shoot from the low 50gr to the high 60 grainers in the 223 I had a tikka tactical in 223 with this twist and it loved the 53 and 55 gr hornadys and the 64gr federals. I take it that Figgy will be doin the work for you he s done couple rifles for me and they unreal accurate.The 22/250 he did will do consistant sub half inch groups at 300 yards. Give me shout if you fancy shot out of them i do be back in athlone good bit herself is in collage there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Hi Tackleberry, a 1/9 twist would let you shoot from the low 50gr to the high 60 grainers in the 223 I had a tikka tactical in 223 with this twist and it loved the 53 and 55 gr hornadys and the 64gr federals. I take it that Figgy will be doin the work for you he s done couple rifles for me and they unreal accurate.The 22/250 he did will do consistant sub half inch groups at 300 yards. Give me shout if you fancy shot out of them i do be back in athlone good bit herself is in collage there.
    Hi Tackleberry, a 1/9 twist would let you shoot from the low 50gr to the high 60 grainers in the 223 I had a tikka tactical in 223 with this twist and it loved the 53 and 55 gr hornadys and the 64gr federals. I take it that Figgy will be doin the work for you he's done couple rifles for me and they unreal accurate.The 22/250 he did will do consistant sub half inch groups at 300 yards. Give me shout if you fancy shot out of them i do be back in athlone good bit herself is in collage there.

Cool, yeah it is Figgy that is doin it. I have seen your 5 shot group @300 it's as the Yanks would say awesome!:D:D:D He has it on the door for all to see!!;)

That would be really cool CR about trying yours. I'd supply a box of 55grainer Hornady and see how she goes:D:D
    Any pics of your rifles pre and post to give me an idea?
    your thoughts on barrrel length too please! Short and thick or long and not so thick etc ;)

I want to put a mod on it too, so I'd love to know if you use any Mod's on yours:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Tack with a 1 in 14 twist your limiting yourself to the lower weight heads, 50-55gr. The faster twist rates will get you shooting longer ranges and heavier heads. My CZ varmint 1-9 twist will shoot from 40gr up to about the 75gr weight. I only use 40gr to 55gr anyway.
    Anything with more weight your need a 1-7 or 1-8 twist rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

1:14" is a traditional twist for the .22-250 and the Swift, as they reach higher velocities, so you can have a slower twist to stabilise the same bullet. With a 24" barrel, you might be okay for anything up to about 55 or 60gr in a .223, but give yourself the extra legroom of a 1:12" or 1:9" for the comfort. Somewhere in the middle would be an excellent compromise, but I've seen clive shoot brilliant groups with 40gr in his 1:9", and it'll handle up to 75gr as well, so it's the best all-rounder I think.

clivej wrote: »
    Tack with a 1 in 14 twist your limiting yourself to the lower weight heads, 50-55gr. The faster twist rates will get you shooting longer ranges and heavier heads. My CZ varmint 1-9 twist will shoot from 40gr up to about the 75gr weight. I only use 40gr to 55gr anyway.
    Anything with more weight your need a 1-7 or 1-8 twist rate.

Do you shoot over 300 metres with yours clive? How does 55grain in a fast twist group @300

I would prefer to use the 55grain ammo but to not limit myself to 55grain.
    I have used 75grain ammo before in my Remmy 1/12 twist and they did not group well.

http://www.kriegerbarrels.com/RapidCat/catalog/pagetemplate.cfm?template=/RapidCat/common/viewPage.cfm&PageId=3390&CompanyId=1246

Kreiger are available in a huge range of twist rates between 5 and 14 so I have a lot of scope to work with, but that also makes decesion making harder:eek:

They're getting some good groups here shooting 80gr bullets from a .223 at 600 yards with irons. Twists are about 7.5-8", so a 9" will handle 75s, and well.

I still want to use it for Varminting so i'm not sure on the heavier grain 75+ etc.

As is the point of aim between 0-200 is +/- 1.4 inches and down 7" @300

I'm not sure 600 is where i want to go as my reading is to date, to get a bullet to be stable at that range it's 100 & 200 are not great.

i have seen CR's 5 shot group @300 and it is very impressive with the .22-250
    I'd be very happy if mine can do sub 1/2 inch @300 when re-barreled.

Does any of the target world guys use their rig's in the field for bunnies grey crow etc?

Also is 24" the only length for that calibre?
    What are my options with twist and length combinations?
    Rifle as is is long as it's currently 24" with a 5" Moderator

I still want to use it for Varminting so i'm not sure on the heavier grain 75+ etc.

As is the point of aim between 0-200 is +/- 1.4 inches and down 7" @300

I'm not sure 600 is where i want to go as my reading is to date, to get a bullet to be stable at that range it's 100 & 200 are not great.

i have seen CR's 5 shot group @300 and it is very impressive with the .22-250
    I'd be very happy if mine can do sub 1/2 inch @300 when re-barreled.

Does any of the target world guys use their rig's in the field for bunnies grey crow etc?

Also is 24" the only length for that calibre?
    What are my options with twist and length combinations?
    Rifle as is is long as it's currently 24" with a 5" Moderator

If you get a 1:9", like Clive's, it will stabilise 40gr rounds up to about 75gr, so you can use your 55gr or whatever you want for varminting, then still use the 75s or whatever suits you for long range target shooting. And there's no reason your 600 yard load won't shoot at 100 yards. In fact, if it won't shoot at 100, I wouldn't even go near a 600 yard range with it. 1/2" at 300m is about .15 MOA, so yeah, that's utterly exceptional.

now the next question is barrel length and fluted or not fluted?
    I like fluted barrels "Why I think they are mightee purdy"

I hear ya on the heat up faster/Cool down faster gig. I also hear ya on the stabilization of the barrel craic for the added rigidity.

I'd love to see a few pics of .223 success stories and a few pics of groups would be nice too:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

26 inch tube and a 1 in 9 twist.....
    Fluted to keep the weight down....
    Keep the same contour as your rem barrel....

dwighet wrote: »
    26 inch tube and a 1 in 9 twist.....
    Fluted to keep the weight down....
    Keep the same contour as your rem barrel....

I like the way you are thinking, I just double checked, my current barrel is 26" so I could live with a slightly heavier rig.

Do you use yourself for varminting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

As above ,26" fluted varmint barrel .All ya need now is get it done in .204 ;)

tomcat220t wrote: »
    As above ,26" fluted varmint barrel .All ya need now is get it done in .204 ;)

N'ah
    .223 is what suits for now, no messing with licenses and forms keep its simple, just increase accuracy.

I was just looking at Remington.com and they chamber my rifle in .17 fireball in 1/9 twist (but why not the .223 in the same twist if it is so good?). I have a lot to learn about these twist rates in different calibres when I think about changing barrel and barrel lengths.
    http://www.remington.com/products/firearms/centerfire/model-700/model-700-vs-sf-ii.aspx

Action/Barrel Length Caliber Twist
    Bolt 26" 17 Remington Fireball 9"
    Bolt 26" 204 Ruger 12"
    Bolt 26" 220 Swift 14"
    Bolt 26" 223 Remington 12"
    Bolt 26" 22-250 Remington 14"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I like the way you are thinking, I just double checked, my current barrel is 26" so I could live with a slightly heavier rig.

Do you use yourself for varminting??
    I use a rem R-15 in 223...
    But if I was to go a bolt gun It would be a 26 inch tube,hs presision stock,rem action trued,jewell trigger,nightforce nxs 5.5-22x50,third eye tactical rail and rings....
    It would be a clone of my 300 win mag
    But im happy enough with my r-15 for the time being...

There's a different twist rate in the .17 Fireball because it's a different calibre.

dwighet wrote: »
    I use a rem R-15 in 223...
    But if I was to go a bolt gun It would be a 26 inch tube,hs presision stock,rem action trued,jewell trigger,nightforce nxs 5.5-22x50,third eye tactical rail and rings....
    But I'm happy enough with my r-15 for the time being...

Well I have a Nightforce NXS 8-32x56, burris tactical mounts rings, Timney trigger 1.5lbs break and an ASE ULTRA. on a 26 inch fluted factory remmy

I'd love to just go that little bit further!

Getting her rebeded at the moment. That's what put the barrel into my head as I saw Figgy AKA Fergal White has a load of shiny barrels in stock :D

There's a different twist rate in the .17 Fireball because it's a different calibre.

Well that I know Sherlock.
    I'm not that thick usually!:D

I want to know if the 1/9 is so good why don't Remington use it on the .223 VSSF II?

Well that I know Sherlock.
    I'm not that thick usually!:D

I want to know if the 1/9 is so good why don't Remington use it on the .223 VSSF II?

Because it's a varminting rig, not a target gun. If it were designed to shoot heavier bullets, it would have a faster twist. The reason they're common in Europe and not in the US is the fact that people over here have been using them for small deer species like roe, and are familiar with chucking heavier bullets from a .22 centrefire to do so. That's why Tikka and co. offer the option of the faster twist, while US companies tend not to, with fast twist .22 cal barrels an aftermarket product for the most part. Savage is a departure from the norm on this, but they obviously view their varminting guns as entry-level target rifles as well.

Well that would make more sense, friends of mine Bow hunt in the US just bring a .357mag or .44mag with them in case they meet critters that want to annoy them, wolverine etc. A very different strategy than Europe so the varmint .223 round would make sense using the 55grain in that case.

So a 1/9 is looking good in 26" Fluted.
    Now is Kreiger my best option. I hear there is another make the name escapes me that are from Oz are just as good if not better.

I'd still like to hear of a custom .223 twist conversion Varmint/target success story.

Well that would make more sense, friends of mine Bow hunt in the US just bring a .357mag or .44mag with them in case they meet critters that want to annoy them, wolverine etc. A very different strategy than Europe so the varmint .223 round would make sense using the 55grain in that case.

So a 1/9 is looking good in 26" Fluted.
    Now is Kreiger my best option. I hear there is another make the name escapes me that are from Oz are just as good if not better.

I'd still like to hear of a custom .223 twist conversion Varmint/target success story.

You thinking of Tru-Flite? Kiwi if I'm not mistaken. Be careful with that distinction! ;) Krieger, Lilja, Lothar Walther, Border, Shilen and a host of others all make a top-notch barrel. Hard to pick a best of the bunch really. Do you intend going stainless or chrom-moly?

Hi TB, my 250 started off same as yours, a remy vssf II, I was just never that impressed with how it shot as a factory gun, more disappointed to be honest. Thats when I spoke the Fig about rebarrel. So he blueprinted the action and put on a 1/11 twist border barrel 1.25" in diameter.
    Initially I had rifle sitting in an accuracy int stock but wanted that for another project so Figgy opened up the barrel channel on the hs stock from the vssf and dropped 250 into it. I have to say it looks way better:) and is much lighter for carrying in the field. I dont use a mod on it but man im thinkin about coz the 250 is loud on a calm night:eek:.
    As for the group on target thats a 3 shot one I was thinkin that day about sending another couple into it but was gettin excited when i saw all holes together and thought id f#*k it up ha ha. Since then ive gotten some "better" ammo which would be more consistant. im waiting on some thats been measured to chamber perfectly in rifle so it ll be 10 shot groups ill be goin for then and goin to try her out to 600.
    I can drop it into Fig anytime you like man and you can inspect it youself. One thing id say is if you want just a target gun the full weight barrel is great but if your going doin alot of walking with it then get the barrel with a remington varmint contour.

You thinking of Tru-Flite? Kiwi if I'm not mistaken. Be careful with that distinction! ;) Krieger, Lilja, Lothar Walther, Border, Shilen and a host of others all make a top-notch barrel. Hard to pick a best of the bunch really. Do you intend going stainless or chrom-moly?

Don't know, It's a whole new world and price thing.
    Its a trueflight alright yes KIWI now that you say it I remember.

Chrome-Moly I know nothing about not ever having one before.
    I see they do not seem to offer a 1/9
    .224 centrefire 1-7" 6 groove, 1-8", 1-12" up to 30"

I've e-mailed them for some feedback.

Hi TB, my 250 started off same as yours, a remy vssf II, I was just never that impressed with how it shot as a factory gun, more disappointed to be honest. Thats when I spoke the Fig about rebarrel. So he blueprinted the action and put on a 1/11 twist border barrel 1.25" in diameter.
    Initially I had rifle sitting in an accuracy int stock but wanted that for another project so Figgy opened up the barrel channel on the hs stock from the vssf and dropped 250 into it. I have to say it looks way better:) and is much lighter for carrying in the field. I dont use a mod on it but man im thinkin about coz the 250 is loud on a calm night:eek:.
    As for the group on target thats a 3 shot one I was thinkin that day about sending another couple into it but was gettin excited when i saw all holes together and thought id f#*k it up ha ha. Since then ive gotten some "better" ammo which would be more consistant. im waiting on some thats been measured to chamber perfectly in rifle so it ll be 10 shot groups ill be goin for then and goin to try her out to 600.
    I can drop it into Fig anytime you like man and you can inspect it youself. One thing id say is if you want just a target gun the full weight barrel is great but if your going doin alot of walking with it then get the barrel with a remington varmint contour.

I think i will follow your lead to the letter. My rifle is heavy enough as standard. I might be in Figgy's this evening if you are around. I know he is on the range today but with them showers of rain falling that could be knocked on the head!

I like burstin grey's and mag's rabbits and foxes, but I might venture to the range every now and then.
    I'm not big on ranges as its so hard to get to do what I want to do. I'll go moderated so when zeroing its very annoying when .270's or .30-06's are fired beside when all my baby does is whip crack:D:D

Although I sometimes go mid week to counteract this.

I work nights man ill leave it with him at w end for you to take look at if that suits

Cool, I have to call in Sat evening anyway!
    I;m off work at the minute, I have 1st exam Sat eve, I keep finding myself spending more time on boards though these days :D:D:D

Do you shoot over 300 metres with yours clive? How does 55grain in a fast twist group @300
    now the .........................

I'd love to see a few pics of .223 success stories and a few pics of groups would be nice too:D:D:D

OK Tack here goes.

Factory Rifle and Factory ammo from the bench.
    Federal V-Shock 40gr BT @300m
    223at300mcropped-1.jpg

Americal Eagle 50gr Flat Base HP @ 300. 1" x 3 shot group is the best yet.
    AmericanEagle50grFlatbaseHPat300m.jpg

I have fitted the Burris Exstream mounts to the CZ varmint have to zero now.
    12052010029.jpg

And test out the new LED Cree P4 220 lumen torch. Good out to 150-200m from the back garden.
    12052010027.jpg
    12052010031.jpg
    12052010030.jpg
    12052010026.jpg

OK Tack here goes.

223at300mcropped-1.jpg Nice Rig Clive, Did you consider a fancy smancy barrel?

I'm hoping to improve on that with a custom barrel. It should in Theory anyway, practice may be different:D
    See in background fellow boards customrifle .22-250 5 shot group on the fox Target also at 300.
    113676.jpg

OK Tack here goes.

Nice Rig Clive, Did you consider a fancy smancy barrel?

I'm hoping to improve on that with a custom barrel. It should in Theory anyway, practice may be different:D
    See in background fellow boards customrifle .22-250 5 shot group on the fox Target also at 300.

"NO"

And the difference at 300m is what 1/2" and €2000 not for me I'm sorry to say.

"NO"

And the difference at 300m is what 1/2" and €2000 not for me I'm sorry to say.

who said €2k?? more like €650 or there abouts Clive. I'm not made of money!

I'm just trying to cut my cloth to my measure.
    I rate that as a fair price to rub shoulders with some of the target boys accuracy

who said €2k?? more like €650 or there abouts Clive. I'm not made of money!

I'm just trying to cut my cloth to my measure.
    I rate that as a fair price to rub shoulders with some of the target boys accuracy

I know but at 300m and 1/2" the fox won't know the difference of what hit him will it.

You need to think about what your gona use it for Hunting or Target. Then you will be able to cut your cloth better.

:eek::eek: COS you can't cut it both ways. :eek::eek:

I know but at 300m and 1/2" the fox won't know the difference of what hit him will it.

You need to think about what your gona use it for Hunting or Target. Then you will be able to cut your cloth better.

:eek::eek: COS you can't cut it both ways. :eek::eek:

I want a really accurate hunter, so I hope that this is the best compromise for me (as I can hold on to my communion money) !
    I can handle the weight in the field if I can pop bunnies out to 600. which is my mission, If I can consistently hit bunnies at 400 or so I'll be happy though.

I'm going to use it for both, more hunting than target but both.
    it will mean I won't be eating Caviar for a week or so :eek:

I would have done it years ago had I know a facility was so close to me. I'm just making up for lost time!

I bought more yokes down the years and lost out big time on a trade.
    I'll finally have what I want.

The below I got from truflite on my question on twist rate and barrel length. So should i go 1/7 1/8 1/9 1/10

Regards
    Confused TBW

We have just released our latest new devaloped barrel that would suit your needs, a 1-10" .224 barrel. This would suit up to 65 grain projectiles. This will not suit 600 yards though, for this you will need the 75-80 grain projectiles which brings you to the 1-7, and 1-8" barrels. So basically you can't have it both ways, you need to decide which is best for you.

Barrel length is determined by what sort of rifle you want it to be...... if you only intend to shoot off a bipod, then a longer barrel with a heavy contour is ok, but if you want a walk-around rifle with a suppressor, then a 20-22" barrel might be an advantage.

Best Regards
    Grant lovelock.

True-Flite NZ Ltd
    370 Lytton Road
    P O Box 2080
    Gisborne
    New Zealand
    Ph 06 868 3450
    fax 06 868 7945

I agree ,no such thing as too accurate a rifle !What weight do you think your custom rifle will end up ?

Well it's 10kg at the mo so perhaps 11.5~ Not sure yet. i don't know the weight of my current barrel.

It is my believe that Hunting rifles should be as accurate as possible to help make cleaner kills, as accurate as a target rifle to a point.

Why should we settle for less than 1 hole groups at 100?

Yea ,takes a good rifle to shoot 1 hole groups with factory ammo at 100 yards . You will find that a custom rifle brings more to the table than just good groups ;).

I hope so!
    I'd like bunnies greys and madraí Rua at 400+

Well, get yourself a .204 custom barrel :p.Only messing;).I have had some 1" groups at 450 yards with mine .Had it out some week ago and from a cold bore shot 3 rabbits at 448 yards with 3 shots .This is with factory ammo !

Thats what I am after.

TBH I find with my rifle only difference in shots is when bore gets hot. As I said previously I use moly so cleaning with copper solvent is not required and the solvent used residue I believe fecks up the first shot, not the heat of the bore, But I could get attacked for making such a sacrilegious statement ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Tac

Go 204...................No ****e ;)

Tac

Go 204...................No ****e ;)

No Bunny, I'll use my current rifle, I'm customising to my pocket.
    I have a lot on at the mo so i have not the time to go looking for more firearms, in 13 Months time I will have much more free time to dedicate to expanding my collection.

i always wanted a .223 and a .308 and a glock. i know have them. i still want an AR platform, a S&W 686
    A Blaser for Continent shooting boar and a nice trap gun But i'll get them one at a time!

2010 I'll do my .223
    next year, maybe my .308
    Year after who knows!
    :cool:

Thats what I am after.

TBH I find with my rifle only difference in shots is when bore gets hot. As I said previously I use moly so cleaning with copper solvent is not required and the solvent used residue I believe fecks up the first shot, not the heat of the bore, But I could get attacked for making such a sacrilegious statement ;)
    Your mad on moly!Hunting is all about your first cold bore shot !I dont use moly and find my first cold shot bang on every time .Its simply down to barrel quality and build ,imo.

What can I say, i prefer using lube on my girl than going without ;)

No Bunny, I'll use my current rifle, I'm customising to my pocket.
    I have a lot on at the mo so i have not the time to go looking for more firearms, in 13 Months time I will have much more free time to dedicate to expanding my collection.

i always wanted a .223 and a .308 and a glock. i know have them. i still want an AR platform, a S&W 686
    A Blaser for Continent shooting boar and a nice trap gun But i'll get them one at a time!

2010 I'll do my .223
    next year, maybe my .308
    Year after who knows!
    :cool:

You can use your current rifle :eek:

204 & 223 would be same bolt as the rear of the case is the same it's the chamber and bore that differ both of which are in the barrel ;) Lot of barrel makers making 204 too :)

You can use your current rifle :eek:

204 & 223 would be same bolt as the rear of the case is the same it's the chamber and bore that differ both of which are in the barrel ;)

But a different licence!
    I'd have to do more form filling and I'm sick filling out forms!
    And as I said i want a .223 because we could not have them for so long, same with my .308. I will extend my collection to 7 i think in the next 5 years.

I have too much on at the moment, I have my plan and I will stick to it!

But a different licence!

True :rolleyes:
    I'd have to do more form filling and I'm sick filling out forms!

I'm with you there ;)
    ...........I will extend my collection to 7 i think in the next 5 years.

:eek: Good luck ;) I have 4 and will be applying for no. 5 soon and I know I'll have a fight on my hands :mad:

True :rolleyes:

I'm with you there ;)

:eek: Good luck ;) I have 4 and will be applying for no. 5 soon and I know I'll have a fight on my hands :mad:

Locate your CS find his watering hole and buy him a pint, it's the Irish way ;)

Not saying i did that but I always try and make the complicated simple.
    Talk to the man in simple terms and it goes a long way.

I have to say my CS is a decent skin when I hear of the hassle the Limerick lads had, but that is another thread.

In Summation Jury is still out on 1 in 7/8/9 or 10 twist!
    If I could shorten my barrel and still increase accuracy great. It is long enough with the mod on, annoying negotiating ditches and hedges
    But I'd still be happy with a 26 inch, my 20 inch .308 seems so small in comparison.

Thanks for that. I think I might go with a 1/9. Although Figgy initially mentioned a 1/14 twist, which is supposed to be the bees knees with the lighter loads.

I'm caught in a battle of sub half inch at 300 or a very accurate 300+ barrel.
    there seems to be no happy medium as per many manufacturers I have spoken too via e-mail.

To be able to consistently hit bunnies head shots I suppose I could live with that!:D:D

I'd like to stay using Hornady Moly 55 Grain as I find them an amazing round.

Then again the barrel will be a virgin barrel so she will take what ever I decide to give her. I will just have to get used to clicking in my scope. But the 2MOA derivations in the scope will help too.

1/14 twist .....40 gr rounds :eek:.Very low B/C !Stick to the best 55gr round and your all the way out to 500 yards on rabbits:D

It's a hard decision for me to make, Ammo availability, hold over and BC.

There is only so much one can get from a book. Thats why I would love to hear of someone who has a .223 Custom barrel and who shoots Bunnies out to 500.

We seem to be a rare species varminters :eek:
    Custom varminters seem rarer !:D

It's a hard decision for me to make, Ammo availability, hold over and BC.

There is only so much one can get from a book. Thats why I would love to hear of someone who has a .223 Custom barrel and who shoots Bunnies out to 500.

We seem to be a rare species varminters :eek:
    Custom varminters seem rarer !:D
    What your looking for is a flat hard hitting varmint round that bucks the wind very well out to 500 yards ,yea?