Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slain Gangster Hailed as "Role Model"

• 05-05-2010 2:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

From the Sindo, full article here.... http://www.independent.ie/national-news/applause-fills-church-after-brother-hails-slain-gangster-as-role-model-2164630.html

A SLAIN gangster, suspected of ordering more than a dozen murders, was described as a great "role model" at his funeral yesterday.

More than 400 people turned out to mourn Eamonn Dunne (34), who was gunned down in a Dublin pub last Friday week.

The Finglas-based drug trafficker had been a major garda target and one of the most feared criminals in the State.

But no mention was made of his criminal activity or the manner of his death as he was laid to rest yesterday.

Instead, his brother David received a round of applause from mourners at the Church of the Holy Family on Aughrim Street in Stoneybatter, Dublin, after making a tearful tribute in which he lauded the gang boss as "a top skin".

"You couldn't ask for a better role model to be honest with you. Ever since I was a young fellow I just wanted to be like him," he said. "If I turn out to be half the man he did, I'll be doing alright."

The offertory was accompanied by a woman singing a version of Bryan Adams's 'Heaven'.

Roll on the vitriol...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

The offertory was accompanied by a woman singing a version of Bryan Adams's 'Heaven'.

I'd imagine they know it as DJ Sammy's 'Heaven'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

should have been 'bullet in the head'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

In all fairness, the majority of what's said about a person at their funeral is bollocks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Aye, role model of a thug. Nothing more or less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I don't know why the media go to funerals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Instead, his brother David received a round of applause from mourners at the Church of the Holy Family on Aughrim Street in Stoneybatter, Dublin, after making a tearful tribute in which he lauded the gang boss as "a top skin".

"You couldn't ask for a better role model to be honest with you. Ever since I was a young fellow I just wanted to be like him," he said. "If I turn out to be half the man he did, I'll be doing alright."

Translation:

Black sheep of the family.

Thank fuck he's kicked the bucket.

Had to show up and say something nice or his mates wil burn our house down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Leaves the Church in an awkward position as this was essentially a ritualised secular service to glorify the life of a crime boss with blood on his hands. I think even when the mafia are burying their dead there is a nod to the Church and an avoidance of the real career of the dead person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

They are his friends and family, they probably knew a completely different side of him.

Very few people are thoroughly unpleasant in every way, and those that are don't get to the top of anything, because everyone looks forward to pulling them down.

Most likely, if he did rise to the top, it was in part because he had friends who genuinely liked him and could be counted on.

Just because someone may have killed people, and may be a drug dealer, doesn't mean that they aren't a likable guy.

Just look at George Bush - horrible president, but a great man to have a drink with by all accounts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If only these guys turned up at the church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

toiletduck wrote: »
    In all fairness, the majority of what's said about a person at their funeral is bollocks.

So much so there's an excellent song about it - Top blokes after death

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

They are his friends and family, they probably knew a completely different side of him.

Very few people are thoroughly unpleasant in every way, and those that are don't get to the top of anything, because everyone looks forward to pulling them down.

Most likely, if he did rise to the top, it was in part because he had friends who genuinely liked him and could be counted on.

Just because someone may have killed people, and may be a drug dealer, doesn't mean that they aren't a likable guy.

Just look at George Bush - horrible president, but a great man to have a drink with by all accounts.
    I heard that even his own people were suspected of killing him, because he had become such a paranoid cúnt.

I also heard that he told a guy to kill someone, and that if he didn't, he'd be killed.

Oh yeah, a delightful fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I heard that even his own people were suspected of killing him, because he had become such a paranoid cúnt.

I also heard that he told a guy to kill someone, and that if he didn't, he'd be killed.

Oh yeah, a delightful fella.

Well I heard he threw sand in Mother Teresa's eyes and faked the moonlanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

What a load of crap. Doesn't matter how much of a 'nice guy' a person is to their family and friends. It's how you treat strangers that says what type of person you are. You maim, hurt, kill, steal, start an unjustified war against a country for no reason other than spite, you're an arsehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

The same guy was caught red-handed with drugs, in 2002, and managed to avoid sentencing for 8 years, which probably makes him an informant and goes some way to explaining how he came to be at the top.
    Typical of the how the police work in Ireland, as long as they're getting the info to make the scores that justify their budgets etc., they'll allow certain criminlas to act with impunity.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    What a load of crap. Doesn't matter how much of a 'nice guy' a person is to their family and friends. It's how you treat strangers that says what type of person you are. You maim, hurt, kill, steal, start an unjustified war against a country for no reason other than spite, you're an arsehole.

I never said he wasn't.

I said his friends and family might know him as a nice guy, a good friend, father, brother etc.

Objectively he probably wasn't a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I never said he wasn't.

I said his friends and family might know him as a nice guy, a good friend, father, brother etc.

Objectively he probably wasn't a nice guy.

Apologies. In my haste to spew vitriol in reply to your post, I misread. You're right. His family and friends probably did like him. Doesn't make him any less of a horrible human being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I thought Bush didn't drink???

I would be drinking - he would have fruit juice.

With a lemon.

And custard creams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Well you have to drink something to stay alive - doesn't have to be alcohol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

More than 400 people turned out to mourn Eamonn Dunne (34), who was gunned down in a Dublin pub last Friday week

There must have been confusion in the pub about getting the next round in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There must have been confusion in the pub about getting the next round in.

I think he got the round in - just not the type of round that he was expecting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Sanjuro wrote: »
    could be entering hearsay now with this, but it was runmoured by the media that he tried to sheild himself behind one of his own gang as he was being shot! Sound bloke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

and does anyone else think that the finding of the car that was used in the shooting wreaks of trying to frame somebody??

They didnt bother burning it out and it was found complete with bullets and rubber gloves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The church used to bury suicides and still born babies on unconsecrated ground because they were 'beyond the grace of God', it would be nice to see such 'moral authority' exercised in this case.
    The Don should have been 'read from the pulpit' and then tipped into the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I would be drinking - he would have fruit juice.

With a lemon.

And custard creams.

That's not George Bush - it's Jose Mourinho of which you speak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

yes he was an informer , he knew too much, but a role model, no way, it always ends in tears...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

I'd imagine they know it as DJ Sammy's 'Heaven'

I love that version.
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Little D

He was a total scum bag yes however if he was my brother or my brother did the things he did i would still love him? Certain types of love are unconditional i no i would love any member of my family no matter what they had done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Little D wrote: »
    He was a total scum bag yes however if he was my brother or my brother did the things he did i would still love him? Certain types of love are unconditional i no i would love any member of my family no matter what they had done
    Yes, but would you stand up in public and declare that this man was a role model and a fine upstanding man, knowing that he was in fact a murdering, thieving, torturing, drug dealing scumbag in reality?

He's family, you would have loved him, and you would talk about what a great brother or father he was, but would you have the gall to claim that he took a path in life worth following and that he was a great man? Of course you wouldn't.

It goes to show the kind of fantasy land crap that these scum are involved in and how they don't see anything past their petty little gangs and their own self-interest.

They should have bombed that funeral tbh, do us all a favour.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I understand that viewpoint whenever i come across someone i consider to be a gobshíte... I know somewhere down the line there is someone he isn't a prick to.

But when you consider someone as a role model and wish to be the sort of person they are, you are not taking into account the view you had, but the view of how everyone would recognise him... and this guy was a drug dealing scumbag FFS....

Anyhow... I'm a leave it there... it was his funeral for his family and friends to attend to... they can think of him and talk of him how ever they bleeding like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i've read it all now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

bollocks

even if a member raped you, you would still love them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Well if he be rollin', I be hatin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Anyone who thinks he deserves any compassion ought to try and really vividly imagine themselves being an innocent person caught up in the middle of all this crap, about to be murdered by one of these scumbags.

I mean it. Vividly imagine how you would feel knowing some malicious person was about to take your entire life away from you.

Imagine everything you're about to lose. Your future. Your family. Everything.

Do it vividly, please, and now tell me he deserves any sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The Indo wrote:
    "Eamonn had a heart of gold."

Good thing they shot him in the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Well it was his funeral. Did yous expect him to be slated and called an evil, murdering basterd during the eulogy read by his own brother??

I'm not defending him or his actions, but it seems like AH is becoming more like the Joe Duffy show everyday. Everyone scrambling to get to the highest of the high ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

i doubt the worms in the ground will even go near him he was so rotton to the core. Anyone who kills for profit is an utter scumbag in my eye's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I wouldn't. All my love is conditional.

There are certain crimes that are unforgiveable. Family or not.

I can never understand these soft types who protect and stand by evil family members. Its weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Kepti

i doubt the worms in the ground will even go near him he was so rotton to the core. Anyone who kills for profit is an utter scumbag in my eye's.

Good thing I only kill for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I think that'd be horrid funny.

"D'you know something, Eamonn, you were a wanker, but now you're dead. G'lack to ye. Pub, anyone?"

Don't mean to speak ill of the dead and that, but it would. Just in case some of his posse are readin...being read this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

seamus wrote: »
    Yes, but would you stand up in public and declare that this man was a role model and a fine upstanding man, knowing that he was in fact a murdering, thieving, torturing, drug dealing scumbag in reality?

He's family, you would have loved him, and you would talk about what a great brother or father he was, but would you have the gall to claim that he took a path in life worth following and that he was a great man? Of course you wouldn't.

It goes to show the kind of fantasy land crap that these scum are involved in and how they don't see anything past their petty little gangs and their own self-interest.

They should have bombed that funeral tbh, do us all a favour.

How is that doing us a favour? He's already dead... So what, kill his whole family?

How is that doing anyone a favour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

"D'you know something, Eamonn, you were a wanker, but now you're dead. G'lock to ye. Pub, anyone?"

FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Typical of the trash the Sindo comes out with in fairness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not defending him or his actions, but it seems like AH is becoming more like the Joe Duffy show everyday. Everyone scrambling to get to the highest of the high ground.

eh... none of us are speaking as a parent...
    Abrasax wrote: »
    FYP.

subtle :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Well put.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What a load of bollocks!!

Can't believe someone could be stupid enough to write that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I hate articles like this. It was a funeral for feck sake, they are hardly going to say he was a gangster and deserved to die or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Funny, this thread doesn't seem to be getting the same quality modding as the one for Gerry Ryan.
    Considering the number of scumbags out there who presume themselves to be getting into heaven it makes me glad I'm an atheist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

bonerm wrote: »
    Funny, this thread doesn't seem to be getting the same quality modding as the one for Gerry Ryan.

Gerry Ryan was loved by many, he also contributed to society, not take from it. Surely you can see the difference between the two. One of them earned the respect of a nation.