Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your finest sporting achievement?

• 04-05-2010 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

Doesn't matter the sport- ping pong excepted :D

So what is your finest sporting hour since birth, regardless of what age it happened at.

For me then I guess the pinnacle of my sporting career was the U-15 GAA at school when we won and I was a underused substitute :o

I have since sailed across the Atlantic and I can snowboard even the steepest of slopes but I'm guessing that U-15 GAA final is as near as I'm ever going to get to sporting greatness :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

RATM wrote: »
    Doesn't matter the sport- ping pong excepted

So, can I refer to ping pong or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I once flew across the Atlantic. Boy were my arms were tired by the time I got to New York!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Playing a 7 under par round of pitch and putt in a scratch cup when i was half drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

I won the welly toss at my local pattern when i was 7 and scored myself a pound.I haven't really done much to eclipse that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

bonerm wrote: »
    I once flew across the Atlantic. Boy were my arms were tired by the time I got to New York!

Leg and arm room these days are so tight on the airlines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Individual sporting act would be scoring a volley from inside the centre circle at a junior soccer match. Hit it super sweet, curled all the way and hit off the post and went in. Made all the sweeter the fact that i gave away a penalty in the same game, so that made up for it.

Went onto win well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Winning a Potatoe sack race when I was 5 :p

Lol I have done allot f others stuff,specially with Long distance Running but the bag race is always my favourite :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I win the one-man tug of war contest I hold in my room every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

2nd place in my 4th Class spud and spoon race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭oisinmc14

Captain of the U-12 B-team*

*we lost every match....lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 MysticFred

Came 3rd in the egg and spoon in 1982. I was in 5th class in Dundalk. I can still remember that feeling of ecstasy.

Thanks OP. A moment of euphoric recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Shot five under on the back nine of my local P&P course to shoot my first ever level par round. That was about a year ago.
    Think that ranks high. Now if I break a 100 in golf any time soon, that will replace it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Gold medal in 1st year of secondary school for 6 team soccer tournament! Was given it at a proper awards ceremony in the school hall after all the proper athletes (hurlers presenting the school) were given theirs.

I reasoned there was no topping those heights, so I retired to concentrate on the academic side of things!*

* Thats how I recall things, others say it was cos i was shít!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

North Leinster Hula Hoop Champion 1992

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

North Leinster Hula Hoop Champion 1992

Eating competitions don't count as sport :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Tubberadora

I shot -11 in a pitch and putt qualifier for the Munster Intermediate Strokeplay and didnt qualify. It would have been enough to qualify for the senior but lost out on the back nine to somebody.
    I played U14 hurling for Tipp.
    Personally my favourite achievement though would be making my secondary schools senior team when I was 15. I was the youngest on it by a bit, and the only 3rd year on the team.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Finishing in the top 8000 out of 12000 runners in the Dublin City marathon, then driving home in agony having to stop every few miles to get out and walk. Left Athlone at 4am and arrived back at 9pm that night, good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Kumite runner up 1988.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

3rd place, karate world championships. Mens sparring competition, purple, blue, green belt division.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Scored the winning penalty against Romania in World Cup '90.*

Subbuteo World Cup that is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Was going to post a serious achievement here, but no one else has so maybe not . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

134 snooker break. An accumulation of 6 hours practice per day for about 4 years. Played for Ireland too...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Many moons ago in the Carriglea mini world cup (6-a-side), we played the top team who beat us 7-0. We played them in the final and they hadnt lost a game. Only 3 players turned up. So one of the lads got in goals, me and the other lad played out field. 15 mins a side, ten minutes left i manager to get clean through on goal but one of their defenders makes a last ditch tackle before i pull the trigger.

A couple of minutes later i get clean through again and end up putting in through the keepers legs and in it goes. At this stage there's 2-300 people crowding the side lines, I end up going crowd surfing.

The match restarts, and 5-6 minutes of last ditch defending happen, we win, i'm a hero! What a day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I took a hard plastic football in the face a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Shagging in a Peugeot 206.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Potted 3 balls on the break in a game of pool, all the one colour.
    Cower in fear at my awesome sporting ability!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Done a lap of Mary Harney in just under an hour :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭ucdmike

Up until a few days ago it was beating John Higgins in a frame of snooker. Now I'm beginning to think he may have let me win.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Breaking a golf club in half and storming off the 3rd in a furious anger (into a field of cattle) because I'd already lost 6 golf balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

winning leinster youths cup couple of years ago then year after gettin to semi-final of under 21 eircom league!winning our group at kennedy cup years ago and regularly winning our football league!also few county medals but that was gaelic and we all stopped playing for them when they tried o make us choose which sport we would play so we all choose the football(soccer)!god that gaelic team instantly lost about 6 of our starting team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Got to Mosney in the Community Games once (U14 Breaststroke) - didn't make it out of my heat.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Lux23 wrote: »
    Shagging in a Peugeot 206.

Think that should be in the other thread!!

Dogging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Knocking out some twat's two front teeth in a game of Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Think that should be in the other thread!!

Dogging

Yea that was my inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

karate kata 2nd place in blackpook in 2006. green belt, when i was 15. so proud of myself.

and it didn't matter that there were only 3 entered in the kata section :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

in work each summer there's a 5 aside tourney...

first time I entered we got to the quartar finals... second time... semi finals... 3rd time the finals...

this year... we should win it this time... going by that progression...

although I can also add... in each tourney I've played in, I had my nose busted open... T'is rough trying to be a goalie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

won the local under 12s five-a-side mini-league award for best manager. Coulda been the next Bill Shankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Warrior011

Represented Leinster at U17 level in junior squash interprovincials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

RATM wrote: »
    Doesn't matter the sport- ping pong excepted :D

So what is your finest sporting hour since birth, regardless of what age it happened at.

For me then I guess the pinnacle of my sporting career was the U-15 GAA at school when we won and I was a underused substitute :o

I have since sailed across the Atlantic and I can snowboard even the steepest of slopes but I'm guessing that U-15 GAA final is as near as I'm ever going to get to sporting greatness :D

Ha ha, that a nice coincidence, my greatest sporting achievements are probably in Table Tennis, multiple time individual winner, league winner and shield winner in the Leinster league.

Honourable mention to my GAA school final in school where I scored 3 goals and a point. I like this as it was against our rivals.

You do know that Table Tennis is one of the most played sports in the world?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

Swam UP Niagra Falls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Played for the Cork youth team in darts in 2008. I played one match and lost 2-0. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I won a shooting competition about 7 years ago, there was about 60 odd people at it, the year before I came second out of 156. Shooting an area the size of a 20 pack of smokes from 300 yards away ;) No scope :cool:

Played in croke park when I was about 12 in a school boys all Ireland hurling final.

That's it. Brother has a room full of trophies, played for shamrock rovers U16 U17, player of the year a few times, plus lost of other trophies I am unsure of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

wrote:
    Dale Doback: I manage a baseball team.
    Nancy Huff: Oh, little league?
    Dale Doback: Fantasy league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I won a shooting competition about 7 years ago, there was about 60 odd people at it,
    Well of course they where odd, you can't go shooting normal people can you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

bonerm wrote: »

It doesn't count as the mile high club if you do it by yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Dublin City Marathon last year, finished in top 3800 runners for my first marathon...finished it in just under 4 hours :)

I've lots of minor stuff like 12-14 medals in the last 2 years for college related competition though:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭PJTierney

If TCGs count I've played at 3 National Championships, 2 European Championships and 1 major American Championship in Yu-Gi-Oh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Won the 'heaviest shite handicap' competition at the local Feis.

I was handicapped at -860 grammes and dropped a 1.960kg knot breaker to easily beat Joan O'Brien who only managed a 1.105Kg even with the water allowance discarded.

Bint took it very badly and muttered something about "training on low grade mince" for the next competition.

Apparently she dropped a 2.007kg log in practice, but I don't believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

losing a JCT final against PBC at Thomond park , but we still had a bigger crowd than Munster v Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I'm a two times winner of a real life Internet Football European championship.