Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Johnny Publican say's Comeback

• 03-05-2010 9:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭

So the publicans are trying to get us to come back..according to the advys on radio sponsored by the Vintners Federation.

Good lads....missed trying to rip us off hmm ?

Still some of you charging up to 7 euro for a quarter bott of wine - you can buy it for less than 3 euro retail in a Supermarket.

Got some advice for you lads:

We are sick of being ripped off

We don't like surly / rude/ disinterested staff

We don't like takin a piss in a smelly hell hole of a jax - ..before 11pm anyways.

A little nod of recognition would be appreciated..remembering our "usual" that would be very good.

The odd free one or the offer of a lift home..now your getting it.

Get those things right and you won't need to spend money on futile advts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

At this stage they should just stick to hosting FF TD clinics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If the Gardai slackened off on their D&D campaign it might help. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

So the publicans are trying to get us to come back..according to the advys on radio sponsored by the Vintners Federation.

Still some of you charging up to 7 euro for a quarter bott of wine - you can buy it for less than 3 euro retail in a Supermarket.

We don't like takin a piss in a smelly hell hole of a jax - ..before 11pm anyways.

A little nod of recognition would be appreciated..remembering our "usual" that would be very good.

WTF are you talking about? Most of it is shíte... You want free beer? You want a lift home? You want a barman to remember your order? WTF are you expecting really?

Why do you expect free beer? Basic commerce, you want a good, you pay for it.

Why do you want a lift home? Get your mammy or daddy to take you home, ffs.

You want a barman to remember your order? Yet the same person will bítch and whine when he gives it to you and "that's not what I was going to order"... You also have to realise that you are responsible for yourself, how the fcuk is the barman going to know what you want to drink at a point in time?

Next you'll be wanting johnny publican tucking you into bed...

Prices are too expensive and most of the toilets are mank. That's something to complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

A few little tweaks to take pubs back tot he way they were ten - 15 years ago would have them packed most nights.

Bring down the prices a little maybe ....

Put the punter first....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

At this stage they should just stick to hosting FF TD clinics.

Yeah It's amazing how thick cnunts cluster together ....must be sommat in it for them hosting all those clinics ?

At least the Temple bar pubs only rip off the tourists and we don't need any repeat business from that source.

Do we ?

What are our Tourist Board doing about it...yrah i know ...nothin !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't want to pay €7.50 for a JD & Coke. There. I said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Or if you're not drinking, no one wants to pay €2.40 for 250mls of a soft drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I love the pub.

It's great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Methinks that OP is going to the wrong pubs.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

WindSock wrote: »
    I don't want to pay €7.50 for a JD & Coke. There. I said it.
    JD and coke?!
    Aristocrat eh?
    :mad:

WTF are you talking about? Most of it is shíte... You want free beer? You want a lift home? You want a barman to remember your order? WTF are you expecting really?

Why do you want a lift home? Get your mammy or daddy to take you home, ffs.

You want a barman to remember your order? Yet the same person will bítch and whine when he gives it to you and "that's not what I was going to order"... You also have to realise that you are responsible for yourself, how the fcuk is the barman going to know what you want to drink at a point in time?

Next you'll be wanting johnny publican tucking you into bed...

Prices are too expensive and most of the toilets are mank. That's something to complain about.

No pal --I said "the odd free beer" just to fcukin recognise me as a customer like...maybe like one every six months - it happens down in Spain and Greece all the time.

All the barman has to say is "The usual is it" If i don't want the usual i can tell him.

I'm not talkin about a lift home every night... but there might be the very odd occasion when a lift might be necessary ..it's a local i only live a few miles away ..couldnt Johnny Publican call a Jo max and say OK pal it's on the house.

It's like a loyalty programme ...all the Supermarkets do it.

It's not rocket science.....

My local barman always says "hello" - he's a very affable bloke, gives out "Christmas pints" at Christmas, a free round if it's someone's birthday & never lets anyone drive home if they're in no fit state to do so. Plus the pints are €3 during any football or rugby matches.

Great little pub it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That Newstalk ad for 'going to the pub after work' is bloody depressing. Gives me the image of a few smelly regualars hunkered around the Racing Post.. which is probably the exact image they want to shake off!

My local barman always says "hello" - he's a very affable bloke, gives out "Christmas pints" at Christmas, a free round if it's someone's birthday & never lets anyone drive home if they're in no fit state to do so. Plus the pints are €3 during any football or rugby matches.

Great little pub it is.

This about sums it up - this guy/gal has access to a national treasure - now if only all pubs followed this SIMPLE thinking ..no need fer the advts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I think we should all go back to our knacker drinking days of sleeping on park benches and in train stations

No pal --I said "the odd free beer" just to fcukin recognise me as a customer like...maybe like one every six months - it happens down in Spain and Greece all the time.

Firstly, i'm not your pal, buddy...

But why should you get free beer? I don't get a free pack of rashers down the shop to be recognised as a customer. Pubs, like shops, have promotions. Not all of them do, but that's where "shopping around" comes into it.
    A lot of things happen in Spain and Greece all the time that doesn't happen here... You cannot compare countries... :rolleyes:
    All the barman has to say is "The usual is it" If i don't want the usual i can tell him.

Yea? To you and the 600 other people he met that day? How hard is it for you to ask for a pint? It's pure laziness. Tattoo it to your head if it bothers you that much.
    I'm not talkin about a lift home every night... but there might be the very odd occasion when a lift might be necessary ..it's a local i only live a few miles away ..couldnt Johnny Publican call a Jo max and say OK pal it's on the house.

Sure why don't you get him to take you out for a hangover steak the next day? You got to the pub, surely you can get home. Why would you go out without making sure you had a way home? That's just silly.

Then you expect somebody else to pay for your taxi home? lol

Your sense of entitlement is laughable.

It sure isn't rocket science, but you have yet to figure it out.

I don't go to Pubs that often...i am not much of drinker anyway....but those ads for the pub would put you off going to a pub!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Well Greece just required a massive bailout, and Spain has 20% unemployment or something, so if thats what a free round does to a country, i'd prefer it the way it is . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Your sense of entitlement is laughable.

The publicans are the ones who are struggling for business, and who are paying for ads in order to drum up business. The point that Fulton is making is that if the publicans introduced few/some/many incentives to come to the pub, and come again, more people would. What those incentives could be is open for suggestion.

It is laughable that you dont seem to get that very very very simple point.

This about sums it up - this guy/gal has access to a national treasure - now if only all pubs followed this SIMPLE thinking ..no need fer the advts.

I think your problem is that you either live in Dublin or one of the other cities or a large town. There's pubs all over the country like my local - I've been to hundreds of them on my travels.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Yea? To you and the 600 other people he met that day? How hard is it for you to ask for a pint? It's pure laziness. Tattoo it to your head if it bothers you that much.

Unless it's a busy city centre pub it's unlikely that the barman will have been dealing with hundreds of faceless customers. It's not too hard to remember what someone drinks after you've served them 2 or 3 times. People buying rounds sometimes forget what another person in their group might be drinking as well so it's a sign of a good barman if he can rhyme off the previous round to remind the customer(and saves the time they'd spend going back to their table to check).

drkpower wrote: »
    The publicans are the ones who are struggling for business, and who are paying for ads in order to drum up business. The point that Fulton is making is that if the publicans introduced few/some/many incentives to come to the pub, and come again, more people would. What those incentives could be is open for suggestion.

It is laughable that you dont seem to get that very very very simple point.

Obviously, but he expects free beer, lifts home and the bar man to remember his order. Absurd and unfair suggestions to make.

Differentiate from your customers, or price drop. Simple.

I suggested already a price drop already as one of the main reasons for people not going out is the costs involved.

The publican can provide a taxi service, but why should he pay for it too? If you want a lift home the taxi goes at 1 2 and 3, it's 5 euro each that you pay before getting in. Just to cover costs. If you miss it, then tough shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I'm not your buddy, friend... ;)

I don't work in a bar but I work in an offo that would have 500+ customers a day. I know all the regulars, I know what they are going to get so I have their beers priced up on the till before they get there and a bag out if they take a bag. Plus I have the card machine ready if they normally pay with card. I'd expect that a barman would know the regulars too (not only the alco's...).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I went into Hogan's on George's St in Dublin the other night with some Canadian friends of mine who came to Ireland for a holiday.

Had the rudest, most unfriendly prick of a barman. Won't be going there again. Not a chance.

Maybe if bars/pubs drilled into the staff that without us customers, they wouldn't have a job, then we'd collectively be more likely to visit their establishments.

The experience in Hogan's was both cringeworthy and embarassing. My tourist friends couldn't believe it. And neither could I.

Obviously, but he expects free beer, lifts home and the bar man to remember his order. Absurd and unfair suggestions to make.

Differentiate from your customers, or price drop. Simple.

I suggested already a price drop already as one of the main reasons for people not going out is the costs involved.

The publican can provide a taxi service, but why should he pay for it too? If you want a lift home the taxi goes at 1 2 and 3, it's 5 euro each that you pay before getting in. Just to cover costs. If you miss it, then tough shít.

A price drop is no different from a free beer now and again; in fact it probably costs less and may engender more goodwill (although there may be some legal difficulties with the latter). Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

A publican in certain rural aresa/sparsely populated suburbs putting on a minibus at the end of the night for regulars is a cost-effective way of bringing people in and encouraging them to stay later. Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

A barman remebering a regular's order is not that difficult at all. The guy in the coffee shop I go occasionally for lunch remembers my order and has the coffee on when I join the queue. Its a little thing but it brings me back. Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

All of the above are relatively cost-effective solutions to increase business; the fact that you think they are absurd and lambaste someone for making the suggestion is puzzling and shows a lack of any flexible thinking on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

bonerm wrote: »

Maybe they should get WiMax guy from imagine dot i e :rolleyes:

Did the VFI ever try to eat the food served in Rural pubs, Mr Findus has nothing to worry about, and the loos...:"Hi Im domestos, use me!"

I shudder to think how they deal with female sanitation...

"If it wont go down the loo chuck it ou' the winda"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

My local gives the first drink free on a sun night.

Sometimes we wouldn't go in for a few weeks but you still get the compted drink.

The owner values regular custom and most birthdays, engagement parties, funerals are held there because of that.

Publicans take note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't think it's particularly unreasonable to want a feeling of camaraderie around a pub, and that's all the OP was really on about.

Iamxavier, I can understand your point about how it's not up to the barman to remember everyone's order/that he has to do the same for a lot of others/why should he have to spot you a pint etc. etc. etc. Obviously it's not the barman's responsibility to do these things, it's your own. I get that. And I see where you're coming from.

But to be honest, you're taking an awfully callous, anti-social take on it. A pub is essentially meant to be a "public house." He's talking about small town or country pubs, not a business in the middle of Dublin that's going to attract a thousand people a day. These small town pubs generally have bar staff who were raised in the town, know all the people who come in their pub to see, and have a definite group of regulars.

Obviously the OP wasn't suggesting that the bar staff give away free pints and cab rides to every single Joe Soap to walk in the place. He's saying that there's absolutely nothing wrong with the bar staff maybe recognizing that he has a loyal, dedicated customer who consistently gives business to his pub and puts money in his pockets. This loyal customer will often bring mates in, who will also become regulars, and therefore more money in his pockets. Therefore it's in the barman's best interests to make the regulars feel as welcome as possible. And to do that all he has to do is treat them like friends-- because that's what they've become. So what's wrong with having the regulars stay in for a lock-in? Throwing in some free champagne on New Years? Bringing in a bit of free bar food when the game's on? Spotting a pint for a lad on his birthday?

I mean, from a technical perspective, you're completely right. The barman shouldn't be given the responsibility of all this. But from a social perspective, that way doesn't work and doesn't attract nor hold people-- which is bad for business. Human beings are society-driven, they strive to find comfort and familiarity and safety. That's why they go to the pub. To have a bit of craic. Being stared down by a barman who's counting the cents doesn't really add to that experience and makes the punter far less inclined to return, and therefore that's money out of the barman's pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

I work in a bar, first of all, it's not up to the staff to set prices or give out free beer. My boss regularily gives people an odd free pint though. It's a business though and not a charity. I've never gone into a normal shop and expected to get a free packet of rashers (lol) or anything like that, so why should a pub be different.

Regarding rude staff etc.... yeah, there are some like that. But you'll never know what being a barman is like until you do it. The ammount of absolute pricks you meet on a day to day basis is unreal. Also alot of the time when we are busy, we can't give the same ammount of attention to customers compared to when we are not busy, yet we are still "in a bad mood" even when we are not.

Jacks, yeah it's a problem in most places. It's hard to attend to them when you are busy though.

Regarding remembering the usual... well i know 99% of my regulars drinks but then you'll have someone who you will see once a month and he'll say "a pint please" A pint of f'n what??!!

I often drive people home from the pub, alot of the time it's not appreciated though as it should be. I have no problem whatsoever in doing it as does my boss and colleagues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

The price of the pint needs to come down at least by a euro to get me back into going down the pub. Whilst there is such a price differential between going out and staying in then the funeral bells for pubs will keep tolling.

Interestingly in this recession more or less every business is reducing prices to attract customers. But what do the greedy FF loving publicans of Ireland do? They have a 'price freeze' only a few months after jacking the prices upwards. Well done lads, mind the tumbleweed as it blows through....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

liah wrote: »
    I don't think it's particularly unreasonable to want a feeling of camaraderie around a pub, and that's all the OP was really on about.

Iamxavier, I can understand your point about how it's not up to the barman to remember everyone's order/that he has to do the same for a lot of others/why should he have to spot you a pint etc. etc. etc. Obviously it's not the barman's responsibility to do these things, it's your own. I get that. And I see where you're coming from.

But to be honest, you're taking an awfully callous, anti-social take on it. A pub is essentially meant to be a "public house." He's talking about small town or country pubs, not a business in the middle of Dublin that's going to attract a thousand people a day. These small town pubs generally have bar staff who were raised in the town, know all the people who come in their pub to see, and have a definite group of regulars.

Obviously the OP wasn't suggesting that the bar staff give away free pints and cab rides to every single Joe Soap to walk in the place. He's saying that there's absolutely nothing wrong with the bar staff maybe recognizing that he has a loyal, dedicated customer who consistently gives business to his pub and puts money in his pockets. This loyal customer will often bring mates in, who will also become regulars, and therefore more money in his pockets. Therefore it's in the barman's best interests to make the regulars feel as welcome as possible. And to do that all he has to do is treat them like friends-- because that's what they've become. So what's wrong with having the regulars stay in for a lock-in? Throwing in some free champagne on New Years? Bringing in a bit of free bar food when the game's on? Spotting a pint for a lad on his birthday?

I mean, from a technical perspective, you're completely right. The barman shouldn't be given the responsibility of all this. But from a social perspective, that way doesn't work and doesn't attract nor hold people-- which is bad for business. Human beings are society-driven, they strive to find comfort and familiarity and safety. That's why they go to the pub. To have a bit of craic. Being stared down by a barman who's counting the cents doesn't really add to that experience and makes the punter far less inclined to return, and therefore that's money out of the barman's pocket.

Excellent post Liah. IamXavier taking a totally unreasonable stance on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

I've been to many lock-ins and held many too, but whatis wrong with it is, that if the publican is caught he gets fined and has an endorsement on his license while the customer gets away scot free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

O Briens are doing an extended Carlsbourg promotion until the end of May €1 cans, why bother going out. :p

http://www.obrienswine.ie/Beers/Carlsberg-Can---24-Pack/18732/

drkpower wrote: »
    A price drop is no different from a free beer now and again; in fact it probably costs less and may engender more goodwill (although there may be some legal difficulties with the latter). Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

Surely you can tell the difference between lower cost of a product and getting product free every so often?

There's a distinct difference. Reduce the cost of a pint will have a significant difference over all than the 1 or 2 free pints every 6 months.

Anyway, I didn't lambast anybody, I was using mind bullets :cool:
    A publican in certain rural aresa/sparsely populated suburbs putting on a minibus at the end of the night for regulars is a cost-effective way of bringing people in and encouraging them to stay later. Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

The expectation of going out for a pint, and getting a lift home at the end of the night from the barman for free is a joke. Putting the barman out, and surely there is not just one person looking for a lift. Why would the barman be out of pocket for that? Not all publicans work in their pubs, and those that do don't work in them all the time.

It's definately a good idea, and should be invested in if the pub can afford it, but to go out without a way home and to expect somebody else to look after you is unreal.
    A barman remebering a regular's order is not that difficult at all. The guy in the coffee shop I go occasionally for lunch remembers my order and has the coffee on when I join the queue. Its a little thing but it brings me back. Yet you lambasted Fulton for the suggestion.

Maybe if he worded it a little differently he would have got a different reaction. Remembering orders is fine, but then you are liable for when that order is wrong or when they want something different. Best to wait for them to order it. It's thoughtful but can cause problems. I wouldn't like to have a pint put before me before I ask for it. "Carlsberg please"... that doesn't take long to say, does it?
    All of the above are relatively cost-effective solutions to increase business; the fact that you think they are absurd and lambaste someone for making the suggestion is puzzling and shows a lack of any flexible thinking on your part.

The op's post is absurd, the expectation of some extra services is absurd.

Why the fcuk does everybody have to resort to insults when they are challanged? Fcuking childish. If you can't debate then please do piss off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Ciaraallen

anyone see the range of ads at bus stops>?
    havin a go at facebook
    one of them goes..

"Peter has taken 27 quizzes.."
    "Think we need to get out more, to the original social network. the local pub"

hah. im gonna post a few comments and drive home.

Why the fcuk does everybody have to resort to insults when they are challanged? Fcuking childish. If you can't debate then please do piss off...

Where did I insult you? I said your response showed a lack of flexible thinking. Is that an insult? 'Piss off' is an insult. Calling something 'fcuking childish' is an insult. Are you unable to debate? Should you 'piss off' yourself?:rolleyes:

Anyway, you have agreed that a minibus service is a 'good idea', that the barman remembering orders is 'fine' and a price drop is obviously similar in effect to a 'free pint once in a while'.

So it looks like my job here is done. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

You want customers, you offer a good product, something that differentiates you from your 10,000 competitors.

IT's the sense of expectation that's the problem. Expecting the barman to pay for a taxi home or free beer, however frequent, is simply not on.

The publicans decided to go down the route of advertising, which I think is a bad thing as their adverts are insulting and condesending. The approach they should have taken is a price cut, and a large one at that. This should have been done a few years back. I know in carlow when pubs were charging 2.50 and 3 euro a pint that cow of a judge told them to stop it, and prices went back up to 4 or more euro. "It's encouraging binge drinking" was the excuse. People ended up the same way, but with more money in their pockets.

I wouldn't go to a pub and expect free beer or a lift home, even though it happens. One owner always brings the local lads home, but you never know if he is going to be working or not, or if he will be home, but we arrange for a lift home before we go out.

They used to give out sausages and sambos, but we would never expect them, or ask for them. Not sure if that happens anymore though.

I surely would never expect a free pint, and I would like my barman to let me ask for the drink I want before he pours me a pint. This has happened a few times. I went to the bar and they put on a pint for me, but I am not in the mood for a pint and I want a short instead... so now I am in an awkward position of taking the pint or not taking it. You don't put people in that position. You can ask them, "same again?", that's not so bad, if they can remember, but I don't expect the barman to remember my drinks for me, he has enough to be doing.

goose2005 wrote: »
    You want customers, you offer a good product, something that differentiates you from your 10,000 competitors.

I don't think you'd be in business too long ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Methinks that OP is going to the wrong pubs.
    me no think so
    me think me got used to buying in shop drinking at home with friends, where we can also have a cigarette or cigar without having to have our butts frozen in the rain and wind,
    and the beauty of it all is we dont have to spend much, we dont need a taxi, which also bring down the price of the night,
    most of us have nice patios outside, so we can have beer barbcue and craic all at little cost

And the pot calls the kettle black.

Would you stop following me around? It's freaking me out...

I'm not following you for 2 reasons

1. We're both posting in AH
    2. You're not that important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

My local's after bringing in a loyalty scheme- as if mine were ever in doubt! Every drink (doesn't have to be alcholic) ye buy, they give you a sticker. Collect 9 stickers and viola, free point. Ding dang doo!

I currently have seven full booklets stashed away. If everything goes according to plan, I'll be drinking for free next Saturday*. Huzzah :D

*Knowing my luck though, the promotion will end Friday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Joe Public says "Drop your bloody prices first..."

I'm not following you for 2 reasons

1. We're both posting in AH
    2. You're not that important

/shoo...

What local is that Einhard? Never heard of a pub doing that. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

kraggy wrote: »
    I went into Hogan's on George's St in Dublin the other night with some Canadian friends of mine who came to Ireland for a holiday.

Had the rudest, most unfriendly prick of a barman. Won't be going there again. Not a chance.

Maybe if bars/pubs drilled into the staff that without us customers, they wouldn't have a job, then we'd collectively be more likely to visit their establishments.

The experience in Hogan's was both cringeworthy and embarassing. My tourist friends couldn't believe it. And neither could I.

hogans is a sh*thole though. As are most the boozers around there

/shoo...

What local is that Einhard? Never heard of a pub doing that. Fair play to them.

He's just confused - it was actually Starbucks. (Too much caffeine making him hallucinate) ;)