Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get by with no money?

• 27-04-2010 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭

The "go to" topic of conversation nowadays always seems to be the severe lack of money - especially among students. I'm going on 20 this summer and going into second year college in September. My dad is self-employed so because of everything I don't ask for any money of my parents any more. I've been looking for a job since last September and nothing has worked! I managed to get a job playing session guitar for a musical before Christmas which has just about tied me over until now. Obviously I don't have it too bad - my only spending is really on drink and going out.

So my question is how do you live on the cheap? I've resorted to cycling everywhere - regardless of distance - including nights out and getting to college as opposed to taxis, buses or luases (I take the Luas occasionally but have never paid), I don't buy any food - just eat at home, I haven't bought a single drink in a club/pub for more than €3 and even then I haven't bought many - I just sneak in either Tesco Value vodka or whatever is left over in the drinks cabinet. The very small bit of money I have, I wait until there is an exceptionally special offer to buy booze (48cans of Blackthorn for €20 was my last purchase). I try to scab as much of anything as I can off friends. I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can so I don't end up going for pints cos others are or buying food for the sake of it, and every tight c*nt trick I can think of. All in all - I'm a bollocks to go out with.

Is anyone as tight as I am? If so please tell me how

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whore yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Make a big "For Rent" sign, hang it over yourself and cycle to the phoenix park.

You'll be loaded... with more than money!

I was in your position.. Then I took out overdrafts nd credit cards etc. and had a great time through college.
    Always an option since you'll only do it once.. altho i'm still paying them off so it's fair effort.

Oh yea, you won't have any friends if you keep being scabby. People get to an age where they think 'fuk off'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 trakeena

Stop going out! I'm surprised your friends even bring you along since you are sponging off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Sykk wrote: »
    Make a big "For Rent" sign, hang it over yourself and cycle to the phoenix park.

You'll be loaded... with more than money!

Why add the exspense of a bike?

just stick your arse out of a bush, they know the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

I was in your position.. Then I took out overdrafts nd credit cards etc. and had a great time through college.
    Always an option since you'll only do it once.. altho i'm still paying them off so it's fair effort.

Ah well I'll get a job before taking out a loan or anything... Unless I can get people to come travelling next year... I reckon that'd be worth it but being as cheap as I am, I couldn't justify taking out money for day to day living

ntlbell wrote: »

He already has a bike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Had a friend who always had a shite before he left work in the evening to save money on toilet paper at home.
    Ended up blowing out his O ring.

Oh yea, you won't have any friends if you keep being scabby. People get to an age where they think 'fuk off'.
    trakeena wrote: »
    Stop going out! I'm surprised your friends even bring you along since you are sponging off them.

Well I won't demand anything off me. If they don't wanna give me anything thats grand! (and usually the case). Going out is all I spend money on... I'm just seeing how to make that money last!
    ntlbell wrote: »

I already had the bike. It's one I found in our shed. An old, ugly 80's road bike. It's perfect cos its very unlikely that it'll get stolen when I park it in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Sykk wrote: »
    He already has a bike!

Sell the bike and get a price list tatooed on the buttocks with the cash...

It's perfect cos its very unlikely that it'll get stolen when I park it in town
    Lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I try to scab as much of anything as I can off friends. I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can so I can't even get shamed into paying for anything, and every tight c*nt trick I can think of. All in all - I'm a bollocks to go out with.

Post belongs in the Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do thread i think.

I'm getting worried about the amount of people suggesting that I become a rent boy...

On the other hand it looks like there's a pretty big market here...

Post belongs in the Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do thread i think.

Ah yeah... Forgot to mention - It's where I drew my inspiration. I'm more looking for day to day practices that people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

At least you don't have to pay rent.

Some of us had to put ourselves through college without having the luxury of living at home.

So if you need cash here's some tips:
    • Sell off CDs, games, books, whatever you can.
    • Stop going out.
    • Prostitution.
    • Take out a loan.
    • Insurance Fraud.
    • Did I mention prostitution?
    • Busking.
    • Eh.... a bit more prostitution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

mikom wrote: »
    Had a friend who always had a shite before he left work in the evening to save money on toilet paper at home.
    Ended up blowing out his O ring.

His "O ring"?
    Is that like an earring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

Hi Op, I am almost always in your position, but I dont get down over it as I dont need things/materialism to be happy, just Jesus Christ, and I have him in abundance.

of course I wouldnt want you to think I'm not putting myself on a pedestel by saying that, as prior to my conversion to the Catholic church 3 years ago, I was easily the biggest scab in the village. :D

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I dont need things/materialism to be happy, just Jesus Christ, and I have him in abundance

Fcuk off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can so I can't even get shamed into paying for anything, and every tight c*nt trick I can think of.

You're seriously lucky you have any friends to go out with at all tbh.
    Keep that sort of sh|t up, and you won't in future.

Going out and deliberately leaving your wallet at home, you fkn slimey c*nt.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

jayteecork wrote: »

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭AlmostFamous

Give up the drink, if it is your main expenditure which you said it is.
    Stop being so scabby.
    Apply for any jobs no matter how demeaning.
    Ask your dad if there was any work you could help him with in return for a bit of cash. Read the local papers and check out free events.
    Offer guitar lessons if you're any good.

jayteecork wrote: »
    You're seriously lucky you have any friends to go out with at all tbh.
    Keep that sort of sh|t up, and you won't in future.

I don't go out for a night and not bring my wallet. But I just won't bring it if a few lads are just hangin out so I won't get tempted to buy food/drink
    Give up the drink, if it is your main expenditure which you said it is.
    Stop being so scabby.
    Apply for any jobs no matter how demeaning.
    Ask your dad if there was any work you could help him with in return for a bit of cash. Read the local papers and check out free events.
    Offer guitar lessons if you're any good.

Well there's no point in havin the money with nothin to spend it on? I'm happy spending it on drink! And the scabbiness isn't blatant relying on other people. I have nice friends who will help out if I'm stuck (which I genuinely am if I do get anything off them). I've applied for every job I can think of! There's no job goin with my dad at all. Tried the guitar lessons route. I even know a guy who runs a music school who was going to give me a job, but even the schools arent getting business. I've tried advertising privately too but its a hard market to get a foothold in! I've literally tried everything :( I'm still looking for a job but im trying to make what I have now last as long as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, to put myself through college I had to grind my teeth and work in Lidl throughout.

Talk about slave labour to the Germans, the people I worked with were sound but everybody including the managers were expendable...........so you kept your mouth shut and didn't whinge about working 12 hours a day on a 1/2 hour break (most times you'd only get 15 minutes max) the only advantage was I was getting paid €11 an hour.

Don't spend loads of money going out, get cheap beer in the offy and hit the club at about 12 (getting in free is a plus :pac:)

Besides rent, bills and shìt I'm surviving pretty well on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

I know a fella who sounds very like you, he used to hang around with the same people as i did, he was always asking for spare fegs, going in on rounds and f**king off when it was his turn to buy, getting a lend of a score of people on nights out and never paying it back, when we would get a taxi he would always wait to last to pay if there was 3 or 4 of us there in the hope that we would pay a little extra and cover his share(or at least part of it)

you dont want to turn into that, most of us just told him to fuk off cause he was a scabby c**t and he'll never shake it

I know a fella who sounds very like you, he used to hang around with the same people as i did, he was always asking for spare fegs, going in on rounds and f**king off when it was his turn to buy, getting a lend of a score of people on nights out and never paying it back, when we would get a taxi he would always wait to last to pay if there was 3 or 4 of us there in the hope that we would pay a little extra and cover his share(or at least part of it)

you dont want to turn into that, most of us just told him to fuk off cause he was a scabby c**t and he'll never shake it

it's true that some people have just attained the habit of it, even when they do get on their feet and make thousands or even millions they still have that stingy habit. it's not nice and can certainly give one a bad name.

Ah no for a start we don't do rounds - (don't think anyone does at 20?) And I don't borrow money off anyone. I like the smoking area of clubs better than inside so I'm usually out there. I might try scab a fag off some randomer but wouldn't really ask off my mates, though I am offered them and I won't say no! Basically I'm tight, but I won't fuck anyone over money wise. All my methods are victimless crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ah no for a start we don't do rounds - (don't think anyone does at 20?) And I don't borrow money off anyone. I like the smoking area of clubs better than inside so I'm usually out there. I might try scab a fag off some randomer but wouldn't really ask off my mates, though I am offered them and I won't say no! Basically I'm tight, but I won't fuck anyone over money wise. All my methods are victimless crimes

There is no problem with being scabby, or tight. But leaving your wallet at home on purpose to avoid paying for stuff is another thing. Especially when you consume products or the likes.

I don't like taking things from people, but when they insist of course I will, I will also explain that I have no money and cannot pay them back. Once that's established then it's all gravy. Most of the time I cannot go out because I have no money, but that's grand. I rather not go out and get drunk every weekend anyway.

Don't go out expecting people to pay for you, don't go around with a sense of entitlement or you will find yourself short a few friends. I mean, people help each other out, but don't forget who helped you out when you needed it, repay the favour at some stage, you know?

There is no problem with being scabby, or tight. But leaving your wallet at home on purpose to avoid paying for stuff is another thing. Especially when you consume products or the likes.

I don't like taking things from people, but when they insist of course I will, I will also explain that I have no money and cannot pay them back. Once that's established then it's all gravy. Most of the time I cannot go out because I have no money, but that's grand. I rather not go out and get drunk every weekend anyway.

Don't go out expecting people to pay for you, don't go around with a sense of entitlement or you will find yourself short a few friends. I mean, people help each other out, but don't forget who helped you out when you needed it, repay the favour at some stage, you know?

Yeah you hit the nail on the head there. When I say I leave my wallet at home I mean when I go to college or just out to hang out - I leave it there so I'm not tempted to spend money in the student bar or buy food for the sake of it. I don't mean I'll head out somewhere and expect people to pay for me. It wouldn't even take time, they'd tell me to fcuk off straight away!

Middle paragraph could have been me talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

king-stew wrote: »
    Fcuk off!
    Mind your manners please.

I can understand your position, you are genuinely skint, I suppose what most of us are trying to say is just dont let it become a habit ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

I try to scab as much of anything as I can off friends. I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can so I can't even get shamed into paying for anything, and every tight c*nt trick I can think of. All in all - I'm a bollocks to go out with.

you're ma?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yeah you hit the nail on the head there. When I say I leave my wallet at home I mean when I go to college or just out to hang out - I leave it there so I'm not tempted to spend money in the student bar or buy food for the sake of it. I don't mean I'll head out somewhere and expect people to pay for me. It wouldn't even take time, they'd tell me to fcuk off straight away!

Middle paragraph could have been me talking

HA, ok yea now I get ya. I have done that plenty of times and still do. I will go out with the bare minimum as to avoid over spending. Sometimes I leave my wallet at home so I won't spend money at all. I mean, if we are going for a coffee or something I take enough to get myself a coffee, but you avoid the burden of impulse buying that way. It's easy to not spend money after a while. You just have to learn to enjoy the simple pleasures in life. Sad and all how that sounds, but it's better in the long run for your wallet, you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

you need to get your hustle on. there's always a way to make some money.
    or you could give guitar lessons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

I don't buy any food - just eat at home, I haven't bought a single drink in a club/pub - I just sneak in either Tesco Value vodka or whatever is left over in the drinks cabinet. I try to scab as much of anything as I can off friends. I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can , and every tight c*nt trick I can think of.

I couldn't justify taking out money for day to day living
    Its around now that i noticed a big U-turn
    When I say I leave my wallet at home I mean when I go to college or just out to hang out - I leave it there so I'm not tempted to spend money in the student bar or buy food for the sake of it. I don't mean I'll head out somewhere and expect people to pay for me.
    I don't go out for a night and not bring my wallet. But I just won't bring it if a few lads are just hangin out so I won't get tempted to buy food/drink

I don't borrow money off anyone. I like the smoking area of clubs better than inside so I'm usually out there. I might try scab a fag off some randomer but wouldn't really ask off my mates, though I am offered them and I won't say no! Basically I'm tight, but I won't fuck anyone over money wise. All my methods are victimless crimes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 252 ✭✭viclemronny

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    At least you don't have to pay rent.

Some of us had to put ourselves through college without having the luxury of living at home.

So if you need cash here's some tips:
    • Sell off CDs, games, books, whatever you can.
    • Stop going out.
    • Prostitution.
    • Take out a loan.
    • Insurance Fraud.
    • Did I mention prostitution?
    • Busking.
    • Eh.... a bit more prostitution?

Not really worth it if all he needs the money for is going on the piss. You won't get much for selling that sort of stuff unless you off load a decent amount of it.

Not really worth it. 2 cans of piss for a dvd - no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Hi Op, I am almost always in your position, but I dont get down over it as I dont need things/materialism to be happy, just Jesus Christ, and I have him in abundance.

of course I wouldnt want you to think I'm not putting myself on a pedestel by saying that, as prior to my conversion to the Catholic church 3 years ago, I was easily the biggest scab in the village. :D

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

So does that mean you steal from the collection plate now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The "go to" topic of conversation nowadays always seems to be the severe lack of money - especially among students. I'm going on 20 this summer and going into second year college in September. My dad is self-employed so because of everything I don't ask for any money of my parents any more. I've been looking for a job since last September and nothing has worked! I managed to get a job playing session guitar for a musical before Christmas which has just about tied me over until now. Obviously I don't have it too bad - my only spending is really on drink and going out.

So my question is how do you live on the cheap? I've resorted to cycling everywhere - regardless of distance - including nights out and getting to college as opposed to taxis, buses or luases (I take the Luas occasionally but have never paid), I don't buy any food - just eat at home, I haven't bought a single drink in a club/pub for more than €3 and even then I haven't bought many - I just sneak in either Tesco Value vodka or whatever is left over in the drinks cabinet. The very small bit of money I have, I wait until there is an exceptionally special offer to buy booze (48cans of Blackthorn for €20 was my last purchase). I try to scab as much of anything as I can off friends. I try to leave my wallet at home as much as I can so I don't end up going for pints cos others are or buying food for the sake of it, and every tight c*nt trick I can think of. All in all - I'm a bollocks to go out with.

Maybe things are different now but a lot of students I knew were broke when I was in college? It's hardly a time of plenty for most?

Why not get another job? I worked about 18-25 hours a week when I was doing my degree - Saturdays, Sundays and one week night. You just have to manage your time that bit better and you have a few quid in your pocket as a result.

Its around now that i noticed a big U-turn

Where? I'll said I'll scab a fag or something, or if they offer to buy me anything great! As in, if they were going somewhere and invited me along they are nice people and will, some of the time, offer to buy me something. Xavier pretty much said it exactly. I said that I scab off my friends and then I said I leave my wallet at home a lot... The two aren't connected.

j1smithy wrote: »
    So does that mean you steal from the collection plate now?

Does what mean I steal from the collection plate now? :confused:

stovelid wrote: »
    Maybe things are different now but a lot of students I knew were broke when I was in college? It's hardly a time of plenty for most?

Why not get another job? I worked about 18-25 hours a week when I was doing my degree - Saturdays, Sundays and one week night. You just have to manage your time that bit better and you have a few quid in your pocket as a result.

I've tried looking for jobs literally everywhere I can think of. All around town, every shop in Dundrum and my local area. Shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants, tried getting students to teach guitar to, mcdonalds, burger king, eddie rockets and i've applied for some promotions agencies. Everywhere is letting people go. When I do hear of an opening for a job I go to the manager and given them my CV directly but so far all I've had is two interviews, it seems to get a "non-skilled" job you just need to know someone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Does what mean I steal from the collection plate now? :confused:

That would be an ecumenical matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I've tried looking for jobs literally everywhere I can think of. All around town, every shop in Dundrum and my local area. Shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants, tried getting students to teach guitar to, mcdonalds, burger king, eddie rockets and i've applied for some promotions agencies. Everywhere is letting people go. When I do hear of an opening for a job I go to the manager and given them my CV directly but so far all I've had is two interviews, it seems to get a "non-skilled" job you just need to know someone!

It is very hard to get casual work like that, I'd say your best bet is recruitment agencies, they are all over town, grafton, eden, top people etc etc, just google. Sign up with as many as you can, then keep ringing them even once a week to let them know you are still interested in work and to check if anything has come up yet, do this even if they say they'll contact you.

I've spent most summers during college temping in the civil service, having to save every single penny to last for the year following, it's not fun, I never got a grant or a cent off anyone but there was no choice, beyond that when that work became harder to get I got a loan.

If all you're worried about is having some cash to spend drinking I wouldn't say you're doing too badly tbh.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    If all you're worried about is having some cash to spend drinking I wouldn't say you're doing too badly tbh.

Oh god yeah I know. I'm not even complaining about that. I'm just seeing what
    other people do to make money spread! This all got a bit heavier than expected tbh... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Low-cost retailers like Aldi, Lidl and Penneys seem to be hiring though.

Dudess wrote: »
    Low-cost retailers like Aldi, Lidl and Penneys seem to be hiring though.

someone told me that lidls and aldis wont hire Irish, and if they do they are very few in number, is that true? or have I been a victim of an old wives tale?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Oh god yeah I know. I'm not even complaining about that. I'm just seeing what
    other people do to make money spread! This all got a bit heavier than expected tbh... :rolleyes:

Ok sorry actually, I'm still a little bitter :D

Money will only spread if you're not spending it though. Anything else is fairly logical like not wasting money on lunch and coffee etc. You seem to be almost at your limit if you already cycle etc, only thing you can spend less on is drink which you probably don't want to do.

In colleges they're always looking for people to take part in research experiments/studies, esp males, so maybe check out the notice boards in TCD etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Hi Op, I am almost always in your position, but I dont get down over it as I dont need money to be happy, just Jesus Christ, and I have him in abundance.

Is Jesus a sound fella when it comes to to buying drinks ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

someone told me that lidls and aldis wont hire Irish, and if they do they are very few in number, is that true? or have I been a victim of an old wives tale?:confused:

They'll hire you as long as you were brown within the Pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

(I take the Luas occasionally but have never paid)

I refuse to help a criminal :mad: