Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think guys drinking cider is a bit...eh...not straight?

• 26-04-2010 12:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭

I never really thought about this until I witnessed a fair bit of slagging the other day, so what do you lot think when one lad has a cider, while others have something else?
    Does it question his sexual orientation?
    Vote if you dare!:D

do you think guys drinking cider is a bit...eh...not straight? 279 votes

nah, if you like then you like it, who cares
    0% 0 votes
    god yes! Even the thought is both cringeworthy & laughable
    64% 180 votes
    hmm, interesting question...oh wait, no it's not!!!
    7% 20 votes
    Is it just me, or is everything sh*t?
    28% 79 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No, just a indication of crap taste in beverages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Love it if it's a sunny day I think, wouldn't bother with it otherwise, never considered it a gay drink, cheap and pikeyish maybe, gay, definately not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Gay is probably the last thing you'd associate cider with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It's a bit fruity alright.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Bulmers, remind you of cidona anyone? I could never drink that piss, Budweiser all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

No lads drinking cider is not at all gay, cocktails however..well that is a whole different story! :eek:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Cider shows your sexual orientation? wtf news to me

Cider can however show if your a scumbag or not...in fairness Lindon Village is a scumbag drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

<<<<<< NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

djhunter30 wrote: »
    Bulmers, remind you of cidona anyone? I could never drink that piss, Budweiser all the way!

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Bulmers, remind you of cidona anyone? I could never drink that piss,

It does. I think they might have a common ingredient.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

:confused::confused:

Bulmers = Cider, which I hate. Budweiser = real drink and my poison of choice when I did drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

You could drink the irony dripping off that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

ahahahahahahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaha

Insurgent wrote: »
    It does. I think they might have a common ingredient.

That's a given but I'd hate to be stuck beside a five year old who looks like his drinking the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

biko wrote: »
    No, just a indication of crap taste in beverages.

Well, it might suggest you are willing to lick a rusty sheriffs badge.

Seriously, you won't drink bulmers but you will drink Budweiser? I hope you are joking! :( Budweiser is ****e!
    kingtut wrote: »
    No lads drinking cider is not at all gay, cocktails however..well that is a whole different story! :eek:

Cocktails are awesome. End of Story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Are ya taking the piss, or drinking it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

No I wouldnt think he was gay or anything. You see much more people drinking it in the summer time, including a lot of men, but Id never think, that guy is drinking cider, he must be bent.

I probably wouldnt even notice it in the first place 'cos I dont drink it.

Bulmers = Cider, which I hate. Budweiser = real drink and my poison of choice when I did drink.

Budweiser is a real drink of piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Budweiser real drink? Ah come on now its pure piss, give me heineken,corona, brahma, carlsberg in fact i could go on forever id rather not drink than drink budweiser maybe thats why you stopped drinking:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Bass is the real mans drink.

Seriously, you won't drink bulmers but you will drink Budweiser? I hope you are joking! :( Budweiser is ****e!
    Are ya taking the piss, or drinking it?

Come on, Bulmers vs. Budweiser! No contest there, I do like a real drink namely Budweiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Frosty Jack cider (own brand from some shop up north I think) is far from being a gay drink.
    It tastes like a liquidized joint of sunday roast with 9% alcohol added.

Archeron wrote: »
    Frosty Jack cider (own brand from some shop up north I think) is far from being a gay drink.
    It tastes like a liquidized joint of sunday roast with 9% alcohol added.

Sounds minging to be honest!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Something that smells like cats urine a lot of the time, disgusting stuff to the nose alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I can only concur with the many replies to this post. Budweiser is piss. Barely drinkable even when ice cold.

*Note: I haven't tried actually drinking ice cold real piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Cider is the original 'lunatic soup'.

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I can only concur with the many replies to this post. Budweiser is piss. Barely drinkable even when ice cold.

*Note: I haven't tried actually drinking ice cold real piss

I didn't think Budweiser would be that well received here, I'd rather drink frosty piss though, if that and Bulmers was all that was on offer in a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I drink cider for 2 reasons.

1) I like it.
    2) I'm gluten intolerant, so I can't drink much else.

I used to drink carlsberg for years, but when my gluten intolerance started, it would make me really ill so I had to stop. I tried vodka after that, but it tore my stomach apart after a few months.

Now I'm on cider, and it's tasty out. If it makes me gay by drinking it, then feck - I'm gay for bulmers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Drinking cider questions sexual preference? first I've heard about it...

I dont drink cider because its f**king horrible, I dont drink Budweiser for the same reason, plus it's pure pisswater...probably as bad as Harp, Fosters or Tennents.

If you want to drink decent cheap beer, go for Erdinger, Paulaner, Staropramen, Carlsberg Export, Tyskie, Lech or Brahma. Jeez even Dutch Gold is better than Budweiser!!

dlofnep wrote: »
    I drink cider for 2 reasons.

1) I like it.
    2) I'm gluten intolerant, so I can't drink much else.

I used to drink carlsberg for years, but when my gluten intolerance started, it would make me really ill so I had to stop. I tried vodka after that, but it tore my stomach apart after a few months.

Now I'm on cider, and it's tasty out. If it makes me gay by drinking it, then feck - I'm gay for bulmers!

Some drinks might tear your stomach apart, but I hear Heinekein would tear your arse apart, apparently. Refers to an actual gay joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Grolsch and JD are the most masculine drinks.

Peach Schnapps and Ritz the most feminine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

No, i know a lot of fellas who drink Bulmers. Wouldn't think they were gay for drinking it.

Barcardi Breezers and the like,maybe then i'd start to wonder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What judgemental wanker wants the right to judge peoples' sexuality on what they drink?

Cider is only gay if you have you dick up another man's ass while you drink it.

Anyone who says otherwise COP ON and stop trying to validate yourself by judgeing other people. There are easier ways of improving your self-confidence.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I didn't think Budweiser would be that well received here, I'd rather drink frosty piss though, if that and Bulmers was all that was on offer in a pub.

You do know you wont pull in a pub drinking frosty piss right?
    Or at least if you did she'd be a right slag...........which maybe is what I'am looking for.....
    Barkeep! A pint of your finest frosty piss please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Nothing better than a pint bottle on a warm day!

You do know you wont pull in a pub drinking frosty piss right?
    Or at least if you did she'd be a right slag...........which maybe is what I'am looking for.....
    Barkeep! A pint of your finest frosty piss please.

Don't think I'd be on the pull with that drink in hand, or cider for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not regular cider but the pear or berry stuff maybe?

As for Budweiser? YUCK!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Jay1989 wrote: »
    I never really thought about this until I witnessed a fair bit of slagging the other day, so what do you lot think when one lad has a cider, while others have something else?
    Does it question his sexual orientation?
    Vote if you dare!:D

No.
    A better clue is if the guy is attracted to another guy.

Seriously, not one Budweiser drinker in here? I'm amazed, I know it's an acquired taste, but it's no worse than drinking a pint piss, sorry I mean cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Come on, Bulmers vs. Budweiser! No contest there, I do like a real drink namely Budweiser.

Budweiser is for people who want to drink beer without wanting to taste beer. There'd be more taste from the piss of someone on a Heineken binge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

http://www.aspall.co.uk/

To be honest, lovely stuff. Normally, I won't ever drink cider. But Aspall. Om nom nom nom. :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Only if it's Ritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I used to hate cider.. got a taste for it about a year ago. Bulmers is just weird, sometimes it tastes lovely and other times like pure piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Seriously, not one Budweiser drinker in here? I'm amazed, I know it's an acquired taste, but it's no worse than drinking a pint pi<i>s</i>s, sorry I mean cider.

I drank Bud for years. It was what i started out legally drinking. Then someone told me to try Heineken one night and i've never ever drank Bud since. I'd drink anything but it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Seriously, not one Budweiser drinker in here? I'm amazed, I know it's an acquired taste

its not an acquired taste more like it has no taste

oh and btw Bulmers aint real Cider there is a BIG difference

Real cider is the product of fermenting fresh apple juice.

The amount of apple juice which went into the final product must be between 85 and 100% and should be clearly stated on the container it is sold in or dispensed from.

No artificial sweeteners, flavourings or colourings
    are permitted.

( For real perry substitute pear juice )

Come on, not one lad here into drinking real alcohol. Bulmers is just another teenage starter drink like WKD and Bacardi for people who can't stomach real drink. I'd rather neck a few pints of Guinness before I'd touch that stuff and I find Guinness a bit harse in taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Seriously, not one Budweiser drinker in here? I'm amazed, I know it's an acquired taste, but it's no worse than drinking a pint piss, sorry I mean cider.

Budweiser? Acquired taste? It's what kids try first when they start drinking. Nobody with an ounce of sense would drink that ****e.

Edit:
    Come on, not one lad here into drinking real alcohol. Bulmers is just another teenage starter drink like WKD and Bacardi for people who can't stomach real drink. I'd rather neck a few pints of Guinness before I'd touch that stuff and I find Guinness a bit harse in taste.

Bwahahaha! Pot calling the kettle black, eh? Budweiser is as far from a real alcoholic beverage as you could get, it's as artificial as WKD or any of the rest of that crap.

Seriously you must be trolling by now?

Try some scotch for real alcohol.

But for real beer, try anything other than Budweiser TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Acquired taste? As in no taste!? Hence why they push the extra cold versions to mask that fact..each to his own s'pose.

Anyway, i'm a big fan of bulmers in the sun. I did try the pear bulmers twice...i reckon that could possibly be construed as a gay drink alright! Plus its very farty....

Seriously, if ye would defend Bulmers or Cider that much, why don't ye all stick to Apple juice. It's probably cheaper and not as harse on your livers.