Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Thieves & Octavia Vrs

• 16-04-2010 7:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys,
    I am planning on buying a Vrs Tdi (New) this year, and would have to order it in the coming weeks.
    On one thread i was subscribed to someone mentioned these being a sought after car for thieves..!

Is it something i should be concerned about or are they alramed/immobilised??
    I have had two cars stolen from me some years ago but had put that to the back of my mind..

I hope this doesnt put a damper on my plans :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

vectra wrote: »

Once you have insurance i wouldn't worry about it, also id be surprised if the car had no Immobliser or Alarm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Perhaps the White or Blue might not be the best idea as they scream Sports Car. Less attention grabbing in a different colour so might go under the thieves radar.

Never had any issue with my Black MKI VRs, except when the missus left the facia on the radio in a dodgy area of Dublin. Drivers window and a new radio required there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

People in the know will always know what it is.

I wouldn't worry too much. AFAIK they come with an alarm as standard too. I'd be suprised if you had any bother to be honest. Black ftw and best of luck with it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

The Alarm is an optional extra on ALL Octavias as per the Skoda Spec Sheet.

Unless you live in an area where vehicle crime occurs on a regular basis I wouldn't worry too much.

Im concerned you have two cars stolen already though when most people go through life without any car being stolen.

The car is not immediately deemed to be a sporty car until you get up close to it unlike a Teg or Civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

There is an immobiliser fitted to these alright, the key would be needed to start the car. Do you fancy someone breaking into your house for the key?

The mk1 vRS was targeted as a thieves favorite as they were understated,fairly quick and had 5 doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

2 or 3 VRs's have been stolen from boardsies.

Here's one.
    Once you have insurance i wouldn't worry about it, also id be surprised if the car had no Immobliser or Alarm.

How exactly does insurance stop a car being stolen?

quarryman wrote: »

Insurance won't stop the car from being stolen but it helps to have cover if it does. FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

Vanbis wrote: »
    Insurance won't stop the car from being stolen but it helps to have cover if it does. FFS.

Yes but the OP asks if the VRs is a target for thieves (which it is) and then points out that he's already had 2 cars stolen from him. And your solution is "Don't worry, just get insurance". :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Yes but the OP asks if the VRs is a target for thieves (which it is) and then points out that he's already had 2 cars stolen from him. And your solution is "Don't worry, just get insurance". :rolleyes:

We don't know the details of previous thefts but the only way the VRs wil be stolen is by someone getting their hands on the keys (probably by breaking into your house) or by hijacking. If someone wants your car bad enough then they'll get it no matter what you do but you can't live your life that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Is it possible to "downbadge"? Put 1.6 (eg) on the boot, disguise the brakes etc. Stealth Skoda, if you will.

If he is that worried then why bother buying the car if he knows its a target for thieves :rolleyes: Its not the only car that out their that is target either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I personally would recommend getting a decent aftermarket alarm fitted with a tracker. I know it might be a expensive addition but would be worth it should the worst ever happen. Some tracker alarms can even be setup to disable the car once its a safe distance away from your house. I had one fitted to my Focus RS a few years back and remember testing it one day. They were able to tell me the exact location of the car and shut it down completely.

Hope you enjoy the VRS tdi. My mother has one and they are unreal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

If its the car you want go for it, never let your choice of car be influenced by car thieving scum.
    Have extra security fitted if you want for peace of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Andrew33 wrote: »
    We don't know the details of previous thefts but the only way the VRs wil be stolen is by someone getting their hands on the keys (probably by breaking into your house) or by hijacking. If someone wants your car bad enough then they'll get it no matter what you do but you can't live your life that way.

Details of two prior thefts

Opel Ascona 2.0i (Modified by previous owner) and was damn quick.
    I live 20 miles from Cork city.
    Joyriders stole an 86 Astra fromoutside the bridewell garda Station. Came to my town to "presumably" steal my buddies Kadett GSI.. He was away so probably carried on up the street and took mine instead.. got it back next day with usual damage. Stereo/speakers/amps stolen. Door Lock broken..Steering lock etc.
    Anyhow.
    Car wasnt that valuable but insurance coughed up some amount to put it right.

Two years later
    Opel Vectra 2.0 (again modified by previous owner ) capable of sticking the needle @130 :P

Anyhow.
    Coming home from Cork one day a female drive in an Opel Corsa 1.6gsi was as I thought giving me a run for her money.. Foolishly I "bit the bait" and showed her a bit of dust.. She stayed with me enough to notice where I turned off and lived,, Guess what,, 5.30AM she came back with her two Buddies and stole the car, Neighbour copped them and rang the Garda.. As the Garda were on their way to my house they were passed by my Vectra coming against them. By the time they had turned around to give chase ( in their 1.6 Mondeo) the Vectra was gone in the distance. Next it was seen was at 7.30pm next evening being used in an armed robbery at a petrol station.. Was abandoned after that. Garda got it and took it to their station where forensics went through it..
    Got it back 2 days later..
    Lock damage
    Stereo system gone AGAIN..!!
    Drivers door was bent out of shape to steal it..
    Back passengers door was torn to bits as it caught a wall when they were leaving the crime..
    all in all there was £2760 worth of damage.
    Might not sound like much but that was 12 years ago.. Cars were a lot cheaper and wages were stupidly small ..
    Anyhow
    To sum it up. My car have to be parked on the street unfortunately :(
    I personally would recommend getting a decent aftermarket alarm fitted with a tracker. I know it might be a expensive addition but would be worth it should the worst ever happen. Some tracker alarms can even be setup to disable the car once its a safe distance away from your house. I had one fitted to my Focus RS a few years back and remember testing it one day. They were able to tell me the exact location of the car and shut it down completely.

Hope you enjoy the VRS tdi. My mother has one and they are unreal!!

Can you link me to such an alarm?
    I had thought about adding the Leather option in the car but this might be a more sensible thing to do ;)

To sum it up. My car have to be parked on the street unfortunately :(

So long as the Insurance company knows this.

Two years later
    Opel Vectra 2.0 (again modified by previous owner ) capable of sticking the needle @130 :P

Anyhow.
    Coming home from Cork one day a female drive in an Opel Corsa 1.6gsi was as I thought giving me a run for her money.. Foolishly I "bit the bait" and showed her a bit of dust.. She stayed with me enough to notice where I turned off and lived,, Guess what,, 5.30AM she came back with her two Buddies and stole the car, Neighbour copped them and rang the Garda.. As the Garda were on their way to my house they were passed by my Vectra coming against them. By the time they had turned around to give chase ( in their 1.6 Mondeo) the Vectra was gone in the distance. Next it was seen was at 7.30pm next evening being used in an armed robbery at a petrol station.. Was abandoned after that. Garda got it and took it to their station where forensics went through it..
    Got it back 2 days later..
    Lock damage
    Stereo system gone AGAIN..!!
    Drivers door was bent out of shape to steal it..
    Back passengers door was torn to bits as it caught a wall when they were leaving the crime..
    all in all there was £2760 worth of damage.
    Might not sound like much but that was 12 years ago.. Cars were a lot cheaper and wages were stupidly small ..

Was that a pre 95 Vectra 5 door ?

If its the car you want go for it, never let your choice of car be influenced by car thieving scum.
    Have extra security fitted if you want for peace of mind.

Exactly what i would say as well. Spend the bit extra and get a tracking device installed if needs be.

I know someone who has VRS in sky blue and not once has anyone tried to rob it.

Berty wrote: »
    So long as the Insurance company knows this.

They do indeed
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Was that a pre 95 Vectra 5 door ?

Yes
    Did you steal it LOL:D

lol, no. But as you no doubt know the 2.0s were highly sought after for robberies in the 90s. Also most of them were 4 doors iirc. I used to work in a motor factors years ago and a customer driving either a blue or green 5 door told me a similar experience years ago, it would have been the late 90s. He had recovered and repaired it. Might have been yourself, small world and all that. 'twas either Southern Motor Factors in Caseys Cross or Top Part in Dosco Industrial estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Id worry where you put the key at night, I would have no worries at all of the car getting stolen without the key. If theres no lock nuts on the alloys I would get some, other than that it's safe as it is. I wouldnt bother with a tracker as you wont want it back if its stolen, car never feels the same, better off getting insurance money and buying something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭privateBeavis

How about something like this to track you car if stolen:

E-bay Live GPS Tracker

Anyone use any devices like this?

Edit: Even better with This one you can "listen in" to the scumbags conversation while they tear away with your car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I wonder can you have a "valet key" for it. If they come looking for a key give them that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

2 or 3 VRs's have been stolen from boardsies.

Here's one.

That was me - so of course I have a slightly negative opinion of the experience. Just to note that the car was recovered after that theft, but after another breakin (and a further attempted breakin) to my house to get the keys I decided that VRs ownership wasn't for me and I now have a Golf Plus :( (FYI we also found a kitchen knife with a 12" blade hidden under the passenger seat after it was recovered - despite the "CSI" team going over the car twice - the only effect of this I saw was a coating of finger print dush on every surface!)

I know lots of people have them without issue - but I had a lot of trouble, I didn't live in a bad area (but I've since moved) and car crime wasn't a big issue in the area.

The (off the record) opinion of cops in Celbridge was - buy whatever car you want, but if you buy a VRs you should expect to have breakins attempting to get the key :mad:

Paddy

PS Insurance is only part of the issue, and even though I would have lost my no claims bonus that wasn't the big issue for me - it was having my house broken into (with my family in it) and the risk and disruption that implied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

The Octy Vrs' were favoured as getaway cars, but there are so many fast 4 door saloon out there, I would't let it put you off.

If you can spec the new car with steel wheels and a badge/spoiler delete, then you'd have a great Q Car. Or even better, get the estate!

A few of the lads on vagdrivers.net have bought these, I know of at least 3 check out http://vagdrivers.net/forums/index.php?showforum=13 for more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I don't lads, the vRS Tdi has 170bhp, your average BMW 320d or 520d which are two a penny have 177bhp so I wouldn't imagine a vRS Tdi is any higher a risk with thieves these days than a 320d or 520d.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I don't lads, the vRS Tdi has 170bhp, your average BMW 320d or 520d which are two a penny have 177bhp so I wouldn't imagine a vRS Tdi is any higher a risk with thieves these days than a 320d or 520d.

That's not what you said in 2005 :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=3028065&postcount=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The MkI vRS wasn't available in diesel back then and rare enough. A 170bhp mid size diesel would not have been that common at the time either. These days 170bhp from a 2.0 litre diesel engine is quite common.

Back in the day when your Ascona and Vestra were stolen a 2.0 nasp was a rapid car on Irish roads, nowadays there are loads of big, fast saloons and estates around ranging in age from new to 15 years old, you would be very very unlucky to have the lightning strike a third time. Also back then Opels were foe whatever reason the thieves favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Hey guys,
    I am planning on buying a Vrs Tdi (New) this year, and would have to order it in the coming weeks.
    On one thread i was subscribed to someone mentioned these being a sought after car for thieves..!

I have had two cars stolen from me some years ago but had put that to the back of my mind..

I hope this doesnt put a damper on my plans :(

If they managed to start it thats as far as they'd go
    You'd probably hear "sh*t .... its a diesel"

Bloody super easy to break into as well, just need a screwdriver to tear the lock out. I came back to my Octavia one day, had been broken into, never got it fixed, you could open it with a lolly pop stick, figured if someone wanted to break into it again they just would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

These threads always make me laugh....

" Hi I am buying ** Insert a car thats not that spacial, rare or powerful** and am worried its so desirable that robbers will take it off me rather than the thousands of more powerful, more expensive cars seen on irish roads every day, "

If you had two car nicked already, I say spend the money moving to a better part of town or a house with a garage......

These threads always make me laugh....

" Hi I am buying ** Insert a car thats not that spacial, rare or powerful** and am worried its so desirable that robbers will take it off me rather than the thousands of more powerful, more expensive cars seen on irish roads every day, "

If you had two car nicked already, I say spend the money moving to a better part of town or a house with a garage......

Well, I do live in a quiet town ... its the knobrots from a nearby city that come to this town to have their fun..
    If I was in a position to move to a different house with a garage it would probably have been a high spec Merc or BMW I would be looking at instead of a Skoda.

I still can not see what you find about threads like this that makes you laugh :confused:
    Maybe if you had a couple of cars stolen when you were under finabncial pressure then you might understand the purpose of this thread.
    but any
    thanks for your useless reply :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I think you have to try block the thought out of you head that it might be robbed, basically if you buy a nice car scumbags will obviously be attracted to it, does that mean your going to drive around in a dirtbox? I wouldnt let them get to me like that. generally new cars today arent that easy to break into your average scumbag going out to rob a garage these days wouldnt even attempt to rob a car like the vrs.

Secure the car as best as possible, dont leave the keys in an obvious place. Then just enjoy your new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

jesus i didnt mean to get you worked up over what i said in the other thread!! sorry!!
    go for the car if you really want it.. if your worried about thieves breaking into your house leave the key somewhere that they wont end up coming into your bedroom in the middle of the night threatening you or your family with a knife or gun. at the end of the day its a car and as nice as they are they aint worth getting stabbed/shot over.. get a tracker fitted if you want. i wouldnt bother going to the rounds of removing spoilers/wheels etc as this is what makes the car. if you were thinking along that line go for the superb 170tdi instead..

R.O.R wrote: »
    Perhaps the White or Blue might not be the best idea as they scream Sports Car. Less attention grabbing in a different colour so might go under the thieves radar.

Never had any issue with my Black MKI VRs, except when the missus left the facia on the radio in a dodgy area of Dublin. Drivers window and a new radio required there.

I understand what you mean but I think I would have to have either white or Race Blue :o

Then again.. I may be getting the option of viewing a grey one soon and that could change things a bit alright ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

If I was a robbing thevin bastard I would probably steel a brand new Ford Focus RS giving a whopping 305hp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

I realise the point of a tracker on proper supercars; but on a VRS? I don't see the need.

If some scumbag takes it and wrecks it, do you really want it back? I wouldn't. I'd be happy for the insurance to pay for a new one. You will always have it in the back of your mind that some toerag has driven it within an inch of its life. You'll start to hear rattles and squeeks and in your head the car just won't be the same.

I don't see the need to spend €1,500+ on a tracker & yearly subscription on a car that can be replaced easily. It's not like it's a visual deterrant for the toerags, they can't see it and don't know it's there. That's the point of it...

As said already; if you do buy it, or any other 'desirable' car - leave the keys in the kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

ya but an rs focus will stand out a mile make loads of noise and get noticed! not what a theif wants...

I understand what you mean but I think I would have to have either white or Race Blue :o

Then again.. I may be getting the option of viewing a grey one soon and that could change things a bit alright ;)

Might be a bit longer than you thought before you view that as it's not on the manifest for the boat that's arriving this weekend :(

Thats no problem
    Do the boats arrive regularly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mcshape

I have a tracker (company installed) in my company car and its epic!, i can log in to a nice web interface and replay my journeys etc... and its helping me fight a speeding fine!, i was able to replay my trip and find i was doing 76kph instead of 100kph according to the garda!! (i knew i wasnt speeding!):cool:

Thats no problem
    Do the boats arrive regularly?

Not due to sail 'till the 22nd. Think they depart Holland so 3 or 4 days after that, but at least it's going to Cork instead of Dublin.

mcshape wrote: »
    I have a tracker (company installed) in my company car and its epic!, i can log in to a nice web interface and replay my journeys etc... and its helping me fight a speeding fine!, i was able to replay my trip and find i was doing 76kph instead of 100kph according to the garda!! (i knew i wasnt speeding!):cool:

I had something similar happen. The Gardai arrived to my door claiming I drove dangerously past the school at high speed. I went back to my company and was able to prove to the Gardai the next day that I was 400kms away.

3 nearly identical cars in the area. Turns out the car that caused the problem was a hatchback A3 and mine was a Saloon A4. :rolleyes:

I had something similar happen. The Gardai arrived to my door claiming I drove dangerously past the school at high speed. I went back to my company and was able to prove to the Gardai the next day that I was 400kms away.

3 nearly identical cars in the area. Turns out the car that caused the problem was a hatchback A3 and mine was a Saloon A4. :rolleyes:

I didnt want it installed at first for the whole "big brother" paranoia thing, But its been great

Link to system??
    Not due to sail 'till the 22nd. Think they depart Holland so 3 or 4 days after that, but at least it's going to Cork instead of Dublin.

so due in around 25/26th?
    Thats grand ;)

Had a demo of that system years ago. It's a very good system, but way more than the average person would need. http://www.aircoach.ie/ use it for their live positions so you can see where the next coach is.

http://www.tracker.co.uk/TRACKER/ were operating in Ireland a few years ago (by chance their rep drove an Octavia TDi VRs with a Tracker), not sure if they are still around or not.

lol, when I was on the road that sort of yoke is the last thing I would ever had wanted, the boss knowing where you are all day every day, epic i think not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

RoverJames wrote: »
    lol, when I was on the road that sort of yoke is the last thing I would ever had wanted, the boss knowing where you are all day every day, epic i think not :D

''Hello Onkle, why are you still at home? You doing orders from your couch again?''

Bit off topic but you don't have pics of the Ascona do you OP?

Onkle wrote: »
    ''Hello Onkle, why are you still at home? You doing orders from your couch again?''

Bit off topic but you don't have pics of the Ascona do you OP?

Sorry I dont.
    But it was like this one (Same color) minus the Bolt on bits :D
    Mine was lowered and on Koni's
    Had some other work done to the engine as well
    opel_ascona_051_.jpg
    It was a saloon version
    Had the 1.8 SR/i years before that
    Red version of this
    5802_1121_ascona-c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I'm one for the older performance cars. An Uncle of mine had the Sri hatch, red too but was a Vauxhall, was some car to go too