Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spitting in public

• 14-04-2010 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭

I was walking past Connelly station and across the road there was guy skanger crossing the street, above all the hussle and traffic noise I could hear him hawking up what ever phlem he had left in his toes, he then spat this on the footpath, there was a taxi man standing by his car who just shook his head and rolled his eyes, few old ladys just looked on in disgust hands to their mouth in shock, I actully thought I was going to throw up. I'm alright when it come to blood/puke/poop but yesterday I was caught off gaurd or something.

Ok we have all spat in public at some stage but there was no need for such a huge macho display or spitting out what looked like a liter of milk with apple pureé.

If your going spit, spit into a drain or a bin, even the side of the road, not on the ****ing footpath, there is also no need for the loud HHHUUUCCKKKTTUUUUUOOOO sounds either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

At least he didn't swallow!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

At least its more accepted than swallowing :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

It is absolutely horrible. :mad:

I can't stand when some people make such a big deal of it, like they're expecting a prize at the end or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I walked around a corner in town* one day and straight into a huge gob of phlegm. Most disgusting thing EVER. Its not even a habit. Why people cant wait to get a tissue is beyond me?

*Dublin City, Frada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Chorcai wrote: »
    Ok we have all spat in public at some stage

ewwwwwwwwww no we haven't! :mad:

Now take your HHHUUUCCKKKTTUUUUUOOOO and go on your way :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

A couple of years ago i was waiting for a friend outside the cie place in o'connell street, there was a gang of young fellas hanging around and one in particular was spitting like a llama with a chest infection, there was actually a puddle of spit around him! I don't think i've ever seen a more disgusting site. It's a filthy filthy habbit. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I was walking past Connelly station and across the road there was guy skanger crossing the street, above all the hussle and traffic noise I could hear him hawking up what ever phlem he had left in his toes, he then spat this on the footpath, there was a taxi man standing by his car who just shook his head and rolled his eyes, few old ladys just looked on in disgust hands to their mouth in shock, I actully thought I was going to throw up. I'm alright when it come to blood/puke/poop but yesterday I was caught off gaurd or something.

Ok we have all spat in public at some stage but there was no need for such a huge macho display or spitting out what looked like a liter of milk with apple pureé.

If your going spit, spit into a drain or a bin, even the side of the road, not on the ****ing footpath, there is also no need for the loud HHHUUUCCKKKTTUUUUUOOOO sounds either.

Was he an alien?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I can't abide it and I don't see why there is any need for someone to spit apart from when brushing your teeth. Why is it a sign of manliness for some people? I really don't get why disgusting those around you is somehow impressive to some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

its disgusting, i nearly heave when i see people doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Hmmmm yeah its is gross when people do that big public phlegmy one for no reason.

Thou i have to say I do spit when I run, but its either that are suffocate, and I think randomers would rather i spit on the ground that having to fish it out whilst resusitating me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

It's absolutely disgusting. Can people not at least spit into a tissue?

The Chinese had an anti-spitting campaign before the Olympics, we should implement some of their ideas over here! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Its even worse when you see girls doing it.
    I was standing at a bus stop when a chinese girl walked by and casually hacked a looger onto the pavement a yard from where i was standing.
    Disgusting and most unladylike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

A couple of years ago i was waiting for a friend outside the cie place in o'connell street, there was a gang of young fellas hanging around and one in particular was spitting like a llama with a chest infection, there was actually a puddle of spit around him! I don't think i've ever seen a more disgusting site. It's a filthy filthy habbit. Disgusting.

Brilliant :D

Anyway spitting on the street like that is just another 'I'm a skanger, look how tough I am' thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Not as bad as eating crisps...:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The Chinese had an anti-spitting campaign before the Olympics, we should implement some of their ideas over here! :P

They also had an anti-breeding campaign..... which I think had it been started here 15-25 years ago would have work wonders wrt limiting the amount of spitters on the streets today (among other benefits).

Abortions for some, miniature social housing for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I blame premier league players for influencing them all as kid, every know football players are macho and hawk out huge gobs of phlegm all the time

What choice do they have ? They are pro atheletes running aournd at high speed in the middle of freakin winter. THey are hardly going to go off the pitch to spit up some phlegm are they.

Or the snot spit: where they stick their finger on one nostril and blow out the other. Yuck yuck yuck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

oh this is absolutely vile

*shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Degsy wrote: »
    Its even worse when you see girls doing it.
    I was standing at a bus stop when a chinese girl walked by and casually hacked a looger onto the pavement a yard from where i was standing.
    Disgusting and most unladylike!
    totally agree.. she could be the hottest woman in the world - she'd still look horrible. Women spitting is one of the most disgusting sights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

If you have catarrh at the back of your throat, sometimes you have to spit out of sight when you have no hankerchief!

Kiera wrote: »
    Or the snot spit: where they stick their finger on one nostril and blow out the other. Yuck yuck yuck!

I do that a lot while hiking actually :D

gurramok wrote: »
    If you have catarrh at the back of your throat, sometimes you have to spit out of sight when you have no hankerchief!
    No! Swallow it ffs!

No one likes a spitter ;)

What choice do they have ? They are pro atheletes running aournd at high speed in the middle of freakin winter. THey are hardly going to go off the pitch to spit up some phlegm are they.

be a man and swallow it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I'm always doing it :( I normally aim for the corner where a wall meets the ground, least then nobody has to walk into is and it makes a game out of it aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

No! Swallow it ffs!

And we're SUPPOSED to swallow, cos the stomach kills the bacteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

A friend of mine used to get all sorts of abuse for doing this. He just didn't stop! It was only fair to slag the lad for such a horrible habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

No! Swallow it ffs!

I was hoping you'd be a gargler. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

urrrgghhh thats disgusting! i hate spitting its so rank when people just spit all over the place! one time i was waiting for a bus on o'connell street and there was a guy just standing there spitting away like you wouldnt believe! :eek: seriously there was about 20 spits on the ground all around him!!! as soon as he spat one out he was hocking up another!! i dont know how people have that much spit in them to be honest!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

'snot spit' ...great way of describing it

And we're SUPPOSED to swallow, cos the stomach kills the bacteria.
    You do know you've just ruined many a bj experience for girls that dont like to swallow :D
    RichTea wrote: »
    A friend of mine used to get all sorts of abuse for doing this. He just didn't stop! It was only fair to slag the lad for such a horrible habit.
    Its minging. I semi get it in football. But why is the camera always on the person that does it? :(
    bonerm wrote: »
    I was hoping you'd be a gargler. :(
    I can do my A,B,C's :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I sometimes spit in public not realising that I'm doing it. It's a bad habit.

be a man and swallow it ;)
    You can't. As i said earlier I sometimes have to spit when I run, especially if its cold and i haven't been out in a while. I get large volumes of mucusy (i.e. sticky) phlemg and have to spit it. If I tried to swallow it i'd choke. If i keep in in my mouth it collects and eventually I would choke. only option is to spit.

knird evol wrote: »
    'snot spit' ...great way of describing it

'snit' perhaps ???:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Normal spitting never really bothers me, it's the fistfuls of giant green / yellow globuals of phlem that get me....

Nobody wants to see that shìt! It's worse when a dog comes along and eats it up, they love the taste of phlem! :(

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Normal spitting never really bothers me, it's the fistfuls of giant green / yellow globuals of phlem that get me....

Nobody wants to see that shìt! It's worse when a dog comes along and eats it up, they love the taste of phlem! :(

Oh jesus thats gross. wheres the vomit smiley ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Kanye

I cannot stick spitting at all and I'm quite vocal about it - I even told my girlfriend I'd dump her if she ever spat in front of me again.

Anyway, I was coming out of the Ilac Centre one day on my way to college and I was eating a tasty tuna sandwich and quaffing a coffee. I saw this old guy walking towards me scrunch up his face and snort all the thick green snot from his nose and throat. Of course, he proceeded to deposit his morsel almost directly at my feet.

I vomited on the spot. It was fukking pantomime.

Fago! wrote: »
    I sometimes spit in public not realising that I'm doing it. It's a bad habit.
    It is not a fúcking habit. Driving with only one hand on the wheel is a habit. Spitting in public is not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

there is also no need for the loud HHHUUUCCKKKTTUUUUUOOOO sounds either.

Quality spelling of a spitting sound !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Saw some bóllix spitting in a swiming pool, not in the pool, he walked outta the sauna and spat on the tiled ground.

I spit when im at home in the countryside but if im walking on the street i try to avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I have to suppress the urge to punch these offenders in the face when I see this.

However, I could never swallow a snotty spit, I would vomit. The only thing to do is to discreetly spit it into a tissue (or if not available any small piece of paper) and then bin it or flush it.

Anything else is inexcusable. BEASTS! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

CoalBucket wrote: »
    Quality spelling of a spitting sound !!!!!

Best I could do :D

Kanye wrote: »
    I cannot stick spitting at all and I'm quite vocal about it - I even told my girlfriend I'd dump her if she ever spat in front of me again.

Anyway, I was coming out of the Ilac Centre one day on my way to college and I was eating a tasty tuna sandwich and quaffing a coffee. I saw this old guy walking towards me scrunch up his face and snort all the thick green snot from his nose and throat. Of course, he proceeded to deposit his morsel almost directly at my feet.

I vomited on the spot. It was fukking pantomime.

Oh yeah I have to say thats something that really annoys me when someone spits at my feet. Some people do that for reaction I'm convinced
    Saw some bóllix spitting in a swiming pool, not in the pool, he walked outta the sauna and spat on the tiled ground.
    Hmmm there's worse things he may have been doing in the pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

You do know you've just ruined many a bj experience for girls that dont like to swallow :D

Good enough for them!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Only knackers spit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

My younger brother and his friends have gotten many a slap off me for spitting. It doesn't disgust me as much as it infuriates me. Especially seeing someone spit on someone! They deserve to have their face rearranged for that!

Somebody told me its illegal to piss but legal to shiit in the street because you apparantly have some control over your bladder but not your bowels.
    Can anybody confirm this?
    I do hope its true..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Down with this sort of thing! Where is your manners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Degsy wrote: »
    Somebody told me its illegal to piss but legal to shiit in the street because you apparantly have some control over your bladder but not your bowels.
    Can anybody confirm this?
    I do hope its true..
    It's true. Plus if the Gardaí come across you they've to cover around you so nobody else is able to see.

Bonito wrote: »
    It's true. Plus if the Gardaí come across you they've to cover around you so nobody else is able to see.

Great..i'll wait til there's a hot female guard before i drop me drawers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Reeni

Duggy747 wrote: »

oh sweet Jesus I was feeling a bit queasy reading this thread but this almost pushed me over the edge