Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

buck65 wrote: »
    So you give him one game this season where the ball hardly went beyond 10 to make this judgement.

I would agree with heybaby, but I would base the opinion on his awful performances last season.

The only time he was effective last season was on the wing at the end of the year. Where he doesn't have to worry about silly things like passing the ball.

I thought he had a great future there for Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

So you give him one game this season where the ball hardly went beyond 10 to make this judgement.

One game this season!

Mafi has been a shadow of his former self for along time . . . . opposition players seem to be able to read his runs like a book . .why, cos its the same thing everytime with him.

And his lack of will or ability or wherewithall to off load when tackled in a running back line is far far from a 1 game problem. Hes no good at giving outside players a good ball, putting them into space etc etc. . . .and he was good at that before.

Get rid of him imo, put Murphy in there . . .or even Earls when fit again, he played at 13 for the Lions and did a fine job.

Its not a 1 game judgement, mafis form has been questionable for far far longer then that. He's like a crash ball 12 playing at 13 . . .and we dont need him as a crash ball 12 as Sam is having a fine season so far.

Mafi was a nominee for munster player of the year 2007/08 . . .he was on fire that year . .he was breaking the line and dangerous game after game.

He's nothing like that now. Hasn't been for a while.

edit; i see earls is starting at 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Flannery started for Shannon against Garryowen in the AIL this evening, he played the first half only, I think that was by agreement rahter than being subbed.

Delighted to se him make his first start of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Great to hear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Flannery good player that he is, is another disaster waiting to happen.

We're lucky that Varley has emerged as such a strong player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Flannery good player that he is, is another disaster waiting to happen.
    I can't understand why his discipline went to ****e last season. He was grand up until last season.

With regards to injuries, I remember reading an article with him last year where he said that went on a mad weights buzz before the start of the 09/10 season, and he basically overtrained, and thats why he got so injury prone. Being rushed back 3 or 4 times in a row, when he shouldn't have been also didn't help...

Defo agree on Varley. I was amazed it took so long for McGahan to see the obvious!!!

theKramer wrote: »
    I can't understand why his discipline went to ****e last season. He was grand up until last season.

With regards to injuries, I remember reading an article with him last year where he said that went on a mad weights buzz before the start of the 09/10 season, and he basically overtrained, and thats why he got so injury prone. Being rushed back 3 or 4 times in a row, when he shouldn't have been also didn't help...

Defo agree on Varley. I was amazed it took so long for McGahan to see the obvious!!!

He was always border line with the discipline, a few tripping incidents come to mind, but you're right he really lost the plot last season.

He's naturally not that big and has always been big on the weights, body can't keep up I guess. Would like to see him have a good season and go to the WC fully fit.

I think ye're tough on Fla, he is the best hooker in the country and while he has had his moments of red mist he has certainly offered more to Munster and to Ireland than he has cost them.

I'd have a fully fit Fla oin my team sheet anyday.

phog wrote: »
    I think ye're tough on Fla, he is the best hooker in the country and while he has had his moments of red mist he has certainly offered more to Munster and to Ireland than he has cost them.

I'd have a fully fit Fla oin my team sheet anyday.

I wasn't questioning his talent, he's Lions quality, but he seems to have a few mental and physical problems the past few seasons.

Anyone else hearing these rumors about the Munster Management???

Most likely rubbish, but it is going about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Corcioch wrote: »

Are people really that desperate to spread tosh like those rumours about?

Yeah, I heard the players want Justin McCarthy, what did you hear?

lol,

But on a serious note??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

What's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

All last season the ball never got past 12 as Mafi never passed.

lol,

But on a serious note??

How can you be serious about rumours?

Michael Bradley was seen in Cork today ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

munster would be bottom with bradley in charge. elwood has proved that bradley not a good coach,

munster lost 2 game and all of a sudden it the coaches fault. people were the same with leinster. musnter had have only lost 2 game this season, a win next week and all will be forgotten

How can you be serious about rumours?

Michael Bradley was seen in Cork today ;)

Well that would hardly be a surprise seeing as he works with Midleton rfc

News often leaks out as rumors first . . .they key to bear in mind with rumors is the quality of the source,

It was a simple question, folks either heard something or they didn't . . .

. . .and whats the title of this thread???? . . .Team Talk/ Gossip/ Rumours

outwest wrote: »
    munster would be bottom with bradley in charge. elwood has proved that bradley not a good coach,

munster lost 2 game and all of a sudden it the coaches fault. people were the same with leinster. musnter had have only lost 2 game this season, a win next week and all will be forgotten

No one ever said anything about it being Mc Gahans fault . . . .

Problem for McGahan is that he inherited a HC winning team that hasn't shown any progress under him. Started off really well but its been a very slow decline since the semi loss to Leinster. I'd say he's under real pressure to start producing the goods.

Very true.

The initial signs were very promising. A long running streak in the Magners League before Christmas coupled with outstanding performances in the Heineken Cup, particularly against Sale.

We were in ecstasy after smashing the Ospreys and then well.....:(

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Very true.

The initial signs were very promising. A long running streak in the Magners League before Christmas coupled with outstanding performances in the Heineken Cup, particularly against Sale.

We were in ecstasy after smashing the Ospreys and then well.....:(

Well what? What happened next Thomond? Come on dont keep us in suspense here....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭rua327

Rumours flying around at the moments that McGahan has stepped down. Don't want to be a wind up merchant but it's on the Munsterfans forum website and a few buddies have heard that this was on the cards. The team selection last weekend would lead me to believe that there are problems in-house. Quinny on the bench??? WTF

wixfjord wrote: »
    Well what? What happened next Thomond? Come on dont keep us in suspense here....;)

I'm still hungover from what happened next, so I don't remember...

rua327 wrote: »
    Rumours flying around at the moments that McGahan has stepped down. Don't want to be a wind up merchant but it's on the Munsterfans forum website and a few buddies have heard that this was on the cards. The team selection last weekend would lead me to believe that there are problems in-house. Quinny on the bench??? WTF

Thank You, someone else heard this,

My question was not all that unreasonable now it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Tippex

heard this 2 about 20 mins ago. So the rumours are certainly flyiing alright

Thank You, someone else heard this,

My question was not all that unreasonable now it seems.

So two people hear the same rumour then it must be right :rolleyes:

Last year we heard rumours that Paul Warwick wouldn't be playing in one of the H/C matches in France as his child was serioulsy ill and he was returning to Ireland to be with his family, guess what he played in the game.

The best rumour I read on Munsterfans was Felipe Contepomi was coming this week: Not to play Munster, but to become Munster's player/coach. :D

I don't believe these rumours about McGahan and I don't think he is in survival mode yet but he really needs to win this weekend. Feck up our HEC pool chances and the knives will be out.

The best rumour I read on Munsterfans was Felipe Contepomi was coming this week: Not to play Munster, but to become Munster's player/coach. :D

I don't believe these rumours about McGahan and I don't think he is in survival mode yet but he really needs to win this weekend. Feck up our HEC pool chances and the knives will be out.

I'd be surprised and dissapointed if they fire a coach in the first quarter of the season. He's had one vey good season, one goodish season, should be allowed the whole of this season to prove himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Yeah, it's so bloody soccer like for people to call for the coach's head - he has had to deal with a crock of sh1t since he took over - an ageing team and more injuries to key players than you could shake a big stick at. I say leave the man alone, these things come in cycles and we're, hopefully, nearing the bottom of one.

This Saturday at Thomond Park we're going to have two teams that have struggled to score tries, two teams with strong defending ability and two outhalves that can kick the leather off the ball; is it really going to come down to which side is the most disciplined? If it does, I fear for Munster. :(

C'MON MUNSTER/TOULON :confused: