Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Security, Are You Safe As A House?

• 21-03-2010 1:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

Well I suppose in today's trend with all the house break in's, how is your home

security?

do you leave your alarm system on when your home?

Are you inclined to lock yourself in when you arrive home?

Do you turn your alarm system on when your at home?

do you worry about being broken into?

Has your home being burgled?:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

My house is quite safe.
    No, not been burgled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I, as a house is pretty safe.

I, as a person is not so safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

We leave the key in the door and have no alarm systems, it's the original door too, my house has no security really.

But it's still safe! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Broken into and trashed last year. Alarm, locks day and night and light sleep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Where are you minidazzler?

I'm in a first-floor apartment in a gated complex (granted, the gate is nearly always broken - when it's working though, you open it with your phone, which is pretty cool :cool:). Not a bother though. I've no alarm - never needed one and I've been living there on and off since 2001.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

mail4liam wrote: »

security?

Are you a burglar that works for a home security firm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Don't have an alarm here (Cork City). No fears of anyone breaking in either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Home Security, Are You Safe As A House?

♫ All dead but still alive, in endless time and endless art. ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

There's too many guns in the village I live in to need an alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I have an elaborate alarm system that is hooked up to my stereo with speakers placed at strategic locations around the house.

As soon as the alarm is tripped, this drops for all to hear.

Works a charm. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Secruity me eye, i lock the door when im not home, but when im home i always have the door unlocked until early morning before i go to bed, let some fool break in and ill sort em out fairly lively and make no mistake, in fact i would relish the challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

a couple of months ago, the house 2 doors down got broken in to, the next night my next door neighbour got an attempted break in

so i spent about 3 weeks sitting up will 5 am with my hurley in hand just in case

no break ins though, not here anyway

no alarm (fake one alright) no deadbolts, no cameras

just me, my hurley, a cricket bat, a hammer and a selection of knives from the chopping block

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Living in a 2nd floor flat, only access through front door or a window at the front...both are locked at night, window is open only when someone is at home during the day.

Never been broken into

Security consists of some of my hurleys, a hammer and pool cue within v close proximity to my bed...and my bro lives 1 min away with an american bulldog as a pet/guard dog:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I installed an alarm system when we moved in a few years ago - it cost €40 on EBay & reduced the insurance on the contents by €30 a year. I installed it, but actually haven't got round to reading the manual, so it's never been programmed or even plugged in.

If the house gets burgaled, I'll do it then (presuming they don't steal the manual too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

security?

Possibly the craftiest scouting that i've ever witnessed here on boards.

kryogen wrote: »

just me, and my hurley

You lucky tyke - I wouldn't mind being alone with her for a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I live in a shared house with various others. There was a house alarm when I moved in, but as far as I was told, it wasn't working and was "in the process of being fixed".
    A couple of weeks ago, I was discussing details of the house with the key tenant as I was taking over things, after he moved out.
    I asked him if it would be possible to get the landlord over to fix the alarm to which he replied "Ahh sure, it works! But I can't be arsed activating it!"

:rolleyes: Good idea! It's not like houses are going to get broken in to or anything.

When I get home, I make sure all the windows are shut, I put both locks on the door and I turn on lights to make it look like there's more than just me in the house (if no one else is home)

My house was broken in to as a child and it scared me for life, to be honest. Our computer and various things were stolen. On top of that, a friend of my parents was stabbed to death by someone who broke in to his family home a few weeks later.
    His family visits mine every Christmas and years later, their lives are still torn apart by his death.
    Breaking in to someone's home, a place they consider safe, for your own gain is a disgusting thing to do and it cannot ever be justified.

... I apologise for my essay :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

You lucky tyke - I wouldn't mind being alone with her for a bit.

oh i know, i have never held something so shapely and smooth before in my life, and she isnt much of a talker either which is an obvious bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Insomnia & a golf club. Thats my alarm system.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Not secured but I'm watching Home Alone for some tips. Hanging some paint cans in the hall as we speak!

kryogen wrote: »
    oh i know, i have never held something so shapely and smooth before in my life, and she isnt much of a talker either which is an obvious bonus

Plus you'll always have wood with the Hurley. Winner all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

In the city/suburbs where I spend most of my week, house is alarmed, doors are always kept locked. In the country door left open during the day, locked at night or when not around. Dogs and shotgun act as a deterent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

Are you a burglar that works for a home security firm?

No! No! No!

But I might become a Burglar when this thread end's ?

Possibly the craftiest scouting that i've ever witnessed here on boards.

Ah no, I just thought it was the wife who was security concise, I've often wen't out to get a bucket of coal and couldn't get back in... I thought she was trying to tell me something...?

Jaysus, if she's that bad, I'm surprised that the coal isn't kept indoors!

The bucket is, When it's full..

Dudess wrote: »
    Where are you minidazzler?

I'm in a first-floor apartment in a gated complex (granted, the gate is nearly always broken - when it's working though, you open it with your phone, which is pretty cool :cool:). Not a bother though. I've no alarm - never needed one and I've been living there on and off since 2001.

I could get specific, but I won't here...but southside.

Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Secruity me eye, i lock the door when im not home, but when im home i always have the door unlocked until early morning before i go to bed, let some fool break in and ill sort em out fairly lively and make no mistake, in fact i would relish the challenge.

Would you "sort out" the gun/ knife/ baseball bat etc also?

Cork?

Well, that is just a little obvious! :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Pretty safe. No alarm, but I do live with a dog. That'll provide the warning. The safety is provided by a blued SIG-Sauer P2340 chambered in 357SIG loaded with ten rounds of Corbon jacketed hollow point and the fact that my bedroom door opens straight to a straight staircase. The archetypal 'Fatal Funnel.' Second magazine is kept handy.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Pretty safe. No alarm, but I do live with a dog. That'll provide the warning. The safety is provided by a blued SIG-Sauer P2340 chambered in 357SIG loaded with ten rounds of Corbon jacketed hollow point and the fact that my bedroom door opens straight to a straight staircase. The archetypal 'Fatal Funnel.' Second magazine is kept handy.

NTM

Ah, you not only keep your firearm and ammunition together, you keep your gun loaded? Not exactly legal or safe for that matter. That's not something your FO would be too happy about either ;)

Not sure how that would fare when telling the police you shot a burglar, especially if he is unarmed ;)

Ah, you not only keep your firearm and ammunition together, you keep your gun loaded? Not exactly legal or safe for that matter. That's not something your FO would be too happy about either ;)

Not sure how that would fare when telling the police you shot a burglar, especially if he is unarmed ;)

MM is living in America...not Ireland.

Also, what the fcuk use is a pistol for protection if you don't keep the ammunition near or in it?

And finally, screw that burglar, shouldn't have been in the house in the first place!

MM is living in America...not Ireland.

Also, what the fcuk use is a pistol for protection if you don't keep the ammunition near or in it?

And finally, screw that burglar, shouldn't have been in the house in the first place!

Ah, well that makes perfect sense then :) Completely different set of rules, my bad, I apologise. It would be a very unusual thing to have in Ireland.

You can't get a firearm in Ireland for protection. ;)

Screw the burglar is right, but screw him over with your hurl or whatever. I wouldn't kill him. Thing is, some of these burglars are not exactly bad people, I know that sounds stupid, but some are desperate people who lost their job but have a family to look after. Understandable, but would still get a hurl broke over his back for entering my house :P

Ah, well that makes perfect sense then :) Completely different set of rules, my bad, I apologise. It would be a very unusual thing to have in Ireland.

You can't get a firearm in Ireland for protection. ;)

Screw the burglar is right, but screw him over with your hurl or whatever. I wouldn't kill him. Thing is, some of these burglars are not exactly bad people, I know that sounds stupid, but some are desperate people who lost their job but have a family to look after. Understandable, but would still get a hurl broke over his back for entering my house :P

I don't own a hurley (or a gun for that matter :() But don't be so bleeding heart. Someone comes into your house uninvited in the night, you can bet they don't intend to give you roses.

And realistically, someone breaking into your house is not a dedicated family man who has just fallen on hard times. They would generally be people looking for a quick buck for more illicit activities.

I don't own a hurley (or a gun for that matter :() But don't be so bleeding heart. Someone comes into your house uninvited in the night, you can bet they don't intend to give you roses.

And realistically, someone breaking into your house is not a dedicated family man who has just fallen on hard times. They would generally be people looking for a quick buck for more illicit activities.

I try to look at it from another point of view. Depending on the situation, the burglar may not be able to leave my home ;) Regardless of what situation he is in, I wouldn't give a damn. There's more than likely a link between the rise in unemployment and the rise in crime. Although, I would expect people to be shoplifting rather than breaking into houses. If 2 big burly fcukers broke into my home, I would shít a birck, stay in my bedroom and let them take what they wanted. Later I would think to myself, why didn't I challange them :P It all depends on the situation to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I have a Pitbull who'd pull the clouds out of the heaven's for me and can make the front gate in about 1.5 nano-seconds, and a Staffordfordshire Bull Terrier who'd strip their victim to bare bones just as quick.

Failing that happening for some reason, yes my house is very secure, I'm very secure but I'm sure I make the scumbags in my area feel very insecure - so all's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I would take security serious, in the course of my work I encounter some nasty people; and sometimes my team has to make decisions that upset them. Assitionally, I own a few firearms so I a good security system.

A lot of my clients break into houses, so that keeps me quite security conscious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

I was broken into 2 years ago, middle of the night, 4 guys, hoodies, and a crow bar - not only did they come in a take what they wanted they also saw fit to storm into my bedroom wake me up and demand that i give them the drugs.... The nearest things I have to drugs would be Lemsip Max Strength. By the way I'm a woman and was alone in the house.

The transpires that I bought my house from an ex dealer (it is actually in a very respectable area) and the four scum hadn't registered the new owner!

Advice from Police was that even if I did retaliate I could only attack unpunished if I could prove my life was in danger - so realistically that means if they were upstairs and I used a non obvious weapon.. so knife/cricketbat/hurley in the bedroom would be considered a weapon, but a hammer/screwdriver/maglite torch (security gaurd style) are all items that could realistically be lying around upstairs.

2 years later - I have a 7 stone labrador/bloodhound cross who would happily go all turner and hooch on anyone trying to get in, hurley upstairs, hurley downstairs and not only do I lock all the doors as soon as I get in I also blockade the backdoor with kitchen chairs so it couldn't possibly be opened (I know this is mental so only do it when I don't have people staying). Also get up at least 3 times a night reacting to noises.... Not good!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A widow, living alone in my area was broken into, she didn't bother call the gardai , she rand the local pub , the 3 raiders ended uo in hospital.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I have an alarm system but do not use it. Alarms are useless and selfish, biggest waste of money ever. Unless you are willing to give your neighbour a spare key and the alarm code then it is pointless setting an alarm, because in the event that it goes off everyone presumes its a nuisance and totally ignores it. Contrary to popular belief the Guards do not come when an alarm rings. I am not willing to give the key to the neighbours so I dont use it.

Our estate was plagued by nuisance alarms in the first few years. One went off for an entire weekend once, no-one came. Thats when I stopped using mine. They are anti-social and useless.

However, I lock my door even when I am in. I also would never leave a ground floor window open while I am home (or out obviously) I was born and raised in Dublin where crime is the norm and was flabberghasted in the past by a flatmate from a small town who left the house leaving a large ground floor window open. He couldn't cmprehend what he had done wrong.

My boyfriend gets annoyed when he comes home and the door is locked but why would anyone leave their front door open for any scumbag to walk into their house?!

You're all mad decribing where you live btw! Thugs read the internets you know! ARGH:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

my area is very secure, my house is very secure, i am not so secure, sometimes i get a little sad and.......... oh wait, im away to PI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Any motherf*cker breaks in my house I kill the the motherf*cker

Where I rent (housing estate) we lock the door at night or when no one is around. There is an alarm but never been used or even mentioned since I moved in. We would leave upstairs windows open all day while away.

My home house in the country we generally lock the door at night only. More often than no if going somewhere during the day with no one at home the door wouldn't be locked, we have a big garage that has never been locked in the 25 years its been built. We also have a habit of leaving the keys in the ignition of the cars at home. I don't think there is a house alarm within a 5 mile radius of my home house.

I'am some what of the opinion that if someone wants to break in a locked door wont stop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

I have very secure exterior doors with loads of locks, spyhole etc.
    Not so secure windows - although i make up for it with big anti social spiky bushes at every window. If someones going to come into my house i'd prefer for them to be shredded and bleeding. I also think that tar glue stuff is great for the tops of walls etc...
    Considering getting a box/cover over the inside of the letter box to make 'fishing' more difficult etc...

With all this 'i'd kill/batter the burglar' posts - the burglars know this and 9 times out of ten will watch your routines and make sure your gone, most people seem to forget that most houses are broke into when folks are gone.

Locust wrote: »
    I have very secure exterior doors with loads of locks.
    Not so secure windows - although i make up for it with big anti social spiky bushes at every window.
    Considering getting a box/cover over the inside of the letter box to make 'fishing' more difficult etc...

With all this 'i'd kill/batter the burglar' posts - the burglars know this and 9 times out of ten will watch your routines and make sure your gone, most people seem to forget that most houses are broke into when folks are gone.

Yeah, they will make sure the house is empty, but for the most part burglars would be after a quick score, just a little thing they can sell fast for cash, Xbox, Laptop, TV small enough to be carried out.

They don't watch you for days, they don't do much surveillance. It's quick and usually quite random.

I live in an area where this is not uncommon, I know people that do it, I get offered a new TV or Xbox every couple of weeks for 50 euro.

The fact is, when cops tell you it's an organised crime, they are wrong. It's very disorganised, get in, grab, get out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

the burglars know this and 9 times out of ten will watch your routines and make sure your gone, most people seem to forget that most houses are broke into when folks are gone.

Actually, I'm not sure that's correct. In the UK, the 'hot burglary' rate (i.e. where the resident is actually present in the building at the time the burglary occurs) is somewhere around 55%. I presume Ireland will be somewhat similar.

The US the rate is about 10%. It's presumed that the fact that most States allow you to shoot burglars tends to cause them to be very careful about who they rob and when. Doesn't necessarily cut down on burglaries, but it certainly makes it less likely that there will be anyone put at risk as there's less chance of an unintented meeting.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Best alarm system I ever had was my dog. She was small, but her bark made her sound a lot bigger.

As for the actual alarm system, it's pretty good, except for one area in the house where a sensor is broke, have to bypass that section. All windows and doors locked at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The trend is downwards. There are less house robberies now than in years gone.

Personal robberies have increased because often people are carrying the more expensive items they own, iphones, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Started to lock the doors when I'm inside when a neighbour had 4 drunken teens smash his front door in to rob him. Kinda defeats the purpose if they are just going to ram the door through but at least make it hard for them!