Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beavis and Butthead

• 12-03-2010 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭

I was reading today that Beavis and Butthead was first aired in March 93, 17 years ago, making me feel quite old.

Due to no My Space and snail pace internet it was a great show to watch two metal head eejits and get to listen to good tunes. It was my introduction to White Zombie, ween and many more.

Any one else got fond memories or did ye think they were two dilholes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

ah the mid nineties was great. i loved beavis and butthead and loved watching them laugh at random videos. you can buy them on dvd pretty cheap these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

Brilliant, plus couldnt see videos for primus anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

"Yoohoo! Travis & Bob-Head!" :D Gotta love the film!

I've got all the episodes downloaded - over 4gb. They're so funny, only a few minutes long. I used to love staying up late as a kid and watching the music videos with them talking/ mocking/ uh uhuhuh uh-ing over them. Especially Cher - Turn Back Time :D

God, I miss the 90s. That show was the only decent thing to come out of MTV, (I'm including Daria as part of B&B)

Omg! Just remembered the one where Beavis is using the buzz saw in wood shop and is doing his maniacal laugh/eyes bulging, sawing up everything, chops his thumb off, freaks out, Butthead laughing at him, teacher can't ring the ambulance or do anything cos they buzz sawed the phone and medical box in half! :D PMSL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

"Oh, there are so many schlots, you won't know where to begin."

Haha, gotta love it. I was still only a nipper when it was originally airing, but I remember staying up many a night to watch it on MTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

'couch fishing' seemed to be air every second day for a long while.

I loved the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

B&B Rule!! The best thing MTV ever did, course MTV doesnt do music videos annymore, just spolied kids throwing a strop when they don't get a $500,000 car for their 16th.

anyway, B&B were/are class - huh huh uh huh huh yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    ah the mid nineties was great. i loved beavis and butthead and loved watching them laugh at random videos. you can buy them on dvd pretty cheap these days.

yeah - picked up the complete box set a couple of weeks back, 10 DVDs inc the music, movie etc......class..
    just checked it there and it's €15.50 on Play, think I got it for a little cheaper than that......but still decent value....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Loved Beavis and Butthead. Enjoyed the movie too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Ah MTV was great during the 90's, used show shows like Beavis and Butthead, Daria and I think Celebrity Deathmatch. As well as that the music was great that they showed and it was a real pop culture phenomen. But now it's sh*t. These stupid ass shows The Hills, Pimp My Ride and those other shows are what's runing MTV. You hardly ever hear any music on it, and it just looks so watered down. It's like they've forgotten what MTV was all about and are just leeching off the simple minded and materialistic people who watch those shows which is basically bubblegum for the brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Jemmaa

Never liked them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Satyr_The_Great

Bungholes.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Ah MTV was great during the 90's, used show shows like Beavis and Butthead, Daria and I think Celebrity Deathmatch.

I think daria was at a later stage and Celebrity deathmatch came much later.

Around the time of B&B there were 2 other cartoons on mtv called 'the head' and 'the maxx'

Old Mtv ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Another favourite - Plantman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

I AM CORNHOLIO!!! I NEED TP FOR MY BUNGHOLE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

What a great show and still remains one of my favourites, cannot believe it is that old, but more to the pity it doesn't run any-more. Last year in Edinburgh, in a small charity store, I found a VHS of 'The Head' for 50p and purchased it...that brought back some memories after all these years!

For a time when it was all much simpler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Uncle Buck

Thanks for the tip, checked out play and bought - 15.49!!! Bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Uncle Buck

Actually, just noticed that the EUR price is higher than the GBP price - €15.49 vs. £11.99. If you work it out that is about 0.77 when the current rate today is in around 0.89! Best to buy in STG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

I personally thought the show was brilliant myself,they're as much a part of my childhood as Bosco was.Turned me onto some music I may not have gotten into otherwise.
    17 years tho,where in the name Cornholio does the time go!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

NIBBS wrote: »
    yeah - picked up the complete box set a couple of weeks back, 10 DVDs inc the music, movie etc......class..
    just checked it there and it's €15.50 on Play, think I got it for a little cheaper than that......but still decent value....

Hi can I ask where did you get the box set as I am looking to pick up dvd's or videos. Loved those shows got a great laugh from them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

steph1 wrote: »
    Hi can I ask where did you get the box set as I am looking to pick up dvd's or videos. Loved those shows got a great laugh from them :D
    http://www.sendit.com/dvd/beavis-and-butthead-collectors-edition/8621490.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I used to always watch this and tbh I never had a fcuking clue what was goin on.Program was absolute madness!

where in the name Cornholio does the time go!!!

are you disrespecting me? I need tea pee, tea pee for my bunghole!:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

are you disrespecting me? I need tea pee, tea pee for my bunghole!:D

= Fail :D

Are you threatening me?!

Loved B&B. Nothing better than coming home drunk and sticking on the video with highlights of 120 Minutes and B&B episodes.

Dyflin wrote: »
    Are you threatening me?!

Fair cop. I'll have to get this boxset at somestage over the weekend, too many memories for me not to want to have a little piece of nostalgia around! And its so cheap everywhere I'd be mad not to grab it!

Fartknocker
    Dillweed
    Buttmunch
    Asswipe
    etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Around the time of B&B there were 2 other cartoons on mtv called 'the head' and 'the maxx'
    Heh. Hurh Hurh. He said "head". Heh Heh. :P

I can't remember where I first saw Happy Tree Friends - was it MTV? It is not for children or the squeamish ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Ah MTV was great during the 90's, used show shows like Beavis and Butthead, Daria and I think Celebrity Deathmatch. As well as that the music was great that they showed and it was a real pop culture phenomen. But now it's sh*t. These stupid ass shows The Hills, Pimp My Ride and those other shows are what's runing MTV. You hardly ever hear any music on it, and it just looks so watered down. It's like they've forgotten what MTV was all about and are just leeching off the simple minded and materialistic people who watch those shows which is basically bubblegum for the brain.

I miss Ray Cokes.

mtv_ray_cokes2_1991.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭tomplaya

beavis and butthead are back on mtv in october for a new series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

You know what, I might actually watch MTV now for a welcome change, seeing as Mike Judge is back with more. :) Can't wait to what these dillhole's will be like in october! I just hope the animation stays typically grainy as it was back in the original series, it was all part of Beavis and Butthead's awesomeness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Looking at this you honestly wouldn't think it was 2011 - you'd think it was 1993 all over again, which I have to applaud, they have really kept the nostalgic feel to it

From this clip I am really pleased to see the "Winger Kid" is still around with his Winger shirt, don't know how many people will still get that reference but I do and I think it's excellent they chose to keep it this way and not have, for example, him wearing a HIM or BFMV shirt or something

"She usually doesn't have sex with her big brother lol" - classic, I think this is going to be a sure fire hit for the next few years at least....I cannot wait to see some new episodes of this - when is it coming back officially?

Them watching Geordie Shore and Run's House etc is bound to go down really well lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Brilliant,cannot wait for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

That clip had me in stitches,just like the old days! Roll on October,can't wait for this.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭TheStickyBandit

How awesomwe was that, Stigmata from lake TP KaKa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Nailz wrote: »
    You know what, I might actually watch MTV now for a welcome change, seeing as Mike Judge is back with more. :) Can't wait to what these dillhole's will be like in october! I just hope the animation stays typically grainy as it was back in the original series, it was all part of Beavis and Butthead's awesomeness.
    I hate when they 'improve' the quality of cartoon production. The grainy look is one of the defining characteristics of B&B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Beavis and butthead RULE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I hate when they 'improve' the quality of cartoon production. The grainy look is one of the defining characteristics of B&B.

Same with music videos in general, like Blackhole Sun or Smells like Teen Spirit. So edgy and apathetic. All this HD clarity, edited colours and camera filtering is useless in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Nea wrote: »

Dammit Bunghole . . they took it down.

sucks!!

MetalDog wrote: »
    Dammit Bunghole . . they took it down.

sucks!!

Here it is again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

We pruned your house as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

That was awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Beavis's seems to be voiced by someone else now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

"He will be an albino and a gringo"

hahaha the two lads are back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Can't wait for this, especially if it's true to the old episodes.

Been a huge fan since I was a young young lad.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Mtv was soooooooooooooooo much better from like 1990-1997 and it went downhill after that,anyone remember the beavis and butthead movie?I remember seeing it when I was 11 in 97 and thinking it was the coolest film ever :-P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Mtv was soooooooooooooooo much better from like 1990-1997 and it went downhill after that,anyone remember the beavis and butthead movie?I remember seeing it when I was 11 in 97 and thinking it was the coolest film ever :-P.

Pretty sure I still have a VHS of the Beavis and Butthead movie laying around somewhere.

And now I feel really feckin old! :pac:

When they meet the old woman on the bus who's going to "score" in Vegas, just a classic film....and in the end, they get their TV back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

When they meet the old woman on the bus who's going to "score" in Vegas, just a classic film....and in the end, they get their TV back...

as mentioned earlier

"Oh, there are so many schlots, you won't know where to begin."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Harrocks

Beavis's seems to be voiced by someone else now.

Yes the voice is slightly off whether its someone new or not i dont know.Looking forward to reliving my youth doe.