If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Photographers - get right up the front at Dublin's St Patrick's Parade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Hey folks, sorry about the delay in getting to you!

Thanks to the generosity of the ST Patricks Festival Festival people, I now have 16 passes and 16 photographers to take them!

1. Hearvee
    2. Longshanks100
    3. chowdown
    4. PabD
    5. m_s_nixon
    6. zaraba
    7. eightcell
    8. tororosso
    9. Naos
    10. deep1
    11. Dara Robinson
    12. CasimiR
    13. swingking
    14. one2one
    15. Chorcai
    16. Hugh_C
    I'm going to drop you all a PM with details of when to collect them, etc. Hope you enjoy (and again, sorry about the delay!)

Darragh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

Lovely, thanks for that Darragh!
    Was hoping to see an update before heading to the pub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Now guys, we want to see loads of Dublin Parade pics posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Thanks daragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭m_s_nixon

thanks daragh, looking forward to it :)

here's a photo comp for anyone interested, had a quick look through the t&c's but didn't see anything regarding copyright etc.

http://www.stpatricksfestival.ie/cms/home_photocomp.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Really sorry about the late notice, but afraid im going have to pull out. Does anybody else want to talk my place?
    Thanks a million for the offer though Darragh. Really appreciated it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭monkeyman

Really sorry about the late notice, but afraid im going have to pull out. Does anybody else want to talk my place?
    Thanks a million for the offer though Darragh. Really appreciated it

Yep, I'll take that if it is going. Did Darragh PM you details?

monkeyman wrote: »
    Yep, I'll take that if it is going. Did Darragh PM you details?

He did and I've just after replying to it to outline the above. Try him yourself or failing that show up as me? It seems just your user name is required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

If anyone else has to drop out, feel free to send a PM this way, it would be much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Yep just send on details to replacements pls. Should be no bother. :)

Mine just sent onto monkeyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Morning folks,

Sorry on the extremely late delay with this one but myself and PabD cannot make the event, so there are two tickets. Got tied into work :S

If it's okay with Darragh, feel free to use our user id's to give the tickets to someone who'd make good use of them.

User IDs:
    Naos
    PabD

Cheers and have fun on your day off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭deep1

Naos wrote: »
    Morning folks,

Sorry on the extremely late delay with this one but myself and PabD cannot make the event, so there are two tickets. Got tied into work :S

If it's okay with Darragh, feel free to use our user id's to give the tickets to someone who'd make good use of them.

User IDs:
    Naos
    PabD

Cheers and have fun on your day off :pac:

I will take one.
    Naos.

Right on my way in. See everyone,who's coming there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭monkeyman

Didn't get too many decent photo's. Got there at 11am but I was still 2 from the front and couldn't get a clear view at any of the performers. Will post a few tomorrow.

Thanks Darragh for the passes.

Lucky bastards. Wish I'd seen this thread a few days/weeks ago.

Fair play Darragh! And congrats to everyone who got in on time. Hope ye had a good time, regardless of how many fantastic or terrible photos you took. :)

Thanks so much Darragh for the passes. Couldn't have gotten the shots I took today without them. Much much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Thanks Darragh, was great to have the access. Although next year I am shooting for a proper press pass, none of this "behind the barrier" crap :D

What exactly did the pass do for you guys, out of curiousity?

Allow you on the other side of the railing? Could you just run amuck as you felt? (I doubt it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

What exactly did the pass do for you guys, out of curiousity?

Allow you on the other side of the railing? Could you just run amuck as you felt? (I doubt it?)

It was to a vetted area with a fixed amount of people, but still there was many parents and kids pushing up for the view.
    I was right up at a barrier with Dara Robinson and one2one, and no, we could not run amuck!

Thanks again for the wristband Darragh!

I left it just after the parade began and just followed it up the street.

Viewing conditions were better outside the VIP area then within and the crowd were noticeably better as well. There were far too many people in the VIP area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Hearvee

Yep, thanks again Darragh, great to be able to get a spot at the front.

Sorry I didn't get talking to anyone but when I got in I took a quick walk up and down and then grabbed a spot at the railing and didn't move!

The vetted area was a bit like any other area though, pretty damned busy. In fact there were two guys accross the road from me who had a great spot where the railings angled out a bit, giving them a great view up the street.

Just gonna add a couple of shots onto the main thread now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭m_s_nixon

Cheers for the passes Darragh.

It wasn't much different to the rest of the viewing areas. The only real difference was that you'd probably need to arrive an hour earlier to get as good a spot outside the vetted area. But it was a good spot across from the grand stands, plenty of famous faces about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭CasimiR

m_s_nixon wrote: »
    . But it was a good spot across from the grand stands, plenty of famous faces about :)

indeed

Thanks again Darragh, great spot, good day out :) next time can we get press passes ?