Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever stolen anything?

• 10-03-2010 8:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

Hopefully this thread will get a few people arrested :p

Have you ever stolen anything in your life?

If so, what .. and did you feel guilty .. or not?

I have stolen lots of stuff when I was young and I do feel bad about most it now, if not all of it.

The biggest I suppose was when myself and mate robbed a box of Transformers back in '86.

The Transformers TV show was big at the time and my folks just couldn't afford to get me one.

Loads of kids in school had them and we were two little fcukers who just couldn't be told no.

So, there we were down the back of the toy shop and we stuck about seven or eight of them in our school bags and pegged it.

Went to a local hideout / treehouse were we played Transformer battles :cool:

Then on the way home we were rumbled, had to pay the money back from my pocket money all that summer, so no World Cup '86 buying footie stickers for us.

Then however .... :o

We nicked about a dozen BOXES of Fifa World Cup '86 stickers from outside a local shop that only opened at Midday on Sundays as they were delivered to a storage box outside.

Feel a little guilty about it but it was the best summer ever '86.

Other than that, we used to stroke Cool Pops from the freezer of a local shop by reaching in and sliding a few up your sleeve but then only pulling one out and paying for it.

Also, in that shop you could crawl along on your belly to the doorway entrance, slide your hand inside and swipe 1.5ltrs of Fanta and Coke wothout been seen.

That's about it really and today I'm in The Joy :pac:

Nah, the only thing I would be guilty of robbing now really would be the record companies,

I rip MP3s from YouTube videos, which is stealing, no doubt about it.

I do buy a lot of CDs and DVDs though, which I know doesn't excuse it.

So, how about you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The heart of my wife - and I'm keeping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Biggins wrote: »
    The heart of my wife - and I'm keeping it.

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc249/jeffgallagher187/PicardWTF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Oh sure, now he's a little boy stealing little toys, but someday he will be a grown man stealing stadiums and... quarries

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I stole yore ma's virginity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I'll be honest (please don't arrest me).

I did steal ice creams (mars ice cream *drools*) and stuff from the shop around the corner from me when I was younger.

Never stole anything of any real value though (just sweets).

I suppose when you are a kid and haven't got money for things that you want, you just don't have the sense to think of the consequences.
    Or the fact that you are taking money from someone who is just trying to make a living.

I would never steal anything now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

callaway92 wrote: »
    I stole yore ma's virginity

Da?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Whoever says no is a liar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Does piggybacking on someone else's unsecured internet signal count as stealing? If so then yes - I"m stealing right now.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Stolen sweets when i was younger alright. And have 'borrowed' a lot of stuff from my jobs over the years. I'll be caught one day if any of my bosses come to mine or my mothers house :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭EraseAndRewind

stole a big box of milky bars off the back of a lorry while on the hop from school....sat in a field and scoffed the lot:pac:

also used to rob crappy earrings and bracelets from my local pound shop..classy burd eh:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

When I was a young lad back in Holland I used to frequently rob sweets, money,Toys, and pre rolled splifs from the local spliffed up dealers instead of giving them 5 Gulden (around 11Euro's these days) I would give them one Gulden instead :)

Used to order Lumpia's (sort of a springroll but much better) from the chinese at the local market every week take it off them and run like hell.

And I had new Bike pretty much every single week, in Holland nobody really owns a bike.

Stole another 150 Gulden to buy a Gameboy.
    Stole ninja stars and swords, and switch blades from the local army shops.

Do I feel guilty not at all, had a great time back then young and stupid still laugh about the grazy **** I did back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I've shoplifted a doughnut and a Snickers bar when I was drunk on two different occasions. I also ended up dropping that doughnut on the pavement. What a pisser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DingosAteMyBaby

i robbed a load of porn cards from a shop in Turkey when i was about 15:D i also stole a few pirated gameboy games that holiday.. i think i got addicted to the adrenaline rush:p nowadays i turn into a right thief when im drunk, i hate it! unattended drinks, hats, and a single high heel.. which was a bit random as im a guy... my friends robbed a pair of shoes last night actually, someone left them on a table in maccy d's.. we all turn into kleptos when we're pissed, its gonna get me beaten up one of these days.. and id deserve it.. especially the drinks one its well bad like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

only TP for my bunghole.

i robbed a load of porn cards from a shop in Turkey when i was about 15:D i also stole a few pirated gameboy games that holiday.. i think i got addicted to the adrenaline rush:p nowadays i turn into a right thief when im drunk, i hate it! unattended drinks, hats, and a single high heel.. which was a bit random as im a guy... my friends robbed a pair of shoes last night actually, someone left them on a table in maccy d's.. we all turn into kleptos when we're pissed, its gonna get me beaten up one of these days.. and id deserve it.. especially the drinks one its well bad like

Actually, that's another to my list :p

Stole a pack of Nudey Playing Cards from a shop in SoHo when I was 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Group of us used to rob our lunches in school.

I used to mitch off and go into Dublin (from Wicklow). Rob books and comics and read them on the Green. Bit of a nerd, I'm afraid. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

When I was a child I robbed one green and one red tube, of bloody rennies!! I wanted to give myself indigestion, not cure it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Does piggybacking on someone else's unsecured internet signal count as stealing? If so then yes - I"m stealing right now.

but it pops up on my computer! :D

when i was young we used to yoink sweets and ice pops. also rattled a few nail polishes from the pound shop. stole a little notebook once too, nearly shat meself over that one though.

If stealing from your parents counts then few confessions there too :p

Used to steal alcohol from the cabinet and make Rocket Fuel.

All of us would get what we could and then mix it in a 2ltr bottle, was disgusting but had the craic up the cornfield getting buckled with the spanish students :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

OutlawPete wrote: »

All of us would get what we could and then mix it in a 2ltr bottle, was disgusting but had the craic up the cornfield getting buckled with the spanish students :D

Oh yeah i'd have a bigger list too if parents are involved... Money,drink, pretty much anything not nailed down

*Obviously stealing is wrong and should not be condoned :pac:

OutlawPete wrote: »

oh god yeah, drink cabinet got slaughtered, thank god they rarely drank.

the concoctions were woeful, rum, vodka, whiskey, peach schnapps and brandy! :D wired to the feckin moon for hours! :D

i remember when we were movin home and it came to the drink cabinet and i just said "ma, i think you might need to throw all of that water out now....." :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭BLACKEN

jesus you seem like f**kin angels compared to myself!lol but i have rules........... i only steal from banks,insurance companies and THE GOVERMENT not from the ordinary hard working man on the street! thats jus pathetic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

Mac daddy wrote: »
    When I was a young lad back in Holland I used to frequently rob sweets, money,Toys, and pre rolled splifs from the local spliffed up dealers instead of giving them 5 Gulden (around 11Euro's these days) I would give them one Gulden instead :)

Used to order Lumpia's (sort of a springroll but much better) from the chinese at the local market every week take it off them and run like hell.

And I had new Bike pretty much every single week, in Holland nobody really owns a bike.

Stole another 150 Gulden to buy a Gameboy.
    Stole ninja stars and swords, and switch blades from the local army shops.

Do I feel guilty not at all, had a great time back then young and stupid still laugh about the grazy **** I did back then.
    hahahaha when i was a young lad in holland too,i used to do the exact same thing go to the asian foodstall in the saturday market order bapao's (kind of a bread roll with mince inside them) take them and then peg it,worked for about 4 weeks in a row until the vendor called the police then on week 5 as soon as we pegged it with our food,the old bill or politie were waitin for us,i got a right spankering off the aul fella,haha good times,and then during my teen years in tesco in finglas we used to go into the offo take a few bottles of booze then burst out the firedoor at the side and into the housing estate only to send another 2 lads in an hour later to ge more booze,ah good times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Oh sure, now he's a little boy stealing little toys, but someday he will be a grown man stealing stadiums and... quarries
    there really is a simpsons quote for every situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

About 600gb of movies/tv shows, and around 200gb games/software.

I'm baaad :cool:

Oh, and maybe 50gb music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I stole a chocolate bar from a shop when I was a kid. I also stole Premier League stickers out of a kids coat pocket when they were all the rage back in the 90's(for kids anyway). Other then that I think i've been a good boy most of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

<stands up in a circle of strangers nervously>

Hi, Ehh, I'm John...and I'm a Kleptomaniac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When I was 15 or 16, I was desperate to get a copy of the Official Playstation magazine. I hadnt a bob and couldnt ask me parents. I came very close to putting it under me coat in the newsagents one day. I luckily saw sense though. When i look back now, i realise what a complete idiot i was. I mean getting a criminal record for a computer games mag. Now i realise i should have went for the top shelf and got hustler or something. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I use to grab chocolate bars, crisps etc and have them eaten before I got to the checkout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I had an earring and hair accessory fetish when I was about 14/15 all right.

ddef wrote: »
    Hi, Ehh, I'm John...and I'm a Kleptomaniac.
    Yeah, I was mad into kleps too - hair kleps.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Nope. How many of you thieves are from dublin?;)

A lot I'd say, seeing as most members on Boards are from Dublin - why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

Cos dubs have no morals.. didnt you know?

I was a demon for staeling sweets drinks from our local shops (as a kid)... was so easy cos the place would be jammers with school kids (nearly everyone had to pass the shops on the way home)... I stopped after the shopie saw me and came after me ... i ran...anyways dont feel good about now but I aint losing no sleep

This thread has remined me of a different situation which im not sure is classed as stealing but I could have come clean easly enough. While out purchasing a new TV and VCR (yes thats right a VCR!) (many moons ago) at a well known electrical shop. I selected both with help of a salesman, so he wrote it up, I grabbed a VCR from the shelf and made my way to the checkout, paid, was told it'll be 5 mins for the tv to come out so went out and put the vcr in the car. 5 mins later man comes out with the order, loads em into my car and off i go. On arriving home I find I have 2 VCR's as the man brought one out aswell as me taking one from the shelf. So I had 2 and I kept both of them. Whahaha

i'm a country girl but i have dublin cousins, so ye know... that explains my thievin :rolleyes:

I feel discriminated against :(

Think someone should start a thread titled: "The D Word".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

Dam those Dubs stealing our Women & Jobs sweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Wicklow myself, but Da is from Dublin so that's that explained. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

When I was young I stole sweets from a corner shop.

When I was slightly older I stole hundreds of pens from dozens of shops all over town.

I stream live football, download dvds and software on a daily basis, have downloaded several music albums, and piggyback on other people's unprotected broadband all the time.

I use my housemate's laundry powder every time.

Yep, I steal.

Columbia wrote: »
    I use my housemate's laundry powder every time.

Monster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭twitch1984

The local shop where i live waz basically the shop from d'unbeliveables d'video {not azageration}
    We robbed eveything from penny sweets to the post office money box when we were younger.
    Jaysus im 25 now and was still whippin fags outta d place when up until a year ago {when it closed}
    never felt bad till now when its after been knocked,
    dont feel bad bout robbin d place but feel bad coz i cant do it anymore

ps. didnt feel bad for the guy who owened it caz NO.1 hes a prick and NO.2 he would do d same to any1 else

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭SeanKev

twitch1984 wrote: »
    The local shop where i live waz basically the shop from d'unbeliveables d'video {not azageration}
    We robbed eveything from penny sweets to the post office money box when we were younger.
    Jaysus im 25 now and was still whippin fags outta d place when up until a year ago {when it closed}
    never felt bad till now when its after been knocked,
    dont feel bad bout robbin d place but feel bad coz i cant do it anymore

ps. didnt feel bad for the guy who owened it caz NO.1 hes a prick and NO.2 he would do d same to any1 else

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Must.. correct.. spelling.

Plenty of times, now mostly Piracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm too honest for my own good and the one time I fell from the wagon I paid dearly!

I was in 2nd year in secondary school and hung around a stupid group of assholes where I stole a measly bottle of wine as it was the fad back then for everyone. Another guy got caught and ratted out about 15 lads (including myself)

I got suspended, my parents were old-fashioned and valued it the same as if I raped a child. Cue my reputation as a son destroyed and many crappy years of living in the family house where the family had no faith in me even passing the Junior & Leaving Cert. (the whole listening to them talking behind my back about how I'd fail this and that, la la la, they even tried to send me to a therapist at 1 point :pac:)

In a way it also played out from the parents telling me I wouldn't be good enough to study Media in college, study something like IT where you'll get a job................................which is why I'm on the Dole now :(

Lesson for the younger boardsies, don't be a fùcking moron! That 1 bottle of wine created an unholy ripple effect in my younger years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, I've stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I took a mug from Starbucks, one of the massive ones, but I asked a member of staff if I could first. She said they often ended up in bags like the one I was carrying and then winked. I took it as permission.
    It's a dog eat dog world out on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Never really stole anything...

Well I did pocket a bunch of those pens in Argos before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Outlaw, Downloading music is NOT stealing. It's simply infringement, which is a civil issue not a criminal one IIRC.

That said, I stole 45p from my dad's box when I was a kid to buy a kinder egg and then felt so guilty that I told him and gave the egg to him...he ate half! :(

Can't think of anything else. I wasn't a good kid by any stretch though, joy-riding and stuff was done in stolen cars, but I didn't steal them (This was when I was 10 or 12).

Setting fires, that sort of thing! :) Was a fair bit wild when a child, but it was a very normal thing in my area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I robbed the northern bank.