Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ammo Amount on new licence

• 09-03-2010 7:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Hi, im submitting my app form today and was woundering what amount of ammo woulf sound reasonable. im thinking 200 .22lr bullets and 500 shotgun. has anybody been refused? Also it says you have to explain in a letter why you require such a firearm are ye doing this and is it just a simple as saying i want it for hunting and shooting vermin for farmers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Put down 1000 22lr and as many for your shotgun. You can get a discount if you buy more at one time. BUT you don't have to buy or keep that amount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The short answer is how many do you want and how many can you store securely.

clay gun 750 (safe)
    game gun 100(safe)
    22 lr 150 (only shoot rabbits and vermin)
    22 hornet 100.

yes to the last question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I put down 1,000, was given 100 and eventually got 250 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I asked for 250 for my shotgun and 200 for my 17hmr I was given both. However, with hindsight I wished I had asked for more for the shotgun. Its a few years away now, but next time I will be asking for 500-750 for the shotgun and maybe more for the 17hrm. I have enough safes to store that amount securely, and as well as cutting down on visits to the dealer, you save a few bob when buying in bulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

I asked for 2000 .22lr (for target - kinda need that many TBH)
    Got 200 (typo apparently)
    Super approved 1000 by way of letter after I got onto them (Go figure?!)

Ask for 1000 .22lr IMHO - Packs / Buckets of 500 are pretty standard.

And as the lads have said: you don't need to buy the entire amount, but if you're testing or trying out different ammo, you could end up with quite an amount "lying around", way more than 200.;)

Can't help you with the shotgun bit. Not a clue!

And no advice for you on the vermin shooting part of your question, no idea - but I'm sure one of the lads will be along any minute now to set you straight! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Asked for 1000 and got 1000 .22lr
    Asked for 500 and got 500 .223CF
    Asked for 500 and got 500 .308CF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

I sent in my fca1 form mnths ago and just rang the garda the other day to see if they had an update on the whereabouts of my license, they said it was lost but refound and that I should receive it shortly. Thing is is that I dont remember when filling in that form how many I put in, are you choosing how many rounds you can purchase at any one time \ per year \ have in your posession ...what ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

clivej wrote: »
    Asked for 1000 and got 1000 .22lr
    Asked for 500 and got 500 .223CF
    Asked for 500 and got 500 .308CF

I asked for 1000 Shotgun and got 1000
    I asked for 500 .223 & .308 and got both
    I asked for 250 .40S&W and got it to.
    I also asked for a Moderator and got that.

I did have a cover letter with very simple reasons why I needed all.
    Moderator, shoot on land with Horses.
    1000 rnds shotgun 500 for clays 500 for game
    500 for .223 for rabbbits
    500 .308 for deer & Targets

Have to say My Chief Sup a sound man

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

vixdname wrote: »
    ............... are you choosing how many rounds you can purchase at any one time \ per year \ have in your posession ...what ????

In your possession.

fiestaman wrote:
    Hi, im submitting my app form today and was woundering what amount of ammo would sound reasonable

Put down what you will reasonably use between normal trips to the dealers. Thats how i figured it. I do an awful lot of target work and clays so even though i travel to my dealer every 2-3 weeks i find myself using alot of rounds/cartridges between trips.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Carlosthejakal

I applied for 1000 when i was handing in my application the FO said you can have 300 as that is all i give out.
    Cheesed off but its not the end of the world.