Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flora mini marathon*Mod Warning. NO REQUESTS FOR RACE NUMBERS*

• 20-02-2010 1:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up to people that may not be aware that the entry in on the 3rd of March, in the evening hearld and on line
    All participants must enter either on the official Entry Form
    which will appear in the Evening Herald every Wednesday and
    Saturday from 3rd March 2010, or online from 3rd March 2010.
    (On-line entries will incur an extra 1euro Bank processing charge)

I've decided to do this myself this year, for the first time.

It's on the 7th of june

There's more information on the website

Any other boardies planning on doing this as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm thinking of doing it (if I decide not to go to Cork for the marathon relay), it'll be my fourth mini-marathon, but the last time I did it was in 2001. Would be hoping to finish in around 50 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

The entry form is in the Herald every Wednesday and Saturday from the third of March, as far as I'm aware, not just on this date. I could be mistaken.

I'm doing it this year, for Dublin's Rape Crisis Centre. My first time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭HereticPrincess

Did it about 3 years ago with the whole family. Was quite a fun day actually.

I missed last year when my mam & aunts did it for St Francis Hospice.
    I was working :( Which sucked, they're quite an important place to the family.

Hopefully I can go this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Novella wrote: »
    The entry form is in the Herald every Wednesday and Saturday from the third of March, as far as I'm aware, not just on this date. I could be mistaken.

I'm doing it this year, for Dublin's Rape Crisis Centre. My first time too.

Yes you're right, my post may have been a bit misleading. In my head I'm going to sign up for it on the 3rd which might explain the words I used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

moocat wrote: »
    Yes you're right, my post may have been a bit misleading. In my head I'm going to sign up for it on the 3rd which might explain the words I used.

I was just making sure I'd picked up on it correctly 'cause knowing me, I'll completely forget on the 3rd! :)

Just register online :p

I probably will too:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

This is gonna be my third year doing it, I do it for The Tony Parker Memorial Fund - my cousin who died at 16 of SADS :(

Great day and for a great cause :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I wish all ye ladies taking part good luck! Its a tough run for those only taking up running, but its for charity and would do it myself if they let me:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I wish all ye ladies taking part good luck! Its a tough run for those only taking up running, but its for charity and would do it myself if they let me:P

Men used to be allowed take part up until a couple of years ago. I'm doing the Dublin City Marathon in October for the ISPCC, training is a tough aul slog but sure it'll all be worthwhile in the end.

Onkle wrote: »
    I'm doing the Dublin City Marathon in October for the ISPCC, training is a tough aul slog but sure it'll all be worthwhile in the end.
    Crossing the finish line is the most amazing feeling. Good luck with the training, I'll be doing DCM again this year too, hoping to go sub-4. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You sure it's on the second of June? It's usually on the bank holiday Monday which is the 7th?

Yes your right, when I went into race information on the website for some reason it had the 2008 date:confused: up which was the 2nd. I should learn to read things properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭CinammonGirl

I'm not doing it myself this year but I have some friends doing it on behalf of Dublin Samaritans – a good cause so I just wanted to give them a mention! I did it last year and it was great craic. The weather was fantastic, which added to the atmosphere. Top tip: Milanos in Dawson St. was an excellent spot to get re-carbed and re-wined up afterwards :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Did it last year and will be doing it again this year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

I always consider doing it but id like someone to train with. have tried my friends, and we talked about doing it last year but the problem is im short & have short legs so my highest speed walking is pretty slow compared to my tall friend with giant long legs! :( i do think it would be good for giving me a reason to get out walking though! hmmm. im gonna think about it.

jellie wrote: »
    I always consider doing it but id like someone to train with. have tried my friends, and we talked about doing it last year but the problem is im short & have short legs so my highest speed walking is pretty slow compared to my tall friend with giant long legs! :( i do think it would be good for giving me a reason to get out walking though! hmmm. im gonna think about it.

The first mile everyone is on top of each other then you walk at your own pace!

Its a great day out :)

jellie wrote: »

Well, if you live anywhere near Shankill I'll happily offer my services of walking partner. I'm a short arse too!

I'll do it for the Simon Community this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Well, if you live anywhere near Shankill I'll happily offer my services of walking partner. I'm a short arse too!

I'll do it for the Simon Community this year.

ah i live off in wicklow, but thanks for the offer :) my ipod is usually my buddy :D i just find it goes faster and seems less of a chore if im having a chat while doing it. also helps when you have someone to drag you :D

Just to remind people that the application is from tomorrow on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Nikki182

I am going to do it for the first time this year! My aunt is getting married and wants to shape up, Im helping her with the motivation, and we're doing it or Alzheimers Ireland. Im nervous about preparing, if anyone has any tips let me know! Im 20 and generally moderately active, have been doing some jogging so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Bambi86

Myself and a work colleague just had the conversation about doing it this morning! I did it 2 years ago and its great fun; im very lazy (!!!) so it gave me a great push to get up off my bum and get fit!! So i think im in for this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 silverberg

I will do it again this year. I want to run for a charity that doesn't get much funding and relies on donations. Any suggestions?

silverberg wrote: »
    I will do it again this year. I want to run for a charity that doesn't get much funding and relies on donations. Any suggestions?

Tony Parker Memorial Fund - hes my cousin and died from SADS two years ago, his mother started this shortly after he died and they rely totally on donations, they are raising money to but defibulators. (sp?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 frecklz

I'm planning to do it again this year. Last year was my first race, which I jogged in 1 hour 10 min. Hope to get under the hour this year... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I have been following this program for the last 5 weeks . It gets you from the couch to running 5k in 9 weeks and it's been great. I ran for 20 mins continuously today for the first time. Not sure how many km but probably 3 or more.

I do the mini marathon most years. But I haven't ran it in 10 years now. I'm hoping to change that this year!

My fitness log is here : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055819513

Here is the plan I followed last year and which I'll be starting again on Monday... The first one is 0-5km and the second one is 5km-10km in a total of 11 weeks.

http://www.nike.com/europerunning/flash ... ers-5k.pdf

http://bcurtu.com/wp-content/nike-beginners-10k.pdf

frecklz wrote: »
    Here is the plan I followed last year and which I'll be starting again on Monday... The first one is 0-5km and the second one is 5km-10km in a total of 11 weeks.

http://www.nike.com/europerunning/flash ... ers-5k.pdf

http://bcurtu.com/wp-content/nike-beginners-10k.pdf

Cool. That looks good. I could try the 5k - 10k when I'm finished mine

Advantage of the Couch to 5k is that i-tunes have a free podcast supporting it. I download the podcast and it tells me when to run/ jog/ stop etc. So I don't even have to check the time!!! I know I'm so lazy. :D

It also has a follow-up program where you can either advance to 8k or 10k in a number of weeks. The only thing is, if I follow this program I won't quite be at the 10k week by the June mini marathon. But I would be near enough so I reckon I'd be able for it. THe other runners and the crowds kind of keep you going at the Women's Mini Marathon so it's not like a normal run.

At the moment I'm icing my calf which I did something to earlier so fingers crossed it's nothing serious! :(

dolliemix wrote: »
    But I would be near enough so I reckon I'd be able for it. THe other runners and the crowds kind of keep you going at the Women's Mini Marathon so it's not like a normal run.
    Very much so :) If you do 8km (5 miles) before the Mini-Marathon you WILL make it the full 10km on the day, the adrenaline (plus the fact that the course is virtually all downhill from the Belfield flyover at ~6km) will carry you to the line.

There are a couple of 5k races this month (the MSB St Patrick's festival one in town on March 14 and the Rás UCD in Belfield on March 27) that would be useful to people training for the Mini-Marathon as a bit of a warm-up, btw.

Very much so :) If you do 8km (5 miles) before the Mini-Marathon you WILL make it the full 10km on the day, the adrenaline (plus the fact that the course is virtually all downhill from the Belfield flyover at ~6km) will carry you to the line.

There are a couple of 5k races this month (the MSB St Patrick's festival one in town on March 14 and the Rás UCD in Belfield on March 27) that would be useful to people training for the Mini-Marathon as a bit of a warm-up, btw.

Cheers. Thats good to know. I wouldn't be ready by next week. But the UCD one sounds good. Especially since I live about 10 mins from UCD. Infact I ran past it today!! How do I enter for it? And if I needed to walk part of it, would that be acceptable?

Race website

It's fine to walk part of it if you need to, and there will probably be quite a few entrants like yourself who would be using the race as preparation for the Women's Mini-Marathon.

Race website

It's fine to walk part of it if you need to, and there will probably be quite a few entrants like yourself who would be using the race as preparation for the Women's Mini-Marathon.

Deadly. Just submitted my entry. No fee!

The pressure is on now...

Thanks for the info :)

I'll probably see you there then, assuming I get the ok from my doctor to start running again this week (long story...). Because I'm a UCD student it's really good value at a fiver :)

(I reckon you'll have to pay your race fee when you pick your number up)

Hopefully you will be back and flying by then. You'll probably be finished an hour before me!

Just make sure there's some cake left over for the likes of me at the end!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

I do this every year at this stage. Only time I haven't run it is when I walked it with someone. I'm all signed up and ready to go.

We should have a training group....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

I walked it last year and had to take a toliet stop which took about 30 mins with the queue! so it took just under 3 hours - cos I walked it FYI!
    I really wanted to do it this year but can't get the day off work.
    I didn't do it for a charity last year, just in case I didn't end up doin it, but I felt really good and motivated!!

Good luck to everyone whose doin it!!

Walls wrote: »
    I do this every year at this stage. Only time I haven't run it is when I walked it with someone. I'm all signed up and ready to go.

We should have a training group....

Would people be interested in making a group training log on the Athletics/Running/Triathlon training logs forum? There was a similar thread (mentored) done for Dublin Marathon novices last year and it worked very well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 geronamo

Me and a couple of my friends have decided we want to do the maraton for charity and we wer gona dress up as weomen, does any1 know if this is allowed???

geronamo wrote: »
    Me and a couple of my friends have decided we want to do the maraton for charity and we wer gona dress up as weomen, does any1 know if this is allowed???

You wont get a medal! They dont actually allow it but there are always four men that come with us :D

ha ha ye ive seen a good few, dats shyt its for charity!!

You can register with the charity and everything you just wont get a medal! The first year I did it the lads with us dressed up as nuns and raised a fortune - They didnt get medals but they didnt care they werent doing it to get a medal they were helping the charity :D

Can I just ask everyone who ticks the running box to please RUN? If you're going to walk, wear a walking coloured number. The amount of near-accidents I had last time trying to get past gangs of walkers who were in the wrong section was unbelievable. :mad:

As for men or anyone else doing it without being registered, I wouldn't say that's safe, as they have limited numbers for a reason. It gets so crowded out there anyway. For the first half hour I was pretty much running on the spot. :eek:

Can I just ask everyone who ticks the running box to please RUN? If you're going to walk, wear a walking coloured number. The amount of near-accidents I had last time trying to get past gangs of walkers who were in the wrong section was unbelievable. :mad:

As for men or anyone else doing it without being registered, I wouldn't say that's safe, as they have limited numbers for a reason. It gets so crowded out there anyway. For the first half hour I was pretty much running on the spot. :eek:

jaysus if your so competitive you should be doing proper races and not be running charity marathons, we all want to do it to raise money for charity not to be world athletes and have to stick to a strict rule book about who can and cant do it or who can or cant walk its for fun get over yourself:mad:

Have you done it before? It's mayhem. There were girls all around me who had tripped and fallen due to the crowding. At times we were running on the footpath because of the numbers.

I have done it the last two years walked but both of my aunts run it and cant move for the first mile or so! Its all for charity!!!

+1'd like whoa. It might be mostly a charity race, but please have some respect for people who may be aiming for a personal best time over the distance and line up in the correct section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

The problem isn't the fact that people are walking, no, people of all abilities are welcomed, and it is very common to walk it. But it's just frankly dangerous when people don't actually line up in the right area. Someone who's going to be walking at a slow pace who doesn't pay heed to the instructions and goes to the front where the faster runners are, will just cause an obstruction and may end up getting hurt, or causing someone else to get hurt. Its just good manners to stick to the rules in this case as they are there for good reason.

That's without even taking into consideration that people are trying to achieve a particular time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Just registered for this!!

The problem isn't the fact that people are walking, no, people of all abilities are welcomed, and it is very common to walk it. But it's just frankly dangerous when people don't actually line up in the right area. Someone who's going to be walking at a slow pace who doesn't pay heed to the instructions and goes to the front where the faster runners are, will just cause an obstruction and may end up getting hurt, or causing someone else to get hurt. Its just good manners to stick to the rules in this case as they are there for good reason.

That's without even taking into consideration that people are trying to achieve a particular time..

Yes, thank you! I am aiming for a personal time. You pay extra for a timing chip and these women are all over the shop - some linking arms and it's impossible to get through!

BTW, there are loads of different ways to raise money for charity. A women's mini marathon is exactly that. There's a men's mini marathon too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Freckles..!

Just registered now
    It will be my first time, I'm doing it for Suicide or Survive