Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saved By The Bell [1989-1993] - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Screech (diamond) is now on some reality show in the US.
    Hulk Hogan basicilly got 10 or so "celebs" to becom wrestlers. Two teams were formed and "mentored" by two wrestlers. They put on a live "fight" against each other once a week that is judged by Hulk and two others, One of the losing team gets voted off by the judges.
    Theres a few more well know celebs on it as well. I happened to stop on it while flicking channels a few days ago.
    http://prowrestling.about.com/od/photogalleries/ig/Hulk-s-Celebrity-Wrestling/

• Registered Users Posts: 43,774 ✭✭✭✭Basq

kippy wrote: »
    Screech (diamond) is now on some reality show in the US.
    That couldn't still be on.. I remember watching it in a hotel room in Lisbon last September.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

basquille wrote: »
    That couldn't still be on.. I remember watching it in a hotel room in Lisbon last September.

It may have been a repeat all right. It was on one of the sky channels that repeats a lot of US stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Jaysus.. where'd ya hear that? She had recurring roles in TV shows such as 'CSI Miami' and 'The L Word' recently, and a small role in the 'Donnie Darko' sequel. And no, she's not dead!

She was in Showgirls which is soft porn, she flashes her fanny(not the american fanny) around in that film as she did in Any Given Sunday

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Showgirls
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Any_Given_Sunday
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Berkley

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

^Actually don't think Showgirls would be considered porn - just ask a porn enthusiast...

No Elizabeth Berkley did not go on to be a porn star... Dustin Diamond was the only one of the group to make a porno...

Elmo wrote: »
    She was in Showgirls which is soft porn, she flashes her fanny(not the american fanny) around in that film as she did in Any Given Sunday
    Ah to be fair, 'Showgirls' is not soft porn. That's like saying 'Basic Instinct' or 'Fatal Attraction' is soft porn.
    No Elizabeth Berkley did not go on to be a porn star... Dustin Diamond was the only one of the group to make a porno...
    .. and let's never speak of it again!

^Actually don't think Showgirls would be considered porn - just ask a porn enthusiast...

I did say soft porn.
    Dustin Diamond was the only one of the group to make a porno...

*Shudder*

Kind going of topic but what is soft porn? Showgirls had plenty of sex and nudity and lacked any real storyline. For soft porn its an excellent piece of cinematic work.

Elmo wrote: »
    Kind going of topic but what is soft porn? Showgirls had plenty of sex and nudity and lacked any real storyline. For soft porn its an excellent piece of cinematic work.
    Kind of going off-topic? "KIND OF"?! :D

We're not discussing soft porn in a thread about 'Saved By The Bell'!

Kind of going off-topic? "KIND OF"?! :D

We're not discussing soft porn in a thread about 'Saved By The Bell'!

Of to the films board to ask a very important question. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Elizabeth Berkley was on CSI Miami for a while as Horatio's ex

400_csimiami_eberkley_dcaruso_080110_cbs_ronpjaffee.jpg

She matured VERY well, in fact i think she's way hotter now!....she was also on CSI Vegas and did a VERY hot scene that mirrored that Sharon Stone movie, you know....in the interogation room?

Sure YT has the clip ;)

Jaysus.. where'd ya hear that? She had recurring roles in TV shows such as 'CSI Miami' and 'The L Word' recently, and a small role in the 'Donnie Darko' sequel. And no, she's not dead!

Diamond is a mess.. and was practically bankrupt at one stage.

But he's not doing too bad now.. due to the publicity generated by his book, sex-tape (** shudder **) and many reality-TV appearances.

A podcast I listen to hosted by comedians in LA say he's one of the biggest arseholes to work with.

Ergo why the original cast hate him....he's been on a number of crappy reality shows, made an ass of himself.

She matured VERY well, in fact i think she's way hotter now!....

She looks entirely different from when she was in Saved By The Bell... You'd hardly recognise her at all these days...

Aye...she's had "work" done, her lips and cheeks...boobs as well me thinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Was there anyone who watched this show and didn't want to be Zack? :D

Ah kelly...

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭rejkin

Mark-Paul Gosselaar who played Zack went on to play John Clarke in NYPD Blue,didn't expect much from him in that but he played excellently. He's actually a really good actor and If they made a Save by the bell reunion I say it could turn out well if it was more mature,maybe where they go back to a ten year or twenty year reunion in the school

Was there anyone who watched this show and didn't want to be Zack? :D

Ah kelly...

Completely agree with you... The fact I wanted to be like Zack probably would explain why I'm always coming up with mad schemes...
    rejkin wrote: »
    Mark-Paul Gosselaar who played Zack went on to play John Clarke in NYPD Blue,didn't expect much from him in that but he played excellently. He's actually a really good actor and If they made a Save by the bell reunion I say it could turn out well if it was more mature,maybe where they go back to a ten year or twenty year reunion in the school

It would be good to see a reunion show, but there's no way that they'd do it with Dustin Diamond involved, since everyone in the cast (with the exception of Dennis Haskins) hates the guy - they could possible do it without Screech though - just have Mr. Belding or someone make a reference to why he wasn't there...
    Also, I'm pretty sure Tiffany Amber Thiessen said she wouldn't want to do a reunion - thought if the price was right and enough of her fans asked her to do it, I'd say she probably would...

with the exception of Dennis Haskins

Is Dennis Haskins Mr. Belding? Because it seems to me for the extract of Dustin's book post here that Dennis might be a bit sick of Dustin, but in Dustin land "Jesus Christ, Dustin - I can't do this any more" means "I know what you mean Dennis, Leave 'em laughing. Right? You're a Champ."

Poor man was having a nervous breakdown.

More from Dustins book below: -

http://transitpublishing.com/Dustin_Diamond.php

Definition of Smugness and Deluded.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

Cool interview on the Fallon Show. I'd not been interested in that Screech book. Having read a few extracts though i'm stragely interested in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

20 years old, feel so old when i thik back about watching it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Really enjoying going through the whole series again on the U.S. Netflix. Good memories.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

If you have The Vault Channel on your TV sub or on Freesat; you can watch the whole series of Saved by the Bell again as it's on a couple of times a day every Monday to Friday.

Also how did you hear of Screech when he got his 4 months jail sentence in the U.S. last year?

I heard it when read on the BBC News Channel one Saturday afternoon. I was shocked to hear it even though I have never liked him after reading reviews about his book online being released from a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I do feel a bit sorry for Dustin Diamond though, it must have been difficult being the one "dork" when everybody else was so good looking. Having said that I dont think anything forgives his behaviour since.

This is my favourite video on the internet - when I re-watched it this afternoon, I was shocked to see how criminally underwatched it has been.

Any Saved By The Bell fan should watch this, preferably after re-watching the season 2 episode "The Fabulous Belding Boys"

This is my favourite video on the internet - when I re-watched it this afternoon, I was shocked to see how criminally underwatched it has been.

Any Saved By The Bell fan should watch this, preferably after re-watching the season 2 episode "The Fabulous Belding Boys"

Still the same old Rod :(

On season six now,what a terrible way to ruin a TV show.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

If you have The Vault Channel on your TV sub or on Freesat; you can watch the whole series of Saved by the Bell again as it's on a couple of times a day every Monday to Friday.

Also how did you hear of Screech when he got his 4 months jail sentence in the U.S. last year?

I heard it when read on the BBC News Channel one Saturday afternoon. I was shocked to hear it even though I have never liked him after reading reviews about his book online being released from a few years ago.

Afaik on that channel, the 1st season is almost finished, i searched on the HD box.
    Vault channel is i think a 90s channel as a lot of music from that era as well. Yeah Screech never came off well on that show & it probably followed him off screen as well

Video Not showing, copyright?
    Bret Hart wrote: »
    On season six now,what a terrible way to ruin a TV show.

I thought they only made 4 seasons?

I was wondering what Tiffani Thiessen (i see she dropped Amber) is doin until i came across that she's on a cooking ch a bit apt, as during highschool she was trying to lose her cherry to Zack ;)

Has there been a THS yet? (TrueHollywoodStory) or Where Are They Now?

Didn't see 90210, but i see what i missed but she was in a maybe shortlived show Fastlane afaik, remember more of this

No wonder she was everyone's favourite!

Afaik on that channel, the 1st season is almost finished, i searched on the HD box.
    Vault channel is i think a 90s channel as a lot of music from that era as well. Yeah Screech never came off well on that show & it probably followed him off screen as well

Video Not showing, copyright?

I thought they only made 4 seasons?

I was wondering what Tiffani Thiessen (i see she dropped Amber) is doin until i came across that she's on a cooking ch a bit apt, as during highschool she was trying to lose her cherry to Zack ;)

Has there been a THS yet? (TrueHollywoodStory) or Where Are They Now?

Didn't see 90210, but i see what i missed but she was in a maybe shortlived show Fastlane afaik, remember more of this

No wonder she was everyone's favourite!

On Netflix they have Good Morning,Miss.Bliss down as season 1 of SBTB,and it's set in a different location.All of Lisa,Screech,Zack and Mr.B are part of the cast.They then have SBTB,season one as we know it marked down as season 2. Season 5 ends with them all graduating and then for whatever reason the show was given another season,which starts of with the episode The New Girl which introduces us too the forgettable Tori Scott. The season only had 11 episodes,less then half of what season 5 did. It's just all a real mess.

Watched The Fabulous Belding Boys episode again today,it's a classic. It gets me every time,damn you Rod :mad: Also watched The Last Dance episode which introduces the scumbag Jeff,guy was such a prick.

There was a THS.

http://youtu.be/u5Jx1FLk3jM

There was also a TV Movie brought out a couple of years ago called The Unauthorised SBTB Story. It's based on Dustin Diamonds recollection of events of being part of the show,so it's more then likely all BS. It's still worth a watch if your a fan of the show.

Tiffian had a child about maybe a year or two back. She's aged beautifully and is the true definition of a MILF.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,551 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't remember ever laughing at Saved by the Bell. I think the main appeal of the show was just that it offered a glimpse into an idealised Californian life. There were a lot of these Peter Engel sitcoms that existed back in the 90s including this show, but also California Dreams. All followed the same basic formula. Don't get me wrong, SBTB evokes the same warm and fuzzy nostalgia it probably does for many of ye, but it does not hold up well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

briany wrote: »
    I don't remember ever laughing at Saved by the Bell. I think the main appeal of the show was just that it offered a glimpse into an idealised Californian life. There were a lot of these Peter Engel sitcoms that existed back in the 90s including this show, but also California Dreams. All followed the same basic formula. Don't get me wrong, SBTB evokes the same warm and fuzzy nostalgia it probably does for many of ye, but it does not hold up well.

It is a children's tv show.
    It was great at the time. I remember laughing, and being entertained watching it.

I think you think too much about it.