Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which of these is worse?

• 07-02-2010 3:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭

Flower of Scotland - an awful dirge, Sounds like something that would be played as you were on your way to the gallows.

Ireland's Call - a mockery of an 'anthem', beloved of people who are no good at soccer or GAA.

worsterer 24 votes

Flower of Scotland
    0%
    Ireland's Call
    100%
    SpearEniisdanseoJelloInkSlinger67WelrucLiam Byrneunknownlegendmailrewoppleasant Co.ktulu123donmeisterMichellenmanIwasfrozenDubsScrambled eggshivvybanL.JenkinsMidnight_EGsbsquarepants 24 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I love them both, equally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Flower of Scotland has the addition of people with the finest accents in the world singing along. Hilarious.

Ireland's Call is a piece of **** that makes the country look so embarrassing. **** Phil Coulter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I assume these things are songs of some kind?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Where is the neither option?

I decline to insult our own - and respect Scotland's historic based tunes.
    People in glasshouses and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

their both great anthems, as is Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau (land of my fathers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

The quality of a national anthem depends upon the veracity and the pride with which people sing it. I like the Flower of Scotland, I always sensethat it is sung with pride and heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

nothing will ever beat les marseillais

amhran na bhfian is awfully crap. one of the worst anthems. irelands call is ok, at least its inspiring unlike the other crap.

flower of scotland=meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Mrmoe wrote: »
    The quality of a national anthem depends upon the veracity and the pride with which people sing it. I like the Flower of Scotland, I always sensethat it is sung with pride and heart.

Pretty much all anthems are sung with pride and heart.
    That doesn't mean they are all great tunes.
    Where is the neither option?

I decline to insult our own - and respect Scotland's historic based tunes.
    People in glasshouses and all that...
    What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

What's the point of this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

You know Ireland's Call isn't a Nation Anthem right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Twigg of Scotland > Flower of Scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

@gonnaplayrygby

You are French I presume?

nothing will ever beat les marseillais

amhran na bhfian is awfully crap. one of the worst anthems. irelands call is ok, at least its inspiring unlike the other crap.

flower of scotland=meh

The russian and eyetie anthems give la marseilleise a good run for its money.

:p

heh

listen to the scotland vs france match. listen to the french sing their anthem. lol imagine signing amhran na bhfian during a match.

****ing hate that anthem with a passion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

This should be the Scottish national anthem:

vid

I'd prefer this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I hated 'Irelands Call' until THAT GAME in Croker back in 2007..

I still can't look at this without filling up with pride, one evening in Dublin which done more for Anglo-Irish peace than a thousand years of political clap trap or a million terrorist bullets could ever have done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What are you on about?
    I'm old. Don't mind this ageing bum, I'm full of nostalgia and sentimental knowledge. :D

Yeah. I remember Big Ian throwing the arm around Gerry and saying 'Sod this killing each other ****e. Rugby has shown us all that there is a better way. Anyone for a game of soggy biscuit?'.

I hated 'Irelands Call' in THAT GAME in Croker back in 2007..

I still can't look at this without filling up with pride, one evening in Dublin which done more for Anglo-Irish peace than a thousand years of political clap trap or a million terrorist bullets could ever have done.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Pretty much all anthems are sung with pride and heart.
    That doesn't mean they are all great tunes.

I would disagree, you can never get everybody to agree on what is a good tune as it is quite subjective but I think the pride that people show is always evident. Not all anthems display this pride.

gamblitis wrote: »
    You know Ireland's Call isn't a Nation Anthem right?

Yes, I do know.

I would disagree, you can never get everybody to agree on what is a good tune as it is quite subjective but I think the pride that people show is always evident. Not all anthems display this pride.
    English football and rubby fans sing God save the queen with pride and heart, for example.
    It's also a terrible dirge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Ireland's call is a load of bollocks, stupid pub song that should be left in Donnybrook. It's not our national anthem, and shouldn't be played. If the nordies don't like that then they can do what the soccer crowd did and separate. Most of our players are from Leinster and Munster anyway, so they wouldn't be any great loss.
    If you want to hear a really, really good national anthem listen to Auferstanden aus Ruinen, it was the anthem of East Germany. Fecking class, really emotive.

Here's the lyrics in English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Flower of Scotland - an awful dirge, Sounds like something that would be played as you were on your way to the gallows.

Ireland's Call - a mockery of an 'anthem', beloved of people who are no good at soccer or GAA.
    Flower of Scotland is an amazing song.

Ireland's Call was written by one of the (by all accounts) most slimey, crooked and all-round horrible men ever involved in Irish music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

****ing hate that anthem with a passion.

We'll get you an English translation. The tune is in fact ok. We just dont know the words.

Flower of Scotland is marginally better than Ireland's call.

God Save Ms Windsor is not a great tune, but England could use some English ( rather than British) tune here, after all neither Scotland nor Wales use GSTQ. If they did then Jerusalem - the obvious choice - would be a belter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I can't stand Ireland's Call. It's not intimidating enough to be a rugby national anthem. And the fact that they sing that at away matches instead of Amhrán na bhFiann, sickens me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Pointless and redundant thread. Ask a mod to put in the option of "nothing wrong with either and the Op shouldn't watch rugby if he doesn't like it". Then I'll vote.

Can't stand people who moan about something they have no interest (and most the time no knowledge) in!

/rant

P.s. I love rugby and all national anthems mean something to a team/nation. Don't like it, switch it off, simple.

Bonito wrote: »
    Pointless and redundant thread. Ask a mod to put in the option of "nothing wrong with either and the Op shouldn't watch rugby if he doesn't like it".

Can't stand people who moan about something they have no interest (and most the time no knowledge) in!

/rant
    reported for going off topic

baz2009 wrote: »
    I can't stand Ireland's Call. It's not intimidating enough to be a rugby national anthem. And the fact that they sing that at away matches instead of Amhrán na bhFiann, sickens me.
    Why don't you use the Soldiers' Song? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Ireland's Call is a perfect song for the rugby chaps. An insincere anthem for insincere attendees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Why don't you use the Soldiers' Song?

Because the Irish team is not just for the Republic of Ireland.

Makes sense, but I dont have to like the song.

Sorry but you'll find I kept to the topic :) Relax the cax Op this is AH, it's a chilled atmosphere. I'd advise you lose the attitude towards fellow posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

There both sh*t

why do so many irish hate the middle and upper class. is it the peasent history/ reply to bonerm's comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Personally I thought the singing off Flower of Scotland was amazing today. When the music stopped and it was just all of the crowd singing along. Hair on the back of my neck stood up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Although the new one is not bad, it doesn't beat the Soliders Song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Original Steyr

Soccer is terrible full of over hyped over paid twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Original Steyr

the_syco wrote: »
    Although the new one is not bad, it doesn't beat the Soliders Song

Absolutely, one of the best Anthems around, especially when done with all the pomp that the Gardai and Army bands do it with, i love Amhrán na bhFiann.

My friends dad was in a pub a while ago where there was a premier league match and an irish international on.

He was watching the rugby. A man asked him in the jacks was he enjoyin the footie, he replied no I'm not watchin that muck I'm watchin the rugby. The other man went on a little rant about supporting northy's etc etc etc. My friends dad said nothing back 'til leaving the toilet where he replied "Hey, enjoy your ENGLISH premier league match ya hypocritical bollix"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

IvySlayer wrote: »
    What's the point of this thread?

Trolling... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tbh, most of the anthems and songs assicated with the rugby makes my spine tingle at times, when you have a sell out crowd singing their song with such pride and emotion, weather it be the irish with 'irelands call' or 'Amhrán na bhFiann', the welsh with "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau" or 'bread of heaven' which the crowd ocasionally break into, or the scotish with 'flower of scotland', you some times cant help joining in, and for all of the above, i will turn the TV up for, mainly for the above reasons

even if you dont like the national anthem or agree with the lyrics of their song, you should still respect it, i was born and raised in england, i respect the anthem, even though i dont agree with all the words, but when watching the english match yesterday, even i dont support the english team, i found my self singing along when the crowd broke into 'sweet chariot', again because of the emotion when the crowd was singing, its hard to discribe, it just sounds exciting, just wish wales won though.
    brummytom wrote: »
    Why don't you use the Soldiers' Song? :confused:

as 'Amhrán na bhFiann' is the anthem for the republic, and as the rugby team represents both sides of the boarder they also use 'irelands call' representing the island of ireland

'Amhrán na bhFiann' is only played at matches that take place in the republic, 'irelands call' is played both home and away to represent the island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Flower of Scotland is a great song, aye.
    Although not as great as

Alba gu bràth!

irish-stew wrote: »
    as 'Amhrán na bhFiann' is the anthem for the republic, and as the rugby team represents both sides of the boarder they also use 'irelands call' representing the island of ireland

'Amhrán na bhFiann' is only played at matches that take place in the republic, 'irelands call' is played both home and away to represent the island

Oh right. You know, I'd never even noticed the Rugby team was just called 'Ireland' and not RoI :o

You should have a nice upbeat national anthem;

Or:

- Is it wrong that I think that's a fantastic song?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They need to come out on to the field to something more in keeping with the theme of burly men groping each other in packs. YMCA or some thing by Right Said Fred perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Haven't heard Flower of Scotland but I find Ireland's Call painful to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

irelands call is the biggest heap of $hite ever sung . . .

just sing amhrán na bhfiann and get over it . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Well bonito is quite right ;) Why whine and moan about something you are completely ignorant to?