Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car uprooted by a bollard in Dublin

• 05-02-2010 2:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Bollard rises underneath a car which tried to go down a road reserved for buses and promptly wrecked the front of car. Usually the bollard goes down for a bus and quickly rises once the bus has passed so this driver must have tried to follow the bus.

Security demanded that i delete the photo and followed me threatening to phone the Gardai to seize my phone. I walked on and ignored them. Even one of them followed me to the gate at the exit of the estate threatening this that and the other!

Photo also on http://cheezburger.com/View.aspx?aid=3157363456 , was trying to get it up as a failblog but i think it needs votes, hint :P

05022010688A1.jpg

Warning signs:

12082009463_.jpg

12082009462_.jpg

12082009461_.jpg
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Sell it to the papers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Ha good enough, it's well signposted so they can hardly claim they didnt know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Silly boys who failed the Garda entrance exam. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

if you look closely at the two front wheels, you can see that they are both pointing inwards. ouch! :eek:

and it's a 09 reg (I've seen the original ;)) so someone is going to have arather painful call to the insurance company.

not even sure if they'd cover something like that, even if they swore blind they didn't see the signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vibe666 wrote: »
    not even sure if they'd cover something like that, even if they swore blind they didn't see the signs.

If they did that, would their insurance be void if they were blind???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Seems to be a common enough occurance in the UK, never seen it happen here, in fact the only place I was aware had those bollards was the bus entrance into Blanchardstown village from the N3 which I don't think is even used anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

What a gowl. What did he plan to do once he'd infiltrated the place? Pretend to be a bus on official bsuiness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think there's one on the N7 inbound just after Newlands Cross. never saw it operational though.

cantdecide wrote: »
    What a gowl. What did he plan to do once he'd infiltrated the place? Pretend to be a bus on official bsuiness?

I think it's a woman, you can see her turned talking to the security guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭cargo

Where is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Itll buff out. :D

it's a woman driver and it was at the new bus entrance that comes from round where the komplett pickup point is (near dolly heffernans) into the back of ballycoolin business park where xerox, paypal & symantect etc. are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Don't see any warning about a bollard.

Looks like they left a dangerous hazard in the road to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Yes, where is that?

it's a woman driver and it was at the new bus entrance that comes from round where the komplett pickup point is (near dolly heffernans) into the back of ballycoolin business park where xerox, paypal & symantect etc. are.

I was thinking it was that corporate park but I haven't been there in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

A bus driver has just told me its up at Ballycoolin/Damanstown, by IBM.

if you look closely at the two front wheels, you can see that they are both pointing inwards. ouch! :eek:

Bent axle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think there's one on the N7 inbound just after Newlands Cross. never saw it operational though.
    There sure is. Many people ignore that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

They obviously were following a bus and got caught out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

lol, that's gotta hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

steve06 wrote: »
    Bent axle!

More then that I'd say. I'd say the car is a write off, new engine, new subframe, gearbox possibly, propshaft, steering and suspension components plus the bodywork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Nice drop of oil on the road too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Sign States "bus gate enforcement cameras", there is nothing about automated rising bollards. The max fine she would get would be the same as for using a bus lane. I would suggest a good solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Overature

what an idiot, typical beamer drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Those yokes are dangerous and should be banned. A few law suits will make sure they are.

At least barriers that raise and lower are visible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I wish there were more of them. In some countries a bus lane is stub walled and has these at the ends. Proper order.

Neilw wrote: »
    More then that I'd say. I'd say the car is a write off, new engine, new subframe, gearbox possibly, propshaft, steering and suspension components plus the bodywork.
    yea for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

JHMEG wrote: »

meh...I've seen impatients drivers get hit by them too....and of course its never their fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Those yokes are dangerous and should be banned. A few law suits will make sure they are.

Beemers? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

and it's a 09 reg (I've seen the original ;)) so someone is going to have arather painful call to the insurance company.

The insurance would have to cover it. The whole point of having insurance is for when you make a stupid mistake.

She might have a case against the business park. I'm sure the legality of those things would be fairly dubious, especially when privately installed. (Not that I didn't gloat a little when I saw the picture).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I see a signpost about the gate being bus only and a picture implying there is some sort of camera there. I don't see a sign about an automatic raising bollard that'll write off your car though.

Are those auto-raising bollards even legal? Seem pretty dangerous to me, just because I break the law in my vehicle doesn't give anybody the right to cause it damage.

<3 these bollards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Sign States "bus gate enforcement cameras", there is nothing about automated rising bollards. ..... I would suggest a good solicitor.

Mmmm - could be down to semantics tbh....it's 'you' who's calling it a bollard. That object may be a Bus gate. Potato's/Potatoes.........Solicitor ? waste of time.......

They are dangerous, when ignored. It does raise/lower, and is highly visible to me........;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

haha i was there the other day and wondered if someone would ever get stuck! haha fookin idiot deserved what she got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Stark wrote: »
    .... I'm sure the legality of those things would be fairly dubious, especially when privately installed....
    ....not a hope, they're widely used by local authorities already. Galway City Council has them in......5 different streets iirc...........been there for years.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

if there's a camera on top of the bollard i'd say they're covered. :D

it's actually HERE anyway.

it's just grass in the pic, but te line that goes from the top to the bottom of the map there is now a bus shortcut.

i was actually looking forward to them finishing it as it would cut 10 minutes off my journey home to cut through there, then they went and made it buses only. :(

galwaytt wrote: »
    It does raise/lower, and is highly visible to me........;)

Only when it's up. She could have seen the bus and followed it out, there's no denying that every single person here would take a short cut like that. If you know that area you'll be aware that the alternative can be fairly long depending where you want to go.

There's no signs indicating a raising bollard and she probably wasn't aware there was one there. I think she does have a reasonable case against the management of the estate

I don't think all the usuals saying she's a fookin idiot and deserves it are correct and are a bit hasty in their comments.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

As amusing as I find it, there are no signs about the bollard, I'd be taking a trip to my solicitor if I were her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

galwaytt wrote: »
    Mmmm - could be down to semantics tbh....it's 'you' who's calling it a bollard. That object may be a Bus gate. Potato's/Potatoes.........Solicitor ? waste of time.......
    College Green "Bus gate" dosen't have any of these. "Bus gate" referes to a bus only route and not the device used to block traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

im glad you ignored the requests to delete your photo...you have every right to phot anything in a public place with the possible exception of anything affecting national security

she wont get any satisfaction going to law...it is quite clear that that exit is for buses only....did someone say its on a private estate? the Gards wont be interseted if so.

PS they are in Oliver Plunket St Cork too...

Doesn't matter that is says it bus only I would imagine, there's no warning what so ever of any type of physical barrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Jip wrote: »
    Only when it's up. She could have seen the bus and followed it out, there's no denying that every single person here would take a short cut like that. If you know that area you'll be aware that the alternative can be fairly long depending where you want to go.

There's no signs indicating a raising bollard and she probably wasn't aware there was one there. I think she does have a reasonable case against the management of the estate

I don't think all the usuals saying she's a fookin idiot and deserves it are correct and are a bit hasty in their comments.

I agree. Getting a ticket is one thing, having your (expensive) car destroyed is completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

corktina wrote: »
    im glad you ignored the requests to delete your photo...you have every right to phot anything in a public place with the possible exception of anything affecting national security

I'd have thought that it was the security guards being not happy with their picture being taken rather than the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If she was so far up the buses arse that she didn't see the bollard, I doubt that she would have seen any signs...

Also, I'd say she has no case. To the right of the 2nd picture is a no entry sign, as well as a "bus only" sign written on the road.

Doesn't matter that is says it bus only I would imagine, there's no warning what so ever of any type of physical barrier.

are you sure

there is no entry sign on the right at the railings wiht some text underneath and also some signs at the railings on the left with text I cannot make out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Pedestrian gets hit in the middle of the road - they shouldn't be there but if you smack 'em it's your fault.

If I pull into a bus lane I'm liable to get a ticket for breaking the law. I'm not liable to have my car totalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

the_syco wrote: »
    Also, I'd say she has no case. To the right of the 2nd picture is a no entry sign, as well as a "bus only" sign written on the road.

So then next time that you nip into a bus lane early to turn left you have no issues with some warden coming over and writing off your car as you shouldnt have been there and there are signs?

If it was your first time in the area and you were within 5-10 feet of a bus (thats probably doing 30k max) you could easily not see any of these signs. Besides, as mentioned a million times already, there is no sign to warn you that "trespassers will be destroyed from beneath".

Would you not have a legal liability to warn people of possible damage for disobeying the sign?