Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentines Beers anyone?

• 01-02-2010 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭

So Nervous Wreck came up with the idea of Valentines Beers for people who have no plans for Valentines. (Credit goes to him)

People praised the idea.

I was asked to start a thread on it by Princess Lala (Spineless coward).

Mods say it's ok, so here is the thread.

What do ya reckon?

Ideas currently floating about are Capitol Bar in Dublin on Saturday the 13th or Sunday the 14th (Valentines day)

Firstly, will you go?

Valentines Beers. Will you attend? 21 votes

Yes :)
    0%
    No :(
    47%
    Nervous WreckPyr0omb0wyn5ehpij9[Deleted User]Julesprincess-lalaFago!HelloJellyFishChokeAibreann 10 votes
    Maybe :cool:
    52%
    Silverfish[Deleted User]metaobliviapikachucheekssmileysurferClare Bearmetalgear2k2DancingDaisybrumindubGrindylowRuby_Woo 11 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Yeah there would be a chance I will be there, even if it is only for a one or two! Saturday night would suit the best for me. Ask a mod to stick up a poll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

BIG MOUTH!!:p

Yep Ill be there Saturday/Sunday :D

Anywhere suits me Im a bogger, I dont know my way around :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Fago, if you need me to edit the poll just shout.

Capitol bar was super loud the last day.
    Maybe it might be nice to go somewhere it is easier to chat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

maple wrote: »
    Fago, if you need me to edit the poll just shout.

Thanx very much maple. :) Will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

That nervous wreck just trying to get all the single ladies in one place! I like Capitol. Think the price of drink is right not too crowded and the staff treated is well. But if majority want to go else where I'm cool andrhe gang with that!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I'd go if it was in the Kestrel.

Any takers for the Kestrel? No? Okay so.

Why is it the Valentine's Beers? Shouldn't it be the Anti-Valentine's beers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Oh, if some handsome king doesn't come put me on a horse.

Silverfish wrote: »
    I'd go if it was in the Kestrel.

Any takers for the Kestrel? No? Okay so.

Would it utterly freak you out if I said The Kestrel used be my local??

/awaits screeching. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Wah no way!

Wah no way!

:D Swear ta god. :D

/stalks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Novella wrote: »

Has to be done - click

Negativiteeeee. Noooo. Spread the love Fish.

Saddle up m'dahlin. :)

The kestrel sounds good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

maple wrote: »
    Would it utterly freak you out if I said The Kestrel used be my local??

/awaits screeching. :D

used to be mine too:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Okay. 1st q. Where the fupp is the kertrel? 2nd q. Is this going to end up being a cock fest event? Cause i wont be goin if it is! Please alay my worries :)

stepbar wrote: »
    Okay. 1st q. Where the fupp is the kertrel? 2nd q. Is this going to end up being a cock fest event? Cause i wont be goin if it is! Please alay my worries :)

We shall hope to have plenty of both sexes there :D

And I dont know where either pub is :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Shaws

It's in Walkinstown! That's miles away!

Aw feck that too far from ranelagh. I'd suggest somewhere closer to town. Like come on people! Town is where it's at!

Town is where it should be. It's easy for people from outside of Dublin to navigate.

Fago_25 wrote: »
    Town is where it should be. It's easy for people from outside of Dublin to navigate.

You know if you really wanted to make the culchies feel welcome.
    It could be held somewhere nice and friendly. Like Flannery's. :D;)

God i mite even take the next day off for this! I'll leave it to the floor!

Anywhere but flan's. Seriously anywhere.

Wheres Flannerys?? Oh god its years since I was out in town. Are there many of us culchies going?:D

God i'd even put a good word for ye in russells in ranelagh. Even have pints at 3.65 (fosters). Seriously anywhere but flan's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Wheres Flannerys??

Lower Camden Street. Near the bleeding horse

Wheres Flannerys?? Oh god its years since I was out in town. Are there many of us culchies going?:D

culchie here *waves*

stepbar wrote: »
    God i'd even put a good word for ye in russells in ranelagh. Even have pints at 3.65 (fosters). Seriously anywhere but flan's.

Oi noob bloke! Are you even ginger loike? :P

(Lala I'm joking about flannerys. Although if we were going to go Culchie. McGowans of phibsboro is actually classy. :P)

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Oi noob bloke! Are you even ginger loike?

(Lala I'm joking about flannerys. Although if we were going to go Culchie. McGowans of phibsboro is actually classy. :P)

Anywhere is better than Enfield believe me :D

I do! :P

Poo poo.

Oi noob bloke! Are you even ginger loike? :P

I had a falling out with my shampoo bottle a long time ago. It didn't end well but at least i got the house. But now i'm suffering negative equity. Damm i want the bottle back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Would probably have accommodation issues tbh. I'll go for maybe for the time being...

Cheap hotels :D

Ill be doing the same :D

Cheap hotels :D

Ill be doing the same :D

Sidesteps obvious joke. ;)

I'll look into it. Would want to know where we're going first...

Looks like I'm more than 50% sure of attending now...

In which case, yay! first boards beers!

Me too :D

Actually, (having thought about it for all of five minutes), I'm in.

Looking forward to it now!

Me too :D

Noob five!

I watch way too much Scrubs....

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i like beer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Can we all wear red or pink?!! No? Ok...

We can wear whatever colour you want so long as we get a good turn out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

We both know McGowans are gonna start charging extra as most people cant go out on the Sunday night...its a nice place though:)

Oh this beers venue MUST have a dancefloor...i dont care if i'm the only one up on it either!!

I'm giving serious thought to attending this beers...

Oh this beers venue MUST have a dancefloor...i dont care if i'm the only one up on it either!!

I'm giving serious thought to attending this beers...

Dancefloor yay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Well, since I suggested Capitol for cheap cocktails all those eons ago (yes it was me, do a search!) Macturcaills Pub on Townsend Street have cocktails for €4 and all pints are €3.50. Also special on shots.

I was in there on Friday and the bar staff were lovely even though they were mad busy with a party around the other side of the bar. Music isn't too loud so ya can have convos and I'm sure they'd reserve an area for you. Still nice and central (just around the corner where the nitelinks are).

Edit: no dancefloor though but you could make room. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Larianne wrote: »
    Well, since I suggested Capitol for cheap cocktails all those eons ago (yes it was me, do a search!) Macturcaills Pub on Townsend Street
    I've been by it alot, seems like a nice place...:)
    special on shots.
    Sambuca baby!!...here we come!!:D:D
    no dancefloor though but you could make room. :D
    There's always room, i'm sure of it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Choke

Larianne wrote: »
    Well, since I suggested Capitol for cheap cocktails all those eons ago (yes it was me, do a search!) Macturcaills Pub on Townsend Street have cocktails for €4 and all pints are €3.50. Also special on shots.
    Macturcaills Pub is a nice quiet place, good for chatting.

I shall be in attendance.
    I had a different name on Boards, but I haven't had my account reactivated yet, since The Incident, so even though I may look like a newb, I have been here a while.
    Just to clarify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

Or the "singles awareness day beers" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Yeah I'd be up for that, it's not like I have anything better to do on Valentines day other than sitting in a dark room and crying like a baby :pac:

So getting drunk is cool with me !

skywards wrote: »
    Or the "singles awareness day beers" :p

Me thinks this is the best name for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Me thinks this is the best name for it :D

or just call it the "irregular Saturday night drinkie session"

PCPhoto wrote: »