Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I'd say you need McGrath to pull this one out of the bag. DOD got exposed badly twice by Horgan, expect better from him. Morey's pace will be an asset back there.

But not winning anything from the puck-outs really and Cork are walking through too easily, surely Conlon has to come out the field?

McGrath is needed ASAP alright and Tony kelly is missed badly.
    We always struggle with winning puck outs so conlon has to come out and compete for them.

McGrath on already

Some of this short passing is fcuking ridiculous. Putting ourselves under unnessesscary pressure all the time. Get the ball into the inside forwards as quick as possible.

Shambles of a performance but all credit to cork.
    Were clearly frustrated after last week v Kilkenny and came out with real intent tonight. The forwards didn't look like missing a chance while our forwards didn't get a sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

This Clare team won a Flash in the pan All Ireland and were hyped up too much after. Everyone thought they would go on and dominate the hurling landscape like Kilkenny have and are still doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

mullinr2 wrote: »
    This Clare team won a Flash in the pan All Ireland and were hyped up too much after. Everyone thought they would go on and dominate the hurling landscape like Kilkenny have and are still doing.

Give me a flash in the pan any day than **** all for years.

I'll certainly take our flash in the pan but I don't know anyone in clare who thought we would go on and dominate like Kilkenny have. It's not in clare culture to be dominant and this team is very young. I had high hopes that we would win another all Ireland in the next few years after the win in 2013 though but I can't see that happening this year anyway unless our tactics change quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

I'll certainly take our flash in the pan but I don't know anyone in clare who thought we would go on and dominate like Kilkenny have. It's not in clare culture to be dominant and this team is very young. I had high hopes that we would win another all Ireland in the next few years after the win in 2013 though but I can't see that happening this year anyway unless our tactics change quickly.

I do agree with you that this Clare team SHOULD win another All Ireland but not with you know who in charge. The sooner ye get the under 21 management in charge the better for ye

Agree with you on that but I'd like another man in beside that u21 management team and Dalo would be my preference.
    Just don't think the players are enjoying Davy's regime at all unlike the way they play with such freedom with that u21 management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Not too sure if that was the sentiment here in clare as far as domination is concerned maybe the irish independent or the Sunday world maybe but not us,

We do need to setup a new system to suite the players we have and playing several players out of position is not the answer.

Plenty of players that can fit in from the past couple of under 21 teams would be a logical start, maybe davey needs to adopt the Brian coady ruthlessness to the setup he probably made the right changes tonight but way too late

Putting it simply, players like Buglar and Conlon need to be put back to there normal positions, Aaron cunningham needs to start along with totts and probably bobby duggan in midfield instead of Donnellan, there is no point crying about missing your best players, you play with the best hand in front of you which is something we never did tonight

And as far as flash in the pan All irelands go, any year that Liam Mccarthy veers away from the marble city in the last near 20 years is a Flash in the pan All Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Horrid performance from us today. I think there is a fair bit of delusion in the county with regards to the last 12 months. Despite all we have achieved we are on a really bad losing streak and you feel that spark and sharpness in our play is going. Davy and his mgmt team need a complete review of how they want this team to play because at present its not working. As mentioned, playing players in their best positions would be a start at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

letowski wrote: »
    Horrid performance from us today. I think there is a fair bit of delusion in the county with regards to the last 12 months. Despite all we have achieved we are on a really bad losing streak and you feel that spark and sharpness in our play is going. Davy and his mgmt team need a complete review of how they want this team to play because at present its not working. As mentioned, playing players in their best positions would be a start at least.

Davy has been out thought. He can seem to go 15 against 15 in any match. We have the forwards to hurt teams, but only seem to play with five of them up front in any match..Easy to stop five forwards from really hurting you over 70 min.

Cork had Clare out maneuvered last year, will do this year if the same plans are rehashed. IF you have 6 forwards capable of beating their men, which we have, then at some point you have to have faith in them to do so. The All-Ireland replay showed that.

Sorting out the backs and midfield is also necessary. That might take time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭randd1

Agree with you on that but I'd like another man in beside that u21 management team and Dalo would be my preference.
    Just don't think the players are enjoying Davy's regime at all unlike the way they play with such freedom with that u21 management.

Daly is an over-rated manager. Granted he had success with Dublin, and no doubt he's capable of doing a good job, but too often in his management he decides to go with a safety first approach which handicaps the side.

His style of management is only slightly better than Fitz's, Daly just is too pre-occupied with keeping the game tight than taking on the opposition.

Figerty wrote:
    Davy has been out thought. He can seem to go 15 against 15 in any match. We have the forwards to hurt teams, but only seem to play with five of them up front in any match..Easy to stop five forwards from really hurting you over 70 min.

Cork had Clare out maneuvered last year, will do this year if the same plans are rehashed. IF you have 6 forwards capable of beating their men, which we have, then at some point you have to have faith in them to do so. The All-Ireland replay showed that.

Sorting out the backs and midfield is also necessary. That might take time.

Yeah 100pc agree. Our attack is a mess both in personelle positions and structure. When Davy brings Ryan and Donnellan 70 yards out from goal, how do he expect SOD and Reidy, both hardly 70kg, to win ball against 3 much bigger backs. Unless Clare hit alot of long range scores, which you wont get from backs like Donnellan and Buglar, its a doomed gameplan. I think we could do with a big lad up top too, we are the only county that doesnt have one.

Wrt the backs I think we have to accept that a solution wont be found for maybe 2 or more years. We just dont have backs (except maybe Dillon) that have educated defensive skills, its going to take a along time to develop. I think its time Flanagan was given a chance in the corner, DOD, Morey and Browne have had tough days. Ryan at center back too, he looks tired and is struggling to get back and provide cover to the full back line and and be a presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

This is what Clare were missing last night - see 2mins and 21 secs in.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xcGZ8_1ua0I#t=139

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

cnoc wrote: »
    This is what Clare were missing last night - see 2mins and 21 secs in.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xcGZ8_1ua0I#t=139

According to the radio,, talks have been opened up with Podge with a view to facilitating a return....

By the way.. the Dublin player fouled the ball soloing on the foot and continuing on in that video.:)

clare team to face sligo in the park tommorow

1 Joe Hayes
    2 Dean Ryan
    3 Kevin Harnett
    4 Martin McMahon
    5 Jamie Malone
    6 Gordon Kelly
    7 Ciaran Russell
    8 Cathal O'Connor
    9 Gary Brennan
    10 Sean Collins
    11 Shane Hickey
    12 Shane McGrath
    13 Podge Collins
    14 Shane Brennan
    15 Pat Burke

must win game for the footballers we dont want to be dragged into a relegation dog fight ahead of two really tough games against tipp away next week and armagh in the park on the 15th , sligo will be tough , they did get to the same stage of the championship last year and only lost narrowly at home to fermanagh the last day , home advantage is huge and a win here will cut us off from the relagation bunch at the bottom half of the table , we have had several years of hardship trying to get out of division 4 it would be a huge set back droping back down with such a young team

two changes to the starting line up are the welcomed return of kevin hartnet to the full back line he was badly missed the last day against louth , wheres the other sees podge start his first game of the season ahead of david tubridy

no idea if tubbs is caring a knock, hopfully he will be available from the bench at some stage would expect to see him along with martin o'leary and keelan sexton to feature from the bench in the second half ,

nial carew is the sligo manager and knows us inside out after our three meatings with waterford last year with whom he managed , imagine the conditions will be poor and they will look to flood the middle third where they have been struggling of late in mid field , tommorow will probably go the 12 rounds and be very close a win is badly needed in the county after the dissapointment of the last 3 weeks between footballers and hurlers , i expect the attendance to be lower then normal too with the clash with the rugby , hopfully we can durm up some decent support and collect what could turn out to be a vital win

Another good win and 22 points is a great score.
    Our hurlers can't even get that these days :(

Another good win and 22 points is a great score.
    Our hurlers can't even get that these days :(

yeah great win for the footballers again finshed 0-22 to 1-13 , first twenty minuets was awful stuff to watch were 6 points behind for a long part of it ,heads were still stuck above in drogheda from the last day ,however the game turned in our favor from there on pat burke started to make himself more available and in turn led from the front and drove things on , clare chiped away at the sizeable lead built up by sligo , the strong wind was worth at least 4 points so going in 2 behind at half time was always going to be in our favor for the 2nd 35

joe hayes made a great save at the start of the second half which could have giving sligo an edge , but dthe lads kicked on again kicking 10 points without reply ,david tubridy came on at half time but was no where near 100% ,it was mainly pat burke linking up with his dublin counterpart shane mcgrath who did most of the damage , we had a number of possible goal chances but mainly opted for points , although sean collins did miss an almost open goal to knock over his 3rd point just before he was replaced

inthe last few minuets of the game the visitors notched up a consolation 1-1 to put a slight gloss on there own performance , it could have been a comfortable 10 point plus , much closer game coming up in 6 days time in thurles a victory over tipperary is slightly over due , should it be acheved it will set us up niclely for a crack at promotion either way division 3 status looks safe for this year anyways

a copy and past job from the clare hurlers facebook page https://www.facebook.com/ClareHurlers?fref=nf shows up some intrestring results in the first round of the under 21 hurling championship good wins for eire og and kilmaley , and a massive one coup for broadford against sixmilebridge over the weekend

Results:
    28/02/15:
    U21 B Championship Preliminary Round O'Callaghans Mills 2-12 Scariff/Ogonnelloe 0-07.

01/03/15:

U21 A Championship Preliminary Round:

Sixmilebridge 0-08 Broadford 3-12.

U21 A Championship Quarter-Finals:

Kilmaley 1-15 Inagh-Kilnamona 1-11,
    Newmarket-on-Fergus 1-09 Éire Og 2-17,
    Feakle/Killanena vs Clarecastle, (This Game Was Postponed).

U21 B Championship Preliminary Round:

St. Joseph's Doora/Barefield 0-12 Clooney-Quin 0-09,
    Whitegate 5-14 Clonlara 0-17.

U21 C Championship Preliminary Round:

Meelick 0-02 Ruan 1-19.

U21 C Championship Quarter-Final:

Corofin 1-16 Ennistymon 1-11.

Jaysus that is some shock how much the bridge were beaten by.

13 points in total 3-12 to 0-08 , the scoreline is even more shocking giving the academy type setup they had down there over the last few years , judging by the eire og result ye'r lads will have a big say in it i would expect this year too

two big games coming up against tipp this weekend starting up with football in thurles at 3 o'clock tomorrow , big game a win will give us a shot at promotion a defeat will leave us looking to consolidate a position in division 3 for next year , likelyhood is we will get heavly punnished against a far better tipperary forward line tommorow then the sligo one we faced last week should we offer up as many chances early on , a repeat of our second half performance in that game will see us have every chance though

tipperary have an exelent midfield along with one of the best 6 forward lines in the country on there day , if they click or if we let them click we will find ourselves in a battle , although the home side have yet to reach the hights of last year , and they are giving up plenty of scoreing chances themselves of late which could work in our forwards favor who have only kicked 5 wides in 3 games , a remarkable statistic for a side who have notched up 1-51 in that time , we have'nt beating tipperary in this code since the declan browne days of the early 2000s maybe 2003 was the last time tomorrow is probably the best chance we have had in a long time to change things given the form of both sides of late its the best chance we have but it wont be easy

sunday brings up a huge challange aswell major questions over team selections tactics and management in general all have to be answerd , all sorts of roumors flooded the place after the cork game , players unrest, lads thretining to walk away from the panel ect..

while all could be total horse s**te it has lead to campaigns from the likes of ger loughnane and anthoney daly in national media to call on people to ease up on the negativity side of things wether they are right or wrong , so much so that the clare peope newspaper last tuesday week ran an editorial giving out about online fourms and "certain websites " in which they claim were targeting players with abuse for there performances on the field , while one clare gaa page was the main target of editor , this web page was not too far away from there gaze either ,

but we are paying customers too and are entitled to our opinions especially if we find ourselves traveling up and down the country following clare teams, what goes on on most online forms is pretty much the same as most pub conversations or on the street or where ever , thankfully not many go over board here on this page but on others they do ,while it is wrong we will all be here again next sunday evening asking questions if we fail to pick up 2 points

two big games coming up against tipp this weekend starting up with football in thurles at 3 o'clock tomorrow , big game a win will give us a shot at promotion a defeat will leave us looking to consolidate a position in division 3 for next year , likelyhood is we will get heavly punnished against a far better tipperary forward line tommorow then the sligo one we faced last week should we offer up as many chances early on , a repeat of our second half performance in that game will see us have every chance though

tipperary have an exelent midfield along with one of the best 6 forward lines in the country on there day , if they click or if we let them click we will find ourselves in a battle , although the home side have yet to reach the hights of last year , and they are giving up plenty of scoreing chances themselves of late which could work in our forwards favor who have only kicked 5 wides in 3 games , a remarkable statistic for a side who have notched up 1-51 in that time , we have'nt beating tipperary in this code since the declan browne days of the early 2000s maybe 2003 was the last time tomorrow is probably the best chance we have had in a long time to change things given the form of both sides of late its the best chance we have but it wont be easy

sunday brings up a huge challange aswell major questions over team selections tactics and management in general all have to be answerd , all sorts of roumors flooded the place after the cork game , players unrest, lads thretining to walk away from the panel ect..

while all could be total horse s**te it has lead to campaigns from the likes of ger loughnane and anthoney daly in national media to call on people to ease up on the negativity side of things wether they are right or wrong , so much so that the clare peope newspaper last tuesday week ran an editorial giving out about online fourms and "certain websites " in which they claim were targeting players with abuse for there performances on the field , while one clare gaa page was the main target of editor , this web page was not too far away from there gaze either ,

but we are paying customers too and are entitled to our opinions especially if we find ourselves traveling up and down the country following clare teams, what goes on on most online forms is pretty much the same as most pub conversations or on the street or where ever , thankfully not many go over board here on this page but on others they do ,while it is wrong we will all be here again next sunday evening asking questions if we fail to pick up 2 points

Yeah its a massive game tomorrow for the footballers. A win would put us in with a great chance of a playoff place, even if we still have Fermanagh and Armagh. Were in decent shape at the moment to be fair to Colm Collins, We have adapted fairly well to D3 and are still making progress, which is the main thing. Should be a good game tomorrow like last year.

I think you're spot on with regards to the criticism being leveled at the management.

Davy, because of his who he is and the way he conducts his management of the team, will always have his critics. It's kind of strange for me as a supporter, I think Davy can be quite shrewd and innovative the way he sets out his team tactically, in both playing to the teams strengths but also trying to compensate for some of the squads shortcomings. But the problem really among Clare supporters, is there is huge frustration in the teams development (or stagnation) over the last 12 winless months. Because of the youth in the squad since '13 and all their success, there is a sense this team should be improving and excelling more consistently. It's a bad situation right now but it's only the first week in March, our form can be rectifiable. Hopefully the boys can put in a more sharper and accurate performance in their hurling at CP this weekend, something so that the supporters can enjoy watching the team play, and lose some of the negativity around.

letowski wrote: »
    Yeah its a massive game tomorrow for the footballers. A win would put us in with a great chance of a playoff place, even if we still have Fermanagh and Armagh. Were in decent shape at the moment to be fair to Colm Collins, We have adapted fairly well to D3 and are still making progress, which is the main thing. Should be a good game tomorrow like last year.

I think you're spot on with regards to the criticism being leveled at the management.

Davy, because of his who he is and the way he conducts his management of the team, will always have his critics. It's kind of strange for me as a supporter, I think Davy can be quite shrewd and innovative the way he sets out his team tactically, in both playing to the teams strengths but also trying to compensate for some of the squads shortcomings. But the problem really among Clare supporters, is there is huge frustration in the teams development (or stagnation) over the last 12 winless months. Because of the youth in the squad since '13 and all their success, there is a sense this team should be improving and excelling more consistently. It's a bad situation right now but it's only the first week in March, our form can be rectifiable. Hopefully the boys can put in a more sharper and accurate performance in their hurling at CP this weekend, something so that the supporters can enjoy watching the team play, and lose some of the negativity around.

i dont think we will be out of the promotion race but tipp will be out if they dont win infact they could be drawen into the relagation battle, however they will be well able for the teams we beat, well worth the trip to tipp though giving the open style of football played by both teams win/lose/or draw it will be a good game

we all know the craic now at this stage with the hurlers but li would rather be in this position now then where we were this time last year

we lost narrowly to tipp in the football before hammering there hurlers in front of nearly 7000, at the time eamon o'shea was on his last legs and everyone said tipp were finshed

i think we won two games since then , a one sided afair against waterford and a narrow win against 4th placed division 1-b laois , time for things to change , as you say attitudes will follow

one them days for the footballers everything that could go wrong went wrong today , poor decision making on the ball coincided with poor shooting against a much sharper tipperary side , we were very wastfull with the ball but for a spell in the last 5 or 10 minuets of the first half where we enjoyed a purple patch

we probably won the midfield battle quite comfortably and dominated possession for most parts of the game but couldnt do very much with it , the inside forwards were compleatly starved of possession , the home side were much better when they were in attack and picked off some great scores against the wind in the second half ,

this clare team is crying out for a big man in the full forward line and in truth we never treatend the tipp goal until garry brennan was moved into the 14 position for the last ten minuets which led to us getting a goal back , david tubridy missed an injury time penalty but would have only been a mere consolation, if we are to be able to take a step forward and beat the likes of tipperary armagh ..ect we will need to have to start useing the bench a little better , we left it far too late today with tactical changes , not sure on the fitness of cathal mcinerny or keelan sexton but they desrve alot more game time and we realy needed them today , no complaints about the result we probably wont be taking part in any promoation race this year next three games will be all about consoladation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

In non GAA news, Ennis has won the competition to host Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann 2016. Great news and it should be an outstanding week.

At least there was one good news story re Clare today.

Any team news for our hurlers yet?

I would hope that mcinerney, kelly and McGrath will come back into the team. Absolutely must win game for us. Could be a massive backlash if we were to loose another match.

Disappointing result for the footballers. They had talked up this game as a huge one for the team and they failed to deliver.

Any team news for our hurlers yet?

I would hope that mcinerney, kelly and McGrath will come back into the team. Absolutely must win game for us. Could be a massive backlash if we were to loose another match.

Disappointing result for the footballers. They had talked up this game as a huge one for the team and they failed to deliver.

yeah slight dissapointment with the footballers tipperary will get promoted i think they are a very good side, i expect our lads to bounce back quickly

the hurlers game in ennis tommorow is huge from the start i would have targeted the two home games as the most winable games tipp will be up for it but so will we and should we win i would fancy our chances against dublin who shiped a heavy defeat to cork tonight

if we lose we will face a relegation play off no doubt , the good news however is though that most of the experimenting is over as far as management is concerned but no team as of yet has been named there is one team knocking about the place at the moment which is obviously subject to change ( like all clare teams really) but semms strong none the less

1 pat Kelly
    2 paul Flanagan
    3 cian Dillon
    4 david Mcinerney
    5 brendan Bugler
    6 connor Ryan
    7 Patrick o'connor
    8 colm Galvin
    9 pat Donnellan
    10 john Conlon
    11 tonyKelly
    12 shane Golden
    13 colin Ryan
    14 conor McGrath
    15 ShaneO Donnell

not the offical line up but something close to what we should expect tommorow

Hidalgo wrote: »
    In non GAA news, Ennis has won the competition to host Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann 2016. Great news and it should be an outstanding week.

At least there was one good news story re Clare today.

anthoney daly wont thank you for that post , he had a hard enough job trying to play down the jibs of people telling him to "stick to the trad" and all that :pac: lets hopefully we can put that one right also tomorow

1 pat Kelly 2 paul Flanagan 3 cian Dillon 4 david Mcinerney 5 brendan Bugler 6 connor Ryan 7 Patrick o'connor 8 colm Galvin 9 pat Donnellan 10 john Conlon 11 tonyKelly 12 shane Golden 13 colin Ryan 14 conor McGrath 15 ShaneO Donnell

Thats the programmed team alright.
    Delighted for Paul Flanagan, I hope he can solve our corner back problem, he is a very talented hurler. The 15 suggest were playing sweeper, which although maybe be our best way of beating Tipp, its not really a long term solution to our defensive difficulties.
    That said hopefully we can just get a big performance from this side and a win with it. Its desperately needed so heres hoping!