If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can you help? The Questions and Answers thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Anyone know the best way to about getting a reference, and the things Lecturers take into account when they're writing them? I presume its exam results etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    It does make a difference if you buy student travel tickets. They certainly don't accept your student ID for that. They should, but they don't.
    Bus Eireann don't ask for any identification on the route back to Mayo. Handy enough.
    Ddemo wrote: »
    hi im just woundering about a few qus and need some advice as im thinking of going here next year.

Which is the best student accommodation?
    River appartments are the best quality. Nice carpets, walkways, leather couches, ensuite rooms, big rooms etc. But they are quite a bit dearer than village or rye hall.

Rye Hall looks like a prison from the outside and a hospital ward on the inside. Having said that, it's cheaper than river and the rooms are quite big (not ensuite). Quieter party-wise than the other two but can be a mad place. Rye 24 have had evictions two years running now.

And then there's village. Well what can I say about the village appartments other than that it's possibly the greatest thing that has ever happened to me! They're not much to look at, and inside is a lot worse. However, village lives up to its name in that it is a village, a community. Everybody knows everybody in village. Everybody is invited to every party. The rooms are small and the appartments are filthy for the msot part and run down. However, it's a great spot for meeting people and having the craic which is what first year should be all about!
    What are the sport facilities like?
    Very good. Gaelic football pitch size astroturf, a soccer pitch and a football pitch. A good gym which is free to use at any time for NUIM students (in most other college you'd be paying membership over one hundred euro a year). Two indoor halls where you can do just about any sport. There's a decent swimming pool on the south campus too.
    And anyone doing Finance and Economics could u give insight on their opinion on the couse?
    I do economics. It's tought enough but interesting and the lecturers are very strict concerning deadlines etc. so no messing about! Except in lectures in JH1 where you'll regularly see paper airplanes flying around and a lot of messing......business students...sigh:pac:

A bit rushed. Choose Maynooth. Tis savage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

change your modules by logging in here. Fairly straightforward after that.

Anyone that has used the ebrary library.. Is there any way to download the whole ebook instead of just looking at one page of the ebook on their website?

If anyone is doing Financial Accounting 4 (AC202) can you message me the enrollment key for moodle thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

Duddy wrote: »
    Anyone know the best way to about getting a reference, and the things Lecturers take into account when they're writing them? I presume its exam results etc?

you have to give head to get ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

What do you do when you have a four-hour break between lectures and you don't have a home nearby to go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

1. Library
    2. SU Bar

(Not necessarily in that order)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

banquo wrote: »
    1. Library
    2. SU Bar
    3. Gym
    4. Go to lectures you don't do yourself but are funny to be in (pm for details)
    5. Find a friend, preferably girlfriend, who lives on campus
    (Not necessarily in that order)
    Loads of things to do in Maynooth!

Ha! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Drink tea at Funky's and feck around on the Mus Tech computers, that's all I did last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Bring a book and take over an entire booth in the common room by yourself with a smirk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

El Pr0n wrote: »
    What do you do when you have a four-hour break between lectures and you don't have a home nearby to go to?
    Rory, give someone a text and see what theyre up to...amount of ppl you know from music that live on campus and have a lot of free time (like myself, lorna etc) is unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

jpcarlow wrote: »
    Rory, give someone a text and see what theyre up to...amount of ppl you know from music that live on campus and have a lot of free time (like myself, lorna etc) is unreal

What are you and Lorna doing next Wednesday and every other Wednesday until the end of the year between 10 and 2? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

Anyone know roughly when the results to the January exams are out? Do they get posted on moodle?

They get posted on studentweb.nuim.ie, where you login with your number and password :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I heard from a lecturer around the third week of February.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I heard from a lecturer around the third week of February.

But depends on what department. They don't all come out together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Oh crap, didn't realise that. Well, twas the Music Dept I was talking to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

What are you and Lorna doing next Wednesday and every other Wednesday until the end of the year between 10 and 2? :p

haha i'm free for all but one of those hours i believe my dear boy..pming number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

No no, there's a chance you mightn't slam the door hard enough! Tie it to the ceiling light and jump over the banisters!

o O (emagines an entire skeleton tied to a lamp shade by the tooth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Is there a TEFL course availabe to do in Maynooth ? Am interesting in doing one, wondering if there is one in college or will I just have to look in town for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Is there a TEFL course availabe to do in Maynooth ? Am interesting in doing one, wondering if there is one in college or will I just have to look in town for one.

Wow I remember looking into this ages ago...

Can't remember what I came up with, but please post here any info you find out about it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Eh no don't think there is a training course for teachers in Maynooth, there is a course for students who want to learn English though.

I did a course in the Maldron hotel in Dublin last year and it was quite good, even if it was only the 40 hour one.

Info here:
    http://www.teflireland.com/tefl-courses/tefl-courses-dublin.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Hey guys I don't know of this topic as to do with this forum but it's worth tryin:D
    anyway I was wondering if those that do accounting and finance or economcs get to go on trips. Like go to cork or something better

I know that those dong computer science do. It will be much fun to those doin business. Especially gettin to know Your class mates Better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I know that those dong computer science do
    I'm in 2nd year of Computer Science and the only trips I've heard of are for competitions like the Imagine Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Norrdeth wrote: »
    Eh no don't think there is a training course for teachers in Maynooth, there is a course for students who want to learn English though.

I did a course in the Maldron hotel in Dublin last year and it was quite good, even if it was only the 40 hour one.

Info here:
    http://www.teflireland.com/tefl-courses/tefl-courses-dublin.html

Did the same one, such a fancy hotel!

They do one in the glen royal sometimes but you can only teach abroad with it, although I haven't seen it advertised in almost 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

jeese that took me long enough to see :P
    ..juggling I believe, you should come, otherwise, fancy a cuppa?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Hey guys I don't know of this topic as to do with this forum but it's worth tryin:D
    anyway I was wondering if those that do accounting and finance or economcs get to go on trips. Like go to cork or something better

I know that those dong computer science do. It will be much fun to those doin business. Especially gettin to know Your class mates Better.

I finished Fin & Acc last year. No trips done. The only thing that was organised for us was a career fair yoke in Pugin Hall every year for 2nd and 3rd years. Saying that, there is a good bit of spare time in the course and you may get a day off every week in second or third year so if you wanted to go travelling, you could get a student travel card and go where you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Has anyone got any information on what exactly the University Day is? Is it just another open day?

Had my interview today and the woman doing it really stressed that I attend the University Day on the 24th of April. I am hoping this is a good thing because I don't see any benefit of recommending it to someone who will not be admitted.

I had a look on the website and have not found any info so any help would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

The university is very open as it is. Like, any day you come in you could most likely sit in on lectures without people noticing, especially popular subjects with a lot of students, so admittance isn't a problem. I'm pretty sure the university day is the same as the open day. There's generally one around that time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

does anybody know if your registered as an occasional student for a module can you drop out at anytime???