Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

She-wolf you say?

• 17-01-2010 8:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭

I came across this article today in the rag of a newspaper the Sunday Independent. Link to the article.
    A new breed of she-wolf is prowling for no-strings sex
    Many female students now feel it's normal to be as drunk, lairy and promiscuous as lads, writes Alison O'Riordan

By Alison O'Riordan
    Sunday January 17 2010

'He's my f**k buddy -- whenever we're bored on campus or drunk we just end up with each other." This is how Jane*, a 21-year-old commerce student who lives on campus in UCD, describes a casual sexual arrangement with one of her fellow students.

A highly sexualised new generation of female college-goers in their early 20s have emerged and are willing to literally expose their every emotional thought and lay themselves bare.

"Life for me and many of my friends became highly sexualised when we started college. I was in Trinity and meeting girls not just from Ireland but America and England who would put out and lived on campus so it was easier to go back to someone's house for a bit of casual sex. That's when my sex life really took off," says a 22-year-old engineering student at Trinity.

With college students putting themselves under severe pressure to keep up with the pace of casual sex and no-strings-attached encounters, a new generation of girls have developed who believe their bodies set them free.

"There's quite a bit of promiscuity out there. People don't bother with courtship these days so if they like each other, things will happen quickly. Boys expect girls to be loose once you reach college so we have to live up to that assumption. I know a girl who goes to house parties and charges boys €5 for a blow job," says a 21-year-old female drama student.

"Pretty much every girl in her early 20s in Dublin seems to only want casual sex. The vast majority of girls have no problem in going home with a guy.

"When they're full of drink, girls just think of sex," laughs a 20-year-old boy lounging around the campus.

With intimacy all but gone out of sex for young people, it has been replaced with a new culture of "shags" and "threesomes" and girls tend not to care who it is with or who knows what about their sexual liaisons. "Girls don't want to be seen to be doing anything romantic or soppy in public, which might hurt their street cred," adds one girl.

Turning themselves into willing porn stars and degrading themselves for the attentions of a boy is common-place. "Being over flirty with boys, or even kissing other girls for male attention is rampant. I was at this party and this girl got fairly intimate with a guy. Suddenly he burst through the door where the rest of us were partying and told all the lads what happened -- she was left with her knickers around her ankles," says one female nursing student.

Another 22-year-old boy joins in on the conversation: "I was working at Electric Picnic this summer and one of the girls who works with me wouldn't be the best looking so she jumped on the stage and started pole dancing, showing off to the lads and gyrating against the pole. Let's say it didn't work."

Another guy tells me how he was propositioned by a girl in a room full of people including her brother.

"It sent out terrible messages about her," he said.

Unleashed into a society that says it's perfectly normal to drink alcohol and become as drunk and lairy as lads on nights out, one girl tells me how the mere thought of going out on the tiles without a drink shocks her into staying in for an evening.

A regular male drinker on the college scene told how he would drink, on average, six cans before going into town on a night "but the girls would always have the litre of vodka at the ready and it's normal to see the girls messy and swaying side by side.

"The worst thing is their sexual confidence increases the more drink they consume.

"Being approached by a hammered-looking girl isn't a very attractive trait. That's how lads behave -- we don't want that in the fairer sex," he said.

Celebrities have brainwashed young women into believing good looks, promiscuity and a lavish lifestyle are synonymous with success. "Image matters and many tend to obsess about their looks. I've seen some girls who hate getting into photographs in case there is evidence that they weren't looking great and it will show up on Facebook. Its over-obsessive," says 23-year-old Jessica.

Carl, a 22-year-old marketing student, works for an event management company with a 60 per cent female workforce. "The vast majority of the girls would cover themselves literally in fake tan and plaster on the make up.

"They feel in competition with each other to look as done up as possible," he said.

Yes, the hipless, concave figure of high fashion that trickles down to the high street is dominating these young girls' every thought. The fetish for flat stomachs and large breasts and the constant speculation about over-dieting among celebrities is what they are obsessing about.

"I feel like I should dress like Shakira in her She Wolf music video, when she is prancing around half naked in that cage. I measure my weight as the ability to fit in, make friends, be popular," says one girl who is in the final year of her business and legal studies course.

One student even had her Facebook pictures done professionally with a full spray tan and make-up application so guys could pine over how pretty she was and not quickly hover to someone else's page. An arts student laughs as he explains the routine of meeting a girl here in Ireland: "You are both too drunk when you first meet to talk so you end up eating the face off of each other.

"The next day you find the other person on Facebook to see if they're as good looking as you thought or whether it was just 'beer goggles', and then you text and drunkenly bash your genitals into each other on the dance floor. That's the extent of it."

And so these years are the golden years -- time to have a whole bunch of fun and adventure, to get it out of your system, the good and the bad and the ugly.

One female student sums it up: "The pressures of work and impending 'maturity' after college make you feel that you should enjoy your college experience to the full, the worst would be regretting not having done it all."

* All names featured have been changed

- Alison O'Riordan

Sunday Independent

Well I never had these kinds of experiences, maybe I'm missing out on something...:rolleyes:

What do the rest of ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Shakira is sooooo 4 months ago. Sunday Independent wouldn't know what is in fashion anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,127 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Wish I was a student again:(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I was discussing today with mom and dad, my options after 6th Form. Whether to go to University

Well this is that sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I really don't see why female promiscuity is considered such a bad thing if they're single.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

****it...I seriously can't wait until I go to college...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I had one fcuk buddy in my whole life so far, and she was basically just a girlfriend that left before breakfast

I don't see the huge attraction to it myself, but each to their own

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

I never had these experiences either..then again i am an ugly fecker so maybe thats the reason for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Must have been a slow news day. Whenever a "journalist" is having one of those days where he/she is just staring into space...they go through facebook/twitter/bebo pages and try and find some kind of popular culture shocker. "Girls enjoy casual Sex" - Not a great headline...

Poor fare.

I really don't see why female promiscuity is considered such a bad thing if they're single.

To paraphrase someone or other...''in an age of plentiful and safe contraception,moral laws based on the axiom of sex=pregnancy should be as obsolete as the witchcraft laws...''

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Female promiscuity makes guys happy, it makes women happy, it makes everyone happy! Why's it such a bad thing? :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

El Siglo wrote: »
    I came across this article today in the rag of a newspaper the Sunday Independent. Link to the article.

If that's the sort of thing that gets you all hot and bothered, that's fine. But there's no need to share quite so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

A highly sexualised new generation of female college-goers in their early 20s have emerged and are willing to literally expose their every emotional thought and lay themselves bare.

My response: 'That happened 15 years ago, you out of date excuse for a journalist.' Pathetic. The article belongs in the Irish Sun.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

If that's the sort of thing that gets you all hot and bothered, that's fine. But there's no need to share quite so much.

I'd come across any of those chicks too in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Anyone who gets professional photos done just for their Facebook seriously needs to get a life.
    As someone said,must've been a slow news day..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

brummytom wrote: »
    I was discussing today with mom and dad, my options after 6th Form. Whether to go to University

Well this is that sorted

So, Brum, have you decided where? I have to keep tabs on my stalkees, y'know.

Hasn't college always been a bit like this anyway?

Wish I did the college thing proper now, damn my willingness to get into the working world.

So, Brum, have you decided where? I have to keep tabs on my stalkees, y'know.

I'm thinking Trinity, but who knows.. depends on grades :o

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Maybe its just that I'm only in my first year of college but I've never heard of much of this going.

The closest thing to anything bizarre was a mate of mine was in the Trinity Bar (The Pav for any ponces who go/went there :P) and he was propositioned by a girl and her bi-sexual boyfriend

brummytom wrote: »
    I'm thinking Trinity, but who knows.. depends on grades :o

I'd imagine there'll be a special After Hours convention if you ever make it to these shores.

I'm over at least once a year, I'll have to start hiding now or I could get recognised :eek:

EDIT: Ooh you're in Amsterdam? Niiice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

Jesus, I forgot how trashy the Sindo actually is.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Sluts are a brand new concept. Did journalism used to be a prestigious career?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

the sindo writes an outdated article with tinges of criticism and pontification about other people's private lives? never:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

If American teen-flicks have taught me anything its that the promiscuous college chicks are always the serial killer's first victim.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    The closest thing to anything bizarre was a mate of mine was in the Trinity Bar (The Pav for any ponces who go/went there :P) and he was propositioned by a girl and her bi-sexual boyfriend

Yeah i dont go to trinity but used to spend alot of time in the pav, full of dickheads but the women were eeeeasy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

It doesn't get me "hot and bothered", more like 'why did I waste my undergrad studying and trying to pay rent and bills when I should have been out drinking and riding more'. The article only struck me because it was stating the obvious like this is some sort of new phenomenon, well maybe the editing of facebook photos but everything else has been going on since people could ride and drink.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I dunno, it's the Sindo and I wouldn't expect much more. How much truth is in it, is the question. I mean there has and always will be people like that but whether it's the majority of people whoring around is another story?

it's like the story about the price of a blow job in UCD being a mere cigarette; seeing as times are hard the rate seems to have risen according to that story :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Don't read the sindo it's bad for your blood pressure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

bitches be crazy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

... and once they can begin to follow this tawdry behaviour in a silent manner will the model finally have been perfected.