Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Short Guys - do we stand a chance?

• 11-01-2010 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭

In response to the fabulous 'Tall Guys' thread, I think we should get some definitive stats on just how much of a chance a guy under 5' 5" has of scoring...EVER!!!

I was always under the illusion that women were all about a guys 'personality', lol.;)

How important is a mans height when looking for love 86 votes

MUST be over 6 0"
    0% 0 votes
    Anything over 5' 7" is ok
    27% 24 votes
    I dont care about his height
    38% 33 votes
    I love guys shorter than me
    33% 29 votes

I was always under the illusion that women were all about a guys 'personality'

Urban myth. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Nothing wrong with short guys, or tall guys.

If a person genuinely likes you, it'll be for deeper, more significant reasons than your height :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

im 5ft. i dont think ive ever met a man smaller than me :) for awhile i was seeing a guy who claimed to be 5'5 but i reckon he was actually more like 5'3, but hey he was still taller than me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

well last night i got told by a girl that i was too small and im 5 10 and she wasnt tall eithier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i would traditionally have said i wanted a guy taller than me (i'm nearly 5ft4)

but over a year ago, out of the blue, a man of literally 5ft nothing came along and caught my eye

fun times were had by all ;):D

its no longer something im fussy about

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Has to be over 6 foot.
    For me, personally, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

Not enough range in the poll tbh. Big difference between 5'7" and 6'0".

Also, the girls responding should post their height too.

Aldito wrote: »
    Not enough range in the poll tbh. Big difference between 5'7" and 6'0".

Also, the girls responding should post their height too.

Why? The thread is about guys, not girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

As long as he taller then me i dont mind,im 5ft 5. But really personality has got to be the main thing:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Larianne wrote: »

That's hope for ANYONE!

Short AND annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

Cuz it would be interesting to know if the girls who won't accept short guys are short or tall themselves

Well, it's not a survey of heights of the ladies of the ladies lounge either.

If people want to post their height, they can, but aren't under any obligation to.

My dad is 5'3'' and he bagged my 5'7'' mammy :pac:

My man is 5'7" which he strongly denies. He reckons he's 5'10".

He's not.

sky88 wrote: »
    well last night i got told by a girl that i was too small and im 5 10 and she wasnt tall eithier

That's a bit harsh!

It's fine to have preferences, but to dismiss someone without even giving them a chance, based on them not fitting your ideal physical type ... that's quite shallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

I'm near 5'10 and I have kissed smaller guys. One most recently being 5'6". Was grand coz we were sitting down but when we stood up it was just weird. I don't think it's me being shallow, it's just the way I feel.

My granny was a good bit taller than my Granda. She was usually sitting down in photos. :)

You should have ...as long as he is taller than me ....so people could vote on that ...because im sure thats the only thing that would matter to the majority of women ...

My Partner is over 6 foot and i do find that attractive ....but i have dated a guy who was barley taller that me he was about 5.6..and he never had any trouble getting women interested in him...mind you he was very very attractive looking as well as being laid back, funny, and extremely interesting to be around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

I usually go for guys the same height as me (5'6) or taller, I don't avoid shorter guys though. Whenever we went out and I had heels on I seemed taller than my ex though.

I'm near 5'10 and I have kissed smaller guys. One most recently being 5'6". Was grand coz we were sitting down but when we stood up it was just weird. I don't think it's me being shallow, it's just the way I feel.

My granny was a good bit taller than my Granda. She was usually sitting down in photos. :)

but if a guy dared to say the same thing about an overweight lady he'd be crucified?

See I knew what I said would cause trouble. It's hard for me as a tall girl to explain it. To me, I feel the guy should always be taller than the girl. Maybe society has me brainwashed in thinking this and then if I am with a guy it feels weird. I dunno.. :(

look im in no way slating you for it. i personally wouldn't feel comfertable kissing a taller girl than me. just the way I am. shallow or not. Im just remarking that its interesting if people find the tall/short complexion different to someone having issues with someone overweight.

Kirnsy wrote: »
    but if a guy dared to say the same thing about an overweight lady he'd be crucified?

Men have preferences. Blondes, redheads, boob sizes, etc.

I think women are allowed have them too? Either way, lets not turn this into a gender war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i only go for tall guys but thats just because its my type,being 5"8 almost 5 "9 its quite hard,i cant help it its just what im attracted to

Silverfish wrote: »
    Men have preferences. Blondes, redheads, boob sizes, etc.

I think women are allowed have them too? Either way, lets not turn this into a gender war.

Of course. And agreed about the gender war thing it wasn't my intention.

I know what you mean :)

I think in an underlying way, tall men are associated with protection, manliness and bravery.

Plus, it also seems to be accepted in social norms that the man should be the taller one in a relationship.

I think its a case of me having always being with taller guys and then being with (the very few) smaller guys feels weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You know I have a mate who is quite short, it has to be said - most women are taller than him. BUT he just so happens to be an awesome dancer - and as a result gets plenty of female attention. So if you are worried about your height - just learn how to dance really well and your height will no longer be your defining characterisitc.

sky88 wrote: »
    well last night i got told by a girl that i was too small and im 5 10 and she wasn't tall either

Don't get me wrong.
    That woman is perfectly entitled to her preference.
    But the fact that she hasn't the common courtesy to keep her perspective on your "shortcomings" to herself.
    Well it shows that she did you a favour.

I'm 5ft 8.
    I have an attraction for men my own height. I like that physical fit.
    But If I like someone I like them. Height doesn't come anywhere into the equation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Why do these stupid threads pop up every week about height, hair colour, beards etc.

It's nonsense. One girl could decide she wants a tall black haired chean shaven dude and the next thing fall in love with a ginger midget with a beard if she makes him laugh and makes time for her and makes her feel special.

Get over it people. and by "it" I mean your insecurities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I'm 6'0 so I generally go out with taller men but I have been out with smaller men too. My last boyfriend was about 5'9 which is a good bit shorter than me. If I like someone then height is irrelevant tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

As I said in the other thread, it's not something that bothers me. If someone wants to dismiss me over something I can't control, then I don't see not knowing that person as any loss. Don't get me wrong, people can't control who they are attracted to, but all I'm saying is that I'm not going to lose any sleep over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

There's a guy that I know who's very good-looking, really funny, a total gentleman, great personality, very intelligent, dresses well, has a good job etc. He's about five feet tall. And he is such a ladies man, girls are all over him on nights out!

I think it's his confidence! He's very sure of himself, but without being cocky. He certainly doesn't see himself in any way inferior to other guys; he doesn't act as though he's at any disadvantage because of his height. I think he knows that, because he has so much going for him, any girl who'd let his height put her off even if she liked him isn't really worth bothering with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

panda100 wrote: »
    I'm 6'0 so I generally go out with taller men but I have been out with smaller men too. My last boyfriend was about 5'9 which is a good bit shorter than me. If I like someone then height is irrelevant tbh.

I'm the same hight as you *high fives!*
    My Boyfriend is around 5'9 and he loves that i'm taller than him (he says he likes to feel like he's out with a supermodel, what a charmer :P)

hight means nothing to me though, both my sisters are around my hight and are married to veeery short men (one is a jockey, that's all i'm saying.... and i'm not denighing that i've tried to fit him into a suitcase before!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I'm 5'8 and i prefer guys who are taller than me although my last bf was the same height and half my width so it's not a set rule.
    I am more attracted to guys a fair bit taller than me and broader than me.

Hard to explain but basically like that when I'm hugging a guy that I'm the one being held as opposed to me holding him if that makes sense?
    I hate feeling bigger than the guy I'm with.
    I also love heels and I know my ex preferred me in flats because of his own insecurities about being short.

Being truthful I don't think I'd ever be attracted to a guy of 5'6 or less. But thats just personal preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

You'd have to compensate for your lack of height. Being loaded would help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭happyoutish

I'm 5 5 and for me I like a guy whose either the same height as me or just a bit taller.. I like to be able to look into their eyes and not strain my neck to do it or have to bend over to do it. That maybe sound a bit hard... but really i'm a romantic :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Kirnsy wrote: »

I dont think so, you like what you like, i dont go for overweight guys either.
    On the height thing though, he has to be 6ft or else a big wallet to stand on to make the height difference and hung like a horse! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

It genuinely makes no difference to me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I'm 5'1. I've rarely come across a guy smaller than me. I would prefer a taller guy, from my past experiences shorter guys are more insecure which would be a turn off for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I much prefer guys noticably taller than me, but really you can't help who you're attracted to so I wouldn't be aurprised if sometime in the future I ended up with a guy shorter than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Doesn't really matter to me. And I'm around 5'9".

I am often attracted to shorter guys, weirdly enough. Every guy I've scored in the past few months (all 3, ohhh!) are about the same height as me. Or shorter even. My last ex was 6'4" or so. But height had nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Piste wrote: »
    I much prefer guys noticably taller than me, but really you can't help who you're attracted to so I wouldn't be aurprised if sometime in the future I ended up with a guy shorter than me.

I do too. I'm 5'6 so it's not that hard to find guys taller, but I prefer more than an inch taller!

Having said that, I was attracted to a guy the same height as me once. We went out for a while but I knew in the back of my head it was bothering me because he was so short.

Can't help it. Just don't like short guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 queenbeeuty

Its a difficult one because I voted that I dont care about height
    and it doesn't matter how tall a person is,but I dont have first hand experience as my boyfriend is 6'1 and Im 5'7.

However my sister was going out with a lad that was probably 5'6,
    slightly shorter than her and it didnt bother her.

What does height matter when your horizontal,ha!:D

You're right. It only matters when you're vertical. Which is most of the time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Raspberries

My boyfriend is a little bit taller than me (I'm 5'3) and I love the fact that I can look him in the eye! I don't mind the fact he isn't 6 ft, I think part of his personality was formed because of the height he is.

He is quite muscular though, so I never feel like I am hugging him, he is the one doing the hugging :D

I like wearing heels, and he loves when I wear them, he says he feels like Rod Stewart:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 queenbeeuty

Malari wrote: »
    You're right. It only matters when you're vertical. Which is most of the time ;)

Maybe for you it is!:cool:

I'm just sticking up for any short guys out there,thats all.

Maybe for you it is!:cool:

I'm just sticking up for any short guys out there,thats all.

I was just kidding. Nothing personal. I'm just saying that I couldn't really be comfortable walking around with a boyfriend who's shorter than me. No matter how good he was or how often we got horizontal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 lilstar85

I have to laugh, i am always mocking my fella cz he is shorter. Bothered me at the start but i am over it now. Think the biggest problem was everytime i put on my heels... id get...must you wear those... girls love there heels :p I tower over him in them.lol... but think it really is personality... ! and you hve to be able to make fun of it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I'm 5'1 and generally do go for guys taller than me. Only been out with 2 that were around the same height. 1 was grand & honestly it didn't make a difference to either of us. He was about 2 inches taller but didn't mind me wearing heels (which I do a lot). The other guy was about 2 inches taller aswell but had a huge issue with it whereas I didn't. He didn't like when I wore heels coz I was taller than him with them on. Issue was more with him than me there to be fair.