Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Defender thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭gibbon75

Seanieke wrote: »
    It looks like the flying saucer can be bought seperately! Once I figure out what to search for on eBay I'll post a link!

http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/showthread.php?t=110246

I'd say this is what you need:

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/LAND-ROVER-DISCOVERY-TD5-FUEL-PRESSURE-REGULATOR-REBUILD-KIT-/180971127500?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item2a22b842cc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

so ive to fill out a declaration of conversion form (ambulance to van) before i can do anything to doe or tax it :( is this a pain in the arse? what other forms do i have to fill out in order to get this conversion yoke passed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

so ive to fill out a declaration of conversion form (ambulance to van) before i can do anything to doe or tax it :( is this a pain in the arse? what other forms do i have to fill out in order to get this conversion yoke passed?

At a guess I'd assume its no different than changing it from commercial to private status or vice versa.
    For that you just sign the declaration form & submit it with the log book to your motor tax office who will in turn forward you your new log book.

Did you manage to get a log book for it yet though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

If you look back up this thread you'll find details. You need to get it looked at by an assesor who signs off that it's a van and charges you €150 for it

At a guess I'd assume its no different than changing it from commercial to private status or vice versa.
    For that you just sign the declaration form & submit it with the log book to your motor tax office who will in turn forward you your new log book.

Did you manage to get a log book for it yet though?

no logbook as it has been an ambulance up until now, il be the first registered owner, so get an assessor to sign off on it is the next step, straightforward out :rolleyes:

feck it anyway, would any of ye know what category the vehicle is now seeing as its still technically an ambulance? ive to put a list of original and converted things from the truck even though nothing has been removed or changed except the damn paint and a few engine parts :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Could anybody recommend someone who could carry out some modifications on a Defender. Specifically electrical, split charge battery, Raptor centre console, heated windscreen, upgraded audio speakers etc. I dont have the time or skills to do the work myself. Someone who does this sort of work in the west or north west would be great.

Thanks.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭O.A.P

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Could anybody recommend someone who could carry out some modifications on a Defender. Specifically electrical, split charge battery, Raptor centre console, heated windscreen, upgraded audio speakers etc. I dont have the time or skills to do the work myself. Someone who does this sort of work in the west or north west would be great.

Thanks.

I have sent you a pm hope it helps you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Thanks.

How soon would you be looking to get this done???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

mike_ie wrote: »
    How soon would you be looking to get this done???

By Christmas or the new year, I'm not in any rush.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bananalad

There was a question asked earlier in the thread about a pto shaft being fitted to a land rover so it could be ran on green diesel etc but it wasnt really answered.. Anyone know for sure? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

That option stopped with the series III, which now are vintage.
    There is a restriction on top speed and the distance from home base you can travel.

Don't think It worth the grief and restrictions......................

How big a job would it be to fit a PTO shaft to a 110 td5 hard top?
    Huge as far as I can see but I'm not sure whats involved?
    I would love to have one fitted or even fit one myself but I have not seen or heard of it been done.
    Anyone know?

90/110/Defender have no facility for fitting a PTO drive out though the rear crossmember unlike earlier Series vehicles. You can mount a PTO on the rear or bottom of the LT230 transfer box but a hydraulic pump is the usual fitment for a winch, hoist or tipper.

There was a thing called the Agrover which was a 110 on portal axles with 3 point linkage and PTO but they are very rare.

As Stock rightly says there's no way to legally run on green these days by registering a LR as a tractor or mobile workshop, you won't get far with the Revenue; the government are losing too much tax intake as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

There is an 11D reg one in Enniskerry, 110 with all the seats fitted with a PTO and classed as an Agri Vehicle, same tax band as the road sweepers etc thus entitled to run on the Fairy Liquid and lower tax band of €80 or whatever it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bananalad

Thanks for the answers :)

Wonder how they managed that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

101sean wrote: »
    Wonder how they managed that?

That I dont know, but once I get to know someone who knows someone, I'll start digging.

On an unrelated note there was a white 101 parked at Ballinastoe friday night, wasn't yourself? It was about 1am when I was passing so didn't want to take pictures for fear of freaking out the people inside!

No, not mine which is NATO green. Could be tourists as I don't think there are any Irish 101 campers although at least one ambulance was going to be converted.

I was'nt thinking about using tractor diesel just that it would be handy to use for driving a few machines.
    If I could legally use cheap diesel too that would be a huge bonus and make the expense of the work worth while.

hi guys, bought a defender there a few months back and am running into some difficulty with it :( the vehicle was originally an ambulance but was resprayed etc. so that it is now a van, problem is it wasnt converted "officially" so thats what im trying to get done in order to tax it.

Ive gotten everything filled out except for 2 sections on the conversion form which i keep getting caught with by the revenue,

i need to know what the EU code is for an ambulance (will this be the current eu code or some previous one seeing as the truck is 1988), as well as the eu code for a van.

i then need the eu bodywork code :confused: this has me stumped tbh i put down BB in both sections last time but that was a no go

Any help with this would be very very much appreciated

I would have though the Revenue would give you the codes?

ive sent it in to them 2 times and not an once of help have they given me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

ive sent it in to them 2 times and not an once of help have they given me :(

It's a Category N1 entry they want. It's the whole passenger/commercial thing they do now. If it had a 5/7/9 seater CSW body they'd want to see M1 in those fields. If you've a hard top with just front seats N1 will sort it for you.

thanks for that, so ive narrowed it down to just needing the original code for an ambulance i think it might be SC, and the original bodywork code

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I believe appendix A in this document gives a current list of the 2 digit EU Body Type codes:

http://www.ros.ie/schemas/vrt40/v1/vrt40.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Yes, an ambulance is cat M, body code SC
    A van is cat N, body code BB

Page 40 and 48

regulation-678-2011.pdf

ye are lifesavers :D much appreciated, another question, seeing as this landie has been registered as an ambulance since 1988 (therefore exempt from road tax) will i have to pay any backlogged tax when i go to tax it?

I doubt it, you can't be held responsible for how it was previously registered. You should just pay from the date the reg doc is changed or at worse from the date you obtained it although I'm sure you've kept it off the road while this is sorted out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭sparkman

Hi - anyone had any experience of this? I bought a Defender 110 recently and being completely inexperienced, I didn't realise that it has been lifted by (I assume) around 2".
    My insurance policy states "no modifications". Anyone know what the likely impact will be if I tell them the truth? I'm worried that I could have void insurance...if it's less than 100 euro of a difference I can live it and will just own up. Otherwise I'll be fairly nervous....