Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Defender thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

That link doesn't work for me. Try LRSeries, their website is excellent for looking up parts. http://www.lrseries.com/shop/category/listing/2918/1/Body-Panels.html

Worth checking local suppliers I listed in the Disco 3 step thread, less chance of damage in transit.

My copy of Microcat doesn't go up to Puma but changes were minor. If you want the wing top, the kit comes with the headlight outer and inner panels. The headlight panels are available separately. The wing outer is a separate part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭mervifwdc

Anyone got a TD5 head they could sell? It needs to be perfect. (i.e. no cracks, warps or 6 inches of chicken poop!)

Merv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭mervifwdc

O.A.P wrote: »
    Yes, no comparing the two but you can'nt compare the price of them either.

Actually, if you are ok with 2nd hand mogs, they are not crazy expensive (until you pull up at the pumps!)

Merv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

101sean wrote: »

Worth checking local suppliers I listed in the Disco 3 step thread, less chance of damage in transit.

My copy of Microcat doesn't go up to Puma but changes were minor. If you want the wing top, the kit comes with the headlight outer and inner panels. The headlight panels are available separately. The wing outer is a separate part.

Thanks Sean, I got a quote from a LR dealer and all 3 bits were over €1200 ex vat. The British websites more or less just sell plastic ones, cheap but not too genuine.
    Finally i got a local guy to source aluminium parts from the north, all aluminium and for €450ex vat.

My local mechanic will spray and fit them for €400 cash.

Happy days, shows how shopping around works well.

My brother in law did something similar with a lamp post a couple of years ago in his 130. Think the wing outer, front panel (all aluminium) and bumper were something like €500 from Crozier. Fitted and sprayed himself, thankfully a solid colour not metallic so straightforward.

Glad you're sorted at not too outrageous a cost.

thankfully a solid colour not metallic so straightforward.

Thanks Sean,

Any idea where the colour is noted on the 90, I have no owners manual and have checked the inside of the door panels?

It should be on the VIN plate on top of the servo but often isn't. What sort of colour is it, there's not that many, I can probably tell you from a description or photo.

British Racing Green?

If it's a solid green that's not too dark, probably Belize Green or the current colour is Keswick Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Deer Hunter DL

just got a de-cat pipe fitted to my TD5 Defender also have the EGR valve removed , really happy with the change its much nicer to drive and pulls up hill better too , just wondering does anyone on here have the middle box takin out also as i was thinking of doing this next , another thing whats the story with fitting a hiclone do they really make much of a difference ? , and is there anything else i can do for more better drivablity before going down the road of a remap of turbo change and intercooler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

I did that that hiclone thing in my td5 yrs ago....load of muck IMO. Did also the straight thru pipe......made a massive difference but not so sure what the doe/Nct guys will say. Sean the resident guru on all Landrover matters I'm sure will comment.

i have being doing some reading up about the few mods i did and i seen that my MAF might not be working great so i unplugged it and took her for a drive and noticed i had nearly no turbo lag at all , just wondering is it ok to just leave it unplugged and forget about it as i really like the way my defender is driving right now i think i am going to remove the mid box now also , does anyone know is the nanocom any good i was thinking on buying the new touch screen one as i think its a real handy bit of kit to have and i might buy it along with another lad who also has a td5

Hi peeps, just back from burning more unleaded in the 101, been to Camden Fort and back!

Don't leave the MAF disconnected long term, you'll be burning a load more fuel! Replace with a genuine one, it's one of those bits that pattern is no good. Also, oil type filters like K&Ns can upset them, sticky foam ones like ITG are fine.

I've no middle box in mine and I know one guy with no boxes at all. All helps the turbo spool up and sounds good from the outside but mine is a bit boomy inside over 80kph. No probs with NCT/DOE.

Hiclones are up there with fuel magnets, tin pellets and other such snake oil, total waste of time.

I have an older Nanocom and it's been very useful, hopefully now they are supported by Black Box Solutions the new version will be easier to use.

thanks sean i'll get a new one soon as i can , and think i'll remove the mid box and just have the rear box on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

Quick question regarding servicing parts.

Quoted 180euro for oil filter, air filter, fuel filter and 7 ltrs oil for my Puma defender.
    Parts price only...from motor factors. (Mahle parts)

Sound about right????

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    Quick question regarding servicing parts.

Quoted 180euro for oil filter, air filter, fuel filter and 7 ltrs oil for my Puma defender.
    Parts price only...from motor factors. (Mahle parts)

Sound about right????

sounds really bad to me well compaired to TD5 servicing parts , ring TP Toppings in the north and price it all there to see the difference 04866323475 thats the right code and all there mate

You are being ripped off. Check online places like Paddocks and LR Series for a comparison, they do service kits but make sure you look for OEM or genuine filers, you don't want Britpart.

Here you go http://www.paddockspares.com/filter-kit-def-duratorq-tdci-premium-brands.html Add a tenner for delivery here.

Shouldn't be more than €100 inc a decent oil.

Thanx guys
    Tried a few motor factors and 2 main dealers...they were all in and around the same price....agree, a rip off compared to the onlie stuff.
    I allready bought it anyway...ill know for next time i supose.
    Dont understand the price difference compared to uk sellers.

Bulk buying but I could have got something like it here at my local motor factor.if you take exchange rate and not paying postage in to account.

Never mind, ask first next time!

Bulk buying but I could have got something like it here at my local motor factor.if you take exchange rate and not paying postage in to account.

Never mind, ask first next time!

For the same quality parts?

Yep, Mahle filters and the like. I am a regular customer though!

Ah ok.
    Well i usualy pay a garage to service it (370 euro last time i think) so i have saved myself a fair bit anyway. Wont be going to a garage again.
    Ill know to go to Paddock next time for an even better saving.
    The service was easy enough...ill do it in half the time next time.
    Sean, where can i get a Haynes manual or a service book for the Puma?

Forget Haynes, pretty useless these days.

This forum is pretty useful for current vehicles http://www.defender2.net/forum/index.php

Download a Puma manual here http://www.mediafire.com/?mg4jcyimzig

Latest version of Microcat which is the parts catalogue and extremely useful. You need to be a bit PC savvy as it needs a crack to make it run.
    http://www.garageforum.co.uk/forum/134-land-rover/27150-land-rover-microcat-092011.html

Yea Defender2 is a great forum...Full of people with problems lol

Thanks for that Sean....downloading it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

Hi all I have a 1994 SV90 soft top that needs a bit of work done to her
    I need new driver and passenger doors the chassie needs a bit of sorting and roll bars and bumpers needs painting or powder coating with a few other bits and pieces
    Any one here know somebody that works on them or someone that refurbs them
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭O.A.P

skippey wrote: »
    Hi all I have a 1994 SV90 soft top that needs a bit of work done to her
    I need new driver and passenger doors the chassie needs a bit of sorting and roll bars and bumpers needs painting or powder coating with a few other bits and pieces
    Any one here know somebody that works on them or someone that refurbs them
    Cheers
    Unless you have just won the lotto, either roll up your sleves and get stuck in or sell it on. Its not economicaly viable to pay someone for that kind of work.
    You could donate it to me though and every one is a winner :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Agreed with the above.
    That sort of stuff consumes a lot of labour hours, and paying a mechanic/body-shop to do it would very quickly become very economic.

However, it's very much NOT rocket surgery, so if as a child you had any interest in Lego and/or Meccano and were more concerned with the inner workings of your toys than their advertised function, and have a tool kit that is just a bit more comprehensive than a butter knife for driving screws and a heavy shoe for banging in nails, it's likely well within you capabilities to do much of it yourself.

These things are comprised almost entirely of User-Serviceable-Parts :D

If it's genuine 90SV it is well worth spending money to do properly, they are sought after and fetch silly money. However as OAP and ROVI say, there's nothing that isn't DIYable and there's lots of places that will powder coat.

I don't know who to recommend if you can't DIY as to retain it's value it has to be done properly, you're looking for more of a body shop than a general LR repairer.

Sorry to bother ye lads but my 90 (tti) is giving me bother. Its a 08 Defender and all was going well up until now.
    Lately it has starting to lose power when driving. Changing gears or reving' in neutral dosent help. It has konked out on me more than once, which can be dangerous due to the sudden loss of power steering.

I changed the fuel filter and im sure ive only filled with Topaz stations (im at the border so its always suspect )

No problem starting, but usually plays up after a few miles and i have to pull in an give it loads on the throttle in neutral to get going again. It seems to relax after a few seconds and starting again.

I thought the wet may have had something to do with it, but then its been raining here for the past 9 months!

Little help? Thanks in advance.

I know very little about Puma engined Defenders but it sounds like a sensor issue. Go round the engine and check all the various plugs are on tight and not covered in muck.

The other thing that can cause poor running is an intercooler hose collapsing internally but your's is a bit new for that.

Otherwise, try the Defender2 forum I linked to in post 594 above, lots of Puma info there.