Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Gormless on Primetime

• 07-01-2010 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭

I am disgusted with John gormless on primetime tonight.
    He was asked a number of time why the army have not been involved and the feckless idiot could only say the other juristictions havent deployed the army. So that prompted the following email to rte.

I am amazed and disgusted at John Gormley.
    He has just proved how much of a bumbling idiot he is.
    He was questioned about using the army and the only response he could give was that other "juristictions" are in the same boat and none have called on the army. That is the sort of answer you expect from a 6 year old when he hasnt done his homework "because little Johnny hasnt done it". As a member of the Irish Government you are not resonsible for people in these other "juristictions" but you are responsible for all people living in the republic of Ireland. Start doing what are are handsomely paid for.

John Gormless you should be ashamed of yourself.... Typical of our feckless government.

Rant over for now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I always miss Primetime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Alcatel

He's real great at not being responsible for the things that go wrong. Great man for offering sympathy.

At one stage he was saying, to my knowledge, that he isn't responsible for the actions of the local councils. John Gormley, Minister for Enviroment, Heritage and Local Government... Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Am I going mad or did he say that the flooding could have been worse???
    He just makes me sick that gormless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

jaysus ... the other guy Dr Tom..... is tiiiny !!

(someone needs to get him a booster chair)

and a haircut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I didn't see the show but can I ask why did you send the email to rte? What will that achieve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

I was hoping theyd have the bottle to read a bit out on air but it's going to the minister email also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I voted for him.

Unfortunately.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Charco wrote: »
    I didn't see the show but can I ask why did you send the email to rte? What will that achieve?

Surely RTE can't be blamed for John Gormley too?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The Government made a statement tonight that he is co-ordinating the efforts.

Excuse me but isn't that he's job? A week later? A statement- that's like making a statement that the Finance Minister is responsible for Finance. Like wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Truly witless stuff.

No-one is running this country at any level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

dambarude wrote: »
    Surely RTE can't be blamed for John Gormley too?:pac:

Shooting the messenger does have the advantage that its harder to miss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Excuse me but isn't that he's job? A week later? A statement- that's like making a statement that the Finance Minister is responsible for Finance. Like wtf?

Bertie didn't have a bank account (that we knew of)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Why email RTE. Email his department. In fact, why not email him himself:
    john.gormley@oireachtas.ie

He was more concerned with not being blamed that doing anything. O'callaghan pulling her punches again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

What is the point in having the army out? What exactly can they do that county and city councils cannot? Bringing in the army now is closing the door after the horse has bolted. Actions should have been planned for years before an event like this happens. A central national stockpile of grit/salt should be available for situations like this in conjunction with a national plan of action. This was pretty well predicted so getting to the stage where the army has to be called in is a bit ridiculous. Are the army better equipped to handle ice and snow? Do they have secret hidden bunkers filled with grit and salt? I am just curious about what good they could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Gormley has been disgustingly evasive tonight!

He is Minister for Environment but won't accept being called Minister for Snow - what a dope!

He blamed the floods on previous planning instead of adressing the failings of government bodies under his control!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭martin46585

Dr tom did mention some absentees, perhap the FF tent is relocated to a more sunnier aspect,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

The problem is not lack of manpower, the problem is lack of resources (eg grit)

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Are the army better equipped to handle ice and snow? Do they have secret hidden bunkers filled with grit and salt? I am just curious about what good they could do.

They have fit and availible manpower equipped with vehicles that can go pretty much anywhere, and they have some air lift capacity to draw on as well in extreme circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I'm not being funny but if the local authorities haven't asked for army involvement then surely they're best to determine if the army is needed? Maybe the OP's anger should be directed to his / her local authority.

Then again I agree that Gormley and Dempsey should have acted way before this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

A bunch of trained killers have no place dealing with a snow clean up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

John Gormley couldn't coordinate a **** to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

I agree with the lady who was on from Sallins:

"They don't care - they have their homes". [she doesn't].

I thought John Gormley was quite an embarrassment. How dare he say the floods could have been worse? I think Miriam was getting quite hot under the collar with him also.

As per usual, it seems nobody is held responsible when things go wrong, but people are all too quick to reward themselves in the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gnxx

The guy at the end of the programme was interesting. He basically said the the problem was with the government. Half the emergency commitee is missing, no minister for health and no minister for justice.

He pointed out that if the emergency committee had met 2 weeks ago at the start of the crisis, then orders would may have been placed for more salt/grit which has a 10 day lead time anyhow.

Gormley the minister for snow -- more like the Minister of No responsiblity.

stepbar wrote: »
    I'm not being funny but if the local authorities haven't asked for army involvement then surely they're best to determine if the army is needed? Maybe the OP's anger should be directed to his / her local authority.

Would you trust your local authority to tell you the time the tip head is open never mind whether they are capable of running an icebound county? I sure wouldn't. They are not willing to call in the local Army because they won't admit they are not up to the task.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

stepbar wrote: »
    Maybe the OP's anger should be directed to his / her local authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

People always said that the Greens could never perform in office. People were right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

Minister Gormly has released the following statement
    Grit contains Salt. Salt melts ice which causes global warming. We don't want more salt being washed by the melting snow into the drain increasing the salinity of the ocean and contributing to melting polar icecaps. Rising sea levels will drown seals and contribute further to Global Warming which will ensure longer, colder winters. And any. Those who are in trouble are travelling by car. They should take the bus instead. Or walk, or cycle. Now if you'll excuse me, the Government Mercedes is being warmed up out back.

He's a bloody plank, isn't he?

EDIT: Missing security token?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I watched primetime too and could not believe the unbelievably smug & condescending attitude he displays towards the people caught up in either the floods of november or the current clusterfúck of a response to the weather.

He also seemed to be trying to downplay the role of the army to merely 4wd 'vehicle provision' and nothing more. He spent the entire time ducking responsibility for ANYTHING. Repeating the mantra 'well you know in other jurisdictions' as if this gets him off the hook. He is really an embarassment of a politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I have just watched Primetime on the RTÉ Player and Gormley is a disgrace. He is not fit to do the job that he has been tasked with and should be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Borzoi

The problem is not lack of manpower, the problem is lack of resources (eg ability, talent and leadership)

Fixed that for you. Note: applies to all those employed in Leinster House

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

The army? Fair enough the recent flooding warranted help from the defence forces but are you seriously thinking the government should deploy them to shovel sand and grit? How the whole of Dublin had to grind to a standstill over a bit of ice defies logic.

The problem with the country is it is not run like a business. There is no proper management at any level, schools, hospitals and government departments have no proper plans in place for what is essentially a typical winter in many European countries. Is grit too expensive or something? Plenty of people not working already in the country who would probably love to give a hand at doing something meaningful with their time. Leave the army for proper emergencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

The fact is all we need is salt and grit and people to throw it all over the pavements and roads in the city and hey presto, problem sorted, seems amazing to think that salt SALT! or lack of is stopping our sitting from moving properly!!

(granted other problems occur due to the bitter freeze but salt would stop alot of stuff from going wrong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Here'a it is on the RTE Player ..

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1063707

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Fuck You John Gormely Fuck You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Alessandra wrote: »
    The army? Fair enough the recent flooding warranted help from the defence forces but are you seriously thinking the government should deploy them to shovel sand and grit?

If needs be - yes. If councils are not responding properly then yes. It is not just salt/grit there are other things they could be doing too. In 1982 the army were deployed to dig people's homes clear of snow (which they could have been doing for the last few days to people isolated in country areas in particular). They also used army trucks to give people a lift to and from work if memory serves - (though that one could have been during a bus strike). There are areas right now where they could make a huge difference to the impact of this on people. Instead we have gormless on tv teflon don style shirking any and all responsibility and promising nothing substantial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

What is the point in having the army out? What exactly can they do that county and city councils cannot? Bringing in the army now is closing the door after the horse has bolted. Actions should have been planned for years before an event like this happens. A central national stockpile of grit/salt should be available for situations like this in conjunction with a national plan of action. This was pretty well predicted so getting to the stage where the army has to be called in is a bit ridiculous. Are the army better equipped to handle ice and snow? Do they have secret hidden bunkers filled with grit and salt? I am just curious about what good they could do.

+1 million to this. RTE/Primetime are very good at finding questions to answers that aren't necessary. There is no reason for the army to be involved. There is very little that they could add to help. But the prime time presenters plead 'But why haven't they been called upon minister?' as if it were a matter of national importance, when really they and their journo friends cooked up the story at lunchtime and it has no connection with reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

gnxx wrote: »
    He pointed out that if the emergency committee had met 2 weeks ago at the start of the crisis, then orders would may have been placed for more salt/grit which has a 10 day lead time anyhow.

Gormley the minister for snow -- more like the Minister of No responsiblity.

That's about the only thing that would have helped. They had enough grit for a normal Irish winter. This weather situation was not forseeable. If they had ordered the amount of grit they now need everyone would be shouting at them for "wasting money in a recession because this isn't Siberia, what could we possibly have needed all that salt for". The need for a larger order for next winter is now forseeable.

Shouldn't Noel Dempsey be helping with this? Roads + lack of public transport = job for Dept of Transport. But he's off on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Another reason for getting the army involved is that the public now seem to want them and the Government needs to do things to keep the public happy. I think it would make people feel a bit safer in the same way that having gardai walking around does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

I couldn't believe the way Miriam left Gormley off when he wouldn't or couldn't answer straight questions about where responsibility lay in particular situations. He just answered questions that hadn't been asked and then wandered off into generalities and pious platitudes.

He sounded more FF than genuine FFers. Very disappointing. How long are the Greens going to put up with him as their leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭the long lad

I cant believe so many people are against the army being deployed to add manpower. Maybe I missed something, but I dont think we're in the middle of a war or in danger of being invaded.

Yes, i know manpower isn't the big issue, but surely these guys could be deployed to shovel or scrape ice or do whatever is needed for a few days. Equally, lots of people are out of work and could be put to use, but they're already paying the army, so get them out there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭AKK

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Fuck You John Gormely Fuck You

eh eh Deputy BluesBerry that is most unparlimentary lanuage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Sure we might aswell get the Civil Defence out, can never be too short on man power

jdivision wrote: »
    Why email RTE. Email his department. In fact, why not email him himself:
    john.gormley@oireachtas.ie

He was more concerned with not being blamed that doing anything. O'callaghan pulling her punches again.

I already had sent the email

The whole point to what Miriam was saying was that there are people around the country unable to get out and about and with the councils not doing enough (not being able to) especially in rural areas the Army have the transport to be able to help these people.

And the total reasoning in his head that he was putting forward for not using the Army. I'm not really saying that the army should be called upon but the whole way he was justifying not using them. Anyone who hasn't seen it should take a look on RTE player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭MrJetlag

I just think its amazing the amount of really catastrophic acts of nature we're having - floods and a big freeze since the greens got into power - coincidence ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Yes what an utter waste of space and yet another example of how the government treats the citizens. Basically he sat there, made excuses for doing nothing, and declined help on behalf of people who clearly desperately need it.
    And this nonsense about the salt shortage. There's more to this than just the bloody salt. You don't need salt to scrape packed ice off dangerous footpaths, or pull cars out of ditches, etc, you need manpower and equipment. But up there in their ivory towers they're totally oblivious to all that and don't particularly care.
    All Gormley wants to do is play for time, hunker down until the weather improves again and hope that we all forget how useless they all are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I remember the army being out in the last big snow - 1982 I think.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I think FG were in government the last time there was a big freeze.

He is an embarrassment of a politician, even compared some Fianna Fail'ers, as is his colleague Eamonn Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

so has anybody discovered who's in charge of de-silting the rivers yet?...think I missed his answer to that one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

So, were all upset that a country that for whom extremes of weather like this is very unusual hasn't got stockpiles of salt and grit and.... ahh fuck it.

RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE!