martinr5232 wrote: » What manual is that in ?
Poccington wrote: » It was just drafted in this week, when the CoS realised that everyone was outraged at the fact that an Army wasn't out gritting roads, directing traffic, rescuing ducks from frozen lakes and whatever else people crib about. Really, you'd swear the DF didn't have their own work to be doing. Rather than existing solely to step in when everyone else makes a balls of dealing with a situation. /Rant.
Sid_Justice wrote: » i'm not being a twit but what do the defence forces do?
Poccington wrote: » Overseas missions, CIT's, Regimental Duties, Protection of Vital Installations, Courses, Exercises etc. We don't just sit in a barracks all days waiting for snow or floods to pop up.
Sid_Justice wrote: » bear with me please? Ok, I respect the fact the guys in the lebannon can't be out gritting roads, how many army men are serving overseas? other than that... just saying.
benwavner wrote: » Ok, what do you want the Defence Forces to be doing? We cannot grit the road, theres no grit. The roads are still icy as feck, do you want them out in 10 tonnes trucks skidding all over the road?..this would make matters worse, especially if you want to use the trucks to ferry people home because there are no busses? We are not trained to direct traffic or assist in car crashes...we can do it, but there are plenty of Gardai and reseve Gardai to do this job. Any ideas?
davyjose wrote: » Irish Soldier: "I eh ... I cleared away some snow"
spadder wrote: » Watching Eastenders?
sunnyside wrote: » That made me laugh:D I don't really know what the army do either apart from overseas missions and transporting cash but now I've got this image of the army people who are not overseas sitting around in the barracks having tea and biscuits while watching Eastenders while half the country is wating to see them out clearing snow and gritting roads.
SoupyNorman wrote: » Never mind the Army, at least they are in the country unlike Noel Dempsey who's off on holliers. .
sunnyside wrote: » That is such bad timing, it's not as if he could really do anything if he was here but it looks so bad for him. Is he gone somewhere nice?
spadder wrote: » He could sell his poxy e-voting machines and buy some snow ploughs!
davyjose wrote: » US Soldier: "I killed fifty Iraqi militia men yesterday." British Soldier: "I killed sixty Al Qaeda yesterday" Irish Soldier: "I eh ... I cleared away some snow"
genericguy wrote: » "in america we..."
davyjose wrote: » Meh, I drove 20 miles to work this morning, no bother. There's the odd eejit who goes out driving in snow, when they are unable to cope with it, so end up going at five miles an hour and crashing into the kerb. Thereby delaying everyone behind them. Otherwise ... piece of piss. Getting the army in is reactionary, and unnecessarily pannicky.
icanhearjimi wrote: » Playing pool, watching telly, drinking tea, playing cards, shining their boots, being shouted at, shaving their heads. Any of the above.