Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the weather taking an effect on your fitness/workout.

• 06-01-2010 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

in my situation i simply cant get to the gym with the roads, involves a big hill down and then back up again just to get to the place, plus the hour or so gridlock it would take as opposed to the usual 15 minutes.

i, like many im sure, have put on weight over the xmas period and had high hopes to sort it soon after new years.

its impossible to go for a run with the footpaths in my area.

ive resorted to doing situps,pushups and dips using 2 chairs, and improving the diet(need to anyways)

has the weather affected anyone else and have they any tips/ideas? (barr buying a snowmobile to get to the gym)

cant put into words how much i miss the pool! its my main cardio workout!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

If it's a 15 minute drive it must be what, 40 minutes to walk? I walk 25 minutes to my gym, do an hour session, then walk another 10 minutes to another class for a 75 minute session, then it's a 20 minute walk to get the bus. It's not particularly pleasant in this weather, but it's just something I have to do :)

Any way you could just walk there? You'll feel doubly angelic that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

when i say 15 minute drive a massive section of that is dual carriageway, leixlip to liffey valley.cant even hazard a guess how long itd take to walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

df1985 wrote: »
    in my situation i simply cant get to the gym with the roads, involves a gig hill down and then back up again just to get to the place, plus the hour or so gridlock it would take as opposed to the usual 15 minutes.

i, like many im sure, have put on weight over the xmas period and had high hopes to sort it soon after new years.

its impossible to go for a run with the footpaths in my area.

ive resorted to doing situps,pushups and dips using 2 chairs, and improving the diet(need to anyways)

has the weather affected anyone else and have they any tips/ideas? (barr buying a snowmobile to get to the gym)

cant put into words how much i miss the pool! its my main cardio workout!

Burpees.
    Air Squats.
    Mountain Climbers.
    Lunges.

If you do stuff like that and pushups fast and lots you will get plenty of ....erm...Cardio effect.

Stick a circuit together.

Set the countdown timer on your phone for say 10 min.
    Take a round of
    10 Pushups,
    10 Bodyweight Squats
    10 Mountain climbers.
    repeat as many times as you can in 10 min.

Or for longer.

Or time yourself for a set scheme.

21 Burpees
    21 Air squats
    15 Burpees
    15 Air Squats
    9 Burpees
    9 Air Squats

Or Try tabata Air Squats or Shadow boxing.

Possibilities are endless.

Ah ok, fair enough, you're off the hook so :p

Transform has a thread about exercising you can do at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

If you're in Leixlip then you are very near the Lucan Demesne - have you tried just going for a run there?
    Went out yesterday in the Phoenix Park - over 6k was 3 min slower - trick for me was to keep feet much closer to ground - not to push off as much.

But did the trick. Even if you just go out and walk around it for an hour or so - with all the extra layers you will need for the walk you might be surprised.

Just bring a mobile in case you do have a slip...

Just use your best judgement - accidents do happen - and while I might feel happy running on ice and snow I do realise that many others would not - and if you are nervous you are more likely to slip - key is to stay relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

g'em, you spend four hours in the evening training or does your job allow you a lot of flexibility? Gym in work is handy at the moment.

If I was at home and had to do something I'd probably just do a bunch of press ups, lunges, dips on chairs, planks/side planks, air squats etc. Pretty much what d'Oracle said.

edit: Where's the Lucan demense? Parts of it have been closed off by the guards apparently. My friend had to stay in her brothers place in town tonight because it's too dodgy to get to where she lives.

Another thought and you might think I'm mad. If you really needed to do something shovel driveways if there's a fair whack of snow. There's a good few elderly in Lexlip who'd be very grateful. Or go one better and do the Hill End:)

g'em, you spend four hours in the evening training or does your job allow you a lot of flexibility?
    All done in the evening, I leave work at 4.45pm. Doesn't bother me, it's nice to be busy at this time of year :)
    Another thought and you might think I'm mad. If you really needed to do something shovel driveways if there's a fair whack of snow. There's a good few elderly in Lexlip who'd be very grateful. Or go one better and do the Hill End:)
    That's a cracking idea actually!!

1. Do 30 seconds of Air squats fast.
    2. Do a Push up position Plank for 30 Seconds.
    3. Do 30 Seconds of Pushups.

Repeat for some pre decided amount of time.
    Say 5-10 min.

Then Ring someone to pick you off the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

edit: Where's the Lucan demense? Parts of it have been closed off by the guards apparently. My friend had to stay in her brothers place in town tonight because it's too dodgy to get to where she lives.

Easiest way to describe where it is is kind of right opposite the SPA hotel across the dual carriage way. Just near the small Mac Donald's. Entrance is just at the underpass at the dual carriage way.

Did not hear it was closed though - weird. Maybe it is ice around the entry?
    There is also a way in from the other side of Lucan - but Mac Donald's sell hot coffee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

That is a good idea. My plan was rolling a giant snowball in the local field!

Giant_snowball_Oxford.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

cant go to gym myself trying do bit at home but not the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

cant go to gym myself trying do bit at home but not the same.
    not the same as what!!! Doing a few biceps curls and bench presses?

Come on man there is shed loads you can do at home.

Do 5 burpees, 10 press ups and 15 squats (no weight) for 8-10 rounds. Please please do this (most likely you wont) and i absolutely guarantee you will have increased fitness, strength and mobility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Can I blame the weather on my ****ty lifting!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

The way the foothpaths are in the city, its only a matter of time before i do myself an injury that will really have a negative effect on workouts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

Yep, I had a fall on New Years Eve...not too bad, but strained my back the following day because of it. I'm in TF sandyford, so doubt I could get up there anyhow?

Just out of interest, since I had the fall (came down hard on hip and lower back) my legs have seemed to just tighten up completely, foam rolling quads, and IT band which was getting easy enough before is now painful and tight, would it have anything to do with the fall?

Bit of a home workout the other day consisting of lunges, weighted press ups, band pulls, and air squats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Meh, the weather is an easy excuse, if you really want to work out you'll find a way! I posted in my log about not having a way to the gym yesterday sure and one of the guys gave me an idea for a workout at home, sure there's loads of them that you can do that home. That burpee on Transform suggested is one, burpess are guaranteed to wreck ya, does it really matter whether you're doing them in the gym or not? Just whack the radio up full blast and pound out 50 of them and you'll soon feel it. :D

I'm thinking the roads out my way wont lend themselves to a trip to the gym.

I might be able to walk though. Otherwise I will have to do something at home and hope for some let up tomorrow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

its not the roads or weather i hate..
    that dosent stop me!

its the traffic!

silly TOO CAUTIOUS driver!

of course be carfefull..
    but my god.
    some people take the pi$$!!

shakencat wrote: »
    its not the roads or weather i hate..
    that dosent stop me!

its the traffic!

silly TOO CAUTIOUS driver!

of course be carfefull..
    but my god.
    some people take the pi$$!!

I hope I never share a stretch of road with you.
    There is no such thing as Too Cautious of Icy roads.....

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I hope I never share a stretch of road with you.
    There is no such thing as Too Cautious of Icy roads.....

no no.. i drive cautiously..

but some are barely rolling!

its just tough.. to see where your going infront of you. and know you cant get there anytime soon!

shakencat wrote: »
    no no.. i drive cautiously..

but some are barely rolling!

its just tough.. to see where your going infront of you. and know you cant get there anytime soon!

I know what you mean, really I do.
    It just doesnt bother me in these conditions.

In normal conditions it turns me in to a screaming feral Beast, consumed with rage...

haha

i guess you cant get looked down on if your late in this weather though eh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Nearly slipped again just now. thats about 15 today. I just hope thats my quota for the day. If i get injured, im going on a sue and bankrupt this country once and for all :mad:

ive hurt my back from trying not to fall!! =[ nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I cant cycle cos of the ice

and walkin is normally 55mins, so ice-walkin would be over an hour, each way

Also, my hip does he killin me from tryin not to slip

Tryin to scab a lift! any takers? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

cheers for the tips in here folks, i did a few exercises that were suggested in here. in bits after burpees. tbh id never heard of them and had to look it up but ill be keeping at them.i was lying on the floor at the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

ive been cycling everywhere, gym school work, its grand! in tf today there was a queue of 5 cars trying to get up the hill with a good few people pushing, even the PTs from teh gym where out!

Thats service for ya.......

I wish I had a bike, I'm working from home tomorrow so I'm hoping to get down to Laugho after lunch time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

unreggd wrote: »
    Tryin to scab a lift! any takers? :P

If your in Dublin, and serious about the lift check out the Dublin City Forum.

As regards training, well this is my third night making it to Judo so no.

Although I'm up (as of this morning) 10lbs since mid-December, I ate & drank everything around me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I have just been out for a short nighttime 3 mile run in -6 freezing fog.

I find that it has left me a little asmatic. I am whezzing on my out breath . I go out on the same run quite regularly . I have never felt like this before.

must be the weather. the run hurt my lungs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

i have been able to get to the gym twice this week and ill go tonite and sunday so i should be fine

i have rugby training sat morning that should be fun

i made it to spinning class last night..

for a usual full class..

twas quite empty!

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I have just been out for a short nighttime 3 mile run in -6 freezing fog.

I find that it has left me a little asmatic. I am whezzing on my out breath . I go out on the same run quite regularly . I have never felt like this before.

must be the weather. the run hurt my lungs..

had the same issue on tues nite went for lite jog about 2.5 km and i could not catch a breath at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

magotch07 wrote: »
    i have rugby training sat morning that should be fun

Now thats gonna take balls!.

At least I'm indoor's and I land on soft(ish) mats, rugby out in THAT takes balls - fair play to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

I've made it to the gym 3 times this week so far so right on schedule thankfully. Gym is close to where I live though so no commuting problems for me.
    Very busy there too. I expect that to die out soon though as per usual when people get tired of their new year fitness resolution

lubie76 wrote: »
    I've made it to the gym 3 times this week so far so right on schedule thankfully. Gym is close to where I live though so no commuting problems for me.
    Very busy there too. I expect that to die out soon though as per usual when people get tired of their new year fitness resolution

yea.. might bounce in though after the weather clears up.
    lets give it a month eh!;)

lubie76 wrote: »

Is it easy to get to your gym?
    I.e. Any dodgy roads or massive slippy carparks?

Now thats gonna take balls!.

At least I'm indoor's and I land on soft(ish) mats, rugby out in THAT takes balls - fair play to ya.

i think its gonna be fine to be honest a lil cold but runnin around you will warm up and the snow wont be as hard as an iced over pitch

it was hard last week on the 28th dec about -2 and pissing rain worst conditions i have ever trained in and its not like im a fancy back that doesnt get dirty playing prop means im gonna be at the bottom of every ruck found muck in all sorts of places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I would say the past week has been our training groups best week this winter. We are a long sprinters group with hurdlers thrown in so we would be doing a bit of techinical work as well as slog.

Its been great. The gym we train at has been empty, the indoor stretch has been empty and we have had the run of it like never before. Albeit, our running track is covered in frozen snow but the infield is like a winter wonderland and we had an amazing session on it last night doing our 'jump run'. I never knew burpees in the snow could be so much fun and the snow was such as you could get great grip but there was still an extra bit of resistance, a demon of a running session. The freezing fog gave it an added feel of it being 'hardcore'. Its definetly been a week that will be drawn on next summer when the races are there for the winning and losing - 'remember those sessions we did in the snow last January' will be the call!!

You just have to be creative and change your routine slightly, no excuse not to train even if its outdoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Hey, was planning on heading up there this afternoon after work. What's the story? Is it accessible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

Is it easy to get to your gym?
    I.e. Any dodgy roads or massive slippy carparks?

No not really as gym is in a hotel on busy main road just outside Sligo town. Roads aren't too bad here but footpaths are absolutely lethal since Xmas eve. Hotel has gritted car park as much as possible too so I really have no excuse. I still park outside the door though (just in case:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

magotch07 wrote: »
    had the same issue on tues nite went for lite jog about 2.5 km and i could not catch a breath at all

my way off thinking is . "what does not kill ya , makes ya stronger".
    i was wearing a benny hat.
    Got soked through with sweat. The sweat froze on the outside of the hat. Antarctic style.

I think the air is very dense . Ye can see thickness of it against the street lights. If you are able to adapt to it, you would be fitter to run or cycle when the temp returns to norm. I think so anyways.

could go to the gym, but i cant stand it. need to get out there.. Into the wild:pac:

id say the gym wil be packed tomoro!!:pac:

Right, I'm gonna give it a shot.

Wish me luck.

Right, I'm gonna give it a shot.

Wish me luck.

you can do it =];)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Well my gym has decided to close for the weekend. Pricks.

So annoying, it's indoors, I don't see what the problem is. If I can walk there, they can work there.

mloc wrote: »
    Well my gym has decided to close for the weekend. Pricks.

So annoying, it's indoors, I don't see what the problem is. If I can walk there, they can work there.

some people dont live near where they work though..
    can be tough to get in ... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Tingle wrote: »
    I never knew burpees in the snow could be so much fun .

Burpees in the snow??! Are. you. serious?!!:eek:

You're hardcore man, hardcore! Fair play:)

I'm Alive.

Caloo Callay.

I'm Alive.

Caloo Callay.

You sure thats a good thing?:p