Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Female Heroes

• 01-01-2010 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭

Okay, this thread is about women (famous or relatively unknown) that inspire you. We all hear stories of women who get the rough end of the stick, are victims or taken advantage of. What about the survivors or god forbid, those who broke the mould, whatever gender they were?

I'd like this thread not to become an argument of what makes a feminist or posts about peoples amazing mums (they are great i know but I kinda want anyone who comes to this thread to be able to come away and read up about someone they might never have known about).

I thought this thread could act as a pick me up, with inspiring stories and would be suitable for the Ladies Lounge.

If possible please include a bit of info, a photo maybe and reasons why shes your hero.

One of mine would probably be Louise Bourgeois.

louise_bourgeois.jpg

She's known as one of the greatest artists of the 20th century, regardless of gender. She wasn't cornered into traditional art, she helped lead contemporary art, outliving her peers, using "manly" materials on a giant scale but always brought a concept and care that while female, didn't seem obsessed by its gender.

Her work was the first I'd ever seen at an exhibition and because of her I think, subconsciously, i've never seen typically "male" areas of art as "male".
    She's 97 going on 98, still producing artwork and although it's unlikely i'll ever get the chance to meet her it's a goal of mine.

so who's your hero?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

If possible please include a bit of info, a photo maybe and reasons why shes your hero.

I would ask people that if they can't give us any more than just a name, then to skip posting in the thread, thanks.

Fago_25, stop trying to turn this forum into AH and destroying threads, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Silverfish wrote: »
    I would ask people that if they can't give us any more than just a name, then to skip posting in the thread, thanks.

thanks, otherwise this thread will run out pretty quick...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Gráinne Mhaol, aka Grace O Malley
    "She was a mother, a pirate, and one of the many great women of Ireland.
    Born c. 1530 into the O'Malley family, the hereditary lords of Umhall which included Clare Island, Inishturk, Inishbofin, Inishark and Caher, Grace married into two of the powerful families of Western Ireland, the O'Flaherty of West Connacht and the Burke of Clew Bay. "

http://www.irish-society.org/Hedgemaster%20Archives/granuaile.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

He he fine sorry.

Not a hero but someone I greatly admire is Kylie Minogue.

The reason for this is she has gone from strength to strength becoming the worlds biggest popstar, constantly topping the charts, giving hope to millions of cancer stricken by beating it, being a highly successful business woman (What with the perfumes and what have ye) and rarely (If ever) making bad headlines in t'press.

And to boot, she's cute and modest about all that. A true legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Colpriz

Iris Murdoch...read many of her novels, wonderful woman, wonderful writer, had alzimers in the end, God rest her. I think they made a film too with Kate Winslet..sorry no pics to post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

As a lover of all things scientific, my heroine has to be Marie Curie. She discovered the elements radium and polonium and went on to become the first person (never mind woman) to win two Nobel Prizes.

Her study of radium in particular changed our view of the scientific world re energy and matter and of course her study of radioactive isotopes led to a new era of medical research and treatment which continues to this day - made all the more amazing as she became a recognised and respected scientist in the 19th century. :cool:

curie_marie.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I've started boxing recently... Just training, not combat! It's really tough.

I'm inspired by world champ Katie Taylor. She's my age and from my home town and she rocks!

katie_taylor-2.jpg

Hopefully I can get motivated enough to end up with arms like hers.

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    I've started boxing recently... Just training, not combat! It's really tough.

I'm inspired by world champ Katie Taylor. She's my age and from my home town and she rocks!

katie_taylor-2.jpg

Hopefully I can get motivated enough to end up with arms like hers.

...really.. why? I doubt it will add to any attraction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

countessmarkievicz.jpg

Constance Markievicz
    Constance Georgine Markiewicz, Countess Markiewicz (née Gore-Booth; 4 February 1868 – 15 July 1927), was an Irish Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil politician, revolutionary nationalist, suffragette and socialist. She was the first woman elected to the British House of Commons, though she did not take her seat and along with the other Sinn Féin TDs formed the first Dáil Éireann. She was also the first woman in Europe to hold a cabinet position (Minister of Labour of the Irish Republic, 1919–1922).

Wiki Article
    Colpriz wrote: »

Maybe she's doing it for herself and not in an effort to add attraction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

helen keller

her life story is inspirational , while afflicted with deafness and blindness she still managed to become a major political activist, a campaigner for womens rights, a successful author, and an advocate for people with disabilities.

one of my favourite quotes from her

"I am only one; but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something. I will not refuse to do something I can do"

[/B]

:rolleyes: lets keep that in mind folks.

No seriously ? why do you want arms like hers?

Eh... To feel fit and strong and pack a good punch. :D It's empowering.

Ayways I'd like to trade my bat wings for tight toned arms.

While on the subject of fit women, I'd like to mention Shakira. I was in awe watching her video for Shewolf. She's teeny tiny like me but her strength and flexibility and balance is phenomenal. Imagine how much determination and motiviation you must need to get to that stage of fitness. She's pure muscle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

They look lovely and toned! Why wouldn't she want ones like that? :confused:

why do men want muscle? jeeze i didnt even post it. I'll stop now anyway this is going off topic. this isn't a topic on what makes a woman pretty.

whats important is she is making something of herself and to like minded women shes a role model :)

of course they do...not saying they cant look/be like these...am just coming from a male perspective...just know I want to role over in the morning and touch Georgina not George!!

Stop dragging this thread off topic. Only warning.

This goes for everyone. Read the first post, contribute, or don't post. Thank you.

I kinda hoped this thread wouldn't become about bodies and sex appeal and all that. Being born pretty isn't something to admire or praise. Enjoy, maybe, but a hero it doesn't make.

working hard for strength and health is of course. Which is probably why i'd sooner expect an athlete like Katie to appear in a thread like this.

I don't have many famous female role models.. Probably because I'm not aware of them historically or politically. Which I guess says a lot about society and the media.

I know this isn't deep or relevant but I really admire Kelly Clarkson.

kelly_clarkson.jpg

She broke away from her cookie cutter blonde image, put up with criticism about her weight and refused to slim down. Against her record label's wishes she released her own rock style album, My December. It's all written/ co - written by her about a dark and depressing period in her life. Some of the tracks are so pure, honest and raw that they break my heart. How someone can pour their heart and soul into something and put it out there to the world amazes me.

Her record label dropped her, she fell out with management, she paid for the album production. Radios wouldn't play her songs because it wasn't "radio friendly".. Even her tour was scaled way back to only play in tiny venues.

But she did it anyways, her way, and I have all the respect in the world for her. I mostly listen to rock and metal but My December is one of my favourite albums of all time.

Another female that I think is coming up in a predominantly male trade is tattooist Kat Von D of Miami Ink. She's only 27, has been tattooing for 11 years, has her own tattoo parlour, High Voltage (seen on LA Ink), a book of her artwork and has a Guinness World Record for most tattoos done in 24 hours.

She also breaks the mould about how a female should look to be considered attractive and sexy.

KatVonD.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Isabel Allende
    "I think that my most significant achievement is not my writing, but the love I share with my family"

4080.jpg

First off I love her books. She recieved death threats after the coup that killed Salvador Allende (a relation and president of chile). When her daughter was dieing, she wrote to keep her going and later published what she wrote, far enough about her daughter dieing but it must have been really difficult to publish the book after. She also set up a charity in her name to help women (don't know how).

Grace Jones
    bond-bad-grace-jones.jpg

Up until I saw her in the James bond film all other women on tv/films were portrayed as 'weak' needing/wanting a man and very femine. When I saw her in the film a strong woman that wasn't as femine as others but still looks great and to top it off she was the one doing the saving, she made an impression on me. I wouldn't be very interested in her music but I love everything else about her, she's brave enough to wear what she wants and look the way she wants and doesn't care what people say to her.

Mother teresa
    Mother%20Teresa_128x128.png

I'm not religious or anything but anyone who spends there life helping sick poor who's own society regected them is worth a mention.

Fery (I can't pronounce her second name and fery is just a nick name too can't pronunce her first name either:o let alone spell either it)

This is someone I know, she started seeing my uncle a few years ago now. She lives in Germany and is from Iran. She used to be a muslim had an eranged marriage that wasn't working. She left the husband, converted her religion, raised 4(or three can't remember) children, volunteered in Amnesty international(I think it was with them), worked as a nurse, set up an orphage in a big city of Iran which was just for girls(the only one of it's kind in the area, there were two for boys) and just did alot for muslim womens rights. She's very active in what ever she does and she's one of those people that's good at whatever she does.

She also cooks very yummy Iranian food and said I was good driver:D and she's in the process of moving to Ireland (hopefully I'm going to go over to germany in the summer before she moves over here)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Aung San Suu Kyi - fighting peacefully for Burmese democracy, I hope she succeeds in the end.

Rosa Parks - fought for Black rights in America.

Two amazing women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Paula Radcliffe - world marathon record holder and one of the toughest women in sport.

Orla K wrote: »

Mother teresa
    Mother%20Teresa_128x128.png

I'm not religious or anything but anyone who spends there life helping sick poor who's own society regected them is worth a mention.

I'd hold off on that one, she had her critics. In a few years time you'll start seeing stories come out in India about her orphanages and girls homes similar to the ones we're hearing now. Here stance on abortion was also draconian by any standard.

Anyway,

Channel 6's April O'Neil

11256-april_tmnt_large.jpgMirage-april.jpg

April O'Neil though often playing the Damsel in distress was also a carrier driven successful reporter struggling in a male dominated world. For a huge number of Irish males she would have been the first experience of a powerful female character in mainstream media, considering that it was still the decade where woman had to quite their jobs in they got married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

Senator Savino She was until recently a labour activist mostly unknown outside of New York but became somewhat internet-famous after an impassioned and very rational speech on marriage equality which was as much a critique of the devaluation of marriage in Western society as it was a defence of the right of gay couples to marry.

Martha Farah is an influence on me academically. She's a cognition, perception and neuroscience researcher and reading her work last year really helped me to direct my ambition and decide, specifically, what I wanted to do. I recently found out she minored in an artsy subject, which has helped to dispel all of my fears of an English lit minor not being taken seriously in the world of cognitive neuroscience.

I would like to say Barbie was an influence because back in the day she was a vet, a doctor, a sportswoman, a businesswoman and what have you; the short-lived Generation Girl line came out around my final years of Barbie and even though they weren't career women, they had varied interests in stuff like tech, extreme sports, songwriting, art and so on. However, I feel like my memories of Barbie-the-go-getter are quite selective as I was in a toy shop recently and saw that Barbie was a princess, a mermaid and en route to the salon. Not particularly professional or inspiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Boston wrote: »
    I'd hold off on that one, she had her critics. In a few years time you'll start seeing stories come out in India about her orphanages and girls homes similar to the ones we're hearing now. Here stance on abortion was also draconian by any standard.

I'll admit that I know very little about her/her work and I don't really want to but growing up and hearing about this woman who spent her life helping others, got me thinking at the time and to me that's what matters. My view of the person past or present, in this case it would be past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭hayser

Carla Gugino (actress) after what I just read about her on the Crazy Days and Nights website:

http://www.crazydaysandnights.net/2010/01/blind-items-revealed_8681.html

She was also one of the reveals another time on the same website in that she volunteers at after school clubs in whatever city she's making films in. For anyone who's not familiar with the website it is a gossip website and some of the reveals surprised even me with what the celebs get up to. By the way, this is a great and positive thread. Thanks for starting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Eh... To feel fit and strong and pack a good punch. :D It's empowering.

Ayways I'd like to trade my bat wings for tight toned arms.
    Give the sparring a try as well as the boxercise. It feels a whole lot better and is a lot more motivating than just hitting a bag/jab pads and skipping.

Boston beat me to Constance Marcivicz so I'll say; Hillary Clinton.
    hillary-clinton.jpg
    Not a big fan of her politics but she completely revolutionalised what the office of First Lady entails. First one to have a postgrad and hit the ground running with being the first female president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Excellent idea for a thread!

I'm going to go with Amelia Earhart. The wikipedia article is worth a read - she fitted a lot into her forty years.

180px-Amelia_earhart.jpeg

Some quotes of hers that I like:

"Never do things others can do and will do if there are things others cannot do or will not do."

"Please know that I am aware of the hazards. I want to do it because I want to do it. Women must try to do things as men have tried. When they fail, their failure must be a challenge to others."

"The more one does and sees and feels, the more one is able to do, and the more genuine may be one's appreciation of fundamental things like home, and love, and understanding companionship."

Earhart referred to her marriage as a "partnership" with "dual control." In a letter written to Putnam (her husband) and hand delivered to him on the day of the wedding, she wrote, "I want you to understand I shall not hold you to any medieval code of faithfulness to me nor shall I consider myself bound to you similarly."

"Women must pay for everything. They do get more glory than men for comparable feats, but, they also get more notoriety when they crash."

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

My biggest influence is sport, so my first two are sports based

Juliet Murphy - captain of the Cork ladies football team leading them to 3 of their five AI titles, an absolute lady on and off the pitch, remember chatting to her after the semi final, one of the last in of the pitch, and yet she'd talk to anyone, no problem. A role model for all female athletes. One of the nicest and most genuine people you could ever meet. A leader on the field, controls the game. Roadbowler and basketballer as well, and a dedicated trainer.

cork.jpg

Other one would have to be Sonia O Sullivan - She was one of the world's leading female 5000 m runners for most of the 1990s and early 2000s. Her crowning achievement was a gold medal in the 5000 m at the 1995 World Athletics Championships. She won silver medals in the 5000 m at the 2000 Olympic Games and in the 1500 m at the 1993 World Championships. She has also won three European Championship gold medals and two World Cross-Country Championship gold medals. I had always admired her for what she had acheived and how genuine she is, but after reading her autobiography, I was even more impressed by her.

sonia_olympic_aai.jpg

There is a few other I thought of earlier, can't think of them at the moment, but will post as soon as I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Can us guys post here? if so then two women i really admire being a huge movie buff (the word hero is thrown around way too much imo) are Kathryn Bigelow, probably not very well known to most people , shes a movie director who made Point Break, Strange Days and last years underrated classic The Hurt Locker, women directors arent a strange occurence but she specialises in action movies, which is a genre sorely neglected by female directors. She was also married to one Mr James Cameron for a few years (made a little movie about some boat that sank a few years back, you may have heard of it :D)

also Gale Ann hurd, again most people wouldnt know her, but shes one of the most powerful women in Hollywood, a producer who has made Aliens, The Terminator movies, Armageddon, etc etc, some huge blockbusters were her doing and she's one of the few women who can say NO to the powerful guys in the industry.

Its nice to see empowered women in a pretty much male dominated industry, in the creative process side of movies, obviously there are some hugely powerful actresses but the women behind the scenes are often of unsung importance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Queen Elizabeth
    The American Women fighter pilots of WW2
    Coco Chanel
    Any woman who survived Henry 8
    Any woman who has a son or daughter currently in war and nit having a nervous breakdown

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Marvel and DC comics have an awful lot to answer for
    http://www.unheardtaunts.com/wir/women.html

Anyways
    "It's easier to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission"
    Grace Hopper

Lot of unsung heroes in countries without mandatory education
    If you teach a woman, you teach the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Anyways
    "It's easier to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission"
    Grace Hopper

She was the first woman I thought of when I understood the concept of the thread!

Grace Hopper

Moved computer programming forward more than anyone else, probably. And she has a great surname! :D

krudler wrote: »
    women directors arent a strange occurence but she specialises in action movies, which is a genre sorely neglected by female directors.

Not trying to split hairs but I'd imagine action scripts don't land on too many female directors tables, maybe a bit of a boys club? I know if i was a director i'd love to make action movies!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

One of my longest standing heroes is Florence Nightengale, "The Lady with the Lamp." I had a biography of her that I would read all the time as a child. She was a very compassionate lady and helped revolutionize the nursing profession and the sanitation in hospitals.

Florence Nightengale

The sports woman in me admires Wilma Rudolph, an American sprinter who suffered from polio as a child, spent years in a leg brace, and then became a three time Olympic champion just 8 years later (and ran those races on a sprained ankle).

Wilma Rudolph

And finally, Jane Addams, the second woman to be awarded the Noble Peace Prize. She was a humanitarian and a pacifist.

Jane Addams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

This thread is very interesting. I must admit there is many women on here I have never heared of before which is astonishing considering their achivments.

I had few female heroes when I was growing up but there is one Irish women I have come to admire more and more over the last few years and that is Joanne Cantwell.
    joannecant_132040t.jpg

She has managed to establish herself in the male dominated world of RTE sport. Her interviews are excellent as she was an all star footballer herself. Unlike so many young female presenters she hasnt felt the need to strip off or use her sexuality ,she is very much apart from the celebrity culture . I think she is such a positive role model for young Irish women and I would really like to meet her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I know this thread isn't about our mammies, but this particular mother I have a lot of respect for. She is the mother of the young man know to boards as eirebhoy who died in Sydney last year.

"I'd really like to say that as a mother I really feel for this guy who got into a fight with Gearoid,"

"I am heartbroken for him because we don't blame him, we don't want him to serve time in prison.

"I think he was just very, very unlucky.

To not have anger, blame or malice toward the man who got in a fight with her son is amazing, then to make the decision to donate his organs which went on to save a few lives is heroic, in my opinion.

Without taking away from the mother, because its a big things not to have an anger in your heart. It was pretty much an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Buffy the Vampire Slayer:

Buffy-the-Vampire-Slayer.jpg

Once again, if people could post reasons why this person is their hero, that would be great.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Eva Cassidy! Ive always been in love with her voice. Not only was she a beautiful singer, she was a beautiful person too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

I really admire Ada Lovelace aka The Enchantress of Numbers.

She was Lord Byron's daughter and the first computer programmer and saw the real potential for computers. Unfortunately, Charles Babbage seems to get most of the credit for her work.

Truly amazing woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Nien Chang, author of Life & Death in Shanghai.

She was a Chinese woman who worked in Shell during the rise of Mao and the cultural revolution. She was imprisoned and accused of being a spy, treated with extreme cruelty and was told her daughter had killed herself, when in fact she had been beaten to death.

Not only was she amazingly courageous in spite of her outrageous suffering, she never stopped trying to stimulate herself intellectually, and her clever interpretation of what the interrogators were trying to do was incredibly inspiring.

Her coolness and mental stability in the face of such apalling treatment were the most admirable thing I've ever read about.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Dr. Temple Grandin

Fascinating, intelligent, articulate and she has given us a real insight into Autism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Emmeline Pankhurst , the reason why because anybody who gives their existence away selflessly for the greater good of other people (women in this case) is a hero in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Martha Argerich

She's probably one of the biggest influences (musically) on my life. I love her :) She broke all the rules of classical performances in the 60's, walking out on stage in mini skirts. She made classical music sexy.

I admire her even more for takling the Rach 3 (hardiest piece is the world supposodly), she does the best interpretation i've ever heard or seen.

She is so focused on her music you can see her drift off in her own world, she's phased by nothing. She has never succumbed to the craziness of fame either, always shyed out of the public eye and concentrated on the music. I think it's great that she also tries to promote young talented pianists, a lot of people wouldn't be bothered.

No one plays Chopin, Ravel, Shostakovich or Rachmainov like Martha :). She's magical! Not to mention that she came out performing Chopin with just as much passion as any man (it was mostly men at that time who struck fame as professional players).

She's amazing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Caroline Norton née Sheridan - writer, poet, social reformer

Caroline Sheridan was a penniless but popular member of English society who in 1827 married a man who used her connections to advance his career while viciously physically abusing his wife. Servants intervened on several occasions to save her life.

As is the case with most bullies he was a stupid man but at that time the law gave no support or protection to wives and everything that Caroline earned (through her writing) and produced (i.e. her children) belonged to him. At one point Caroline used the law to her advantage and paid for everything on credit so her debts also belonged to her husband.

When she left him (something that was practically unheard of in those days) he argued successfully in court that all of her earnings belonged to him and proceeded to kidnap her three sons, hiding them with relatives and refusing to allow Caroline to see them.

He went on to accuse her of adultery with one of her close friends who was Prime Minister (Lord Melbourne) at the time, a friendship he had encouraged to facilitate his own ends. At first he tried to blackmail Melbourne but, when the Prime Minister refused to bow to his demands, Norton took him to court. The case was thrown out but Caroline's reputation was ruined as was her friendship with Melbourne.

When one of her sons was dying from injuries sustained in a riding accident, Norton sent for Caroline but by the time she arrived he had died. Norton agreed to allow Caroline to see her two other sons but the visits were restricted and always supervised.

As a direct result of her passionate campaigning through her writing and connections, in several Acts passed over the next 50 years married women gained rights in relation to their possessions, inheritances, divorce and custody of their children, but she was never allowed to divorce her own husband. It was only upon his death that she was able to re-marry, which she did to an old friend. She died three months later at the age of 69.

"An English wife may not leave her husband's house. Not only can he sue her for restitution of "conjugal rights," but he has a right to enter the house of any friend or relation with whom she may take refuge...and carry her away by force...

If her husband take proceedings for a divorce, she is not, in the first instance, allowed to defend herself ... She is not represented by attorney, nor permitted to be considered a party to the suit between him and her supposed lover, for "damages."

If an English wife be guilty of infidelity, her husband can divorce her so as to marry again; but she cannot divorce the husband, a vinculo, however profligate he may be....

Those dear children, the loss of whose pattering steps and sweet occasional voices made the silence of [my] new home intolerable as the anguish of death ... what I suffered respecting those children, God knows ... under the evil law which suffered any man, for vengeance or for interest, to take baby children from the mother"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

just read about Eriko Fukuda, and im quite impressed with what i've read - thought i'd share.
    Five years ago, Eriko Fukuda could have been forgiven for thinking that life had dealt her a poor hand. She had already abandoned her university studies two years earlier after discovering that she had been infected with hepatitis C as a baby, via a tainted blood-clotting agent. The side effects of her regimen of drugs and injections left her feeling weak and nauseous. For 18 months, she could do little except hope that the treatment would send the virus into retreat.

When Japan's parliament reconvenes tomorrow , the now-healthy 28-year-old will be among the most visible faces of the political upheaval that swept the Democratic party of Japan (DPJ) into office in August, ending 54 years of almost uninterrupted rule by the Liberal Democratic party (LDP).

She is one of 26 new DPJ women handpicked by the party's powerbroker, Ichiro Ozawa, to take on LDP heavyweights in an overt appeal to voters disillusioned with old-school politics.......

Yet it was Fukuda, not the former defence minister, who emerged victorious on a night when Japan's voters sent more women to parliament that at any time in the country's history. Female MPs now occupy 56 of the lower house's 480 seats, compared to 43 before the election, although the proportion is still lower than in legislatures in the US, Britain and elsewhere.

But her path to political office was punctuated by smear campaigns targeting her health. "My opponents told people that if they voted for me they couldn't be sure I would be healthy enough to represent them," she says. "They said, 'What if it all gets too much for her and she collapses?' The silly thing was that voters could see me running around the constituency, full of energy."

"During the election some people asked what a group of young, inexperienced women could possibly achieve. That attitude exists outside politics as well, but it is about time parliament was more sensitive to issues that affect women – the cost of bringing up children, balancing work and family, the rights of part-time workers, health and education."

:cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 sublunar

i realise no one has posted in a few weeks but this is a great topic - cheers, spinandscribble.

my personal hero has to be madalyn murray o'hair. silly name aside, she was one of the first vocal atheists in the u.s. and campaigned for years for the rights of non-religious people. she founded american atheists and openly criticised the hypocrisy of religion.

she was also an unapologetic feminist, and believed in absolute equality between men and women - intellectually, professional, economic, socially and sexually. needless to say, she was extremely unpopular (this was in the 1960s), but she never lost the courage of her convictions.

she wasn't perfect by any means; she was pretty flawed. but she campaigned tirelessly for equality without ever tempering her beliefs by conforming to social ideals of how a woman should behave. it's what i aspire to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

"Hero" is probably a bit strong, but I quite admire The Marchesa Luisa Casati. She was an Italian Aristocat who was an early 20th centruy celebrity, known for her decadence. Her aim in life was to immortalise herself and live a life of decadence and luxury. By all accounts she was quite eccentric.

"She whirled through Parisian nightlife, making an unforgettable impression on Colette, Elsa Schiaparelli and Coco Chanel. Nude servants gilded in gold leaf attended her. Bizarre wax mannequins sat as guests at her dining table, some of them even rumoured to contain the ashes of past lovers. She wore live snakes as jewellery and was infamous for her evening strolls, naked beneath her furs whilst parading cheetahs on diamond-studded leashes. Everywhere she went, she set trends, inspired genius and astounded even the most jaded members of the international aristocracy. Without question, the Marchesa Casati was the most scandalous woman of her day."

"All the while, Luisa journeyed wherever her fancy took her–Venice, Rome, Paris, Capri–collecting palaces and a menagerie of exotic animals and spending fortunes on lavish masquerades. Her appearance made her a legend throughout the continent. She was tall and thin. A thick blaze of flame-coloured hair crowned her pale, almost cadaverously white face with its sensually vermilioned lips. Above all, however, the Marchesa’s large green eyes cast the strongest spell of her unique beauty. She exaggerated these further still with immense false lashes and surrounding rings of black kohl, while droplets of poisonous belladonna made them glitter like emeralds. "

She still has a remarkable influence now in the 21st century as she inspired and commissioned hundreds of works of art. Countless designers have also based collections on her and her style.