Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Running mad in 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I'm a lucky man. My house is in a small estate which backs onto woods which comprise a nice selection of trails. I can be at the trail head in about 60 secs downhill jog from the front door. Anyone else live as near to the trails? I discovered a nice single track circuit through the trees this evening too which gives some nice cross-country variety to my running.

Above these trails, split by a minor road, is yet more trails which climb and climb with various paths and gradients to take depending on the moment. Very rarely do you see anyone up there. More chances of seeing some rabbits and deer and the odd fox but thats about it. I can do a circuit of aprox 15k without having crossed the same path. In so doing I can cover 4 to 500m of ascents. All good hill running and training country. I just need to motivate myself to do it and ease up on the easy runs. More purpose is needed.

An experienced hill runner told me a good hill training drilll would be to run hard for 3 mins plus, jog back, repeat... This evening I found that the first hill from my trail head (again just 60 secs from the hall door), climbs some 50 m in 3 to 4 minutes of good uphill running). I did this 3 times this evening. I need to increase the speed, the no. of reps, lengths of the session.. but I'm steeped to have these training options a stones throw from the house.
    8k, 254m ascents, 143 avg HR, 4:52 min/k pace.

I need to knuckle down and get some good sessions in.

Last night, to make up for my weakness in walking bits of Djouce I ran my local hill, in the warm evening air. Surrounded by bloody flies.. not midgies.. big black flies... Happy to run all the way though. 9k, 350m ascents, 140 avg HR, 5:15 min/k pace.

Hill race tomorrow so wanted to keep the legs relatively fresh, but couldn't do nothing on a Saturday. Headed out on the bike out the backroads. Have the work the legs straight away due to the hills. Headed out past Asknagap towards Ballyteige on the Wicklow way. Across ironbridge and headed up and into forest trails under Croaghanmoira. Trails bone dry but badly rutted from machinery or moto cross bikes so had to push the bike a bit on bad bits. Had contemplated doing a bit of a hill run on Croghanmoira but decided to save the legs. Adrenaline rush freewheeling downhill through the forest on bumpy trails. Yippee. Glad the bike is so versatile.

93 mins, 26.6k, 3:31 min/k pace, 438m ascents, avg HR 119 bpm, Max 149.

An old fashioned hill race. Up to the top of the mountain and back. The fact that the mountain is the highest in Leinster and the route up and back is rough and bloody steep makes it all the more of a challenge. Last year in the same race, in dreadful conditions, I went astray and ended up in the Glen of Imaal on the way back. No fear of that happening today. A glorious day, with clear sky and the sun beating down and little if any wind. About 40 runners assembled at the Bavore Car park in the Glenmalure valley and we set off at 12 noon. The first 2.5k is mainly fire road before you start up a narrow track beside the waterfall. Keeping the river to the left it turns and points you at the steep mountain wall that you need to ascend. Waved to John Shiels along this stretch as he waited to take some photos. Best not look too far ahead or you get demoralised. Lots of slow patient walking get you there in the end before the ground evens out and you make out the cairn of Lug not to far away on a south west bearing. The lead runners had already come back past me on their journey home at this point. Brian Furey and Colm Hill were the lead 2 I saw. Dermot Murphy had a great climb and went past me jogging whilst I could only manage a walking shuffle. Zoran was just ahead of me to and when I touched the trig point at the peak I set off in pursue. I past some runners still on the way to Lug at this point. Alan Ayling had climbed well and wasn't too far behind me. Next followed the rest of the field strung out in a line up from the glen. You run North East on slightly descending ground and then the ground almost seems to vanish from view as it falls away quite steeply. I was probably quite meek on my downhill as my fear of falling adjusted my speed. Still I managed to overtake Dermot by taking a more efficient downhill line. Zoran had opened a gap on me, a gap that remained steady no matter what I did. Me falling over a few times didn't help. You head back the same way, so down past the waterfall and onto the fire road. At this stage I was beat. The sun seemed very hot and I just wanted the race to be over. The last 2k was an ummemorable fire road descent with a bit of single track thrown in before you reach baravore car park. My finish time: 79:52. About 10 mins behind the winner. Good enough for 7th I think. 779m of hard won ascent. Avg pace was a poor 7:17 but thats to be taken in context with the climb. Knackered afterwards but happy to have put the demons of last year's race aside with a decent time.

Colm Hill was only 5 seconds behind Brian Furey for the top spot. Not sure who was 3rd? Des Kennedy had a fine run in 4rd finishing ahead of Jason Kehoe with Zoran 6th. Alan Ayling finished just after me with Dermot Murphy close behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Thought I'd be offering congratulations- but by the looks of things you have a showdown for LC M40 title?

I was well beaten for M40 today. Mt. Leinster could be interesting. Its that bit longer and not as tough gradient wise. Longer suits me and Mt Leinster has been good to me in previous years.

Was expecting to see you today. I'm assuming you were busy being pampered for fathers day :)

I was well beaten for M40 today. Mt. Leinster could be interesting. Its that bit longer and not as tough gradient wise. Longer suits me and Mt Leinster has been good to me in previous years.

Was expecting to see you today. I'm assuming you were busy being pampered for fathers day :)

Hot weather+caravan by the shore+Sat eve wine+Sun morn swim+lack of fitness+WWRelay cloud nine "don't want to come down from-ness"=another missed FRG.

Will be there though for Mount Leinster II- "This Time its Personal".

The downhill levels out having cascaded down the steep wall in the background

5B307B5C1A1043A59D23A259CBE24D11-500.jpg

(c) John Sheils / Action Photography.

This race was never going to be easy. At 12k and 550m of ascent over boggy mountain tracks this is the longest yet of the Leinster League races. It extends the Corrig race route which I last ran 2 years ago. That route tends to be a bogfest. It would be interesting to see the conditions underfoot after the long dry spell we had.

The midges were out in force as we assembled at the start. An early start had seen a small bunch of runners head off out the route 20 mins beforehand. Seemed to be a smaller crowd for this race that previous Weds. Could have been the world cup or the longer race putting people off. Those that stayed away missed a treat.

I wasn't thinking it was a treat in the early stages. I decided to pace myself and avoid the temptation to rush out at the start. Its a long one after all. Diarmuid Collins and Eoin headed into the lead. The likes of Des, Dan, Ben, Niall and Greg followed with a resurgent Eamon Hodge in close attendance. I was probably in and around 10th place for much of the outward part of the race. I was joined and past on an early uphill by Gerry Lalor who loves the uphills. I nearly lost a shoe early on in a soft boggy spot. So much for the dry spell. This hill must have a hidden resevoir of water underneath it.

Nice downhill off Corrig before a long stretch then uphill to Seefingan itself. For the 2nd time the foot went into a bog hole. Really struggled to pull it out! Definitely thought I'd lost the shoe but thankfully it remained on but I lost crucial momentum and I could see quite a gap had opened to Gerry Lalor and Paul John Brennan. Eamon Hodge had disappeared from view. Hold on, is that him way over on the left? Eamon seemed to be running his own route parallel to the marked course? He said he'd recce'd it with a walk the previous evening so maybe the going is better over there?

Looking ahead the steep climb to Seefingan presented itself. The trail was soft dry peat for the most part, but soft bits were hidden away and the ground was very undulating, lots of mini ups and downs as you were running. My pace slowed on the main climb. Walked tiny bits, but made up for it by periods of faster running. The lead runners met us as we headed up. Diarmuid Collins 1st, Eoin 2nd. Couldn't count further than that. Tried to concentrate and keep the pace with Gerry Lalor. Not easy as he was climbing very well. Met a smiling Martin Francis who was summit marshalling. I reckon Eamon had a 15 to 20 sec gap ahead of me at the top. The descent off Seefingan back to whence we came was brilliant. Let gravity do its stuff. A free energy ride. Made up a place or 2 here and closed the gap on Gerry. Another climb then back up to the top of Corrig again. More concentration needed. Stayed the course and ran in close proximity to Gerry. Looked for Eamon again. Yet again he was off on an alternate track? Not sure how legit that is if the rest of us were following a marked track? Anyways, as his path converged with ours I could see that the gap was closing, probably less than 10 secs by the time we got to Corrig peak and headed down a technical downhill. I definitely benefitted from having ran alongside Gerry on much of this race. He's a great pacer and we probably paced each other well. I think Eamon was running quite solo which is a more difficult proposition.

Still about 2k to go at this stage. Too early to try make a move. On the downhill we were catching up. Gerry went to pass at one point but Eamon responded with a blast of speed. I wondered if we'd get past at all as Eamon was running very very well. From somewhere I got a burst of energy and I took off past the 2 boys. I tried to make the most of my break and sprint out a gap. The rocky conditions underfoot made things difficult and I was sure I would hear the guys in close proximity behind me. I crossed a rubble field from a recent felled forest and came upon a track that I recognised but it was slightly uphill and the caterpillar tracks dried into the ground made it tough to run on. Feck. My pace was crap at this point. I wondered if I had shot my bolt too early. Didn't look around as I didn't want to tempt fate. I realised then that I was still closing on another runner ahead. Greg? What was he doing here. Hadn't seen him since the start when he went off with a leading group... However, try as I may to catch him I couldn't. He sensed my proximity and lifted the pace at the crucial time. I legged it for all I was worth and finished ahead of Gerry and Eamon. Not sure of place yet but very happy with the run as I felt I gained momentum as the race progressed which is a good way to be.

Mr Collins won with Eoin 2nd. Not sure yet who made up the other places ahead of me. Joe Mooney appears to have had a fine run, as did Dan Morrough, Ben Mooney and Niall Fox. I think Suzanne Kenny was 1st lady home again. Fair play. Tough race, great race.

12.35k, 582m ascents, 1:06, 5:21 pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Actually! my route had lots of red and white tape on it? Did yours?!

That wasn't the reason I went that way though. I was sure I'd find a good track there and Eoin Keith confirmed that he thought there was a path there. I picked it up in certain sections but in others it seemed to lead directly into bog. The correct path might have been 2 metres to the left or right but invisible unless you were on it!

Pretty bad decision for me to go that way. Worst decision ever to go *BACK* the same way. Definitely lost some time on the way. Didn't lose a position though, yourself and Gerry were always going to catch me. I'd love to see what would happen between the three of us in a sprint finish.

I responded to the request for pacers for the Dingle marathon and I've been accepted for the 3:30 slot. I've never paced before and thought it about time that I step up where others have gone before. Dingle was something I had a mind to do, so in pacing it I can kill 2 birds with one stone. Hopefully I can do justice to the pacing duty in the same way that fellow boardsies have done in the last year or so at other events. If Dingle is anyway comparable to Connemara and I can run 3:17 in Conn then 3:30 in Dingle should be quite within my compass.

I dusted down by running schedule and updated it for recent runs I did. Since I've ticked the box on the 1000 mile challenge I've been ticking over with a mixture of (lots of) hill races and easier training runs. I'm up towards 2,200 kms to date this year. I've 10 weeks to Dingle so I better knuckle down to some training, specifically of the pacing variety. I intend continuing to do lots of races to keep me sharp. Over the next 10 weeks I've quite a few pencilled in. See below. Touch wood I should be okay for whatever hills come my way in Dingle. I just need to consolidate the following with enough mid to long slow runs.

1 IMRA Trooperstown race; IMRA Lugnacoille race
    2 IMRA Sugarbowl race; IMRA Mount Leinster race
    3 IMRA Leinster League handicap race; IMRA Dublin mountains plod race
    4 IMRA Trail league race 1
    5 IMRA Trail league race 2; IMRA Galtees race
    6 IMRA Trail league race 3
    7 IMRA World Trial (maybe)
    8 IMRA Stone Cross to Lug relay
    9 Warriors run

Rested today with the Enniscorthy half marathon tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

I rarely run road half marathons so the Enniscorthy half was a rare such outing for me. My last recorded half marathon was 2 years ago when I did the Bay run (Glengariff Bantry). That route was hilly and scenic and I ran well then to do 1:26. Enniscorthy would be an opportunity to better that. Lots of hill running isn’t conventional training for a road half marathon so it would be interesting to see how my day panned out.

An early start had me collect donothoponpop on the way. He would pace a group during today’s race. I’d volunteered to pace a group but they’d all the pacer spots full at the time so I was left free to run my own race.
    In advance of the race I was hoping to run in and around 4 minute kilometre splits. Rain showers on the way down and some blustery wind might test that, but we’ll see.

Lots of familiar faces on view beforehand. There was a good imra contingent and a good group from Boards. Lots of other club runners in evidence too. Some elite runners there too, no doubt attracted by the prize fund.
    The race started bang on time and typically the race start adrenaline rush has me running to fast too early. 1st 2 splits were 3:45 and 3:49, despite a hill in there on the way up to Enniscorthy main street. I know Enniscorthy pretty well as my wife is from the outskirts where we’d run today. I’d ran most of the route as a training run some weeks back. By the 3rd k I’d settled into a rhythm and was running alongside a lady runner with another lady runner in close pursuit. Up ahead in the distance I could make out Martin Francis, who must have started very fast. I thought to myself it would be nice to try reel him in but I was also happy with my current pace. The next k brought a small uphill, that I attacked, and in doing so I ended up running solo for a good bit. Splits 5 to 9 were all 3:5x The 10th k probably has the worst hill and that was 4:17, but whatever goes up must come down so the next 2 k were 3:4x. A 4:05 split was followed by 2 x 3:5x’s. I was happy with my running and along this point I first went past Martin Francis and 2 other runners he was with before he attacked on a downhill and went away from me. Being happy with my pace I continued to run steady and not try to speed up to track him.

At this point I was aware of a runner in close attendance. Rene drew level with me and started to power away. ‘Good running’, says I. Again I was happy with my own pace so didn’t want to chance speeding up unduly. Rene closed the gap on Martin and we headed over the level crossing and bridge at Edermine and left onto the N11. Slowed a small bit here (4:08), but at this point I knew only 5k were left and it was for the most part level. Up ahead was Martin, ahead of him was Rene and ahead of him I could make out Des Kennedy.. So we had a quartet of imra runners in reasonably close proximity, running pretty well.

A lady runner from Kilmore AC went past me. She would go on to go past Martin too, but I think she was part of a relay team, hence the burst of energy relatively late in the race. Despite a growing stomach cramp I ran steady splits, 4 x 3:5x’s and a 4:05 (that must have been the hill that I didn’t notice on the N11).

The tannoy was announcing the hill runners crossing the line… Des, Rene, Martin and Mick. Hit stop on the watch.. 1:23:09 A half marathon PB by 3:43. Avg pace 3:56.. so a bit faster than I thought I’d be able to run. Sportstracks says total climb was 218m but I simply can’t believe it was that high. I ran pretty well today and my time will be hard for me to beat, but its something to aim for in the future and something I’ll need to pull my socks up and do some speed work for, something I simply don’t do now. Well done to all those who ran today, particularly those you managed PBs. Hats off to you Rene.

The race was very well organised. Credit to the Porter’s. Pre-race in the hotel, during race with the organisation and marshalling and post-race at the finish and the hotel, it was all good. The goody bag and t-shirt were as good or better than you get anywhere. Hopefully this race will be a regular feature on the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

Another great race report, was just after reading Krusty's 10k report there too.

Sounds like a hilly course, so makes your half time that bit stronger. Great improvement on the PB ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I'm glad all the pacer spots were filled up, as it meant you got a well deserved PB. Nice to see your hill prowess paying off on the roads too.

Yeah, that course was made for you, you'd ha' been wasted pacing. Next year maybe, as at least two of the pacers (Daithi and me) intend racing it. And, again, well done on smashing your pb!

Couldn't run on Monday or Tuesday after the half marathon on Sunday, not because I didn't want to but due to family stuff. Its just as well as I was shagged after Sunday. The race this evening was the closest thing to a home gig for me in the Leinster League. The turn-out didn't seem as big as recent races, possibly due to its distance from Dublin. The route promised to be dry so despite some spots of rain it could be a fast one.

I started reasonably well and was well up the field as we moved from the trail and road section past the Telecoms tower onto the main trail on Trooperstown hill. Lost some ground on this section as the quads started to remind me that the half-marathon was still in the legs. I was struggling and had to force myself to keep ticking over. At the head of the field in the early stages Niall McAlinden appeared to have gone out hard followed by Eoin Keith. Niall Fox, Greg Bryne, Dan and Zoran were well up there too. There were a few unfamiliar faces ahead of me too. Eamonn ran well on the first hill to stretch out a bit of a lead on me. I tried to limit the gap as much as possible. Where was Gerry Lalor when I needed him to pace me.

I managed to pick it up a bit on the downhill bit and the trail around Trooperstown hill proper. The gap to Eamonn was narrowing and I wondered if I'd catch him on the run in. I ran the main hill fairly solidly and tried to speed up as we approached the summit. The downhill then is madly fast. I managed to get past Eamonn on this section but I was passed in turn by a flying Jimmy Synott. Once we hit the road I ran side by side with Jimmy for a bit before I stretched it out as we headed down to the forest trail barrier. I hadn't ran this section before so it was unknown territory and I was aware of quite a few footsteps in my proximity as we charged down the single track. Annoyingly I was past on this section (didn't recognise the guy) and this was more to do with not going for it when I could have possibly gotten past a runner that was blocking me a bit. By the time we met the road the charge to the finish didn't give me a chance to make the place back. Finished just ahead of Jimmy and Eamon was just after I think. Fast and furious.

I was glad to have hung in there and finished reasonably well. The legs probably won't forgive me tomorrow. Maybe this rest, rest, race strategy is something I should try more often. Next race is Lug on Saturday.

367m of (real not strawberry half marathon) hills; 4:34 pace; 9.72k

Got a lift from dpop to this one on what turned out to be a marvellous sunny day. Rain had been forecast but thankfully it stayed well away. The mandatory kit of jacket, compass and map could safely stay stashed at the start line as we have a clear view of the race route and the summit marshal’s signalled they have crystal clear visibility. After a very brief and slow warm up I towed the start line with 60 or so other runners. We started on the button at 1pm from the crossroads below Camara hill bordering the Glen of Imaal military range. I expected to be climbing for upwards of 40 mins so I tried to pace myself. Along the dreaded fireroad and through the narrow stile before breaking out onto the open mountain trail that leads up to Camara hill (486m). Got a lift by the cheering of dpop and the assembled kids as we jogged slowly past. 1st k in 7:12, 148m gain. Eased away from Dermot Murphy and from Rene Borg at this point. Rene had finished ahead of me in Enniscorthy last week so I was sure he’d come back at me later in the race.

The steepness eased out a bit before it started again. Camara hill summited. 2nd k in 7:33, gain 119m. Trying to think positive thoughts to keep my pace even and not to walk. I remembered having to walk early stretches early last year. This year I was determined to avoid walking until as late as possible. The climb is steady and relentless but I’m hanging in there. 3rd k, 7:23, 124m gained. Past Dan Morrough and Paul Smyth on this section. Travelling well. Ground conditions were probably as good as you’d get. Pretty dry and bouncy underfoot for the most part. Climb must be flattening out as I ran 4th k in 6:40 with 104m of gain.

The main climb onto the top of Lug came next and looking ahead of me I could see others marching along. I couldn’t run some of this and marched as best I could through the rocky section but as soon as the gradient eased I got back running again. As I ran towards Percy’s table in the direction of the trig point the lead runners were already on their way back. Peter O’Farrell had a slim lead on Martin Bradshaw at that point. Padraig McCristall (spell?) was next I think, with Jason Kehoe next. With the steepness of the 5th k and the walking it was unsurprisingly my slowest k… 10:28 with 188m gained. I reckon I rounded the cairn on Lug (931m) in 40:37ish which was 2 mins quicker than I managed last year. That’s the difference between running and walking a hill!

Starting to descend now I made sure I didn’t make the same mistake as last year when I took a more rocky line off the summit which slowed me down.. I ran towards the ascending runners and I can see from my garmin track that my up and down routes were pretty well matched which is what you want. Heading downhill I could see a runner around 20 seconds ahead of me. I didn’t recognise him but I made it my business to catch him. I was conscious too that there were fast descenders behind me like Dan Morrough and Martin Francis so I couldn’t get complacent.

6th k, 4:24, down the rocky section. 7th k, 3:57. I was trying to run efficiently, use the hill and keep something in reserve so I didn’t die with the race not over. Over the next stretch I managed to overtake the runner ahead 3:37. Tried to keep the power up to ensure he stayed past. Along this stretch there is a bit of an uphill (don’t remember a downhill on the way up ?), but powered up it as best I could and started down Camara hill proper. Took messy lines at times and lost momentum as a result. 2nd last k.. 3:51. I couldn’t hear anything behind me so I figured I had stretched out a gap. Saw dpop and the kids up ahead. You’re 10 seconds ahead says he. 10 secs I thought to myself, sure that’s nothing… but I didn’t dare look around to see if he was messing or not. Just run! Last bit of the hill now, and through the stile and onto the fire road. A fire road is the last thing you want to race when you wearing light trail shoes (inov8 xtalons.. great on the hill, crap off the hill). Still, ran hard until the end.. Last k in 3:42, and some change to bring me to 10.37 distance. Stopped the watch and took my first serious look at the time.. 60:26.. nearly 4 mins faster than last year which means I gained nearly 2 mins on the downhill from last year too. Happy days. 10th place overall according to the handwritten results. Funnily enough I think 10th place is my overall average place in all races this year. I’m consistent so.

Martin Bradshaw overtook Peter on the downhill to take 1st. Still, Peter got the maximum King of the Mountains points for being 1st to the top and took 2nd place overall. The mighty Tom Blackburn descended brilliantly again to take 3rd overall. A couple of runners had twisted ankles from the race including I think Rene which could explain why I stayed ahead of him. Dan Morrough and Martin Francis finished very strongly behind me. I was lucky to have someone to chase so to keep my momentum up. A great race.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/39049292

4 Mins off last years time is great running. You looked strong going up at Camara, stronger than some ahead of you even.

You set a good example to the next generation- 7,&9-year old all complained going up (6- year old ran all the way;)), but all three copied your lead and had very fast descents, taking their tumbles very well. The future Boards WWR team is being established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Great run last sunday.
    Sure dont ye love the f***ing hills. Def sub 3 material. I still have that other tenner in the envelope.

Thanks for the vote of confidence VR. I hope to prove you right some day.

T-Runner’s race report on the Sugarbowl race is a race I would have liked to have mimicked. He ran very solidly throughout but for a part on the steepest section when it scarcely mattered. My race wasn’t half as good. The warmup with T wasn’t excessive and I felt comfortable at the start. I’ve done this race twice before and its probably my least favourite race though. Too short and steep for me and I’ve bad memories of going over on my ankle the race before last here so I’m probably a bit nervous of it moreso that other routes. The 1st kilometre was fine. Made a decent start into the single track and tagged behind Eamonn. When the climbs started to happen though I just didn’t have it in the legs. Greg Byrne went past me. Joe Mooney. Mikey Fry. Others I didn’t know. It was like the consecutive days running and racing had all landed in the quads at once and they wanted to stop. Eamonn stretched out a lead on me and I thought to myself that was that. I got encouragement from Suzanne I think behind me but she then went past as we started towards the face of the cone.

Maybe it was Suzanne passing me, I don’t know but strangely as the gradient steepened I started going again, somewhat of a 2nd wind, and when the climb started (like hands and feet climbing) I started gaining on people. Saw Eamonn descending, so the top couldn’t be too far away. He shouted ‘see you on the descent’. I thought ‘yeah right’ as he looked well on the way. As I turned on the cone at top though I started to hussle. I got past a few runners straight away including Suzanne. I’m reasonable over the technical stuff and the Sugarloaf has it in spades. Ian O’Kane came tearing by me and I tried to stay with him. We made great pace down the mountain and when we turned onto the single track I could see Eamonn not far ahead.

Confusingly both Ian and Eamonn were wearing the same green IMRA top. Gaining on a green vest I thought I was catching Ian. No, it was Eamonn.. Ian had gone ahead again. Directly behind Eamonn now and biding my time to pass. He took a wrong turn, I followed, but we both realised our mistake immediately.. I think the guy behind us shouted. Thanks whoever you are. Turning about face I found myself in the lead.. by half a sec.. on a tight single track. I expected another half a k of track but before I knew it we burst out onto the road and the finish line was directly there. Crossed the line a split second ahead of Eamonn. That was a close run thing and a very strange race for me. The body didn’t want to know earlier in the race but got going later and not a second too soon.

Despite my average race my time and average pace were up on previous sugarloaf races which surprised me.
    5.6k, 383m ascents, 6.18 pace.

10th in Leinster League, 2nd M40. A bit improvement from last year when I was 15th overall and 5th M40. I must be doing something right I suppose.

A wet and windy day in Wexford for this one. The sun in the south-east had deserted us. The numbers of runners were up from last year despite the conditions. We were set on our way at 12 noon by race director Jane Porter, who can happily rest easy after having directed 4 races in recent weeks including the Enniscorthy half and the marathon for the 32 country marathon guys during the week. Take a bow Jane.

We headed up the fire road at a steady pace. Some of the runners discarded they running jackets immediately after the start.. a point that was picked up on by the race director afterwards.. when you are recommended to wear a jacket for your safety you should do so. They know who they are :).

A lead group led by Colm Hill and the North Laois congregation moved ahead. I was in a following few running alongside Gerry Brady. You climb steadily for the 1st 4 kilometres. After the fire road the track breaks out onto a grassy and stony track. After the overnight rain there were small streams running down the track I was slowly ascending. The wind was rising and making things that bit more challenging as we ran. Gerry Brady found another gear (or I lost a gear on this section) and he moved off into the distance. Low cloud meant you could only seen nearby runners before they disappeared from view completely. The 3rd kilometre has most climb and possibly most suffering. The trail was in parts stony, muddy and pools of water – a bit of everything really – and I was well glad I wore my salomons. Anyone wearing just road shoes would be trouble on this terrain. Kilometre 4 and yet more climbing on similar terrain. Wind had really gotten up at this point and I was glad of the extra cover of the rain jacket. I’ll have to trade in my luminous yellow jackets though for something resembling khaki camouflage as my jackets make me a target for runners behind me. Over the intermediate peak (black hill?) and onto the flat ridge between this and Mount Leinster.

Visibility was really bad and I was very glad that some markings were out on the track to show the way. Difficult to keep the footing at times in the muddy and wet conditions. The climb started again and this time it’s the main climb to the summit. The area up here is pock-marked with peaty / boggy areas and has suffered due to quad bike damage over the years. The trail was quite slippery in parts but I made slow shuffling progress along it. At one stage I was easily past by Hugh Kinsella who was motoring. We reached the stoney section which surrounded the main peak. Not far to go now. Followed the marking as the wind threatened to lift you off your feet at times. Colm Hill ran towards me on his way back down the mountain. Despite the underfoot conditions he was really moving. I reckon Martin McDonald was about half a minute behind him. Through boggy pools and up and down peaty stacks near the summit. More descending runners past. Aengus Burke, Martin Monaghan, PJ Carroll, Des Kennedy, Gerry Brady, someone I didn’t recognise, then Hugh Kinsella. Running on tarmac then concrete now as the incessant wind against the TV antennae at the top of Mount Leinster filled the air with a vuvuzela like whistle sound. Up and around the cairn where summit marshall Graham Porter was squatting down in vain looking for some cover from the wind and rain. Just over 6.5k to the turn. The ascent had taken approximately 45 mins.

Back down through the boggy pools. Saluted other runners that were ascending and weren’t too far away from me. Amidou and Alan were probably the nearest to me. I knew that both of them were very good descenders so the descent would be interesting. Nearly took a wrong turn at the top as I struggled to see where the next marking flag was. Justin, ascending, shouted ‘this way Mick’. Then, Amidou came along and now instead of running on my own I was running in someone’s wake and he was flying. I kept up as best I could and we made it across the wet ridge towards Black hill. From previous year’s races I knew the rest of the descent was fast and furious but wasn’t short either. I climbed over Black hill ahead of Amidou and started down the wet, stony, muddy trails. Found myself criss crossing the trail at times looking in vain for the best non-rutted non-pooled running line. Amidou got a 2nd wind though and on a wider section he surged past and ahead and much as I tried I couldn’t keep up. I tried to limit the gap but it was growing. I ran hard knowing that Alan wouldn’t be too far behind either and I didn’t want to lose another place. I wasn’t wearing a heart rate monitor but I was probably near to max’ing out on the descent as I put in some fast kilometre splits (3:19, 3:16: 3:21). The runner ahead was doing the same or better though as the gap didn’t narrow to any great extent. Crossed the line in (I think) 12th place in a time of 70:44, a faster time than my previous 2 Mt Leinster outings. I can’t quite believe that given the conditions today but it’s a time I would have taken beforehand. More incredibly the course record was broken today with Colm winning in a fantastic 59:59 time – a time set despite a fall at one point and a loo stop ! A pity Brian or Peter weren’t there today to make an even truer race of it out front. I think Aengus Burke was 2nd with Martin McDonald 3rd. I don’t have the full results but I think Des Kennedy’s result today won him M40 Leinster Champs. Dena Hogan finished 1st lady ahead of Niamh Garvey. A wet but happy bunch of runners decamped to the Holy Grail pub in Ballindaggin for some post race grub and chat. Always a nice feature of the Wexford races hosted by the Porter’s. Great day guys, thanks.

13.05k, 70:44, 5:25min/k pace, 612m ascents

Alarm went off at the god awful early hour of 6am (on a Sunday – what is the world coming to). I’d gotten a call from the race director and as I had some of the IMRA race gear I was needed at Marley early doors. The early start and lost sleep probably impacted my race today as I struggled at times to get it going.

Unlike others I hadn’t managed to recce the route. I only know bits of it from various IMRA races. Today’s route stitched a lot of that together and it ended up being a nice, if tough circuit. The promised rain didn’t arrive thankfully and the morning was mild enough with a bit of wind. Pretty good conditions for a hill run.

The 1st 5k were a combination of a short loop around Marley and some nearby roads which brought us up towards Masseys. I ran steady enough on this part and felt comfortable. Into Masseys and the trails weren’t as muddy or steep as I’d been led to believe. Got passed by a few, including Karen Alexander who I believe would go on to win the ladies race. My pace suffered on the uphill bits and runners ahead of me stretched out a lead. Some friendly IMRA faces passed me as I entered Cruagh. My energy levels had started to feel low and I couldn’t stay with anyone that passed me. Rafael, Gerry and Adrian passed at a good click. The downhill from Cruagh came at the right time and I could get the legs spinning without much energy to be expended. Then we entered Tibradden and that’s when my race wheels started to come off. Tummy trouble made me stop and visit the nearby bushes. Note to self. Avoid the nettle patch the next time! Got going again slowly and ran and walked some of the steep bits. As we turned around the side of 2 Rock I felt I was running okay ahead but along this stage I was passed by another runner. This time I managed to stay close and we ran neck and neck on the downhill which seemed to go on for a long time past Kilmasoghue and Stackstown. Quads hurting with the constantly pounding but steady splits all the same. I was running decently but too late in the race to matter. As the ground levelled out and we turned up the road adjacent to Marley I was passed again, Torben Dahl, another IMRA compatriot. I picked it up to respond but turning into Marley a car stopped directly in my path and I lost momentum. Finished in 1:38 even or so. Really enjoyed the route but I was off the boil in parts. If Krusty had of run today he’d have wiped the floor of me. Awaiting official results which should be on the imra site soon enough.

I reckon there was over 200 runners today. At least half of them would have been new to hill runs. Hopefully many of them will see the appeal of what hill running has to offer and will come back. Nice to meet up with many new and familiar faces before, during (T Runner, KC etc) and after. Great job Justin Rea and team. Logistically it was great and the marshalling and marking were spot on. Goes to show the valuable job non-running volunteers do. Without them we wouldn’t have a race, so we all owe it to other runners to help out at the odd race instead of racing it from time to time.

20.98k, 4:40 pace, 572m ascents.

Well done Slogger Jogger. Sorry to hear about the tummy upsets. I figured you were back a bit down the field to your normal pointy-ended position. Hopefully the race will be run again next year, and we'll get a chance for that race-off, with both of us in good running form!

Promised rain didn't arrive? I spent four hours in rain, hail and sleet. Which race were you running? :)

Results up..
    21st in 98:09. 10% off the winning time of 88:50 set by Ronan Merrick. Room for improvement next time when I can race KC.

Decided to run this instead of a solo training run. Hadn’t rested in days previous so legs were heavy but the running days are more essential to rest days at the moment what with Dingle coming up and I’ve also signed up for Dublin again this year. I said ‘never again’ last year, but sure that was only a runners promise. We just can’t be trusted.

Arrived early, in a light downpour and headed for a longer than usual warmup where I ran the guts of the race route, nearly 5k. Lots of the course was mucky and quite tight on single tracks so it should make for an interesting race. Not easy either with lots of ups and downs in there including the first climb which hits you straight away. I met Dermot Murphy, who was marking route, whilst on my warm up and he advised me of the ‘new’ route which course has to take. The diversion would add some distance to the advertised route and knock out the technical steep climb through the trees, replacing it by a more runnable shallower climb along a long straight track.

A good crowd assembled at the start. Easily over 100 runners. It shows the continuing popularity of the Weds races and a lot of people aren’t fussy whether they are called hill races or trail races, they just want a running outlet.

The start was fast and furious. Rafael Salazar, fresh from a great run in the plod, led the way, with Joe Mooney close behind. Lots of others gave it socks on the first climb in an attempt to gain position before we turned in on the single track. I just about got in ahead of Jeff and Jimmy Synnott here and we paced along nicely on the single tracks stooping at times to avoid branches, but there was no avoiding the nettles and brambles on the trail and this was to lead to much stinging after the race.

I gained and lost some places on the single track and when we started into the steep downhill. Legs weren’t fresh and I could feel it.

We ran across the car park and turned up the long climb. Again I gained and lost some places here and towards the top Jimmy was on my shoulder and he swept by me as the path widened. The single track has lots of little ups and downs. Muddy underfoot conditions made it interesting. Glad I wore my speed cross IIs. No confusion these year with a 2nd lap or anything and the marking was A1. As we broke out onto the road for the steep downhill finish I was close behind Ben Mooney and didn’t see anyone too close to me, so it was a case of holding position til the end. In retrospect if I’d have rested beforehand I should have been able to push harder in the race but I’m happy enough. Well done to Joe Mooney for a nice 1st IMRA win, just ahead of Ian O’Kane who seems to be improving all the time. There wasn’t a lot then between many of the top 10 runners. Jimmy Synott made up extra places ahead of me too with a great finishing section. I finished 8th but 3% off Joe’s time. The route diversion led to a nice new route and its one which could be kept in future. The extra distance is nice to have too. Jeff Fitz and John Ahern were close by at the finish for a good placing by Boards on the night, 2nd team to Sli Cualann.

8.23k, 4:24 pace, 238m ascents.

My mistake at last weeks trail race was to do a hard interval session the day before. This week my Tuesday run was an early morning nice and easy jog, so Wednesday evening I felt nice and fresh.

Earls drive is a lovely route and we got great conditions for the race. My good friend Ian showed up for his first imra race of the year. He has shown up well in recent 10ks and I told him beforehand that he should top 3 if he runs to form. We'd see.

On the ‘g’ of go says Douglas and we were set off on our way downhill at the start of Earl’s drive race for 2010. Douglas’s sudden starts are something you need to get used to! 'That was sudden' said Jason Reid. My lungs were bursting so I didn't try respond :-) From the start Dan Morrough ran as if he was doing the 200 metres. That, or he’d forgotten to close the front door of his house so needed to be home early.

In any event his initial sprint was closed down by the chasing pack which was led by Jason Reid, Ian O'Kane, Ian McGrath and others I didn't recognise. Earlyevening blasted past me on this initial stretch which surprised me and I had to work hard to stay with him. A new leader with a Tri t-shirt stretched us out but he ran past the right arrow that Peter O’Farrell, the race marker, had left out for us. A shout from the pack and his error was corrected. Across the stream by a nice new shiny bridge (okay a few poles but who is complaining). I got ahead of earlyevening at this stage but the gap was small. Into the tracks which zig and zag innumerable times . Some runners took liberties with the marking and cut the zig zags short. Others took the designated route. Happens every year and probably can only be stopped by barring any potential short cuts completely.

A new leader in the shape of Jason Reid led through here. My mate Ian was up amongst the lead action. Adrift in a chasing pack I pursued Dan Morrough and Brian Caulfield with Jimmy Synnott close by.

Earl’s drive was as dry underfoot as its ever liable to be so the going was good. We headed out to the end of the pond for the crossing of the stream. Some hopped across the stones, others including yours truly took the more direct route through the water which was running low. On the back-home stretch at this point and half way along we were encouraged by the likes of Martin Francis and Peter O’Farrell. I’d progressed up the pack by 2 places but Jimmy Synnott was on my shoulder as we climbed the short steep bit through the trees. As he pulled away from me I found a new gear and stayed in tow then moved ahead as the ground levelled out. Lungs burning but not too far to go at this stage. The closing stages was fast and furious and I had to dig deep on the last uphill bit to avoid Jimmy overtaking me to finish a respectable 6th place and 1st M40.

Jason – in training for a Berlin marathon I believe – took the race honours in a very decent time. 2nd place was plod runner up Maurice Robson and 3rd, as I predicted, was Iano. 1st lady was Karen O’Hanlon. In close contention was Moire O’Sullivan who is back briefly from foreign parts and obviously couldn’t resist the allure of an imra run, even if this is very short by her standards. Next up for her is the 7 sevens in the Mournes.

A fine evening for a short and fast race. Doubtless if Krusty was here this year he'd have given me a hiding. Theres always next year. Or Devils Glen ;)

A good showing by Boards. I reckon we were 2nd to Sli Cualann on the night.

A fine evening for a short and fast race. Doubtless if Krusty was here this year he'd have given me a hiding. Theres always next year. Or Devils Glen ;)
    LOL. I seriously doubt it! As Sean Connery once said, in his best Irish accent 'trust a wop to bring a knife to a gun-fight'. I've got to lure you out of those hills if I want a fair fight. :)

Never again is a phrase which runners say a lot. I said it a few times after marathons. I said it particularly after Dublin last year when I ran 3:01, a result I was happy with. I felt me and Dublin had done our stint after 6 years of marathons. However, things change. Having already being signed up to pace the Dingle marathon for 3:30 I was easily talked into signing up to run Dublin as part of the Wicklow Hospice fundraising. The idea is for at least 100 runners to each raise 100 euros for this good cause. So far they've over 140 runners signed up and they've a lead coach in the form of Brendan O'Shea dishing out worthwhile advice.

I'm knuckling down to trying to get the long runs in both for Dingle and in line with the schedule for Dublin. I'm filling the gaps in the schedule in my own way, usually by doing whatever imra races are about.

After a rest yesterday it was an LSR today of 28.5k out the backroads towards Aughavannagh in light rain. Made steady 5 min k pace on the outward uphill bit. Coming back the pace picked up naturally and the rain cleared off. Added in a 1k uphill up a trail to keep me honest. Avg pace overall was 4:53. Happy enough. Legs heavy so I'll see how I feel later / tomorrow morning and make a call on the Galtees imra race.

Get a load of this bad boy.
    71C9BBA70C8440949120A592CA1741A2.jpg
    I wish I had a camera to show a photo of the hills which were resplendent today and a complete contrast to the low cloud and rain which challenged us last year.

Race data:-
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/42728537

Legs felt reasonable despite the LSR yesterday. Started steadily and ran the first half of Cush; half walking and running the rest before descending madly off the other side. I was in a catch and mouse game with another runner. I see in the results he was Paul Tierney. He would take me on the uphills and I would take him on the downhills. The uphills are like a wall of green on front of you, but there are 'convenient' grassy steps up the hills from the sheep tracks. Made slow but steady progress on the ups and it was nice to be able to see the views today unlike last year. Weather was balmy too which was very pleasant. Near the top of Galteemore, Brian Furey blasted past on his downhill. He would go on to win convincingly. Martin Bradshaw was 2nd to the top. Didn't catch the 3rd runner but Tom Blackburn was next. I was 7th to the top I think behind this guy Paul. Managed to overtake him off Galteemore. We exchanged places on the next ascent / descent too. I was 15 secs or so behind on Cush but again I gained a place and moved ahead with the finish to come. I nearly took it too conversatively in the end and could have paid the price as I heard a late charge but I picked it up to get 6th place by 3 seconds! My time today was nearly 10 mins faster than last year. I didn't run badly last year... thats mainly due to the weather difference between this year and last. A great race. 1100m elevation gain and you feel every single metre. Its a race when choice of footwear can be decisive. Runners with heavier salomons struggled as it didn't grip as much as was needed. My xtalon 212s did the job.

Devils Glen, 8.5k, 205m ascents, 4:16 pace

This race starts with a 100m of so climb in about 800m. Not ideal at the best of times. Definitely not ideal on tired legs. Suffered early on and the evil half of my brain was telling me to drop out. But I managed to persevere. I’d lost ground to some of my usual rivals in that initial stretch but after that climb my legs started turning decently enough. Still didn’t stop earlyevening charging by me on the first downhill. Bit by bit I started to work my way into the race and gain some places as we descended down to the car park after c. 4k.

Got past early evening before we headed down through the zig zags and onto the river path. This section is for the most part flat. I ran in tow with another guy along this section which was good as this gave me the incentive to keep plugging away even if it was painful at times. Quads were sore after continuous days running so had to dig in.

I know these trails well from training over the years so I knew not to force the pace with a drag of a hill to come before the end. Ran steadily here and managed to kick ahead before the finish to gain a place. Finished 7th in 36.23. Just 4% off the winning time and an improvement on last year’s 37:40. Finished just ahead of many of my usual rivals so very happy with that on tired legs. Great route, great race.